CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

9. Reinvesting in Canada's Foreign Aid Program

A mother who's forced to choose between sending her children to school or turning them onto the street to beg in traffic faces an impossible choice. If her children get an education, they could break free of the relentless cycle of poverty.

But if they don't beg in the street, they won't eat. This is no hypothetical scenario. It's a reality facing millions of parents in developing countries today.

Across the world, the poor aren't some special minority group who will eventually reap the benefits of the trickledown effects of economic growth. In fact, half of the world's population - or 3 billion people - live on an average of less than $2 a day.

Canadians want to change this harsh reality. Many volunteer or contribute to non-governmental organizations working to end poverty. Sending Canadian tax dollars to Southern countries is another important way in which we try to do it. It's called Official Development Assistance (ODA).

ODA can make a tremendous difference to the lives of the poor. It can help meet basic needs, such as education and health, provide opportunities for people to help themselves, and promote basic human rights.

AND PROGRESS IS BEING MADE:

  • Since 1960, in little more than 35 years, the rate at which children are dying in developing countries has been more than halved;
  • The enrollment of girls in primary and secondary schools increased from 38% to 68% in the past two decades;
  • Aid-funded programs have immunized half the children in Sub-Saharan Africa against basic diseases, an increase of 20% since the 1980s.

Yet four decades of aid efforts haven't reduced the number of poor. In fact, the number of those living in extreme poverty, (less than a $1 a day), is growing at an alarming rate. According to United Nations calculations, 1.3 billion people - or a third of the population of developing countries - live in extreme poverty, where providing for the basics of life is a daily struggle.

What's more, the gap in income between the world's richest and poorest has more than doubled in just 35 years. By 1994, the share of the richest 20% of the population in the global economy had soared to 86%, while the share of the poorest had shrunk to 1.1%, from 2.3% in 1960.

So why argue for spending more money on aid when evidence of progress is mixed?

There's no single, or simple, explanation for this situation. The in common Agenda addresses many important issues that are perpetuating poverty. But another reason is that only a small portion of the aid money we spend in the name of the poor actually goes to meet their real needs.

In fact, one estimate for the early 1990s was that less than 35 per cent of Canadian government-to-government aid went to poverty alleviation projects. Excluding emergency food aid, less than 20 per cent of Canadian ODA is spent on meeting basic human needs - supporting primary health care and basic education, providing safe water, sanitation, and family planning - programs that are essential to ending extreme poverty.

In particular, only a small part of ODA has been directed to increasing people's control over their lives, expanding their choices, or building on their talents and assets. Women constitute 70% of the world's poor. Improving the design of aid programs to maximize women's greater control over their lives is essential. Yet despite the importance of primary education for improving women's lives and those of their children, donor governments, among them Canada, have yet to turn an agreed target of universal primary education for all by 2015 into detailed strategies to achieve this goal.


When aid is given effectively, it can and does work. To work, aid must be targeted both to meet basic human needs, and to create genuine oppurtunities for the poor to improve their situation...


Too often in the past, aid has gone more to strategic allies than to poor nations and poor people. Unfortunately, the end of the Cold War did not bring any greater focus to aid expenditures on ending poverty. Canadian commercial advantage and Canada's diplomatic profile remain important criteria for assessing the choice of countries, sectors and strategies for Canada's aid program. More than 30% of Canadian bilateral and multilateral aid is still tied to Canadian purchases, despite evidence that tied aid adds up to a 15% overpricing of goods and services.

And the expectations for aid are also expanding. It's now expected to meet a wide variety of Canadian interests, from improving environmental practices in the South, to promoting Canadian investment opportunities in developing countries, to constructing conditions for peace in countries emerging from civil conflict. Added to little evidence of a strategic focus on poverty for aid, the limited collaboration in formulating Canadian policies across several government departments - CIDA (Canada's aid agency), Foreign Affairs and Finance - has resulted in inconsistent policies with contradictory impact on the day-to-day lives of millions of the world's poor people.

And the amount of aid is steadily declining. By 1998, Canadian development assistance of $2 billion will have reached a 30-year low, falling more than 40 per cent since 1991. As a measure of our generosity as a nation, Canadian aid dropped from 0.49 per cent of our gross national product (GNP) in 1991 to an estimated 0.27 per cent by 1998.

What's Possible?

These depressing statistics mustn't stop us from pushing for more and better-placed ODA. When aid is given effectively, it can and does work. But it must be targeted both to meet basic human needs, and to create genuine opportunities for the poor to change their situation through programs defined by citizens themselves and supported by government policies.

For example, aid has worked to make a difference in the educational opportunities, health and life expectancy of those living in developing countries. If all this was accomplished on less than a quarter of the global aid budget, imagine what could be achieved with 60 per cent or more of the aid budget invested in primary education, adult literacy, primary health care, clean water, and in expanding the participation of the poor in securing their rights and determining their well-being.

And imagine what could happen if women had access to land, credit, and training. We already know that an extra year in school for 1,000 women living in Pakistan was beneficial. Their wages increased by approximately 20 per cent, and 60 child deaths and three maternal deaths were prevented. The cost was only $30,000.

And imagine what would happen if people in developing countries could make their own decisions about whether to use aid to build rural roads or an airport hangar. That kind of local control could go a long way towards eradicating poverty.

While we should work towards reversing the decline in dollars dedicated to development cooperation, this isn't enough in itself. What matters is how we use these resources.

Writing in the 1997 Human Development Report, James Gustave Speth says: "Poverty is not to be suffered in silence by the poor. Nor can it be tolerated by those with the power to change it." Sustained international development cooperation - that promotes the basic rights of poor people - can eradicate poverty.

Adds Speth: "The challenge now is to mobilize action state by state, organization by organization, individual by individual."

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

9. Réinvestir dans le programme d'aide à l'étranger

Quand il faut choisir entre envoyer ses enfants à l'école ou les envoyer mendier dans la rue, le dilemme est atroce : si les enfants s'instruisent, ils pourront briser le cercle vicieux de la pauvreté ; mais s'ils ne mendient pas, ils ne pourront pas manger.

Ce dilemme n'a rien d'une invention ; c'est bel et bien la réalité actuelle pour des millions de parents dans les pays en développement.

Nulle part dans le monde les pauvres ne constituent une sorte de minorité susceptible de récolter un jour les bienfaits de la croissance économique, bien au contraire. En fait, les deux tiers de la population mondiale - soit 3 milliards d'individus - vivent avec moins de 2 $ par jour, en moyenne.

Voulant changer cette réalité inacceptable et mettre fin à la pauvreté, de nombreux Canadiens donnent du temps ou de l'argent à des organisations de coopération internationale. Quand le fédéral envoie de l'argent de nos impôts dans les pays du Sud, il contribue lui aussi à cette lutte ; cette forme d'aide s'appelle l'aide publique au développement (APD).

L'APD peut changer bien des choses dans la vie des pauvres : aider à répondre à leurs besoins essentiels tels la santé ou l'éducation, leur donner les moyens de se prendre en main, de promouvoir leurs droits. Et les progrès vont dans ce sens :

  • depuis 1960, c'est-à-dire en 37 ans, le taux de mortalité infantile des pays en développement a chuté de plus de la moitié ;
  • en deux décennies le taux d'inscription des filles dans les écoles primaires et secondaires est passé de 38 à 68 p. 100 ;
  • les programmes financés avec l'APD ont permis de vacciner la moitié des enfants de l'Afrique sub-saharienne contre les maladies courantes, soit 20 p. 100 de plus que dans les années 80.

Malheureusement, quatre décennies d'aide n'ont pas permis de réduire le nombre de pauvres. Le nombre de gens vivant dans la pauvreté extrême (avec moins de 1 $ par jour) augmente à une vitesse effarante. D'après l'ONU, 1,3 milliard d'individus sont dans une pauvreté extrême, luttant à chaque instant pour combler leurs besoins quotidiens les plus fondamentaux. C'est le tiers de la population des pays en développement.

Pire encore, l'écart entre les plus riches et les plus pauvres a plus que doublé en 35 ans. Le cinquième le plus riche de la population mondiale possédait 86 p. 100 de l'économie mondiale avant 1994, tandis que depuis 1960 la part du cinquième le plus pauvre est passée de 2,3 p. 100 à 1,1 p. 100 de la richesse totale.

Alors pourquoi plaider l'augmentation de l'aide devant des résultats aussi mitigés ?

Il n'y a pas d'explication simple ou unique. La campagne en commun s'attaque à de nombreux problèmes qui font que la pauvreté se perpétue. Mais il se trouve aussi qu'une petite partie seulement de l'aide qui est dépensée en faveur des pauvres répond à leurs véritables besoins.

En fait, selon une estimation établie au début de la décennie, moins de 35 p. 100 de l'aide versée par le fédéral à d'autres gouvernements allège directement la pauvreté. Sans compter l'aide alimentaire d'urgence, moins de 20 p. 100 de l'APD canadienne sert à assurer les soins primaires, l'éducation de base, une eau pure, l'assainissement et la planification familiale, c'est-à-dire les besoins essentiels qui doivent être satisfaits pour que prenne fin la pauvreté extrême.

Surtout, une part infime de l'APD vise à favoriser chez les gens de meilleures perspectives et une plus grande maîtrise sur leur vie, ou à bâtir à partir de leurs talents et leurs avoirs. Les femmes, elles, constituent 70 p. 100 des pauvres de la terre ; aussi est-il essentiel de modifier les programmes d'aide de manière qu'elles acquièrent une meilleure maîtrise de leur vie. Or, même si l'éducation de base s'avère décisive sur ce plan pour les femmes et leurs enfants, les gouvernements donateurs dont celui du Canada n'ont pas encore élaboré de stratégie bien précise pour atteindre leur objectif commun de rendre cette éducation de base accessible à tous d'ici à l'an 2015.

Par le passé, l'aide a été trop souvent destinée aux alliés stratégiques du Canada plutôt qu'aux pays et aux populations pauvres. Malheureusement à la fin de la guerre froide le recentrage des fonds sur l'élimination de la pauvreté. Au Canada ce sont parfois les avantages commerciaux et les considérations diplomatiques qui déterminent les pays et les secteurs admissibles à l'aide canadienne et les stratégies utilisées. Même si l'aide liée occasionne une hausse de 15 p. 100 sur le prix des biens et services que les pays béneficiaires doivent acheter au Canada, plus de 30 p. 100 de l'aide bilatérale et multilatérale canadienne est encore liée.

Les exigences relatives à l'aide ne font qu'augmenter, celle-ci devant répondre toujours davantage aux intérêts du Canada : meilleures pratiques environnementales au Sud, meilleures possibilités d'investissements canadiens dans les pays en développement, mise en place de conditions favorables à la paix dans les pays émergeant d'un conflit civil. Stratégiquement, l'aide est peu axée sur la lutte contre la pauvreté ; en plus, l'ACDI, les Affaires étrangères, les Finances et autres ministères concernés ont peu collaboré à la formulation de politiques. Résultat : les politiques canadiennes sont incohérentes et ont des effets contradictoires sur la vie quotidienne de millions de pauvres dans le monde.

Pour finir, les sommes consacrées à l'aide diminuent sans cesse. Le budget de 2 milliards $ alloué par le Canada pour l'aide au développement en 1997 a été le plus bas des 30 dernières années. Il a chuté de 40 p. 100 depuis 1991, tandis qu'il représentait 0,49 p. 100 du PNB. En 1998, il ne représentera plus qu'environ 0,27 p. 100 du PNB. Voilà une mesure de la générosité du Canada.

Que peut-on faire ?

Ces données déprimantes ne doivent pas nous empêcher d'exiger une APD plus importante et mieux dirigée. Car l'aide donne vraiment des fruits si elle est efficace ; pour cela, elle doit à la fois répondre aux besoins fondamentaux et offrir aux pauvres une possibilité réelle d'améliorer leur situation au moyen de programmes élaborés par les citoyens eux-mêmes et soutenus par des politiques gouvernementales.

Déjà l'aide a permis de changer des choses en éducation, au plan de la santé et de l'espérance de vie dans les pays en développement, alors que moins du quart du budget de l'aide a été consacré à ces domaines. Imaginez les réalisations possibles si l'on affectait 60 p. 100 du budget de l'aide, ou même davantage, à l'éducation élémentaire, à l'alphabétisation des adultes, aux soins primaires, à l'assainissement de l'eau et à une participation accrue des pauvres à la défense de leurs droits et de leur bien-être.

Et imaginez si les femmes avaient accès à la terre, au crédit, à la formation ! Avec 30 000 $ seulement, on le sait, 1 000 Pakistanaises se sont instruites une année de plus et augmenté leurs revenus d'environ 20 p. 100 et l'on réussi à sauver la vie de 20 enfants et de trois mères.

Imaginez encore ce qui arriverait dans les pays en développement si les gens pouvaient eux-mêmes décider d'affecter l'aide à la construction des routes rurales ou d'un hangar d'aéroport. Ce genre d'intervention à la base accélérerait l'élimination de la pauvreté.

Inverser le déclin actuel des sommes allouées à la coopération internationale est certes une tâche importante, mais elle ne suffit pas : c'est leur utilisation qui est vraiment déterminante.

Dans le Rapport 1997 sur le développement humain, James Speth écrit : " Les pauvres n'ont pas à souffrir en silence de la pauvreté, ni les détenteurs du pouvoir, à la tolérer. " Car la coopération au développement international - si elle est viable et si elle défend les droits élémentaires des pauvres - peut éliminer la pauvreté. Il ajoute : " Le défi consiste maintenant à mobiliser et à agir - État par État, organisation par organisation, individu par individu. "


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi