CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

Value-Added: A Case study of the BRAC-AKFC Partnership

Case Studies Prepared for the Canadian Council for International Co-operation
March 2003

Lessons in Aid Effectiveness from Civil Society
Value-Added: A Case Study of the BRAC-AKFC Partnership
Aga Khan Foundation Canada


From its modest beginnings as a Bangladeshi relief and rehabilitation organization over 30 years ago, BRAC has transformed itself into the world’s largest indigenous NGO: a multi-faceted development organization with over 60,000 staff and an annual budget of approximately US$166 million1. Today, BRAC promotes a holistic and innovative approach to poverty alleviation and empowerment for the rural landless poor in Bangladesh, mostly women, through micro-credit, rural development, health, education and training programs.

Twenty percent of this programming is funded by donors, including DFID, EC, UNICEF, WFP, DANIDA, DGIS, Save the Children, the Rockefeller Foundation and CIDA/AKFC, among others. In order to fund the remainder—as well as to link poor rural producers with expanding urban markets—BRAC also engages in a number of commercial enterprises, including BRAC Dairy; Aarong, a chain of retail handicraft stores; poultry farms and feed mills; BRAC Printers; a cold storage; sericulture grainage and reeling centers; fish and prawn hatcheries; and a bull station. In 1999, BRAC ventured into the information technology sector through the BRAC Information Technology Institute and, in 2001, widened its portfolio of initiatives to include BRAC University and BRAC Bank.

By any account, BRAC is one of the most capable and successful southern NGOs in existence today. In its early days, it received support from a number of international development NGOs, including Oxfam, for its relief efforts after the war of independence. In the 1980s, Inter Pares supported the start-up of BRAC’s successful primary education program. BRAC also called on Canadian NGO expertise to strengthen its gender capacity in the early 1990s. IN 1989, when BRAC first approached CIDA for support to its Rural Development Program, it specifically requested that the support be channeled through a Canadian partner organization: Aga Khan Foundation Canada. The question that immediately arises is why an NGO that has the capacity to deal with donors directly would request a Canadian NGO to act as an intermediary.

The answer, we believe, lies in the value-added that north-south civil society partnerships bring to the development process. Just as there is value in the roles for government-to-government partnerships that CIDA describes and promotes in its recent policy for aid effectiveness, there is also an intrinsic value in north-south partnerships between civil society organizations that manifests itself in expanding notions of global citizenship as well as improved practice and capacity for shared learning.

Southern civic partners represent the interests of their constituencies and clients, in many cases to a greater extent than their governments do, and are the true face of local ownership in civil society. BRAC, for example, works in 60,627 villages in all 64 districts of Bangladesh, covering a population of almost 68 million people. Its field staff live in the villages and have day-to-day contact with the beneficiaries they serve, allowing them to be in tune with the people’s problems and needs. Often, it is these southern partners that bring the voice of the people to their governments. Last year, at a meeting of district level officials in north Bengal, BRAC brought in one of the beneficiaries of its new poverty reduction project for the ultrapoor to speak directly to the audience. The woman spoke clearly and plainly of her daily struggle for survival. Disturbed and moved, many of the government officials present put their hands into their pockets then and there to try and help her. BRAC staff, however, emphasized the fact that policy changes and increased government programming for the ultrapoor would be a better, longer-term solution, not only for the woman, but also for the millions like her.

Making Connections: Building Global Citizenship

Just as southern civil society organizations represent the interests of their people to their own governments, northern partners represent the face of Canadian development assistance to Canadians. Through their partnerships with southern CSOs, Canadian organizations make links between ordinary Canadians and ordinary people in the developing world; they bring the stories of development home to Canadians. For example, through the development education component of its programming, AKFC sponsored the Vanishing Voices seminar series, featuring BRAC in a video entitled "Whatever Happened to Bangladesh?" The seminar series challenged Canadians to think critically about whether they are receiving the information they deserve and need about the successful development work they support overseas.

Similarly, AKFC’s University Seminar Series engages young Canadians in an interactive learning experience, allowing them to gain a practical understanding of key development issues as they relate to the design and implementation of projects in the field. The 2001 Series, titled "Investing in Communities", featured a speaker from BRAC’s Non-Formal Primary Education program who brought alive for the audience the successes and the challenges of educating over a million disadvantaged Bangladeshi children in BRAC’s 34,000 non-formal primary schools. These direct linkages between Canadians and the daily lives and struggles of people in developing countries would be highly unlikely in a world dominated by government-to-government partnerships.

Shared Learning - Mutual Benefits

North-south partnerships between civil society organizations are also mutually beneficial to both partners. They are predicated on the belief that the process of development entails more than just investing financial resources and tracking results. It is a process that requires the sharing of intellectual resources, knowledge and ideas, as well as the benefits that accrue from the process. This is the underlying philosophy that has guided AKFC’s partnership with BRAC.

In 1990, when AKFC and CIDA first began supporting BRAC, AKFC developed a demand-driven package of activities—dubbed the Canadian Component—designed to bring added value and mutual benefit to its partnership with BRAC, as well as to build on the core competencies and strengths of both organizations. Over the years, this package of activities has included elements such as staff development and technical assistance for BRAC, learning exchanges, research and publications, development education activities, and internships, the broad objectives of which have been to strengthen the effectiveness of BRAC’s development interventions and, at the same time, to bring the lessons and best practices from the field home to Canadians and to the development community at large.

AKFC has played a particular role in reciprocal north-south civil society partnerships through research studies and publications undertaken in collaboration with southern partners, including BRAC. Comparative in nature, these publications have capitalized on the experiences of southern NGOs and have added to the wider body of knowledge on successful development practices. For example, Managing for Change: Leadership, Strategy and Management in Asian NGOs addresses the key operational issues facing NGO managers by drawing lessons from the reality of southern CSOs. Similarly, Speaking Out: Women’s Economic Empowerment in South Asia examines the economic empowerment strategies pursued by seven South Asian organizations working with women. These publications, while useful as a record of best practices, have also functioned as launching pads for discussion and debate on larger policy issues, both within Canada and abroad.

Making Connections: Sharing Strengths

Partnerships between northern and southern NGOs can also bring benefits to other organizations outside the formal partnership. AKFC, by accessing the extensive resources of the wider Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN), often brokers a cross-fertilization of ideas, innovations and information among southern partners. For example, through the learning exchange element of its programming, AKFC is sponsoring a high-level BRAC contingent to visit Aga Khan University’s Institute of Educational Development (AKU-IED) in Pakistan in order to discuss linkages between AKU-IED and BRAC’s new post-primary basic education initiative. Similarly, southern NGO partners such as the Mountain Societies Development Support Program in Tajikistan and the North Coast Rural Support Program in Mozambique have visited BRAC to take advantage of its expertise in the areas of rural development and microfinance.

In the same way, AKFC brings expertise and experiences from other partnerships in helping BRAC grapple with the larger issues of sustainability, good management and governance, and long-term vision through its participation in BRAC’s Donor Consortium (DC). Through this forum, AKFC, along with NOVIB, a Dutch partner organization, is able to bring a unique NGO perspective to the state-donor dominated consortium. Often, this entails supporting BRAC by mediating relations within the DC to ensure that state-donor priorities do not overwhelm BRAC’s priorities and best interests, thereby fostering local ownership of the development process. Furthermore, because of its long-term field presence, its knowledge of the local culture, language and context, its nurturing approach, its interest in the day-to-day affairs of the organization, as well as its designation as an NGO rather than a donor agency, AKFC is seen as a trusted partner by BRAC and therefore has better access to and understanding of the work of the organization than most donors. This benefit is then passed on to CIDA in the form of better project management, accountability and reporting.

Looking Ahead - Shared Commitment

In the twelve years since it formally began, the partnership between BRAC and AKFC has evolved and deepened. BRAC views AKFC not simply as a donor or as a project ‘executing agency’, but as a trusted friend accompanying it on the road to a brighter future for Bangladesh. In 2001, when CIDA decided to fund BRAC’s new Challenging the Frontiers of Poverty Reduction (CFPR) project directly rather than go through a Canadian partner organization, BRAC indicated its disappointment with the decision because it recognizes the value of partnerships between civil society organizations. BRAC’s commitment to poverty reduction in Bangladesh coupled with AKFC’s long-term commitment to support BRAC has fostered a deep and lasting relationship between the two organizations, one that has not only benefited BRAC and AKFC, but also the development community in Canada and abroad.

Today, BRAC as an organization is even more capable of dealing with donors directly than it was twelve years ago. Despite this, BRAC is still enthusiastic about partnering with AKFC. Discussions are currently underway for BRAC, AKFC and CIDA to collaborate on an innovative research and learning initiative based on BRAC’s new project for reaching the ultrapoor. The next phase of BRAC’s non-formal primary education program also represents an opportunity for collaboration and continued partnership between BRAC and AKFC.

However, our partnership with BRAC, although unique in its own way, is not uncharacteristic of the relationships that we share with many southern partners. The fundamentals of the reciprocal partnership approach, of bringing added value to Canada’s development assistance dollars and of building on each other’s strengths, are also reflective of our relationships with other partners. AKFC’s approach multiplied by the number of other Canadian civil society organizations with similar approaches results in significant cumulative value-added to the development process, both in Canada and in the developing world. 

For more information, please log on to www.akfc.ca  and www.brac.net, or contact salimah@akfc.ca.

Endnote
1 2002 Projected Budget, BRAC Annual Report 2001.

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

Valeur ajoutée: l’étude du cas du Partenariat BRAC-FAKC

Leçons d’efficacité de la société civile en matière de prestation de l’aide
Études de cas préparées pour le Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale
mars 2003

Valeur ajoutée: l’étude du cas du Partenariat BRAC-FAKC
Fondation Aga Khan Canada

Depuis ses origines modestes comme organisme de secours d’urgence et de relèvement au Bangladesh il y a 30 ans, le Comité pour le progrès rural du Bangladesh (BRAC)1 s’est transformé en l’ONG nationale la plus grande du monde : une organisation de développement polyvalente qui emploie un personnel de plus de 60 000 membres et dont le budget annuel se chiffre à environ 166 millions de dollars US2. Aujourd’hui, le BRAC met de l’avant une approche intégrée et innovatrice à l’allègement de la pauvreté et à l’autopromotion (empowerment) des paysans sans terre pauvres du Bangladesh, surtout des femmes, par des programmes de microcrédit, de développement rural, de santé, d’éducation et de formation.

Vingt pour cent de ces programmes reçoivent un financement de donateurs incluant, entre autres, le Département pour le développement international (DFID, en G.-B.), l’Union européenne (UE), l’UNICEF, le Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM), la DANIDA (Danemark), le DGIS, Aide à l’enfance, la Fondation Rockefeller et l’ACDI-FAKC3. Pour parvenir à financer la partie restante – et pour mettre en rapport les producteurs ruraux pauvres avec les marchés urbains en croissance – le BRAC se lance dans plusieurs entreprises commerciales, ce qui inclut la Laiterie BRAC, Aarong (une chaîne de magasins d’artisanat), des fermes de volaille et des usines d’aliments pour animaux, les imprimeries BRAC, un entrepôt réfrigéré, des centres de sériciculture (élevage de vers à soie), élevages de poissons, de crevettes et de taureaux. En 1999, le BRAC s’est aventuré dans le secteur de la technologie de l’information par le biais de l’Institut de technologie de l’information BRAC, et en 2001, il a élargi son éventail d’initiatives pour inclure l’Université BRAC et la Banque BRAC.

Sous tous rapports, le BRAC compte aujourd’hui parmi les ONG du Sud les plus capables et les plus couronnées de succès. À ses débuts, il a reçu l’appui de plusieurs ONG de développement international, incluant Oxfam, pour ses activités humanitaires après la guerre d’indépendance. Dans les années 80, Inter Pares a appuyé le lancement du programme d’éducation primaire du BRAC, qui a connu du succès. Le BRAC a aussi fait appel à l’expertise des ONG canadiennes au début des années 90 pour renforcer sa capacité de genre. En 1989, lorsque le BRAC a établi un premier contact avec l’ACDI pour obtenir un appui à son Programme de développement rural, il a demandé de façon explicite que cet appui soit canalisé par une organisation partenaire canadienne : la Fondation Aga Khan Canada. La question se pose immédiatement : pourquoi une ONG ayant la capacité de traiter directement avec les agences donatrices insiste-t-elle pour qu’une ONG canadienne agisse comme intermédiaire ?

La réponse, croyons-nous, se trouve dans la valeur ajoutée que les partenariats Nord-Sud de la société civile apportent au processus de développement. Tout comme il y a une valeur dans les rôles liés aux partenariats de gouvernement à gouvernement que l’ACDI décrit et préconise dans son récent énoncé de politique en faveur d’une aide plus efficace, ainsi y a-t-il également une valeur intrinsèque rattachée aux partenariats Nord-Sud entre organisations de la société civile, valeur qui se manifeste dans les notions de plus en plus répandues de citoyenneté mondiale aussi bien que de pratiques améliorées et de capacité d’apprentissage partagé.

Dans de nombreux cas, les partenaires civils du Sud représentent davantage les intérêts de leurs bases et de leurs clients que ne le font leurs gouvernements, et constituent la vraie caractéristique de l’appropriation locale par la société civile. Le BRAC par exemple travaille dans 60 627 villages des 64 districts du Bangladesh, couvrant une population de presque 68 millions de personnes. Son personnel terrain vit dans les villages et est en contact quotidien avec ses bénéficiaires, ce qui lui permet de demeurer au diapason des problèmes et des besoins des gens. Ce sont souvent ces partenaires du Sud qui se font les porte parole des populations auprès des gouvernements. L’an passé, lors d’une réunion des fonctionnaires de district dans le nord du Bengale, le BRAC a amené avec sa délégation une des bénéficiaires de son nouveau projet de réduction de la pauvreté extrême afin qu’elle s’adresse directement à l’audience. La femme a parlé clairement et simplement de son combat quotidien pour survivre. Ébranlés et émus, de nombreux fonctionnaires du gouvernement plongèrent immédiatement la main dans leur poche pour lui venir en aide. Le BRAC souligna le fait que des changements de politique et des programmes gouvernementaux plus nombreux pour réduire la pauvreté extrême constitueraient un meilleur geste, une solution à long terme non seulement pour cette femme mais aussi pour des millions de ses semblables.

Établir des liens pour l’édification de la citoyenneté mondiale

Tout comme les organisations de la société civile du Sud représentent les intérêts de leurs populations auprès de leurs gouvernements, de même les ONG du Nord présentent auprès des Canadiennes et des Canadiens l’image de l’aide canadienne au développement. Par leurs partenariats avec des OSC, les organisations canadiennes établissent des liens entre les Canadiennes et les Canadiens ordinaires et les gens ordinaires du monde en voie de développement ; elles rapportent à la population canadienne les histoires du développement. Par exemple, grâce au volet « éducation au développement » de ses programmes, la FAKC a parrainé la série de séminaires Voix évanouissantes, qui met en scène le BRAC dans une vidéo intitulée « Qu’est-il arrivé au Bangladesh ? ». La série de séminaires a invité les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à développer une pensée critique quant à savoir s’ils reçoivent l’information qu’ils méritent et dont ils ont besoin sur le travail de développement réussi qu’ils appuient outre-mer.

De la même manière, grâce à la série de séminaires de la FAKC au niveau universitaire, les jeunes du Canada font une expérience d’apprentissage interactif, ce qui leur permet d’acquérir une compréhension pratique d’enjeux clés du développement en participant à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de projets sur le terrain. Dans la série 2001, intitulée « Investir dans les collectivités », un conférencier du programme du BRAC Éducation primaire non formelle racontait à l’audience les succès et les écueils de l’éducation de plus d’un million d’enfants défavorisés du Bangladesh dans les 34 000 écoles primaires non formelles du BRAC. Il paraît hautement invraisemblable que ce réseautage direct entre la population canadienne et la vie et la lutte quotidiennes des populations des pays en développement puisse survenir dans un monde dominé par des partenariats de gouvernement à gouvernement.

Apprentissage partagé – bénéfices mutuels

Les partenariats Nord-Sud entre organisations de la société civile apportent également des bénéfices mutuels. Ils se forment sur la croyance que le processus de développement implique plus qu’un simple investissement de ressources financières et ne se résume pas à en retracer les résultats. C’est un processus qui requiert le partage de ressources intellectuelles, de connaissances et d’idées, aussi bien que des bénéfices qui découlent de ce processus. Telle est la philosophie sous-jacente qui guide le partenariat de la FAKC avec le BRAC.

En 1990, quand la FAKC et l’ACDI commencèrent à appuyer le BRAC, la FAKC élabora un programme d’activités dans le cadre du mécanisme responsif – programme étiqueté Composante canadienne – destiné à apporter une valeur ajoutée et des bénéfices mutuels à son partenariat avec le BRAC, de même qu’à construire sur le noyau de compétences et de forces des deux organisations. Au cours des ans, ce programme d’activités a inclus des éléments, tels le développement du personnel et l’assistance technique au BRAC, des échanges d’apprentissage, de la recherche et des publications, des activités d’éducation au développement, et des stages. Ces activités avaient pour objectifs généraux de renforcer les capacités d’intervention du BRAC en développement et, en même temps de transmettre les enseignements et les meilleures pratiques du terrain aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens ici au pays, ainsi qu’à la communauté du développement en général.

La FAKC a joué un rôle particulier dans les partenariats réciproques Nord-Sud de la société civile par des recherches et des publications entreprises en collaboration avec des partenaires du Sud, y compris le BRAC. De portée comparative, ces publications ont misé sur les expériences des ONG du Sud et sont venues s’ajouter aux connaissances sur les pratiques de développement réussies. Par exemple, l’étude Managing for Change: Leadership, Strategy and Management in Asian NGOs examine les stratégies d’autonomisation économique menées par sept organisations de l’Asie du Sud qui travaillent avec les femmes. Ces publications, utiles en tant que consignation des meilleures pratiques, ont aussi permis d’amorcer des discussions et de débats sur des questions politiques plus larges, à la fois au Canada et à l’étranger.

Établir des liens pour joindre les forces

Les partenariats entre ONG du Nord et du Sud peuvent aussi produire des bénéfices pour d’autres organisations externes au partenariat formel. La FAKC, en ayant accès aux nombreuses ressources du vaste Réseau Aga Khan pour le développement4, agit souvent comme courtier de transfertilisation d’idées, d’innovations et d’information auprès des partenaires du Sud. Par exemple, par le volet de sa programmation « échange de connaissances », la FAKC parraine la visite d’un gros contingent de haut niveau du BRAC à l’Institut de développement éducatif de l’Université Aga Khan (AKU-IED)5 au Pakistan en vue de traiter du réseautage entre AKU-IED et la nouvelle initiative d’éducation de base post-primaire du BRAC. De même, des partenaires du Sud tels le Programme d’appui au développement des communautés des montagnes au Tadjikistan et le Programme d’appui rural à la Côte-Nord au Mozambique, ont visité le BRAC pour tirer avantage de son expertise dans les secteurs du développement rural et de la microfinance.

De la même manière, la FAKC a recours à l’expertise et à l’expérience d’autres partenariats pour aider le BRAC à se débattre des enjeux plus larges de la durabilité, de la bonne gestion et de la bonne gouvernance, et de la vision à long terme, par sa participation au Consortium de donateurs BRAC (CD). Ce forum permet à la FAKC d’offrir en partenariat avec NOVIB, une organisation des Pays-Bas, une perspective ONG unique au consortium dominé par le donateur gouvernemental. Souvent cela implique qu’on appuie le BRAC en servant de médiateur dans les relations au sein du CD pour assurer que les priorités du donateur gouvernemental ne l’emportent pas sur les priorités et les meilleures pratiques du BRAC, favorisant de cette façon l’appropriation locale du processus de développement. De plus, grâce à sa présence terrain de longue durée, de sa connaissance de la culture locale, du langage et du contexte, de son écoute active, de son intérêt pour les affaires quotidiennes de l’organisation, de même qu’à cause de son appellation ONG plutôt qu’agence donatrice, la FAKC est perçue par le BRAC comme un partenaire digne de confiance et par conséquent jouit d’un meilleur accès et d’une meilleure compréhension du travail de l’organisation que la majorité des donateurs. Ce bénéfice est alors refilé à l’ACDI sous forme d’une meilleure gestion de projet, d’une plus grande imputabilité et de meilleurs rapports.

Prospective: un engagement commun

Au cours des douze années depuis sa création formelle, le partenariat entre le BRAC et la FAKC a évolué et s’est approfondi. Le BRAC voit la FAKC non seulement comme un donateur ou comme une « agence d’exécution » de projet mais comme un ami loyal qui l’accompagne sur le chemin vers un avenir plus prometteur pour le Bangladesh. En 2001, lorsque l’ACDI décida d’appuyer financièrement le nouveau projet du BRAC Un défi aux limites de la réduction de la pauvreté de manière directe plutôt que par l’intermédiaire d’une organisation partenaire canadienne, le BRAC a exprimé sa déception face à cette décision parce qu’il reconnaît la valeur des partenariats entre organisations de la société civile. L’engagement du BRAC pour la réduction de la pauvreté au Bangladesh, joint à l’engagement de la FAKC sur le long terme d’appuyer le BRAC, a promu une relation profonde et durable entre les deux organisations, relation qui a profité non seulement au BRAC et à la FAKC mais aussi à la communauté du développement au Canada et à l’étranger.

Aujourd’hui le BRAC en tant qu’organisation est plus à même de traiter directement avec les donateurs qu’il ne l’était il y a douze ans. Malgré ce fait, son enthousiasme pour le partenariat avec la FAKC demeure. Des discussions ont actuellement lieu entre le BRAC, la FAKC et l’ACDI en vue d’une recherche et d’une commune initiative d’apprentissage novatrices fondées sur le nouveau projet du BRAC pour rejoindre ceux qui vivent dans la pauvreté extrême. La prochaine phase du programme d’éducation primaire non formelle représentera aussi une occasion de collaboration et de partenariat continu entre le BRAC et la FAKC.

Toutefois, notre partenariat avec le BRAC, bien qu’unique en son genre, n’est pas très différent des relations que nous entretenons avec beaucoup d’autres partenaires du Sud. Les caractéristiques fondamentales de la formule de partenariat réciproque, de la valeur ajoutée apportée aux dollars que le Canada octroie à l’aide au développement, et de la mise en commun des forces de chacun reflètent aussi nos relations avec d’autres partenaires. L’approche de la FAKC multipliée par le nombre d’autres organisations de la société civile du Canada qui ont des approches similaires produit une valeur ajoutée cumulative dont tire profit le processus de développement à la fois au Canada et dans le monde en voie de développement.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter les sites www.akfc.ca et www.brac.net ou contacter salimah@akfc.ca.
Séparateur

Notes de fin de texte

  1. NDT - Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee (BRAC).
  2. Budget envisagé pour l’année 2002, selon le Rapport annuel 2001 du BRAC.
  3. NDT – FAKC: Fondation Aga Khan Canada.
  4. NDT - Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN).
  5. NDT - Aga Khan University’s Institute of Educational Development (AKU-IED).

TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide