CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

Reality of Aid 2002
NGOs Assess CIDA's Focus on Social Development

Canada

Brian Tomlinson, Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC)

An eight-month process of internal and public ministerial consultations on strategic policies to strengthen the effectiveness of Canadian aid was completed by the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in September 2001(1) . After more than five years of uncertainty, largely because of substantial budgetary cuts between 1995 and 1997, a newly appointed Minister (Maria Minna) and President (Len Good) have renewed the policy framework for CIDA and its role in Canadian international cooperation.

Following her review of CIDA's widely dispersed programme, Minister Minna launched an initiative, in September 2000, to focus Canada's aid on four social development priorities - basic education, health and nutrition, protection of children and HIV/AIDS. Over the next four years, more than 40% of CIDA's current programming resources could be shifted to meet ambitious disbursement targets for each of these four priorities.

Canadian NGOs welcomed the social development initiative and participated in consultations to elaborate CIDA's specific approaches for each priority. These priorities will increase concentration on activities that directly affect poverty. Nevertheless, NGOs cautioned against too narrow a focus. CIDA's approach lacks reference to a more comprehensive and integrated analysis of the causes and approaches to poverty, within which to situate individual priorities and establish the linkages necessary to ensure realisation of social development goals.

The December 2001 Federal Budget provides Cdn$ 1 billion for Canadian international assistance over the next three years, including a $500 million Trust Fund for Africa. While the scale of resources committed were strongly welcomed by Canadian NGOs, unfortunately this increase focuses on one-off initiatives that do not add permanent aid resources for sustained poverty reduction through CIDA. The overall focus of this Budget was on the economic and security fall-out from the terrorist actions of September 11th. Canadian NGOs have been calling for an approach to terrorism that includes heightened attention to the vast economic and political disparities that are conducive to armed conflicts around the world. CIDA is an essential resource for Canadian expressions of human solidarity.

Poverty reduction and 'enlightened' self-interest drive policy

Parallel to the process of establishing the social development priorities, the Minister and CIDA's President have set out proposals, in a policy paper, Strengthening Aid Effectiveness (SAE), for improving CIDA's overall aid effectiveness. These new directions will align CIDA more closely with policies to reform national aid programmes at the OECD and in other donor countries(1). Core elements of the Canadian approach include the following:

  • The overarching purposes of Canada's international cooperation efforts are to advance both poverty reduction and Canada's 'enlightened self interest' in developing countries. The International Development Targets and CIDA's social development priorities underlie these purposes.
  • CIDA's SAE accepts, without question, the recent consensus among donors on the requirements for aid to have an effective impact. CIDA will more closely harmonise its country programming approaches with the World Bank's Comprehensive Development Framework (CDF), the IMF/Bank initiated Poverty Reduction Strategy Papers (PRSPs), and donor coordinated Sector Wide Approaches (SWAps).
  • While recognising the development roles of civil society and the private sector, CIDA will be increasing its commitments to programmatic approaches, coordinated with other donors, and largely involving government-to-government partnerships. The SAE paper is sceptical of the impact of one-off projects. Canada's 'enlightened self-interest' will also be achieved through increased support for 'global public goods' initiatives in the multilateral realm.
  • New approaches will require a strengthened field presence for CIDA, more efficient means to assure accountability for CIDA resources, consideration of options for significant untying of Canadian aid, and increased geographic concentration of its programming resources (perhaps reducing the number of core countries from 30 to between 15 and 20).
  • The SAE paper recognises that civil society organisations play an increasingly important role in international cooperation, bringing not only their own contributions but also generating new ideas and approaches, that are later taken up by other development actors. For the past 30 years, and in the early years almost alone among donors, CIDA has maintained strong responsive funding mechanisms in support of Canadian NGO partnerships in the South and in promoting international cooperation in Canada. Ignoring lessons from this history, the SAE paper proposes to align this NGO-initiated programming to CIDA's own bilateral country priorities, significantly reducing the current flexibility of CIDA's responsive programming mechanisms and distorting current partnership relationships for Canadian NGOs. This is due to the president of CIDA is seeking greater administrative order and more control by CIDA over programming.
  • CIDA's SAE acknowledges the inter-dependence of public policies and their impact on the lives of people in developing countries. It calls for stronger policy capacities for CIDA in inter-departmental policy processes. It suggests that the government review the impact of its policies on developing countries and assess opportunities for improved coherence. CIDA will pay special attention to trade policies and their bearing on poverty reduction.

Canadian NGO benchmarks for improved effectiveness

Although the SAE paper reflects many issues and directions long proposed by the Canadian NGO community as fundamental to achieving poverty eradication (2), in the September 2001 public consultations, a number of critical weaknesses were noted and concerns were widely shared.

While the final version of the paper is not yet available, Canadian NGOs will be measuring the resulting CIDA strategies against several critical NGO benchmarks:

  1. An affirmation of poverty eradication as the only purpose for CIDA. The calamitous attacks in September 2001 focussed attention on human security, which is intimately connected to expanding human solidarity, and choosing justice, acting together with those who are excluded from the benefits of the global order. Aid is a vital channel for expressing human solidarity and CIDA is privileged among government ministries, as it can choose to focus all its resources and intelligence on the imperative to end poverty.
  2. A poverty lens for making choices for sectoral and geographic concentration. For a middle income donor, geographic concentration of relatively small disbursements of resources may not achieve greater impact. Instead, impact and effectiveness may depend more on the role that CIDA adopts in a given country than on the dollars available to pool with others. But if choices are to be made, NGOs will be looking for a poverty rationale for selecting 'core countries', anchoring such decisions in poverty analysis (so far not present in the SAE),not on geopolitical and Canadian economic considerations.
  3. CIDA country strategies, directed by poverty plans, but with critical distance from World Bank/IMF PRSPs. CIDA country programme strategies and activities must be explicitly guided by an understanding of poverty, authentically rooted in inclusive country process for determining priorities for reducing poverty. For the most part, PRSPs are imposed processes lacking real engagement and legitimacy for social and political actors, particularly those marginalised by economic or minority status. Equal caution is also required for participation in SWAps, where little attention is paid to civil society roles, and where CIDA as a small donor may better play a 'niche' role (e.g. promoting gender equality issues or ensuring roles for civil society).
  4. Untying provisions for Canadian aid, which promote aid purposes contributing to improved channels for poverty reduction. CIDA has wide scope for further untying the procurement of goods and services used in implementing Canadian aid. It should do so in a manner that gives special preference to developing countries' technical skills and goods (including the local/regional purchase of food for food aid). Aid untying is not an end in itself. Without changing the terms of contracting to recognise improved capacities for reducing poverty in the South, untying may simply open access to Canadian aid resources for large institutions in other developed countries, with global bidding capacities, while preserving existing patterns of aid that diminish ownership in developing countries. Untying CIDA's responsive mechanisms that support the civic expression of Canadian public commitment to development and global citizenship would undermine the purposes for these mechanisms - strengthening the intrinsic value of organisational partnerships that engage Canadians.
  5. A comprehensive operational framework for public engagement of Canadians. The SAE paper lacks any substantive discussion of the public engagement of Canadians and their role as global citizens. Strategies for effectively tackling global poverty require changing ourselves, as well as the lives of people living in poverty. Public engagement strategies, undertaken by both CIDA and other civil society organisations, that build on ethical foundations for aid and poverty eradication will resonate with Canadians. Disparate one-off communications and education projects, and periodic public relations opportunities not only fail to address comprehensive strategic goals but will also undermine needed public support for influencing policy that CIDA might want to achieve within government.
  6. Strengthening the role of responsive programming for effective citizen-to-citizen development cooperation. Programmes to reduce poverty will not be effective in the absence of strong participation and ownership by communities and social movements representing people living in poverty. Civil society organisations are key agents for democratisation. Strategies to reduce poverty cannot be condensed to a single roadmap that guides all CIDA-funded development relationships. The allocation of development resources is highly contested and fraught with human rights violations in the South. Many southern NGOs and citizen organisations look to their relationships with northern counterparts for solidarity and sources of funds. CIDA funding mechanisms should not erode the flexibility and capacity of Canadian NGOs to support creative initiatives of community and national counterparts, who are often working in precarious situations.
  7. A substantial re-investment of financial resources in Canada's aid budget. Canada ranks 17th among 22 aid donors in the year 2000, a shameful drop from 6th in 1995. CIDA's commitment to reduce poverty through more focused and strategic directions, including the social development priorities, will not be realised without sustained growth in the budget for CIDA and Canadian ODA. In order to raise Canadian ODA to 0.35% of GNP by 2005/06, as a step towards the international target of 0.7%, CCIC has estimated that cumulative increases of at least Cdn$400 million are required for each of the next four years. The December 2001 Budget Plan adds Cdn$100 million for Afghanistan in 2001/02, but offers no increase for CIDA in 2002/03 and adds Cdn$285 million in 2003/04. The Cdn$500 million Trust Fund for Africa is a significant response to urgent development needs in Sub-Saharan Africa and an important signal to other G7 countries, but will be administered outside of CIDA as a one-time allocation of resources. CCIC;s analysis of the Budget projects Canada's ODA/GNP ratio to increase to approximately 0.30% for 2001/02, but then to slip back below 0.30% in the next two years.

CIDA is renewing itself. Publication of CIDA's Strengthening Aid Effectiveness in 2002 will be an important benchmark. Ultimately, however, aid effectiveness will be tested, not only by the designs of a strategy paper, but also by the quality of our aid relationships, engaging and acting in solidarity with communities of people living in poverty. International development cooperation is a critical resource for human solidarity and justice to which the donor nations, Canada among them, must bring the full measure of generosity and intelligence. Thirty or more years of development cooperation has taught us that there are no blueprints; we cannot assume answers. And theoretical policies must be tested against the real experience and practice of aid in the South.

[1] CIDA’s draft paper on Strengthening Aid Effectiveness: New Approaches to Canadian International Development Assistance is available on the CIDA site (www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/aideffectiveness). A final version of this document, with revisions based on comments and public consultations, was due to be presented to Cabinet late 2001 and published in 2002. CCIC’s analysis of the draft aid effectiveness paper is available on development policy page of CCIC’s site (www.ccic.ca)

[2] See the Canada chapters in previous editions of The Reality of Aid.

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

Bilan de l'aide 2002
L'ACDI mise sur le développement social; les ONG surveillent de près

Canada

Brian Tomlinson
Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI)

En septembre 2001, l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) concluait une démarche de consultations ministérielles publiques et internes de huit mois sur les orientations stratégiques d'amélioration de l'efficacité de l'aide internationale canadienne [1] . Après plus de cinq ans de flottements dus en grande partie aux compressions budgétaires majeures des années 1995 à 1997, la nouvelle ministre Maria Minna et le nouveau président Len Good ont révisé le cadre de politiques de l'ACDI ainsi que son rôle dans la coopération internationale canadienne.

Après un examen du très vaste programme de l'ACDI, la ministre Maria Minna a décidé en septembre 2000 que l'aide internationale canadienne se concentrerait sur quatre priorités : instruction de base, santé et alimentation, protection de l'enfance et sida. Pour chacune de ces priorités, on a fixé d'ambitieux objectifs de dépenses devant être atteints par la réaffectation de 40 p. 100 des ressources affectées aux programmes de l'ACDI en quatre ans.

Favorables à l'" initiative de développement social ", les ONG ont participé aux consultations visant à élaborer l'approche particulière de l'ACDI pour chaque priorité. Les priorités portent sur les activités contribuant directement à la lutte contre la pauvreté. Les ONG émettent toutefois des réserves contre les risques d'une concentration trop prononcée. Il manque en effet à l'approche de l'ACDI une vision globale des causes de la pauvreté et des moyens de la combattre, qui permettrait de bien camper les priorités et de mettre en place les leviers nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs de développement social.

Le budget fédéral de décembre 2001 attribue 1 milliard de dollars canadiens à l'aide internationale canadienne en trois ans, y compris un fonds d'affectation spécial pour l'Afrique. Certes, les ONG canadiennes se félicitent de l'ampleur de ces ressources, mais malheureusement, cette initiative ne fait que multiplier les actes isolés sans accroître les ressources permanentes que l'ACDI peut affecter à la réduction de la pauvreté à long terme. Le dernier budget du gouvernement s'est principalement intéressé aux conséquences des attentats du 11 septembre sur l'économie et la sécurité. S'agissant de lutte contre le terrorisme, les ONG canadiennes préconisent que l'on s'intéresse de plus près aux vastes disparités économiques et politiques qui sont à l'origine des conflits armés dans le monde. L'ACDI constitue un pôle essentiel d'expression de la solidarité canadienne.

Réduction de la pauvreté et " intérêt propre bien compris "

Parallèlement à l'établissement des priorités de développement social, la ministre et le président de l'ACDI ont publié un document intitulé Pour une aide internationale plus efficace, dont le titre exprime les visées. Les orientations énoncées dans ce document rapprocheront l'ACDI des politiques de réforme des programmes d'aide internationale des pays de l'OCDE et d'autres pays donateurs(1). L'approche canadienne peut être schématisée comme suit.

  • " Les objectifs supérieurs du Canada en matière de coopération internationale consistent tout ensemble à réduire la pauvreté et à poursuivre " l'intérêt propre bien compris " du Canada dans les pays en voie de développement. Les objectifs chiffrés de développement international et les priorités de développement social de l'ACDI reflètent ces finalités.
  • " Dans son document Pour une aide internationale plus efficace, l'ACDI ne remet pas en question le consensus récemment exprimé par les bailleurs de fonds au sujet de l'efficacité de l'aide internationale. Aussi compte-t-elle harmoniser davantage ses méthodes d'élaboration de programmes bilatéraux avec le Cadre de développement intégré (CDI) de la Banque mondiale, les Documents de stratégie pour la réduction de la pauvreté (DSRP) du FMI et de la Banque et les approches sectorielles concertées des bailleurs de fonds.
  • " Tout en reconnaissant le rôle de la société civile et du secteur privé en matière de développement, l'ACDI se consacrera davantage, de concert avec les autres donateurs, aux approches par programmes, lesquelles reposent en grande partie sur les partenariats entre gouvernements. Dans le document, l'ACDI émet des doutes sur l'efficacité des projets ponctuels. Par ailleurs, on contribuera aussi à " l'intérêt propre bien compris " du Canada au moyen d'initiatives visant les " biens publics globaux " dans la sphère multilatérale.
  • " Les nouvelles approches nécessiteront de l'ACDI une présence accrue sur le terrain, des modalités de reddition de comptes plus efficaces, l'étude d'options visant un déliement substantiel de l'aide et la concentration géographique des ressources de programmes (ce qui pourrait faire passer le nombre de " pays de base " de 30 à 15 ou 20 environ).
  • " L'ACDI, dans Pour une aide internationale plus efficace, constate le rôle croissant des organisations de la société civile en coopération internationale, non seulement par leur action mais aussi par leurs idées et leurs perspectives nouvelles qui sont ensuite reprises par d'autres acteurs. Depuis 30 ans, faisant d'ailleurs au début presque cavalier seul à ce titre, l'ACDI maintient de solides mécanismes de financement d'initiatives extérieures soutenant des partenariats avec des ONG canadiennes dans le Sud et favorisant la coopération internationale au Canada. Rejetant cette riche expérience, les auteurs du document proposent que les programmes lancés par les ONG soient conformes aux priorités bilatérales de l'ACDI, réduisant ainsi considérablement la souplesse actuelle de l'Agence et faussant sa relation de partenariat avec les ONG canadiennes. Ce phénomène s'explique par la prédilection du président pour l'ordre administratif et un encadrement accru des programmes par l'ACDI.
  • " Dans son document, l'ACDI reconnaît aussi l'interdépendance des politiques publiques ainsi que leur incidence sur la vie des populations des pays en voie de développement. Tout en réclamant un accroissement de ses capacités en matière d'élaboration de politiques interministérielles, elle suggère que le gouvernement examine les effets de ses politiques sur les pays en voie de développement et profite des occasions d'en améliorer la cohérence. L'ACDI accordera une attention particulière aux politiques commerciales et à leur effet sur la réduction de la pauvreté.

Critères des ONG canadiennes dans l'évaluation de l'amélioration de l'efficacité

Quoique le document Pour une aide internationale plus efficace reprenne maintes problématiques et orientations présentées depuis longtemps par les ONG canadiennes comme fondamentales pour l'élimination de la pauvreté [2] , les consultations publiques de septembre 2001 ont fait ressortir des faiblesses importantes et des préoccupations partagées par nombre d'intervenants.

Même si la version finale du document n'est pas encore publiée, on peut dire d'ores et déjà que les ONG canadiennes mesureront l'efficacité des stratégies de l'ACDI à l'aune des critères suivants :

  1. L'ACDI doit déclarer l'élimination de la pauvreté son unique but. Les terribles attentats de septembre 2001 ont concentré l'attention sur la sécurité humaine, laquelle est intimement liée à la solidarité, à un parti pris pour la justice et à l'accueil au sein de la collectivité des populations exclues de l'ordre mondial actuel. L'aide internationale est un outil capital d'expression de la solidarité humaine, et l'ACDI a le privilège, parmi les ministères du gouvernement, d'être le seul organisme à pouvoir choisir de consacrer l'entièreté de ses ressources et de ses efforts à la lutte contre la pauvreté.
  2. L'élimination de la pauvreté doit guider le choix des sphères géographiques et sectorielles d'intervention. Lorsqu'un pays donateur ne dispose que de ressources modestes, il ne va pas de soi que son action sera plus efficace s'il les concentre sur un petit nombre de pays. En fait, l'efficacité de l'action de l'ACDI peut dépendre davantage du rôle qu'elle se donne dans chaque pays que de l'ampleur des ressources qu'elle peut contribuer aux efforts collectifs. Cependant, s'il faut faire un choix et privilégier des " pays de concentrations ", les ONG tiennent à ce que ce choix soit effectué en fonction d'une analyse du degré de pauvreté de ces pays (facteur qui n'est pas évoqué dans le document de l'ACDI) et non en fonction des intérêts économiques et géopolitiques du Canada.
  3. Les stratégies bilatérales de l'ACDI doivent être éclairées par le souci d'éliminer la pauvreté mais se distancier au besoin des Documents de stratégie pour la réduction de la pauvreté (DSRP)+ de la Banque mondiale et du FMI. Les stratégies et activités de programmes de l'ACDI doivent être explicitement guidées par une vision de la pauvreté qui privilégie authentiquement la participation des pays à la détermination des priorités pour l'élimination de la pauvreté. Pour l'essentiel, les DSRP énoncent des processus imposés qui réduisent à la portion congrue l'engagement et la légitimation des acteurs sociopolitiques, surtout de ceux qui sont marginalisés par leur situation économique ou minoritaire.
  4. L'aide canadienne doit être déliée de manière à contribuer à l'amélioration des instruments de réduction de la pauvreté. Si elle le voulait, l'ACDI aurait le loisir de libérer encore davantage l'aide internationale des obligations d'achat de biens et de services qui lui sont rattachées. Elle doit le faire de manière à privilégier les compétences et les biens des pays en voie de développement (notamment en achetant sur le marché local les denrées destinées à l'aide alimentaire). Le déliement de l'aide n'est pas une fin en soi. Si on ne modifie pas les contrats en vue de reconnaître les nouvelles capacités du Sud, le déliement pourrait avoir pour seul effet de permettre aux grands établissements d'autres pays développés, de participer à des appels d'offres internationaux, de profiter des ressources canadiennes tout en laissant intactes les modalités de l'aide internationale qui réduisent la prise en charge par les pays en voie de développement. En déliant l'aide consacrée aux initiatives extérieures qui expriment l'engagement public canadien en matière de développement et de citoyenneté mondiale, l'ACDI déjouerait les objectifs mêmes de ce mécanisme, soit renforcer la valeur intrinsèque des partenariats organisationnels permettant la participation des Canadiens.
  5. Il importe d'établir un cadre opérationnel complet pour la participation publique des Canadiens. Le document de l'ACDI ne traite nulle part en profondeur de l'importance de la participation publique des Canadiens et de leur rôle comme citoyens du monde. Pour s'attaquer efficacement à la pauvreté, il faut se changer soi-même autant que changer la vie des personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté. Les Canadiens sont réceptifs aux stratégies de mobilisation de l'ACDI et des autres organisations de la société civile faisant appel à la fibre éthique. En se contentant de communications, de mesures de relations publiques et de projets éducatifs ponctuels et disparates, non seulement rate-t-on les objectifs stratégiques globaux mais on se prive aussi du soutien public dont l'ACDI aurait besoin pour influencer les politiques du gouvernement.
  6. Il faut renforcer le rôle des programmes d'initiative extérieure pour favoriser la coopération efficace entre citoyens. Les programmes de réduction de la pauvreté ne peuvent fonctionner sans une participation active et une prise en charge par les collectivités et les mouvements sociaux représentant les gens qui vivent dans la pauvreté. Les organisations de la société civile sont des agents essentiels de démocratisation. On ne peut pas réduire les stratégies de lutte contre la pauvreté à un organigramme unique faisant état de tous les liens entre les projets financés par l'ACDI. L'affectation des fonds destinés au développement fait l'objet de critiques sévères et est constamment associée à des violations des droits de la personne dans le Sud. De nombreuses ONG et organisations citoyennes du Sud comptent sur la solidarité et les fonds de leurs homologues du Nord. Les mécanismes de financement de l'ACDI ne doivent pas miner la souplesse des ONG canadiennes ni leur capacité de soutenir les initiatives originales de leurs homologues locaux et nationaux, qui œuvrent souvent dans des conditions précaires.
  7. Le Canada doit renflouer substantiellement son budget d'aide internationale. Le Canada se classait 17e sur 22 donateurs en 2000, poursuivant ainsi une honteuse dégringolade depuis 1995, année où il occupait le 6e rang. Les orientations plus pointues et plus stratégiques de l'ACDI et ses priorités de développement social ne lui permettront pas de remplir ses objectifs de réduction de la pauvreté sans une croissance soutenue de son budget et de celui de l'APD canadienne. Le CCCI a estimé que pour atteindre l'objectif de 0,35 p. 100 du PNB d'ici 2005-2006, étape intermédiaire vers l'atteinte de l'objectif international de 0,7 p. 100, il faudra des augmentations cumulatives annuelles d'au moins 400 millions de dollars canadiens pendant quatre ans. Le plan budgétaire de décembre 2001 ajoute 100 millions de dollars pour l'Afghanistan en 2001-2002 mais ne prévoit aucune augmentation pour l'ACDI en 2002-2003 et ajoute 285 millions en 2003-2004. Le fonds fiduciaire de 500 millions de dollars canadiens destiné à l'Afrique constitue une réponse importante aux urgents besoins de développement de l'Afrique subsaharienne ainsi qu'un signal important envoyé aux autres pays du G-7, mais il sera administré hors du giron de l'ACDI en tant que ressource ponctuelle. Selon les analyses du CCCI, le ratio APD-PNB du Canada augmentera graduellement pour atteindre environ 0,30 p. 100 en 2001-2002, mais il devrait retomber sous ce seuil au cours des deux années suivantes.

L'ACDI est en pleine mutation. La publication du document Pour une aide internationale plus efficace en 2002 constituera un jalon important. En bout de piste, cependant, l'efficacité de l'aide internationale sera jugée non seulement à l'aune des plans d'un document stratégique mais aussi en fonction de la qualité des relations, de l'engagement et de la solidarité du Canada à l'égard des peuples qui vivent dans la pauvreté. La coopération internationale est un moyen privilégié d'expression de la solidarité humaine et de la justice, et les pays donateurs, y compris le Canada, se doivent de donner la pleine mesure de leur générosité et de leurs efforts. La coopération internationale existe depuis plus de trente ans; cette longue expérience nous enseigne que les calculs théoriques ne sont pas toujours fiables. D'où la nécessité de mesurer la validité des plans en fonction de la pratique et de l'expérience concrète du Sud.

[1]Le document préliminaire de l'ACDI, intitulé Pour une aide internationale plus efficace - Les nouvelles approches du programme canadien d'aide internationale, est affiché sur le site web de l'ACDI (www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/aide-efficace). Une version finale du document, intégrant les commentaires issus de la consultation, devait être présentée au Cabinet à la fin de 2001 et publiée en 2002. Le CCCI a publié une analyse du document préliminaire dans la section Orientation politique de son site web (www.ccic.ca ).

[2] Voir le chapitre canadien des éditions antérieures du Bilan de l'aide.


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide