CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Aid Policy
Trade, Investment and Corporate Accountability
International Policy
Peace-building and Humanitarian Response
Capacities for Policy Influence
Public Engagement
Ethics
Organizational Development
Voluntary Sector
CSO Development Effectiveness
Charity Law Education Project
Environmental Justice
CIDA PWCB


IMPRIMER

 

Registration of Ethical Concern

Before registering an ethical concern with the Membership Committee, please read the deliberation steps below.

Deliberation Steps (see the Decision Tree):

  1. The CCIC Secretariat, in consultation with the Membership Committee of the CCIC Board, will determine if the concern relates to the CCIC Code of Ethics and Operational Standards and if it is an issue that can be addressed by the Committee.  The person raising the concern will be notified of the decision. 

    Important Notes:
  • The Committee may not examine a concern if they consider it to be an issue better addressed through other venues (e.g. employment issues in the event of a lay-off). 
  • The Committee will not examine issues in a Registration of Concern that are the subject of on-going legal procedures.
  • When examining a concern, the Committee also has an ethical responsibility to consider any ethical issues not directly related to the concern that come to its attention during the review process. 
  1. If the concern falls within the Committee's mandate, then the CCIC member organization in question will be notified by phone or email that a concern has been raised.  Confidentiality of the person raising the concern will be respected, if requested, or if the Committee deems it to be necessary. In order to have all the information necessary for the Committee’s own discussion, as well as to ensure a fair process in which various perspectives and opinions are considered, a letter will be sent to the member organization asking them to review the issues and provide in writing a response to the concerns raised. The process of working with CCIC member organizations to meet the standards of the Code is intended to be a collaborative and constructive one.
  1. During its next meeting, the Membership Committee will conduct a preliminary review.  The Concern Form and the response(s) will be examined. The Committee may consult ethics experts who are familiar with CCIC and its Code of Ethics and Operational Standards. Following its internal deliberation, the Committee may:
  • seek clarification or more information;
  • determine that the issue requires no additional action; and/or
  • suggest that steps be taken for the CCIC member organization to come into compliance with the Code.
  1. In general, once all the information is received, and the preliminary review completed, the dialogue takes place only between the Membership Committee and the CCIC member in question.  If the Committee decides that there is a potential issue of compliance with the member organization then their role is not to mediate between the parties, but to work with the organization in order to ensure that the expectations of the Code are understood and respected. This exchange may take place over some time.  The individual or organization registering the concern will be notified of the Committee’s decision at key points in the process. 
  1. If the member does not cooperate in the process and/or does not satisfy the requirement to comply, a report is provided to CCIC’s Board of Directors who may determine that the organization has no longer fulfilled the requirements for CCIC membership.

    If you wish to register a concern, please submit a completed Registration of Ethical Concern form. Download in PDF or Word.
TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

Le Conseil est une coalition d’organisations du secteur bénévole canadien œuvrant à l’échelle internationale pour un développement humain viable.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Programme d'aide
Commerce, investissement et responsabilisation des entreprises
Politique internationale
Rétablissement de la paix et interventions humanitaires
Capacité d’influer sur les politiques
Engagement du public
Programme d'éthique
Développement organisationnel
Secteur bénévole et communautaire
Efficacité des OSC en matière de développement
Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance
Justice environnementale
ACDI DGPC


IMPRIMER

 

Présentation d'une préoccupation d'ordre éthique

Avant de présenter une préoccupation d’ordre éthique au Comité de l’adhésion, veuillez lire la procédure de délibération qui suit.

Étapes des délibérations du Comité de l’adhésion (résumé de l’arbre de décision en pièce jointe) :

  1. Le personnel du CCCI consulte le Comité de l’adhésion du Conseil d'administration du CCCI pour déterminer si la préoccupation signalée touche le Code d’éthique et normes de fonctionnement et relève du mandat du Comité. La personne qui a présenté la préoccupation est avisée par écrit de la décision.
Important :

  • Le Comité peut refuser d’examiner une question qu’il juge préférable de porter à l’attention d’un autre organe (ex : remise en question d’une mise à pied).
  • Le Comité ne se penche pas sur un dossier faisant l’objet d’une action en justice.
  • Pendant l’étude d’une question, le Comité a l’obligation morale de considérer toute question éthique dont il a connaissance dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, même si elle est sans lien direct avec le cas à l’étude. 
  1. S’il est établi que le dossier relève du Comité, l’organisation membre du CCCI en cause est avisée par téléphone ou par courriel qu’une préoccupation d’ordre éthique la concernant a été présentée. Le Comité protège la confidentialité de la personne qui soumet le dossier si elle le demande ou si le Comité le juge nécessaire. Pour obtenir tous les renseignements nécessaires et garantir le caractère équitable du processus par la prise en compte de plusieurs points de vue et opinions, le Comité envoie à l’organisation membre une lettre lui demandant de prendre connaissance des questions relatives à la préoccupation présentée et d’y répondre par écrit. Cette collaboration avec les organisations membres visant le respect des normes du Code est axée sur la concertation et se veut constructive.
  1. À sa prochaine réunion, le Comité de l’adhésion procède à un examen préliminaire. Puis, après avoir examiné le formulaire de présentation de la préoccupation et la réponse de l’organisation visée, le Comité pourrait consulter avec les experts dans le domaine d'éthique qui connaissent le CCCI et son Code d'éthique et normes de fonctionnement. À l’issue des délibérations, le Comité peut :
  • demander des précisions ou des renseignements supplémentaires;
  • juger que le dossier n’exige aucune mesure particulière;
  • suggérer à l’organisation membre du CCCI d’adopter des mesures pour se conformer au Code.
  1. En règle générale, une fois que le Comité de l’adhésion détient toute l’information nécessaire et a terminé son examen préliminaire, il procède à un dialogue exclusif avec le membre du CCCI concerné. S’il juge que des pratiques de l’organisation membre pourraient contrevenir au Code, le Comité doit non pas agir comme médiateur entre les parties, mais plutôt collaborer avec l’organisation de sorte qu’elle comprenne et respecte les exigences du Code. Il est possible que ce dialogue prenne un certain temps. La personne ou l’organisation qui présente la préoccupation est avisée de la décision du Comité aux étapes principales du processus.   
  1. Si le membre refuse de coopérer ou ne répond pas à l’exigence de se conformer au Code, le Comité fait rapport au conseil d’administration du CCCI, qui peut juger que l’organisation n’honore plus ses obligations de membre du CCCI.
Si vous souhaitez présenter une préoccupation d’ordre éthique, veuillez remplir le formulaire prévu à cette fin et le soumettre au Comité a/s du CCCI. Le formulaire est disponible en PDF ou Word.

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi