Canadian Council for International Co-operation

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Aid Policy
Trade, Investment and Corporate Accountability
International Policy
Peace-building and Humanitarian Response
Capacities for Policy Influence
Public Engagement
Organizational Development
Voluntary Sector
CSO Development Effectiveness
Charity Law Education Project
Environmental Justice


2012 Annual General Meeting

Call for Nominations

Election to the Board of Directors

As of May 1999, the Board of Directors of CCIC is comprised of 14 members elected for two-year terms on a rotating basis.  Member organisations may nominate candidates from their own organisation or from another member organisation with that organisation's official consent when making the nomination.

The Chair and the Executive Committee members are elected, by the Board of Directors amongst Board members, at its first meeting after the Annual General Meeting.

 Click here to download the Nomination Form

To be eligible to participate (and to vote) at the AGM, member organisations are requested to pay their membership fee for 2012-2013 or to remit remit a pledge to CCIC prior to the Annual General Meeting. Click here to download the Pledge form.


Board of Directors

The breakdown by category for the 2012 election to be held at the Annual General Meeting is as follows:

7          Category "A"
3          Category "B" and "C"
4          Provincial/Regional Councils "D"
14        Board Members

Board members are elected by member organisations according to the above formula.  Provincial/Regional Councils Board members are selected in their region and ratified by the CCIC membership at the Annual General Meeting


Elections - 2012 AGM

For the 2011 AGM elections, there are three (3) vacancies in Category A, two (two) vacancies in Category B/C and 2 (2) Provincial/Regional Councils’ representatives, selected in their region, to be ratified by the membership.

3          Category "A" 
2          Category "B" and "C"
2          Provincial/Regional Councils "D"

When nominating candidates, please be mindful of the following:

  1. CCIC’s policy to reflect gender, visible minorities, linguistic and geographic balance in its decision-making structures.
  2. nominees with skill base adequate  for work at a national level
  3. knowledge and experience of policy governance process
  4. knowledge and/or experience of community transformation
  5. knowledge and/or experience of financial diversification
  6. both volunteer and staff representation on the Board is important.

Members to be elected for each category on 2012/2013: deadline for response is 12:00 (noon) on May 23, 2012.  However, for all nominations received at CCIC after May 6, 2012, it will be the responsibility of the nominating organisation to provide all pertinent documents in both English and French to the participating members at the AGM.

For your information, those members who continue on the Board of Directors are as follows:

Category "A"

Jim Cornelius


Canadian Foodgrains Bank

Evelyne Guindon


CARE Canada

June Webber


Canadian Nurses Association

Barbara Lloyd


United Church of Canada




To elect in Category A: 3         


Category "B" and "C"

Jennifer Henry                          Kairos

To elect in Category B/C: 2


Category “D”

Gervais L’Heureux    Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale

Kerry Strathy Sasketchewan Council for International Cooperation

To be ratified: 2

It is recommended that the Provincial/Regional Councils' representatives participate for two years on the Board of CCIC.

For further information please contact:
Anna Campos
Tel: 613-241-7007 Ext. 324


  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment