CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

Letter to Prime Minister Jean Chrétien
on Financing for Development

February 8, 2002

The Right Honourable Jean Chrétien
Prime Minister of Canada
House of Commons
Centre Block, 309-S
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6

Dear Prime Minister,

We are writing to you, as representatives of networks of non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in our respective countries (Australia, Canada, Finland, France, New Zealand and the United Kingdom). We wish to express our deep concern about the direction of talks towards the Financing for Development Conference to be held in Monterrey, Mexico, in March.

The Financing for Development Conference should, clearly, put a global development vision first. But that original intent is not in evidence in the text agreed at the final preparatory meeting in New York.

Governments must agree to a clear timetable for implementing the 0.7% of GNP for aid target. This has been a commitment since 1970. The non-committal wording to undertake "to examine the means and timeframes" in the Monterrey Consensus Paper is unacceptable. The Millennium Development Goals, in fields such as health and education, will not be met by fine words alone.

Reversing current negative trends in total ODA (official development assistance) and a renewed commitment to meeting the development needs of billions of people living in poverty, are essential steps if Northern governments are to have any credibility in their championing of a fairer and safer world.

We think that, minimally, the following basic commitments are needed:

  • First, donor governments must establish a binding timetable for meeting the 0.7% ODA target and direct these resources to the goal of eradicating poverty.
  • Governments must commit to approaches to development which include broad participation in economic decision-making from civil society groups, particularly those representing women, the marginalized and the excluded within society.
  • Third, the UN must be assigned a co-ordinating role in addressing the lack of institutional democracy in the international financial and trade institutions, namely the World Bank, IMF and World Trade Organization.
  • Fourth, governments must ensure trade rules promote fair and sustainable development, in particular they must reverse the pronounced trend to protect business at the expense of workers and the communities in which business operates.
  • Finally, we call for the immediate cancellation of all debt of the most impoverished countries and the establishment of a fair arbitration process for the future.

The Financing for Development conference should set the course for relations between the world’s rich developed countries and the global South for years to come.

We call on Governments not to shirk from this challenge, nor to hide behind the positions of the most obstructive international players. The USA, in particular, has limited its contribution to undermining the negotiations by rejecting progressive proposals and opting for business-as-usual. This is not the way forward.

NGOs pledge to stay engaged, representing and reporting to millions of citizens around the world in the North as well as the global South. We urge you to live up to the expectations of people around the world that the Millennium Development Goals will be financed and achieved by 2015.

Sincerely,

  Graham Tupper
Executive Director
Australian Council for Overseas Aid
ACFOA House
14 Napier Close
Private Bag 3
Deakin ACT 2600
Australia

  Richard Bennett
Co-ordinator
BOND
Regent's Wharf
8 All Saint's Street
London N1 9RL
England

 

  Gerry Barr
President-CEO
Canadian Council for International Co-operation
1 Nicholas Street, Suite 300
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1N 7B7

  Henri Rouillé D’Orfeuil
President
Coordination SUD
14 passage Dubail
75010 Paris
France

 

  Rae S. Julian
Executive Director
Council for International Development / Kaunihera mo te Whakapakari Ao Whanui
PO Box 12-470, Wellington
New Zealand
  Ville Luukkanen
Programmes Director
Service Centre for Development Cooperation (KEPA)
Sörnäisten rantatie 25
00500 Helsinki
Finland


c.c. Tony Blair, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
       Tarja Halonen, President of Finland
       John Howard, Prime Minister of Australia
       Lionel Jospin, Prime Minister of France
       Helen Clark, Prime Minister of New Zealand

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

Lettre au Premier ministre sur le financement pour le développement

[Traduction]

Le 8 février 2002

Le Trés honourable Jean Chrétien
Premier ministre du Canada
Chambre des communs
Édifice du Centre, 309-S
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A6

Monsieur le Premier ministre,

Nous vous écrivons au nom des réseaux d’organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) de nos pays respectifs (Australie, Canada, Finlande, France, Nouvelle-Zélande et Royaume Uni). Nous tenons à exprimer notre profond désarroi à l’égard du résultat des pourparlers concernant la Conférence sur le financement du développement qui aura lieu à Monterrey (Mexique) en mars prochain.

Il va de soi que la Conférence sur le financement du développement doit mettre en avant une vision planétaire du développement. Or, ce n’est pas cette optique qui est mise en évidence dans le texte adopté à la dernière réunion préparatoire de New York.

Les gouvernements doivent fixer un échéancier précis pour la concrétisation du ratio de
0,7 p. 100 du PNB en matière d’aide internationale. Cet engagement date de 1970. La formule vague « se pencher sur les moyens et les délais » du consensus de Monterrey est inacceptable. Les Objectifs de développement du millénaire, dans des secteurs comme la santé et l’éducation, ne peuvent se réaliser par la simple vertu des mots.

Ce n’est qu’au prix d’une reprise de l’aide publique au développement (APD) et du renouvellement de leur engagement visant à répondre aux besoins de développement de milliards de personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté que les gouvernements du Nord donneront de la crédibilité à leurs déclarations en faveur de la sécurité et de la justice dans le monde.

Nous considérons comme un minimum les engagements de base suivants :

  • Premièrement, les gouvernements donateurs doivent fixer un échéancier exécutoire pour atteindre le ratio de 0,7 p. 100 en matière d’ADP et consacrer ces ressources à l’élimination de la pauvreté.
  • Deuxièmement, les gouvernements doivent envisager le développement dans une optique qui favorise une vaste participation de la société civile dans les décisions économiques, et en particulier des groupes qui représentent les femmes, les marginaux et les exclus.
  • Troisièmement, les gouvernements doivent confier à l’ONU un rôle de coordination pour régler le problème de l’absence de démocratie au sein des institutions financières internationales, à savoir la Banque mondiale et le FMI, et l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.
  • Quatrièmement, les gouvernements doivent veiller à ce que les règles du commerce favorisent un développement juste et durable et, en particulier, renverser la forte tendance actuelle qui consiste à protéger les entreprises aux dépens des travailleurs et des milieux où ces entreprises s’installent.
  • Enfin, les gouvernements doivent annuler immédiatement toutes les dettes des pays les plus pauvres et instaurer un processus d’arbitrage équitable.

La Conférence du financement du développement doit tracer la voie des futures relations entre les pays riches développés et les pays du Sud.

Nous exhortons les gouvernements à ne pas s’esquiver ou se cacher derrière les joueurs internationaux les plus obstructionnistes. Les États-Unis, en particulier, ont jusqu’ici sapé les négociations en rejetant les propositions progressistes au profit du statu quo. Ce n’est pas la voie de l’avenir.

Nous, les ONG, nous engageons à rester vigilantes en représentant et en informant des millions de citoyennes et citoyens du Nord et du reste du monde. Nous vous invitons instamment à œuvrer pour l’atteinte des Objectifs de développement du millénaire d’ici 2015 conformément aux attentes de la planète.

Nous vous prions d’agréer, Monsieur le Premier ministre, l’expression de nos sentiments respectueux.


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide