CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

2. Upholding Human Rights

People are the single greatest resource for overcoming poverty. But if they live in a country that denies them the right to vote, or to speak freely, even to assemble, then they're effectively prevented from organizing for social change.

The abuse of human rights is an enormous impediment to ending poverty. That's why fighting to uphold fundamental human rights is so important. People who can organize themselves without fear of persecution are far more likely to insist that transnational corporations and domestic elites share with them, the workers, the returns of economic growth.

Progress has been made. Imagine: As recently as the '40s, there was no Amnesty International, no network of non-governmental watchdog groups to monitor human rights abuses.

But in 1948, the world came together to sign the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Since then, an ever-expanding community of nations has built on this declaration. Covenants and declarations have been adopted, committing the world to a new respect for human rights.

Today, there are non-governmental groups that conscientiously monitor human rights abuses. They spotlight everything from the indiscriminate use of torture to the persecution of citizens attempting to organize for better working and living conditions.

Canadian international cooperation organizations are particularly concerned that the protection of internationally recognized labour rights be central to the trade and investment practices of multilateral organizations. Improving living standards is a fundamental part of what development is all about.

Yet one of Canada's most important Pacific trading partner, Indonesia, is also one of the world's most consistent violators of human rights. President Suharto's government unabashedly admits that its official minimum wage fails to meet even "minimum human needs." The majority of companies refuse to pay even that meagre amount ostensibly because of fierce competition in export markets.

Such abuses, logically, should be dealt with by workers and their organizations. Workers, after all, were given the right to organize and bargain collectively when Indonesia freed itself from Dutch colonialism in 1945.


Improving quality of life will only be achieved if people have the right to participate in decisions that affect their lives.


But a 1996 investigation by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development revealed that Indonesia was one of only two APEC countries where freedom of association is "practically nonexistent." The other human rights abuser, China, is another key trading partner of Canada.

The circumstances facing Muchtar Pakpahan are one example of the severity of the situation. In 1994, Mr. Pakpahan, leader of Indonesia's largest independent trade union, was jailed for three years and branded a criminal. Why? He had, allegedly, "disrupted stability and triggered a hemorrhaging of foreign investment."

What he'd actually done was demand an increase in the official minimum wage.

In 1995, Mr. Pakpahan successfully appealed his sentences. But Indonesia's Supreme Court ignored, then reversed, the appeal court decision. He was charged with subversion, an offense punishable by death.

Non-governmental and labour organizations launched an international campaign of protest. Improving quality of life will only be achieved, they believe, if people have the right to participate in decisions that affect their lives.

The Canadian government officially shares this position. In 1993, at the World Conference on Human Rights, Canada signed the Vienna Declaration. Article 25 states: "It is essential for States to foster participation by the poorest people in the decision making process [and in] the promotion of human rights and efforts to combat extreme poverty."

Acting on this commitment is important, but more can be done. Some NGOs and labour organizations, for example, are trying to forge links between minimum labour rights and international trade. They want to see a "social clause" inserted in multilateral and regional trade agreements. Such a clause would make it easier to enforce International Labour Organization core conventions on freedom of association, child labour, forced labour, equality, and non-discrimination.

A social clause within trade agreements that brought with it the threat of economic sanctions would force repressive governments to ensure that workers have the right to organize.

While an important step, it's only a beginning. It's also essential that organizations within their own countries have the capacity to monitor and enforce the implementation of basic human and labour rights. This form of "aid" to government and NGOs has the benefit of being both cheap and effective.

Yet the idea of a "social clause" is proving to be controversial. Many Southern NGOs and labour groups worry that it's supported by countries like the United States that have a vested interest in tying their economies into the global economy and into an unfair world trading system. How, they ask, can an organization like the World Trade Organization (WTO), which is committed to maximum freedom for transnational business and trade, possibly police the rights of labour?

If freedom is a fundamental human value, then why not apply it equally to all? Freedom ostensibly underpins the shift to a globalized world where corporations can move at will, unburdened by excessive regulations. This is what the "free trade" of NAFTA and the WTO are all about.

But the same notion of freedom must apply to workers, who have the right to the freedom to organize, as well as the freedom to escape forced labour and discrimination. This is what the social clause is all about.

A "rights way to development" isn't, of course, the only route to go. While promoting a social clause in trade agreements is one avenue, it won't singlehandedly bring about a more just world. A social clause is a top-down tactic that's part of a broader strategy of on-the-ground organizing.

Women Working Worldwide, an NGO based in the United Kingdom, is worried about the effects of globalization on women workers. It sums things up this way: "Social clauses can only be seen as one possible strategy to protect the rights of women workers throughout the world. They are legalistic instruments. They can only have real effects if they are backed up by strong action at a local level (and) international campaigning..."

Certainly, when the Universal Declaration of Human Rights was signed in 1948, few could have imagined the scope and impact of globalization. As Herbert de Souza, former leader of Brazil's Citizens' Action Against Hunger and for Life put it: "What people have to grasp is that powerful transnational corporations have established a new way to produce things globally which simultaneously produces misery."

Nor could the signatories of the declaration have understood how crucial, in this new era, the intent of that document is to creating a social order based on fundamental respect for human rights.

We can build on it by strengthening regular, in-depth consultations between Canadian NGOs and the Canadian government on human rights issues. We can insist that our trade and development assistance polices be increasingly informed by human rights considerations, with a particular emphasis on building the means to promote civil and labour rights.

We can also support those NGOs that assert that basic human rights include: enough to eat, clean water, a home, health care, education, work that pays a living wage, a safe environment, protection from violence, equal opportunity, and a voice in one's future.

And we can do it in the name of development, justice, equality or for people like Muchtar Pakpahan.

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

2. Mettre les droits de la personne au centre de la politique étrangère du Canada

Dans la lutte contre la pauvreté, l'élément humain est de loin le plus déterminant. Par contre, dans un pays où il n'existe ni droit de vote, ni liberté de parole, ni même de liberté de rassemblement, les habitants sont dans l'impossibilité de s'organiser en vue d'un changement social.

La violation des droits de la personne freine considérablement la lutte contre la pauvreté. D'où l'importance décisive de la lutte visant à faire respecter les droits fondamentaux. Quand l'on peut s'organiser sans crainte d'être persécuté, il est beaucoup plus facile d'exiger des sociétés transnationales et des élites locales qu'elles partagent avec les travailleuses et les travailleurs les bienfaits de la croissance économique.

On a tout de même réalisé des progrès si l'on songe qu'il y a à peine 40 ans, ni Amnistie internationale ni le réseau d'ONG n'existaient. Ils font aujourd'hui les chiens de garde contre les violations des droits de la personne.

En 1948, cependant, les pays du monde s'assemblent pour signer la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme. Depuis lors, la communauté s'est élargie, greffant sur la Déclaration des conventions et des déclarations qui entraînent le monde dans la nouvelle dynamique du respect des droits de la personne.

Aujourd'hui, des organisations non gouvernementales suivent de manière consciencieuse les violations des droits, attirant l'attention sur tous les cas qui se présentent, de la torture sans discrimination à la persécution des citoyens qui tentent de s'organiser en vue d'obtenir de meilleures conditions de vie et de travail.

Au Canada, les organisations de coopération internationale tiennent en particulier à ce que la protection des droits du travail reconnus mondialement occupent une place centrale dans les échanges commerciaux et les investissements réalisés par les organismes multilatéraux, parce que l'amélioration des conditions de vie est une composante essentielle de tout ce qui touche au développement.

Or, l'Indonésie, principale partenaire commerciale du Canada dans le Pacifique, figure parmi les pays où la violation des droits est la plus systématique. Le gouvernement du président Suharto admet sans perdre contenance que le salaire minimum en Indonésie ne permet pas de satisfaire aux besoins les plus fondamentaux. Et la plupart des sociétés refusent de payer le maigre salaire minimum en raison, reconnaissent-elles, de la concurrence féroce régnant sur les marchés d'exportation.

Normalement, les travailleuses et travailleurs et leurs organisations s'occuperaient eux-mêmes de s'opposer à ces violations puisqu'ici le droit de s'organiser et de négocier une convention collective est reconnu depuis 1945, quand l'Indonésie s'est libérée du colonialisme hollandais.

Mais une enquête réalisée en 1996 par l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques plaçait l'Indonésie parmi les pays de l'APEC où la liberté d'association est « pratiquement inexistante ». L'autre grand violateur des droits de la personne, la Chine, est également l'un des partenaires clés du Canada.

Les conditions dans lesquelles se trouve Muchtar Pakpahan illustrent la gravité de la situation. En 1994, ce leader du plus important syndicat indépendant d'Indonésie a été emprisonné pour trois ans et déclaré criminel. La raison ? « Il aurait [prétend-on] provoqué l'instabilité et déclenché une hémorragie des investissements étrangers ».

En fait, il a demandé une hausse du salaire minimum.

L'année suivante, il en a appelé de sa sentence et obtenu gain de cause, mais la Cour suprême d'Indonésie a ignoré puis renversé la décision de la Cour d'appel. Accusé de subversion, il est passible de mort.

Les organisations syndicales et non gouvernementales ont lancé une campagne de protestation dans le monde entier. Il n'y aura amélioration de la qualité de vie, disent-ils, que si les gens ont le droit de prendre part aux décisions qui les concernent.

Officiellement, le gouvernement du Canada partage cette position. À la Conférence mondiale sur les droits de la personne, il a signé la Déclaration de Vienne, dont l'article 25 précise que « les États doivent à tout prix favoriser la participation des plus pauvres aux décisions et à la promotion des droits de la personne et des efforts en vue de combattre la pauvreté extrême ».

Certes, il importe d'agir conformément à cet engagement, mais on peut faire davantage. Ainsi, des ONG et des syndicats tentent d'établir des liens entre le droit ou travail et le commerce international. Ils voudraient qu'une « clause sociale » soit insérée dans les accords commerciaux régionaux et multilatéraux. Cela rendrait plus facile l'application des principales conventions de l'Organisation internationale du travail sur la liberté d'association, le travail des enfants, le travail forcé, l'égalité et la non-discrimination.

Si les accords commerciaux comportaient une clause sociale assortie d'éventuelles sanctions économiques, les gouvernements répressifs du Sud seraient contraints d'assurer le droit de s'organiser aux travailleuses et aux travailleurs.

Ce premier pas important en appelle d'autres. Ainsi, les organisations doivent à tout prix être en mesure dans leurs pays respectifs de surveiller et de faire appliquer le droit du travail et les droits humains fondamentaux. Cette forme d'aide, remise aux gouvernements et aux ONG, a le double avantage d'être efficace et peu coûteuse.

Or, l'idée même d'une clause sociale soulève une controverse, de nombreux syndicats et ONG du Sud s'inquiétant qu'elle reçoive l'appui de pays tels que les États-Unis, qui ont tout intérêt à ce que leur économie soit intégrée à l'économie mondiale de même qu'au système mondial du commerce. Comment, se demande-t-on, une organisation telle que l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) - qui vise à assurer aux sociétés transnationales la plus grande liberté possible - pourra-t-elle surveiller le respect des droits des travailleuses et des travailleurs ?

Si la liberté constitue une valeur fondamentale, pourquoi alors ne pas l'appliquer également à tous les individus ? Car, manifestement, la liberté étaye le virage de la mondialisation qui permettra aux sociétés de se déplacer à volonté, sans le fardeau de réglementations excessives. Voilà ce dont traite véritablement le « libre-échange » de l'ALÉNA et de l'OMC.

Mais, soyons clairs, la notion de liberté s'applique également aux travailleuses et aux travailleurs, qui ont droit à la liberté d'organisation ainsi qu'à la liberté d'échapper au travail forcé et à la discrimination. Tel est le véritable enjeu de la clause sociale.

Évidemment, le chemin des droits n'est pas le seul à mener au développement. Si l'inclusion d'une clause sociale dans les accords commerciaux ouvre une avenue, elle ne mène pas à elle seule vers un monde meilleur. La clause sociale est une tactique qui vient d'en haut et qui fait partie d'une stratégie plus vaste d'organisation des gens sur le terrain.

L'organisation Women Working Worldwide (WWW), basée en Angleterre, s'inquiète des effets de la mondialisation sur les femmes au travail. « Les clauses sociales, résume le WWW, constituent une stratégie parmi d'autres visant à protéger dans le monde entier les droits des femmes au travail. Ce sont des instruments juridiques qui ne donnent de résultats que s'ils sont appuyés par une action à la base (et) par des campagnes internationales… »

Évidemment, les signataires de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme ne pouvaient pas imaginer en 1948 l'ampleur et les répercussions de la mondialisation. D'après Herbert de Souza, l'ancien leader des Citoyens brésiliens contre la faim et pour la vie : « Ce que les gens doivent comprendre, c'est que les puissantes transnationales ont mis en place une nouvelle façon de produire des biens à l'échelle mondiale qui en même temps engendre la misère. »

Les mêmes signataires ne pouvaient pas davantage prévoir combien il est impérieux, en cette ère nouvelle, que l'intention initiale du document se traduise par la mise en place d'un ordre social basé sur le respect fondamental des droits de la personne.

L'on peut miser sur la Déclaration en instaurant entre les ONG et le gouvernement du Canada des mécanismes de concertation plus réguliers et plus rigoureux, sur les questions de droits de la personne. On peut également exiger que la politique d'aide au développement et la politique commerciale du Canada reflètent de mieux en mieux les considérations relatives aux droits de la personne, en particulier les moyens à prendre pour promouvoir les droits civils et les droits du travail.

On peut finalement appuyer les ONG qui affirment que les droits essentiels de toute personne incluent une alimentation suffisante, de l'eau salubre, un logement, des soins de santé, l'instruction, un travail lui assurant un salaire satisfaisant, un environnement sain, la protection contre la violence, des chances égales pour tous et le droit de participer à la prise de décisions qui concernent son avenir.

Et tout cela, faisons-le au nom du développement, de la justice et de l'égalité, ou bien encore pour des gens tels que Muchtar Pakpahan.

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi