CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

Sector Wide Approaches (SWAPs) to Development Cooperation
What are the Issues?

Brian Tomlinson
CCIC Policy Team
November 2000

In the 1990s a number of (mainly European) donors have been experimenting with "Sector Wide Approaches" (SWAPs) in their delivery of aid resources. More recently CIDA has been analyzing this experience and drawing lessons as the Agency considers options for placing greater emphasis on local ownership of development priorities and programs, strategic focus and policy coherence, and improved coordination among stakeholders.

What are SWAPs and where does CIDA stand?

"The sector wide approach defines a method of working between Government and donors…The defining characteristics are that all significant funding for the sector supports a single policy and expenditure program, under Government leadership, adopting common approaches across the sector and progressing towards relying on Government procedures to disburses and account for all funds". (Foster et. al. 2000, pp. 8-10)

This definition represents more a goal for SWAPs than current donor practice, where there is a broad continuum from stand-alone projects, to earmarked (project) funds within a government’s sector policy framework, to sector budgetary support pooled with other donors, to government budgetary support not linked to a particular sector. All approaches imply deeper policy dialogue with developing country governments. During the 1990s CIDA seldom went beyond project aid with activities intended to assist government sector policy objectives (e.g. Mali’s education sector support and Bangladesh health and population sector support).

Since last year, CIDA’s President, Len Good, has stated his preoccupation that CIDA be more strategic in its focus on poverty reduction and sustainable development. In his view CIDA has become spread too thin geographically and is working in too many sectors. The Agency needs to rely less on projects and more on broad coordinated approaches to a given sector. Minister Minna’s September 2000 Framework for Action for CIDA’s four social development priorities stresses that CIDA will work closely with sectoral strategies, particularly for basic education and health and nutrition priorities. CIDA annual allocations for these two sectors alone will more than double over the next five years from $193 million to $469 million. Early this year $10 million, over five years, was approved for non-earmarked sector budgetary support for Uganda’s SWAP for basic education. It seems likely that donor approaches in high aid-dependent countries in Sub-Saharan Africa will be most influenced by SWAPs.

In current official donor thinking SWAPs seem to respond to a number of concerns:

One-off fragmented projects ("islands of excellence in a sea of under-provision" (DFID) overwhelm developing country’s management capacity, weaken these governments by attract the best local human resources, and weaken aid sustainability and effectiveness;

Conditionality-based donor dialogue has not worked to create "favourable" policy environments in developing countries;

Broad donor commitments to International Development Targets (halving the proportion of people living in poverty, etc.) require broad coordinated approaches; and

Renewed attention to the importance of "local ownership" for effective development cooperation.

Donors and their consultants have written a great body of policy papers and reports about SWAPs in recent years. (See for example Foster et. al., 2000; CIDA 2000; and Schacter 2000 and their respective bibliographies.) As a consequence, the available literature on SWAPs is dominated by official donor preoccupations and analyses, with few references to developing country government perspectives and even less reflective of the views civil society organizations.

What issues arise in considering SWAPs as an effective approach to poverty-focused aid strategies?

Official Donors discussions: Official donor experiences with SWAPs raise a number of issues that can affect their participation in SWAPs and the impact of this approach for achieving donor goals (Foster et. al. 2000):

A clear vision is essential on the part of the recipient government and its respective Ministries, as well as consideration of the degree to which the government sector strategies are embedded and accountable, with political support in government’s expenditure plans.

Links and synergy with other reform processes are essential, particularly the Comprehensive Development Framework (CDF), Poverty Reduction Strategy Papers (PRSPs), and UN Common Country Assessment (CCA) and HIPC II debt relief. Donors will be placing greater attention on governance "conditionalities" and improved developing country government/ministry capacity to plan and delivery programs relevant to people living in poverty.

Can SWAPs accommodate different processes and priorities among SWAP partners, including donor concerns for poverty and gender objectives in their mandates and policies? How effective are donor-coordinating mechanisms and what role can small donors such as Canada play in a SWAP whose funding is dominated by the largest donors (and particularly the World Bank)? Can donors adapt to go at the pace of recipient country capacities?

Complex accountability issues and relationships arise, implying new forms of donor accountability to their own government, including Parliament and domestic constituencies supporting aid, depend on confidence in developing countries’ management of resources, and require accountability shared by all stakeholders for sector program results. Can donors subsume their country’s interest in "showing the flag" in pointing to development results?

SWAPs require rethinking donor policies on tied aid and technical assistance as well as staff field deployment and programming skills (less project management, but more policy analysis and dialogue, assessment of overall government strategies, engagement with other donors etc.)

NGO/Civil Society Perspectives: NGOs writing in Reality of Aid have praised sector-wide approaches by donors as "a more coherent way of enhancing government capacity and increasing developing country ownership". SWAPs can be an appropriate mechanism for transparent and efficient management of donor relations for developing countries. SWAPs also recognize the prime responsibility of government in delivering universally accessible social programs for education, health and basic infrastructure. Nevertheless current debates on SWAPs skim over or seem to ignore a number of issues and tensions in this approach:

Donor preoccupations with SWAPs focus on mechanisms for managing development cooperation.
Donor considerations of SWAPs are still heavily oriented to their own requirements for close management of development resources. There is still only limited appreciation that iterative domestic political processes largely drive policy formation, even in the most aid-dependent countries. Pro-poor development is ultimately about politics: affecting the power relations that sustain inequitable distribution of a society’s economic opportunities and social resources. Donors’ concern for clear accountability often lead them to structure policy dialogue at a national level with a small bureaucratic elite. But political ownership of a government’s poverty reduction strategy or particular sector strategies requires deeply rooted accountability to parliamentarians, local governments and civil society actors. Many NGOs understand the centrality of broad civic political engagement (and often political conflict) to achieve pro-poor social and economic policy goals. SWAPs can depoliticize development by isolating policy debate between largely unaccountable external bilateral and multilateral civil servants and like-minded counterparts in national governments.

Continued rationale for projects.
For developing country governments who may be required to manage thousands of donor-initiated individual projects with different priorities and administrative requirements, SWAPs are an attractive option. Yet, despite some highly critical commentary on a projects approach, there are still strong rationales for donor support of projects for poverty reduction strategies (often carried out by non-governmental organizations and institutions). Projects allow for significant risk-taking and innovation (with low political fall-out for domestic governments) to test new strategies for participatory poverty eradication. Relative to policy engagement, projects can intervene directly in social processes, strengthening excluded social actors, and can therefore have intended, but often unintended impacts, on the livelihoods of the poor. For example, projects that strengthen civil society actors to act beyond the sphere of service delivery (particularly organizations rooted with constituencies in areas where the poor are located) stimulate democratic engagement with government and build popular pressure in support of poverty reduction goals. As noted above such engagement is a pre-condition for ownership, but it is also likely to orient SWAPs to address the concerns of the poor.

Implicit conditionality.
Donor approaches to SWAPs stress the need for thorough assessments of the underlying conditions required for a "successful" SWAP. While basic governance factors (including recognition of rights for social organization and expression) are clearly relevant, IMF macro-economic conditions, World Bank-imposed civil service reform and privatization are often included as important considerations. For aid-dependent low income countries, SWAPs may result in less bargaining room with individual donors as so-called "pre-conditions" or "critical success factors" are imposed under the guise of improved donor coordination. Full information disclosure is particularly important for sector ministries, local government and domestic civil society in developing countries, where IMF/World Bank structural adjustment agreements that are often negotiated in secrecy can dramatically affect the conditions for realizing a sector strategy.

Avenues for direct participation by civil society actors and local government.
SWAPs bring focused donor attention to important government strategies in key social and economic sectors that can affect the livelihoods of the poor. At the same time, a narrow sector-focus may miss cross-cutting concerns for improved livelihood, social and gender issues that affect the multiple dimensions of the lived experience of poverty. Engagement with those who are poor, through their representative organizations, local government or rooted NGOs can integrate sector strategies with broader and specific context issues for poverty eradication. Discussions of SWAPs often mention the importance of participation, yet seldom elaborate roles for civil society organizations (NGOs, community-based organizations, universities etc.). The degree of local "ownership" can be highly dependent on "who is at the table" and the quality of the interaction between government and local realities. The degree to which participation is effective in overcoming social exclusion makes all the difference for linkages with poverty reduction initiatives. Participation from civil society organizations takes many forms – representation of community interests, assuring cross-sectoral planning, bringing local initiative and innovation to a national platform, implementing and/or assessing the impact of community-based programs, monitoring watch-dog, and evaluations. Strong NGO/civil society linkages with northern NGOs provide donors with independent windows on the authenticity of civil society participation in sector plans and channels for strengthening these organizations and networks.

Conclusions

Clearly Canadian international NGOs should be improving their own understanding of sector wide approaches and working with southern counterparts to assess the strengths and weaknesses of existing practice, particularly in Sub-Saharan Africa. The process currently underway within CIDA, as the Agency reviews its long-term strategic directions, will provide an opportunity to influence CIDA’s orientation to SWAPs and hopefully create space for appropriate civil society roles. SWAPs provide new opportunities for reducing donor-driven development in many of the poorest countries and increasing the potential for poor people to influence the policies and delivery of social and economic programs by government that can create conditions for improved livelihood and human development.

CIDA as a relatively small donor can increase its influence by bringing a mix of resources and program relationships to its engagement with a SWAP. Given the importance that CIDA has placed over many decades on strengthening civil society relationships, and the missing emphasis on these dynamics in current SWAP dialogue, CIDA could make a valued contribution by giving priority to this dimension in a successful SWAP. CIDA could also make important contributions in terms of gender and development issues in SWAPs. There is a wealth of Canadian experience in participatory development and long-term program relationships upon which to draw lessons.

Bibliography

CIDA, 2000. "Planning and Implementing of SWAPS: An Overview Issues Paper", Prepared as a Background Document for CIDA President’s Forum on Sector-Wide Approaches, October 10, 2000.

Collins, Tom, Higgins, Liz, 2000. "Seminar on Sector Wide Approaches with a Focus on Partnership, Seminar Report" Ireland Aid, Dublin Castle (February 8 – 10, 2000), June 2000

Foster, Mike et. al., 2000. CAPE, Overseas Development Institute, London. " A Framework Paper prepared for the meeting of the Like-Minded Donor Working Group on Sector-Wide Approaches, Dublin, February 8 – 10, 2000.

Schacter, Mark, 2000. "Sector Wide Approaches, Accountability and CIDA: Issues and Recommendations", (preliminary draft) September 2000

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

Les approches sectorielles dans la coopération au développement : Quels sont les enjeux ?

Brian Tomlinson
Équipe Orientation politique
Novembre 2000

Dans les années 90, certains donateurs (surtout en Europe) ont fait l’essai des approches sectorielles dans le processus d’aide. Plus récemment, l’ACDI a analysé cette expérience et en a tiré certaines leçons dans le cadre de sa démarche visant à mettre davantage l’accent sur la prise en charge locale des priorités et des programmes de développement, sur les stratégies intégrées et la cohérence des politiques, et sur une meilleure coordination entre les intervenants.

Qu’entend-on par « approches sectorielles » et quelle est la position de l’ACDI ?

« L’approche sectorielle est une méthode selon laquelle s’accomplit le travail à la fois distinct et conjoint de l’État et des donateurs…Les caractéristiques propres à l’approche sectorielle sont que toutes les sommes importantes affectées à un secteur servent au soutien d’un seul et unique programme de politiques et de dépenses, sous la direction du gouvernement, selon des démarches communes dans tout le secteur et en vue d’en arriver éventuellement à suivre les modalités gouvernementales pour ce qui est de débourser et de rendre compte de tous les fonds. » (Foster et coll. 2000, pp. 8-10)

Cette définition constitue davantage un objectif pour les approches sectorielles que ce que l’on constate dans la pratique actuelle des donateurs, où l’on voit un large continuum : projets hors programme, fonds réservés (à des projets) au sein d’un cadre stratégique d’un secteur gouvernemental, soutien budgétaire à un secteur en collaboration avec d’autres donateurs et soutien budgétaire du gouvernement non lié à un secteur donné. Toutes ces approches présupposent, au plan des politiques, un dialogue plus soutenu avec les gouvernements des pays en développement. Dans les années 90, l’ACDI s’est rarement aventurée au-delà de l’aide à des projets pour entreprendre des activités visant à répondre aux objectifs d’une politique d’un secteur gouvernemental (p. ex. : appui au secteur de l’éducation du Mali et au secteur de la santé et de la démographie au Bangladesh).

Depuis l’an dernier, le président de l’ACDI, Len Good, s’est dit soucieux de voir l’ACDI mieux centrer ses stratégies sur l’allégement de la pauvreté et le développement durable. Selon lui, les activités de l’ACDI sont trop étendues sur le plan géographique et s’intéressent à un trop grand nombre de secteurs. L’ACDI devrait moins se concentrer sur les projets et adopter une démarche mieux coordonnée à l’égard d’un secteur donné. Dans le Cadre d’action que la ministre Minna a annoncé en septembre 2000 pour les quatre priorités de développement social de l’ACDI, il est précisé que l’ACDI collaborera de près aux stratégies sectorielles, notamment en ce qui concerne les priorités relatives à l’éducation de base et celles portant sur la santé et la nutrition. Dans ces deux seuls secteurs, les affectations annuelles de l’ACDI vont plus que doubler au cours des cinq prochaines années, puisqu’elles passeront de 193 millions à 469 millions de dollars. Plus tôt cette année, 10 millions de dollars, répartis sur cinq ans, ont été approuvés pour le soutien budgétaire non prévu dans le cadre de l’approche sectorielle de l’Ouganda à l’égard de l’éducation de base. On peut s’attendre à ce que les démarches des donateurs dans les pays de l’Afrique subsaharienne fort tributaires de l’aide seront particulièrement influencées par les approches sectorielles.

Du point de vue des donateurs officiels, les approches sectorielles semblent répondre à de nombreuses préoccupations

  • Les projets fragmentés uniques (« îles d’excellence dans une mer de sous-approvisionnement » (DFID) submergent la capacité de gestion des pays en développement, affaiblissent leurs gouvernements en attirant les meilleures ressources humaines sur le plan local et limitent la durabilité et l’efficacité de l’aide;
  • Le dialogue des donateurs fondé sur la conditionnalité n’a pas contribué à créer un contexte « favorable » au plan des politiques dans les pays en développement;
  • Les engagements sommaires des donateurs à l’égard des Objectifs de développement internationaux (réduire de moitié le nombre de personnes vivant dans la pauvreté, etc.) nécessitent de vastes approches intégrées;
  • Un regain d’attention à l’importance de la « prise en charge locale » pour une coopération au développement efficace.

Ces dernières années, les donateurs et leurs consultants ont rédigé de nombreux documents d’orientation et rapports sur les approches sectorielles. (Voir, par exemple, Foster et coll., 2000; ACDI 2000; Schacter 2000 et leurs bibliographies respectives) Les écrits que l’on peut consulter sur les approches sectorielles sont dès lors empreints des préoccupations et analyses des donateurs officiels, mais ils ne font guère état des perspectives des gouvernements des pays en développement, et encore moins du point de vue des organismes de la société civile.

Quelles sont les questions liées aux approches sectorielles en tant qu’outils efficaces pour les stratégies d’aide visant à réduire la pauvreté ?

Discussions avec les donateurs officiels L’expérience qu’ont les donateurs officiels des approches sectorielles soulève un certain nombre de questions susceptibles d’influer sur leur participation à ces approches et sur l’incidence de ces dernières pour atteindre les objectifs des donateurs (Foster et coll., 2000) :

  • Il faut que le gouvernement bénéficiaire et ses ministères aient une vision claire, que l’on tienne compte de la mesure dans laquelle les stratégies sectorielles du gouvernement sont bien ancrées, et que ces stratégies soient assorties de l’obligation de rendre compte et d’un appui politique dans les plans de dépenses du gouvernement.
  • Il faut des liens et une synergie avec d’autres processus de réforme, notamment avec le Cadre de développement global (CDG), les Documents de stratégie visant l’allégement de la pauvreté (DSAP), le Bilan commun de pays (BCP) des Nations unies et l’Initiative PPTE II. Les donateurs accorderont une plus grande attention aux « conditionnalités » de la gouvernance et à une meilleure capacité de la part du gouvernement et des ministères du pays en développement de planifier et d’exécuter les programmes destinés aux personnes vivant dans la pauvreté.
  • Les approches sectorielles peuvent-elles composer avec des processus et des priorités qui diffèrent entre leurs partenaires, y compris les préoccupations des donateurs qui ont des objectifs à atteindre dans leurs mandats et leurs politiques sur les plans de la pauvreté et de l’égalité entre les hommes et les femmes ? Quelle est l’efficacité des mécanismes de coordination des donateurs et quel est le rôle que de petits pays donateurs, comme le Canada, peuvent jouer dans le cadre d’approches sectorielles dont le financement provient essentiellement des plus grands donateurs (particulièrement de la Banque mondiale) ? Les donateurs peuvent-ils s’adapter au rythme des capacités des pays bénéficiaires ?
  • Les responsabilités et les relations se compliquent, donnant naissance à de nouvelles formes de responsabilité des donateurs à l’égard de leur gouvernement, y compris le Parlement et d’autres groupes du pays qui prônent l’aide. Tout dépend donc de la confiance que l’on place dans la façon dont les pays en développement gèrent les ressources et il faut que la responsabilité des résultats du programme sectoriel soit partagée entre tous les intervenants. Les pays donateurs peuvent-ils subsumer leurs propres intérêts et ne pas brandir le « drapeau de leur pays » lorsqu’ils font valoir les résultats obtenus sur le plan du développement ?
  • Les approches sectorielles exigent que les donateurs repensent leurs politiques d’aide liée et d’assistance technique, de même que le déploiement des effectifs sur le terrain et les compétences en matière de programmation (moins de gestion de projets, mais davantage d’analyse des politiques, de dialogue sur les politiques, d’évaluation des stratégies globales du gouvernement, de collaboration avec d’autres donateurs, etc.)

Perspectives des ONG et de la société civile Les ONG qui ont contribué par leurs écrits au Bilan de l’aide (Reality of Aid) ont fait l’éloge des approches sectorielles des donateurs, du fait qu’elles constituent « une façon plus cohérente d’améliorer la capacité des gouvernements et d’accroître la prise en charge des pays en développement ». Les approches sectorielles peuvent être, pour les pays en développement, un mode de gestion approprié, efficace et transparent des relations avec les donateurs. Les approches sectorielles reconnaissent aussi la responsabilité première des gouvernements de fournir des programmes sociaux accessibles à tous dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé et de l’infrastructure essentielle. Il n’en reste pas moins que, dans le débat actuel sur les approches sectorielles, on néglige ou on semble ignorer certains enjeux et certaines tensions qui leur sont propres, par exemple :

  • Les préoccupations des donateurs à l’égard des approches sectorielles se concentrent sur les mécanismes de gestion de la coopération au développement
    En ce qui concerne les approches sectorielles, les considérations des donateurs demeurent fortement influencées par leurs propres exigences de gestion attentive des ressources en matière de développement. On ne se rend pas encore suffisamment compte du fait que ce sont les processus politiques itératifs d’un pays qui dictent en grande partie ses politiques, même dans ceux qui sont les plus tributaires de l’aide. Le développement en faveur des pauvres se résume à des considérations d’ordre politique : influer sur les leviers du pouvoir qui entretiennent la répartition inéquitable des débouchés économiques et des ressources sociales d’un pays. Le souci de reddition des comptes des donateurs les amène souvent à placer le dialogue politique au niveau national, avec une petite élite de bureaucrates. Mais pour qu’un gouvernement adopte officiellement une stratégie d’allégement de la pauvreté ou certaines stratégies sectorielles, il faut nécessairement qu’il soit tenu de rendre des comptes aux parlementaires, aux administrations locales et aux intervenants de la société civile. Plusieurs ONG comprennent la centralité de l’engagement politique général sur le plan civique (et, souvent, les conflits politiques) pour atteindre les objectifs politiques d’allégement de la pauvreté sur les plans social et économique. Les approches sectorielles peuvent dépolitiser le développement en isolant le débat politique entre des fonctionnaires externes aux accords bilatéraux et multilatéraux et leurs homologues d’optique commune au sein des gouvernements nationaux.
  • Maintien de la raison d’être des projets
    Les approches sectorielles peuvent être une option attrayante pour les gouvernements des pays en développement qui seraient appelés à gérer des milliers de projets individuels mis sur pied par des donateurs, dont les priorités et les exigences administratives diffèrent. Cependant, malgré certaines critiques plutôt acerbes à l’égard de l’approche par projets, il existe encore de bons arguments en faveur de l’appui des donateurs à des projets axés sur des stratégies d’allégement de la pauvreté (souvent exécutés par des ONG et des ING). Les projets permettent de prendre de grands risques et de faire preuve de beaucoup d’innovation (sans grandes conséquences politiques pour les gouvernements nationaux) dans l’essai de nouvelles stratégies de participation à l’allégement de la pauvreté. Comparativement à l’engagement politique, les projets peuvent influer directement sur les processus sociaux, en renforçant les intervenants sociaux exclus et, par voie de conséquence, donner les résultats escomptés, mais bien souvent non escomptés, sur les moyens d’existence des pauvres. Ainsi, les projets qui renforcent la capacité des intervenants de la société civile et qui leur permettent d’aller au-delà de la prestation de services (notamment les organismes qui sont bien ancrés dans les régions où se trouvent les pauvres) stimulent l’engagement démocratique avec le gouvernement et contribuent à rallier la population aux objectifs d’allégement de la pauvreté. Comme nous l’avons déjà précisé, cet engagement est une condition préalable à la prise en charge, mais il est également susceptible d’amener les approches sectorielles à donner suite aux préoccupations des pauvres.
  • Conditionnalité implicite
    Les approches sectorielles des donateurs font ressortir l’importance de faire des évaluations approfondies des conditions sous-jacentes requises pour assurer leur « succès ». Malgré la pertinence évidente des facteurs de gouvernance (y compris la reconnaissance des droits à l’organisation et à l’expression sociale), les conditions macro-économiques du FMI, la réforme de la fonction publique et la privatisation qui sont imposées par la Banque mondiale figurent souvent au nombre des considérations importantes. Pour les pays à faible revenu qui sont tributaires de l’aide, les approches sectorielles peuvent se traduire par une plus faible marge de négociation avec les différents donateurs, alors qu’on leur impose de soi-disant « conditions préalables » ou « facteurs de succès critiques » sous le masque d’une meilleure coordination entre les donateurs. La divulgation complète de l’information est particulièrement importante pour les ministères sectoriels, les administrations locales et la société civile des pays en développement, où les accords d’ajustement structurel du FMI et de la Banque mondiale, qui sont souvent négociés secrètement, risquent de compromettre gravement la réalisation d’une stratégie sectorielle.
  • Possibilités de participation directe des intervenants de la société civile et du gouvernement local
    Les approches sectorielles concentrent l’attention des donateurs sur les importantes stratégies du gouvernement dans les secteurs socio-économiques clés qui sont susceptibles d’influer sur les moyens de subsistance des pauvres. Parallèlement, une concentration sectorielle étroite risque d’ignorer les préoccupations de portée générale concernant l’amélioration des moyens de subsistance, les problèmes sociaux et l’égalité des sexes, qui ont une incidence sur les nombreuses dimensions de la pauvreté telle qu’elle est vécue. Le travail avec les pauvres, par l’entremise des organismes qui les représentent, des administrations locales ou des ONG bien ancrées là où ils vivent, permet d’intégrer les stratégies sectorielles aux problèmes de portée générale et spécifique dans l’optique de l’allégement de la pauvreté. Dans les débats sur les approches sectorielles, il est souvent question de l’importance de la participation, mais rarement d’un rôle précis pour les organismes de la société civile (ONG, organismes communautaires, universités, etc.). Le degré de « prise en charge » locale peut grandement dépendre des personnes que l’on trouve à la « table de négociation » et de la qualité de l’interaction entre le gouvernement et les réalités sur le terrain. C’est la mesure dans laquelle la participation résorbe l’exclusion sociale qui détermine les liens avec les initiatives d’allégement de la pauvreté. La participation des organismes de la société civile prend plusieurs formes – représentation des intérêts de la collectivité, planification générale, intégration des initiatives locales et de l’innovation dans un programme national, adoption et (ou) évaluation des résultats obtenus dans le cadre de programmes communautaires, contrôle des suivis et évaluations. De solides liens entre les ONG et la société civile des pays concernés et les ONG du Nord permettent aux donateurs d’avoir une perspective indépendante de l’authenticité de la participation de la société civile dans les plans sectoriels. Ils leur donnent aussi des moyens de renforcer ces organismes et ces réseaux.

Conclusions

De toute évidence, les ONG canadiennes à vocation internationale devraient s’efforcer de mieux comprendre les approches sectorielles et de collaborer avec leurs homologues du Sud dans le but d’évaluer les points forts et les faiblesses de la pratique actuelle, surtout dans le cas de l’Afrique subsaharienne. Le processus en cours au sein de l’ACDI, qui est en train de revoir ses orientations stratégiques à long terme, nous donne la possibilité d’infléchir son orientation à l’égard des approches sectorielles et, espérons-le, de donner à la société civile le rôle qui lui revient. Les approches sectorielles ouvrent de nouvelles possibilités de réduire le développement régi par les donateurs dans plusieurs des pays les moins nantis. Elles augmentent aussi les chances des pauvres d’influencer les politiques et les programmes socio-économiques des gouvernements qui sont susceptibles de créer des conditions propices à l’amélioration des moyens de subsistance et du développement humain.

L’ACDI, qui est un donateur relativement petit, peut accroître son influence en combinant certaines ressources et certains programmes à son engagement en faveur des approches sectorielles. Compte tenu de l’importance que l’ACDI a donnée, depuis plusieurs décennies, au renforcement des relations avec la société civile et du manque d’importance accordée à ces dynamiques dans le dialogue actuel sur les approches sectorielles, l’Agence pourrait faire une contribution de grande valeur en donnant la priorité à cette dimension dans le cadre d’une approche sectorielle réussie. L’ACDI pourrait également faire de grandes contributions aux questions d’égalité des sexes et de développement dans les approches sectorielles. Le Canada jouit d’une expérience enviable dans le développement participatif et dans les relations pour les programmes à long terme dont on peut tirer de grands enseignements.

Bibliographie

ACDI 2000. « Planification et mise en œuvre des approches sectorielles – Aperçu. Document préparé à titre de document d’information pour le Forum de discussion tenu par le président de l’ACDI sur les approches sectorielles, le 10 octobre 2000.

Collins, Tom, Higgins, Liz, 2000. « Seminar on Sector Wide Approaches with a Focus on Partnership, Seminar Report ». Atelier sur les approches sectorielles, l’accent étant mis sur le partenariat, Rapport de l’atelier. Ireland Aid, Dublin Castle (du 8 au 10 février 2000), juin 2000.

Foster, Mike et coll., 2000. CAPE, Overseas Development Institute, Londres. « A Framework Paper prepared for the meeting of the Like-Minded Donor Working Group on Sector-Wide Approaches ». Document préparé en vue de la réunion du groupe de travail de donateurs d’optique commune sur les approches sectorielles, Dublin, du 8 au10 février 2000.

Schacter, Mark, 2000. « Approches sectorielles, responsabilité et ACDI : Enjeux et recommandations », (première version), septembre 2000.

Traduit à la pige.


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide