CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

The Federal Budget Plan 2000
CCIC’s Analysis of International Commitments

Highlights

  • Canadian ODA, at 0.25% of GNP for 2000/2001, continues on a downward trend despite very modest increases to the International Assistance Envelope.
  • Only very modest new resources are available to CIDA for new program spending in the next three years.
  • Canada joins the UK and the United States in promising to cancel 100% of bilateral debts to the highly indebted poor countries (HIPC) and makes a substantial contribution to the IMF / World Bank Trust Funds for multilateral debt cancellation

Canadian ODA Continues on a Declining Trend

Despite the Prime Minister’s pledge to increase Canadian foreign aid, made during his visit to Senegal this past November, Budget 2000 does nothing to reverse the declining trend in Canadian Official Development Assistance (ODA). In Senegal, the PM suggested that "we are a fortunate nation, and we have to share with others" and that foreign aid should increase as fast or faster than the economy grows. Budget 2000 reneges on this commitment and demonstrates the narrow vision that this government has for Canada’s international role in the 21st Century.

The international measure of Canada’s generosity is the proportion of our Gross National Product that we commit to ODA each year. Budget 2000 drops any mention of the internationally agreed target of 0.7% of GNP devoted to ODA. From a high of 0.5% in the early 1990s, Canada’s ratio reached a low of 0.30% in 1998 and is projected to fall to 0.25% in 2000/01 and to 0.24% by 2002/03.

Canadian NGOs have been seeking a planned re-investment in human development for poverty reduction with a growing ODA budget reaching 0.35% of GNP by 2005/06. Not only has this government not reversed the declining trend of the 90s, the proportion of our economy that we are prepared to share with developing countries will continue to decline, despite an economy that according to the Minister of Finance "is among the strongest of the Group of Seven (G7) nations" (Budget Speech 2000).

Internationally Canada is positioned no longer among the most generous donors, dropping from 7th position among 21 donors in the early 1990s to 11th position in 1998. The recently released 1999 annual Report of the OECD’s Development Assistance Committee (DAC) analyzes the overall drop in donor ODA effort since 1992. Up until 1998, the cumulative drop in Canadian aid efforts has been more than US$5 billion. Only Italy, Finland, Sweden and France have made cuts proportionately deeper than those made by Canada. Budget 2000 will only accentuate this "Development Deficit" for Canada in the coming years.

Canada has been a rhetorical leader among donors in supporting DAC specific targets in basic education, primary health, and cutting by half the proportion of people living in absolute poverty by the year 2015. Budget 2000 gives every indication that Canada, in the lead-up to the 5-year review of the UN Summit on Social Development, will renege on its share of resources to meet these targets. For example, OXFAM International suggests that donors need to contribute an additional US$8 billion annually over the next 15 years if the global community is to achieve the stated goal of basic education for all by 2015. Canada’s share of this target would have been 4% or $325 million at the beginning of the 1990s. Less than half of what was cut between 1992 and 1998 would have met this goal. Budget 2000 may provide CIDA with a mere $57 million in resources for all new program initiatives in 2000/01.

What are the projections for CIDA and ODA for the next three years?

For the first time, Budget 2000 gives projections for the next three years (up to 2002/03) for Canadian ODA (see Table 1 below). According to the Department of Finance, CIDA’s budget will increase by $100 million in 2000/2001, $145 million in 2001/02, and $190 million in 2002/03. These amounts are in addition to the commitments made in the 1999 Federal Budget for the International Assistance Envelope.

In the 1999 Budget the Minister of Finance added $75 million to the 1998/99 IAE base of $1,911.2 for 2000/2001 and promised that this would be the base IAE for subsequent years. The Minister also added $50 million to the IAE base for 1999/2000. According to the Department of Finance, the new uncommitted resources for IAE in each year are the following:

1998/99 $1,911.2 million

1999/2000 $1,911.2 + $50 = $1,961.2 million

2000/2001 $1,911.2 + $75 + $105 = $2,091 million (only $100 of the $105 is available to CIDA)

2001/2002 $1,991 + $145 = $2,136.0 million

2002/2003 $1,991 + $190 = $2,181.0 million

But despite an increase of $125 million, a significant Budget move this year dramatically affects the new resources available to CIDA for new programming. In the past two Budgets, the Minister of Finance "pre-paid" dues to UN agencies into the previous fiscal year, in effect freeing these resources for new program initiatives in the current year. In Budget 2000, the Minister of Finance did not pre-pay any UN payments coming due in 2000/01. Therefore CIDA will have to find approximately an additional $68 million for multilateral programs from new resources available for the coming fiscal year.

No "pre-payments" sharply reduces the impact of the increase for CIDA’s budget for the next three years. These payments will now come out of the increases for CIDA in Budget 2000 and CIDA’s portion (unknown) of the $25 million difference between the increase in 1999/2000 and 2000/2001 from the 1999 Budget. Therefore resources for new programs in each of the next three years (assuming no internal reallocations of existing programs) are the following:

2000/2001 $25 + $100 - $68 = $57 million

2001/2002 $45 million

2002/2003 $45 million

The cumulative three year total of new resources after accounting for UN dues is approximately $300 million [$125 + $170 + $215 – (68 X 3) = $306 million].

CCIC was seeking at least $300 million for the International Assistance Envelope for 2000/2001 and (in addition to any resources committed to debt cancellation) as an urgently needed investment to meet Canada’s international commitments to poverty-oriented human development. We were looking for a timetable that added $300 million to each of the next 5 years (on top of a revised base each year). Our proposal would have seen a total of $1.8 billion added to the IAE over three years; Budget 2000 added $605 million, a third of the resources we sought.

CCIC has been strongly promoting a change agenda for CIDA to sharpen the focus on poverty reduction and improve the impact of our aid program. In recent months we have been encouraged by the interest that new leadership in CIDA has shown in many of the issues of this agenda. While money is not the most important factor influencing the success of this change process, we fear that the very limited new resources available will make it exceptionally difficult to undertake new poverty-focused initiatives and pilot new approaches.

According to the Budget documents, CIDA will be administering new resources ($100 million over four years, including 1999/2000) that the government has committed internationally for the Environment Trust Fund and other initiatives to counter climate change. Fifteen ($15) million of these funds will be directed to the controversial World Bank Carbon Fund. This Fund will allow industrial countries to reduce their needed investments to lower carbon emissions by investing in (cheaper) carbon reducing projects in the South, thereby, as some would argue, turning the atmosphere as a global common into a marketable commodity. (See an analysis of the Carbon Fund on the web site of Sierra Club Canada, http://www.sierraclub.ca/national).

On a positive note, the Budget also allocated for the first time $10 million in each of the next two years to support the human security agenda at DFAIT. It is expected that this may reduce behind-the-scenes bureaucratic conflicts with CIDA for CIDA resources to support DFAIT-initiated activities for human security.

Dramatic Increases in Canadian Defence Spending

While Canada’s commitment to long-term human development for the poorest countries received very modest levels of increased support, Budget 2000 provides $2.3 billion to the Department of Defence (of which $400 million is for Kosovo in 1999/2000). A highly disproportionate investment in Canada’s response to international conflict (almost three times the investment in the IAE for human development) is compounded by no indication that the government is prepared to review current defence priorities and assumptions (i.e. that Canada requires multi-purpose combat ready land, sea and air defence forces). CCIC supports the call by Project Ploughshares for a thorough review of Canadian defence priorities in support of our foreign policy priority to human security. Before making substantial investments in equipment and military capabilities, we need to be clear about those that are required for military missions for peacekeeping and that are appropriate to support humanitarian interventions.

Welcomed Support for Debt Cancellation but Short of the Jubilee Vision

The Budget 2000 document announces that Canada will cancel 100% of the debts owed to Canada (to the Export Development Corporation and the Canadian Wheat Board) for 19 of the highly indebted poorest countries (all that have debts outstanding to Canada). While not the full Jubilee list, this change in policy is a credit to the strong Jubilee Campaign launched a year ago by Canadian Churches and non-governmental organizations. It is a substantial improvement on the short list of countries that the Prime Minister announced in March 1999. However, these countries will have to continue to jump through many hoops before they realize the benefits of Canada’s debt cancellation. The primary hoop remains linked to the enhanced HIPC agreement reached at the IMF/World Bank meetings in September 1999 – i.e. three years of rigorous structural adjustment performance by the country seeking relief. These conditions may, in the end, undermine the long-term benefits of resources freed by cancelled debt to meet the basic education and primary health care needs of the poor.

Bilateral debt cancellation will not have any budgetary implications for the IAE; the full 100% will be written off against non-budgetary provisions (approximately $1 billion). The actual cancellation will take place in the year that the country reaches its completion point with HIPC. The full amount will be included in ODA in that year, thereby increasing net ODA and affecting the ratio of ODA to GNP (most likely in 2002 and beyond). Canada also made a substantial contribution ($175 million) to the HIPC Trust Funds at the IMF and World Bank. Canada had resisted until recently making these contributions arguing that the resources existed within the IMF/World Bank to cover much of the cost of multilateral debt cancellation. The $175 million is being charged against the 1999/2000 IAE and will have no impact on 2000/2001.

Internationally donors have been promising informally that debt cancellation will be additional to meeting their obligations for ODA for long-term development. In Canada’s case there is much to commend in the Budget for bilateral debt cancellation, but is it only coincidence that money for HIPC Trusts Funds(and $$35 million for the Environment) is found in 1999/2000, but there is no money to pre-pay UN dues for CIDA?

Table 1: CCIC Projections for ODA
(Based on Information from the Department of Finance)

1999/2000

2000/01

2001/02

2002/03

Millions of Cdn $

       
Base IAE 1,961.0 1,991.0 1,991.0 1,991.0
Increase to CIDA      100.0    145.0    190.0
Sub-Total: Revised IAE 1,961.0 2,091.0 2,136.0 2,181.0
 
Debt Reduction Facility in IMF and World Bank    175.0      
 
Environment Trust Fund and Climate Change     35.0     10.0     25.0     30.0
 
Human Security (DFAIT) *       10.0     10.0     10.0
 
Total 2,171.0 2,111.0 2,171.0 2,221.0
 
Adjustments to the IAE * 302.0 278.0 287.0 278.0
 
Estimated ODA 2,473.0 2,388.0 2,448.0 2,498.0
 
Estimated GNP 912,800.0 964,100.0 1,011,500.0 1,062,100.0
 
ODA to GNP Ratio 0.27% 0.25% 0.24% 0.24%

* The International Assistance Envelope needs to be adjusted to take account of bilateral debt relief, support for refugees for their first year in Canada (in 1999/2000 an estimated $20 million has been added for Kosovo refugees in Canada), imputed costs for students from the South studying in Canada, and removing countries in transition that are not recognized as eligible for ODA (Russia etc.). The allocation to DFAIT for Human Security has been counted for ODA at 50% as it is not clear the purposes of these allocations

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

Le plan budgétaire fédéral 2000
Analyse de la dimension internationale par le CCCI

Faits saillants

  • L’APD canadienne, à 0,25 p. 100 du PNB pour 2000-2001, poursuit sa chute malgré une très faible augmentation de l’enveloppe d’aide internationale.
  • Les nouvelles ressources dont disposera l’ACDI pour ses nouveaux programmes pendant les trois prochaines années demeurent très modestes.
  • Le Canada emboîte le pas au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis en promettant d’annuler la totalité de ses créances bilatérales envers les pays pauvres très endettés et fait une contribution substantielle au fonds fiduciaire du FMI et de la Banque mondiale pour l’annulation de la dette multilatérale.

L’APD canadienne poursuit sa chute

Lors de sa visite au Sénégal en novembre dernier, le premier ministre s’était engagé à augmenter l’aide étrangère canadienne; or, avec le budget 2000, la courbe descendante de l’aide publique au développement (APD) canadienne se poursuit. " Nous sommes un pays fortuné, et nous devons partager avec les autres ", avait déclaré le premier ministre, précisant que l’aide étrangère devait progresser au moins au même rythme que l’économie. Le budget 2000 désavoue cet engagement et trahit la vision étroite du gouvernement quant au rôle international du Canada au XXIe siècle.

À l’échelle internationale, la générosité du Canada se mesure à la proportion du produit national brut (PNB) consacrée à l’APD. Dans le budget 2000, il n’est même plus fait mention de l’objectif internationalement convenu de 0,7 p. 100 à cet égard. Après avoir plafonné à 0,5 p. 100 au début des années 90, le ratio du Canada a chuté à 0,30 p. 100 en 1998 et devrait tomber à 0,25 p. 100 en 2000-2001 et à 0,24 p. 100 en 2002-2003.

Les ONG canadiennes réclament une relance planifiée de l’APD vers un objectif de 0,35 p. 100 pour 2005-2006 en vue de contribuer au développement humain en luttant contre la pauvreté. Non seulement le gouvernement ne fait-il rien pour arrêter la baisse des années 90, mais ce que le Canada est prêt à partager avec les pays en voie de développement continue de diminuer par rapport à son économie, même si celle-ci, selon le ministre des Finances, " est l’une des plus fortes des pays du G-7 " (discours du budget 2000).

Ainsi, le Canada ne se classe plus parmi les pays les plus généreux du monde : sur 21, il est passé du 7e rang au début des années 90 au 11e rang en 1998. Le Comité d’aide au développement (CAD) de l’OCDE vient de publier son rapport annuel 1999, où il analyse la baisse générale de l’APD depuis 1992. Jusqu’en 1998, l’effort canadien a fléchi, accumulant une baisse de plus de 5 milliards de dollars américains. Seules l’Italie, la Finlande, la Suède et la France affichent un recul plus prononcé. Le budget 2000 ne fera qu’accentuer ce déficit pour le Canada au cours des prochaines années.

Le Canada a été l’un des grands promoteurs des objectifs du CAD en matière de scolarisation et de soins de santé primaires et en ce qui concerne la réduction de moitié du nombre de personnes vivant dans la pauvreté absolue d’ici l’an 2015. Les données du Budget 2000, nous portent à croire que le Canada, à l’approche de l’examen quinquennal des suites données au Sommet de l’ONU sur le développement social, renoncera à verser sa juste part pour atteindre ces objectifs. Ainsi, selon OXFAM International, les bailleurs de fonds doivent verser 8 milliards de dollars US de plus chaque année pour que l’on atteigne l’objectif énoncé d’universalisation de l’éducation sur la planète d’ici à 2015. La part du Canada se serait montée à 4 p. 100, soit 325 millions, au début des années 90. Moins de la moitié des réductions effectuées entre 1992 et 1998 aurait été suffisant pour atteindre cet objectif. Le budget 2000 pourrait ne laisser à l’ACDI qu’un maigre 57 millions de dollars pour tous ses nouveaux programmes en 2000-2001.

ACDI et APD : projections des trois prochaines années

Pour la première fois cette année, le budget comporte des projections portant sur l’APD canadienne des trois prochaines années (jusqu’en 2002-2003) (voir plus loin le tableau 1). Selon le ministère des Finances, le budget de l’ACDI augmentera de 100 millions de dollars en 2000-2001, de 145 millions en 2001-2002 et de 190 millions en 2002-2003. Ces montants s’ajoutent aux engagements pris dans le budget fédéral 1999 au sujet de l’enveloppe d’aide internationale (EAI).

Or, dans le budget 1999, le ministre des Finances avait annoncé pour 2000-2001 l’ajout de 75 millions à l’EAI de base de 1 911,2 millions de 1998-1999, tout en promettant que ce montant deviendrait par la suite l’EAI de base. Le ministre avait aussi ajouté 50 millions à l’EAI de base pour 1999-2000. Selon le ministère des Finances, les nouvelles ressources non engagées pour l’EAI sont les suivantes pour chaque année :

1998-1999 1 911,2 millions $

1999-2000 1 911,2 $ + 50 $ = 1 961,2 millions $

2000-2001 1 911,2 $ + 75 $ + $105 = 2 091 millions $ (l’ACDI ne dispose que de 100 $ sur les 105 $)

2001-2002 1 991 $ + 145 $ = 2 136,0 millions $

2002-2003 1 991 $ + 190 $ = 2 181,0 millions $

Toutefois, malgré une augmentation de 125 millions, une mesure importante de cette année a un effet de massue sur les nouvelles ressources dont l’ACDI dispose effectivement pour ses nouveaux programmes. Dans les deux derniers budgets, le ministre des Finances avait imputé aux années précédentes un " versement par anticipation " de sa quote-part à l’ONU, ce qui libérait ces ressources pour l’année en cours. Dans le budget 2000, le ministre des Finances ne répète pas cette opération. Par conséquent, l’ACDI devra prélever environ 68 millions de dollars des nouvelles ressources qui seront mises à sa disposition pendant le prochain exercice aux fins des programmes multilatéraux.

Cette omission réduit radicalement l’ampleur de l’augmentation du budget de l’ACDI pour les trois prochaines années. En effet, ces paiements doivent désormais être soustraits des augmentations destinées à l’Agence dans le budget 2000 et de la partie (inconnue) qui lui sera attribuée dans la différence de 25 millions entre l’augmentation en 1999-2000 et celle de 2000-2001 prévues dans le budget 1999. Par conséquent, les ressources disponibles pour les nouveaux programmes pendant chacune des trois années suivantes (toutes autres choses étant égales), se chiffrent somme suit :

2000-2001 25 $ + 100 $ - 68$ = 57 millions $

2001-2002 45 millions $

2002-2003 45 millions $

Ainsi, le total cumulatif des nouvelles ressources mises à la disposition de l’ACDI sur trois ans, déduction faite des quotes-parts à l’ONU, s’élève à environ 300 millions $
[125 $ + 170 $ + 215 $ – (68 x 3) = 306 millions $].

Le CCCI recommandait un minimum de 300 millions pour l’enveloppe d’aide internationale en 2000-2001 (en plus de l’annulation de la dette), comme montant requis d’urgence pour respecter les engagements du Canada en matière de développement humain axé sur la lutte contre la pauvreté. Il avait proposé un échéancier consistant à ajouter 300 millions pendant chacune des cinq prochaines années (en plus d’une base révisée pour chaque année). Selon cette proposition, l’EAI aurait gagné au total 1,8 milliard de dollars en trois ans; or, le budget a ajouté 605 millions, soit le tiers de la somme demandée.

Le CCCI milite vigoureusement pour que l’ACDI centre encore davantage son action sur la réduction de la pauvreté et améliore l’efficacité de son programme d’aide internationale. Depuis quelques mois, l’intérêt manifesté par la nouvelle direction de l’ACDI à l’égard d’un grand nombre de ces revendications était de bon augure. Cependant, si l’argent n’est pas le premier facteur déterminant de ce virage, il est à craindre que la maigreur des ressources nouvelles complique énormément toute tentative de lancer de nouvelles initiatives et d’essayer de nouvelles stratégies pour lutter contre la pauvreté.

Selon les documents du budget, l’ACDI administrera les nouvelles ressources (100 millions en quatre ans, y compris 1999-2000) que le gouvernement octroie sur le plan international au fonds fiduciaire pour l’environnement et à d’autres initiatives visant à contrer le changement climatique. De cette somme, 15 millions sont destinés au controversé Fonds pour le carbone de la Banque mondiale. Ce fonds permettra aux pays industriels de réduire les investissements qu’ils doivent consentir pour réduire les émissions de carbone en investissant dans des projets (moins coûteux) de réduction du carbone dans le Sud, ce qui, font valoir certains observateurs, équivaut à transformer un bien commun universel – l’atmosphère – en bien commercial. (On trouvera une analyse de la question dans le site web du Sierra Club du Canada : http://www.sierraclub.ca/national.)

On peut toutefois se féliciter du fait que le budget alloue pour la première fois 10 millions de dollars pendant chacune des deux prochaines années au soutien des activités du MAECI visant la sécurité humaine. Cette initiative devrait réduire les disputes de coulisse que suscite le besoin d’attribuer des ressources de l’ACDI aux actions lancées par le MAECI pour la sécurité humaine.

Hausse spectaculaire des dépenses en matière de défense

Alors que l’intérêt du Canada à l’égard du développement humain à long terme dans les pays les plus pauvres se traduit en chiffres très modestes, le budget 2000 attribue 2,3 milliards de dollars au ministère de la Défense (dont 400 millions pour le Kosovo en 1999-2000). Cet investissement hautement disproportionné dans l’action canadienne en situation de conflit (près de trois fois la somme consacrée au développement humain dans l’EAI) n’est accompagné d’aucune indication selon laquelle le gouvernement serait prêt à revoir ses priorités et ses présupposés actuels en matière de défense (à savoir que le Canada a besoin d’entretenir des forces armées prêtes au combat sur la terre, en mer et dans les airs). Le CCCI joint sa voix à celle de Project Ploughshares, qui réclame une révision en règle des priorités du Canada en matière de défense à la lumière de la prédominance accordée à la sécurité humaine dans le secteur des affaires étrangères. Avant de consentir des injections massives en équipement et en moyens militaires, il faut savoir exactement de quoi on a besoin pour assurer le maintien de la paix et l’action humanitaire.

L’annulation de la dette : un geste à saluer, bien que timide par rapport aux objectifs du Jubilé

Le budget 2000 nous apprend que notre pays effacera 100 p. 100 de la dette que doivent au Canada (plus exactement à la Société pour l’expansion des exportations et à la Commission canadienne du blé) 19 des pays les plus pauvres lourdement endettés (soit tous les pays très endettés dont le Canada est créancier). Bien que cette mesure ne réponde pas entièrement à la demande formulée pour le Jubilé, on la doit tout de même à l’intense campagne lancée il y a un an par les Églises et les organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes. Il s’agit d’une amélioration substantielle par rapport à la petite liste de pays que le premier ministre avait publiée en mars 1999. Cependant, ces pays devront se soumettre à plusieurs épreuves avant de pouvoir profiter de ce geste. La plus grande de ces épreuves est liée à l’entente révisée portant sur les pays pauvres très endettés (PPTE) conclue aux rencontres du FMI et de la Banque mondiale en septembre 1999, à savoir trois années d’ajustements structurels vigoureux préalables. Ces conditions pourraient, en définitive, saper les avantages à long terme que ces pays pourraient tirer des ressources libérées par l’annulation de la dette en les affectant aux besoins d’éducation et de soins de santé primaires des pauvres.

L’annulation de la dette bilatérale n’a aucun effet budgétaire sur l’EAI. La totalité du montant (environ 1 milliard de dollars) sera imputée à des comptes non budgétaires. La radiation comme telle aura lieu l’année où le pays aura rempli ses obligations comme PPTE. Le montant sera ajouté à l’APD de l’année en cause, ce qui augmentera la valeur nette de l’APD et se répercutera sur le rapport APD-PNB (vraisemblablement à partir de 2002). Le Canada verse aussi une contribution substantielle (175 millions de dollars) au fonds fiduciaire des PPTE du FMI et de la Banque mondiale. Jusqu’ici, le Canada refusait de faire ce geste, prétendant que le FMI et la Banque mondiale disposent des ressources nécessaires pour assumer une bonne partie de l’annulation de la dette multilatérale. Les 175 millions seront inscrits dans l’EAI 1999-2000 et n’auront aucun effet sur 2000-2001.

Les pays bailleurs de fonds ont promis officieusement que l’annulation de la dette serait comptabilisée à part dans la considération du respect de leurs engagements relatifs à l’APD consacrée au développement à long terme. Dans le cas du Canada, on peut se féliciter de l’annulation de la dette bilatérale, mais est-ce seulement une coïncidence si les sommes destinées aux fonds en fiducie des PPTE (et les 35 millions pour l’environnement) sont imputées en 1999-2000 tandis qu’il n’y a plus d’argent pour payer par anticipation la quote-part de l’ONU au nom de l’ACDI?

Tableau 1 : APD : projections du CCCI
(Selon les données fournies par le ministère des Finances)

 

1999-2000

2000-2001

2001-2002

2002-2003

Millions de $ can.

 
EAI de base 1 961,0 1 991,0 1 991,0 1 991,0
Augmentation pour l’ACDI   100,0 145,0 190,0
Sous-total : EAI révisée 1 961,0 2 091,0 2 136,0 2 181,0
 
Fonds de réduction de la dette du FMI et de la Banque mondiale 175,0      
 
Fonds fiduciaire pour l’environnement et changement climatique 35,0 10,0 25,0 30,0
 
Sécurité humaine (MAECI) *   10,0 10,0 10,0
 
Total 2 171,0 2 111,0 2 171,0 2 221,0
 
Redressement de l’EAI * 302,0 278,0 287,0 278,0
 
APD estimée 2 473,0 2 388,0 2 448,0 2 498,0
 
PNB estimé 912 800,0 964 100,0 1 011 500,0 1 062 100,0
 
Ratio APD/PNB 0,27 p. 100 0,25 p. 100 0,24 p. 100 0,24 p. 100

 * Il faut corriger le montant de l’enveloppe d’aide internationale (EAI) pour tenir compte de l’effacement de la dette bilatérale, de l’aide aux réfugiés pendant leur première année au Canada (en 1999-2000, on estime que 20 millions de dollars ont été ajoutés pour les réfugiés du Kosovo au Canada), d’une partie des dépenses imputables aux étudiants du Sud au Canada et de la suppression des pays en transition qui ne sont pas admissibles dans le calcul de l’APD (Russie, etc.). La somme attribuée au MAECI pour la sécurité humaine est comptabilisée comme APD à hauteur de 50 p. 100 puisqu’on ne sait pas encore exactement à quoi servira ce montant.


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide