CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Canadian Council for International Co-operation

The Council is a coalition of Canadian voluntary sector organizations working globally to achieve sustainable human development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Aid Policy
Trade, Investment and Corporate Accountability
International Policy
Peace-building and Humanitarian Response
Capacities for Policy Influence
Public Engagement
Ethics
Organizational Development
Voluntary Sector
CSO Development Effectiveness
Charity Law Education Project
Environmental Justice
CIDA PWCB


IMPRIMER

Annual Forum and 45th Annual General Meeting
MAY 23-24, 2013

2013 Forum | 2013 AGM | Public Debate | Emerging Leaders

Registration | Logistics | Innovation Awards | Stay Connected


Forum & AGM 2013


Three days of lively, forward looking discussion and inspirational presentations at this year’s Annual Forum and AGM!


CCIC’s 2013 Annual Forum and Annual General Meeting opened on Wednesday May 22nd with a public debate at Ottawa U. The mock-debate presented the pros and cons on the resolution “Be it resolved that Canada’s official development assistance can be used both to promote poverty reduction and human rights as well as Canadian commercial interests”. The debate featured four passionate speakers who brought the perspectives of academia, the private sector and the government, and sparked the interest of over 150 participants.

The debate set the tone for the next two successful days of CCIC’s Annual Forum. Entitled: Development and Social Transformation as Shared Responsibility: Building new Bridges and Connections”, the event gathered 110 participants from 65 Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) across Canada. The discussions and reflections were kick-started by a fabulous presentation from Michael Edwards, well-recognized practitioner and thinker on international development, who challenged us on our traditional and future roles as CSOs.

The forum highlighted the local and global challenges, pressures and opportunities for international development CSOs. It also offered interesting and provocative ways in which CSOs can adapt to the ever changing landscape and maintain their relevance. The event closed with CCIC’s AGM, at which President-CEO Julia Sanchez presented the 2012-2013 key highlights and strategic priorities for the upcoming year.

This year’s forum included a strategy to foster new and innovative ideas, coming from young, passionate and promising individuals committed to international development, working or volunteering with CCIC member organizations. The Forum included 11 Emerging Leaders who met with parliamentarians, participated in their own special session and contributed actively to the Forum discussions.

One of this year’s new activities was the 2013 Innovation and Effectiveness Awards.  CCIC is very happy to recognize the four winning organizations! In the CSO Effectiveness category, CCIC congratulates Co-Development Canada and Crossroads International, for their efforts towards greater organizational effectiveness and impact. And for CSO Innovation, CCIC congratulates World Vision and Farm Radio International, for their out-of-the box ideas which have made a difference on the ground.

CCIC would also like to acknowledge the 18 volunteers who brought their dedication and enthusiasm to CCIC’s debate, Forum and AGM. CCIC is grateful for the time, skills, know-how and support they gave to this year’s activities, essential to the success of this year's Forum.

The report on the Forum can be found here. Detailed summaries of some of the workshops have been posted on the Members' Space.

 

 

Return to top

For further information please contact:

Chantal Havard
Tel: 613-241-7007 Ext. 311

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale

Le Conseil est une coalition d’organisations du secteur bénévole canadien œuvrant à l’échelle internationale pour un développement humain viable.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Programme d'aide
Commerce, investissement et responsabilisation des entreprises
Politique internationale
Rétablissement de la paix et interventions humanitaires
Capacité d’influer sur les politiques
Engagement du public
Programme d'éthique
Développement organisationnel
Secteur bénévole et communautaire
Efficacité des OSC en matière de développement
Formation juridique pour les organismes de bienfaisance
Justice environnementale
ACDI DGPC


IMPRIMER

Forum et 45e assemblée générale annuelle
Les 23 et 24 mai 2013

Forum 2013 | Logistique | AGA CCCI 2013 | Leaders émergeants

Inscription | Débat public | Prix d'innovation | Gardez le contact!

Forum et AGA 2013

 

Trois jours de présentations inspirantes, de discussions animées et tournées vers l’avenir au Forum annuel 2013 et à l’AGA!


Le Forum annuel et l’Assemblé générale 2013 du CCCI ont débuté par un débat public le mercredi 22 mai à l’Université d’Ottawa. Le simulacre de débat présentait les pours et les contres de la résolution « Devrait-on utiliser l’aide officielle au développement attribuée par le Canada pour promouvoir à la fois la réduction de la pauvreté et les droits humains ainsi que les intérêts commerciaux et diplomatiques canadiens? » Le débat a mis en vedette quatre conférenciers passionnés provenant d’horizons différents, milieu universitaire, secteur privé et gouvernement, et qui ont suscité l’attention des quelques 150 participants.   

Le débat a permis de donner le ton des deux journées suivantes durant lesquelles s’est déroulé avec succès le Forum annuel du CCCI. Intitulé « Le développement et la transformation sociale, une responsabilité partagée: bâtir de nouveaux ponts et créer des liens », l’événement a rassemblé 110 personnes membres de 65 organisations de la société civile (OSC) à travers le Canada.  Les discussions et les réflexions ont été amorcées par une allocution impressionnante de Michael Edwards, un spécialiste et penseur du développement international de renom, qui nous a mis au défi en questionnant les rôles traditionnels et futurs des OSC.    

Le Forum a mis en lumière les défis locaux et mondiaux, les tensions et les possibilités pour les OSC œuvrant en développement international. Il a aussi proposé des méthodes intéressantes et sujettes à controverse pour faciliter l’adaptation des OSC à l’environnement en constante mutation et demeurer pertinentes. L’événement s’est terminé par l’assemblée annuelle du CCCI où la présidente-directrice générale Julia Sanchez a retracé les points saillants de l’année écoulée, 2012-2013, et présenté les priorités stratégiques pour l’année qui commence.

Le Forum de cette année se fondait sur une stratégie visant à promouvoir des idées novatrices formulées par de jeunes individus passionnés et prometteurs, engagés dans le développement international et travaillant, parfois bénévolement, avec des organisations membres du CCCI. Le Forum a donc accueilli 11 leaders émergeants qui ont pu rencontrer des parlementaires, participer à une session qui leur était spécifiquement destinée et contribuer activement aux discussions du Forum.

Une des nouvelles activités cette année, Les Prix pour l'innovation et l'efficacité 2013, a permis au CCCI de reconnaitre quatre organisations /projets gagnants! Dans la catégorie efficacité des OSC, le CCCI félicite Co-Development Canada et Crossroads International pour leurs efforts à atteindre une meilleure efficacité organisationnelle et un plus grand impact. Pour l’innovation des OSC, le CCCI félicite Vision mondiale et Farm Radio International pour leurs idées originales qui ont fait une différence sur terrain.

Le CCIC tient également à souligner l’apport des 18 bénévoles qui ont insufflé leur enthousiasme et leur volonté au débat, au Forum et à l’AGA du CCCI. Le CCCI les remercie pour leur temps, leurs compétences, leur savoir et leur appui qu’ils ont investis dans les activités de cette année et qui se sont avérés essentiels à la réussite du Forum.

Le rapport du Forum est disponible ici. Un résumé détaillé de certains ateliers est disponible dans le Coin des membres.

 

Pour plus d'information SVP contacter:

Chantal Havard
Tel: 613-241-7007 poste. 311

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi