CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

10. Creating New Opportunities for Citizen Participation

In late 1997, an extraordinary event occurred in Ottawa. That's when most of the world's nations came together to sign a treaty banning landmines. These products of modern warfare kill approximately 25,000 innocent people every year. Countless others are maimed.

We all have to worry about justice.

Ursula Franklin, Every Tool Shapes The Task

That 121 countries agreed to stop this insanity was remarkable in itself. But the way in which this treaty came about is a testament to both the power and the possibilities of citizen action.

It can also serve as an inspiration in the struggle to eliminate global poverty.

The anti-landmines campaign was initiated by two NGOs - Medico International of Germany, and the Vietnam Veterans Foundation of America. They were joined by hundreds of other groups, including a Canadian coalition called Mines Action Canada. These citizens' groups successfully pressured governments to take action. In 1997, the anti-landmines movement won the Nobel Peace Prize.

This movement points to the fallacy of fatalism - the belief that individuals can't do anything to change their situations, or to contribute to significant social change. Instead, it points to what is possible when people come together with the conviction - and the confidence - that they can make a difference.

During the past 25 years, this has been the approach of voluntary sector organizations. Not content to let the traditional power brokers - nation states and business organizations - sit behind closed doors, quietly making decisions that affect us all, voluntary organizations, including NGOs working internationally, became active players.


The anti-landmine movement points to the fallacy of fatalism - the belief that individuals can't do anything to change their situations, or contribute to significant social change.


For example, the work of NGOs was critical in stopping the ivory trade and commercial whaling. And they pressured international financial institutions to re-assess structural adjustment policies that affect the poor in disproportionately negative ways. They also prodded multinational corporations to alter their indiscriminate marketing of pharmaceuticals and infant formula in the South.

A mainstay of the global movement against apartheid, NGOs continue to form the basis of the international human rights movement. And through time, NGOs have evolved a vision of development that involves the grassroots in policymaking.

Working in these kinds of ways is an important step towards democratizing decision-making at the international level. "Citizen diplomats", from Oxfam to Women's Eyes on the World Bank, now work beyond campaigns that focus on what they oppose. Increasingly, they're putting their energies into supporting alternative visions of development.

Women's organizations, for example, have launched a campaign to make the World Bank adhere to the Platform for Action worked out at the United Nation's Fourth World Conference on Women in Beijing. They're pressuring the Bank to involve women at the grassroots level in policy-making. They're also pushing the Bank to invest more in women's health, education, agriculture, and credit.

There's a lot to do. Many powerful bodies - such as the World Trade Organization - resist change, relegating critics to participating on advisory committees. And while pressure from women's organizations prompted the World Bank to establish an External Gender Consultative Group, the Bank has yet to make any substantial changes that address women's concerns seriously.

This is discouraging. But it isn't surprising. Social change takes time. It also takes concerted effort from a variety of quarters on a variety of fronts. Government institutions, for example, are needed to facilitate and manage the democratic processes and structures of society. The private sector is needed to promote economic growth in ways that are both socially and environmentally sustainable.

And community-based organizations that help people define, shape, and negotiate their own development are essential.

Working with NGOs isn't the only way to accomplish democratic development. Most NGOs are formally structured and have professional staff with on-the-ground knowledge and experience of these issues. Historically though, it has been citizens choosing to act together on issues that touch their lives that has given birth to sweeping political movements.

Both the women's movement and the environmental movement, for example, created a groundswell in public awareness of the oppression of women and environmental degradation. People from diverse backgrounds came together, united by their common concerns. The resulting social power has created a political climate in which these issues can't be ignored.

Governments and other institutions, for example, are now forced to address the concerns these groups raise. NGOs consistently support their efforts. And both movements consistently push the private sector towards new levels of public accountability.

A problem as huge and complex as global poverty can only be successfully tackled if each of these sectors is involved. But meaningful action on the part of any one of them depends on citizens being a fundamental part of the process. This involves Canadians re-discovering what it means to be responsible, active citizens.

In short, it depends on everyone participating in a redefinition of the political process.

Democracy isn't a one-shot deal. Democratic institutions are only as effective - and as democratic - as the people who run them. The reality is that social, political and economic reforms won't endure unless citizens become more involved in making policy decisions.

Citizens are capable of changing the course, not only of their own communities, but of their own futures. They're also capable of helping to make that happen for others.

NGOs can promote citizen participation by setting an example. When they first became concerned with eradicating global poverty, NGOs sent money to the South to dig wells, feed children and support social movements. Today they understand that working democratically as partners in social change is essential.

Northern NGOs face the challenge of developing equitable relationships with the Southern groups they support. This means working together to determine how and where money will be invested. It also means replacing hierarchical power structures with egalitarian ways of making decisions. In this way, people at the grassroots level will be genuinely empowered to effect changes that improve the quality of their lives.

We, the citizens of Canada, face the challenge of taking citizenship seriously.

Vaclav Havel, the Czech President, argues that strong forces deliberately try to divert citizens from social concerns. Consumerism is by far the simplest, easiest, and most seductive diversion. "By nailing a man's whole attention to the floor of his mere consumer interests," writes Havel, "it is hoped to render him incapable of appreciating the ever-increasing degree of his spiritual, political, and moral degradation".

But people who recognize the fundamental role they can play in shaping the world in which we live will insist on being involved in public policy debates. They'll gather together, talk about the issues that concern them, and weigh the pros and cons of different kinds of political action.

Then they'll be in a position to make considered judgments.

Becoming empowered. Contributing to positive social change. Eliminating world poverty. These are achievable. But they won't happen until people believe they're possible - and then work together to make them a reality.

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

10. Favoriser la participation du public

Nous devons tous nous préoccuper de justice
Ursula Franklin, Every Tool Shapes the Task

Un événement extraordinaire s'est produit à la fin de 1997, lorsque la majorité des pays du monde sont venus à Ottawa signer le traité interdisant les mines antipersonnel, une arme qui tue environ 25 000 innocents chaque année et qui fait d'une multitude d'infirmes.

Que 121 pays aient accepté de mettre fin à cette démence est déjà remarquable en soi. Mais la manière dont ce traité a vu le jour rend hommage au pouvoir des citoyens et à leur capacité d'action.

Cela peut aussi servir d'inspiration pour la lutte contre la pauvreté dans le monde.

La campagne contre les mines antipersonnel, une initiative conjointe de Medico International of Germany et de Vietnam Veterans Foundation of America, a été reprise par des centaines d'autres groupes dont une coalition canadienne appelée Mines Action Canada. Ces groupes de citoyens ont réussi à faire bouger les gouvernements, et en 1997 le mouvement contre les mines antipersonnel s'est vu décerner le Prix Nobel de la paix.

Ce mouvement démasque l'absurdité du fatalisme selon lequel les individus ne peuvent rien faire pour changer les choses ou particulièrement sur le plan social. Il révèle au contraire ce que peuvent faire ensemble des gens qui sont convaincus et qui ont confiance dans leur capacité à changer une situation donnée.

Depuis 25 ans, les organisations bénévoles rejettent elles aussi ce fatalisme. Refusant de laisser les habituels courtiers du pouvoir (États-nations et milieux d'affaires) prendre à huis clos des décisions qui nous concernent tous, les organisations bénévoles - dont les ONG œuvrant dans le domaine international - sont devenues des acteurs déterminés.

Ainsi, les ONG ont joué un rôle décisif visont à faire cesser le commerce de l'ivoire et des baleines. Elles ont fait pression pour que les institutions financières internationales réévaluent les politiques d'ajustement structurel qui frappent les pauvres d'une manière démesurément négative. Elles ont de plus incité les transnationales à modifier la mise en marché irréfléchie du lait maternisé et autres produits pharmaceutiques dans les pays du Sud.

Acteurs de longue date dans la lutte mondiale contre l'apartheid, les ONG demeurent la base même du mouvement international des droits de la personne. Avec le temps, les ONG sont parvenues aussi à une vision du développement où les secteurs populaires prennent part aux décisions.

Ce genre d'intervention contribue grandement à la démocratisation des décisions à l'échelle internationale. Des " diplomates citoyens " liés à Oxfam ou à Women's Eyes on the World Bank s'investissent de plus en plus - par delà les campagnes d'opposition - dans la proposition d'une vision du développement.

Des organisations de femmes ont ainsi fait campagne pour que la Banque mondiale adhère à la Plate-forme d'action élaborée à la Quatrième conférence internationale sur les femmes, tenue à Beijing. Elles veulent que les femmes de la base soient associées à la définition des orientations de la Banque mondiale et que cette dernière investisse davantage en vue de faciliter l'accès des femmes à la santé, à l'éducation, à l'agriculture et au crédit.

Il reste beaucoup à faire : de puissants organismes, tels l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, résistent au changement et confinent l'expression des critiques aux comités consultatifs. Même si la Banque mondiale, en raison des pressions des organisations de femmes, a créé un groupe consultatif extérieur sur les rapports femmes-hommes, elle n'a encore rien amorcé pour s'attaquer vraiment aux problèmes des femmes.

Si la situation est décourageante elle n'a rien de surprenant. Le changement social exige beaucoup de temps et la concertation de tous les secteurs, sur tous les fronts. La participation des institutions gouvernementales est essentielle pour faciliter et encadrer les étapes et structures de démocratisation des sociétés. L'on compte sur le secteur privé pour promouvoir une croissance économique qui puisse être viable autant sur le plan écologique que social.

Et les organisations populaires doivent elles aussi être présentes, pour aider les gens à formuler et à négocier leur propre développement.

Les ONG ne sont pas les seules à montrer la voie du développement démocratique. La plupart ont une structure et des effectifs professionnels qui maîtrisent bien leur domaine et leur savoir sur le terrain. Historiquement, toutefois, ce sont les citoyennes et citoyens décidés à unir leurs forces quand leur propre vie est concernée qui lancent de grands mouvements politiques.

Ainsi, la conscience de l'oppression des femmes et de la détérioration de l'environnement, qui s'est développée telle une vague de fond, résulte de l'effort du mouvement des femmes et du mouvement écologique. Des gens de tous horizons unis par leurs préoccupations communes ont ainsi donné naissance à un climat politique tel qu'il n'a plus été possible d'éviter les enjeux dont ils soulignaient l'ampleur.

Les gouvernements et autres institutions se doivent désormais de tenir compte des questions soulevées par ces mouvements. Et les ONG les appuient de manière systématique ; ensemble ces mouvements incitent les gens d'affaires à être de plus en plus comptables envers le public.

Un problème aussi colossal et complexe que celui de la pauvreté dans le monde ne peut être solutionné que par l'engagement simultané de tous ces secteurs. Mais quelle que soit l'action entreprise, les citoyennes et citoyens doivent à tout prix y être associés de près. D'où la nécessité pour les Canadiens de redécouvrir le sens d'une citoyenneté active et responsable.

Bref, il revient à chacun et chacune de participer à la redéfinition de la dynamique politique.

La démocratie n'a rien d'automatique : les institutions démocratiques ne peuvent être plus efficaces ni plus démocratiques que les gens qui les dirigent. La réalité, c'est que les réformes sociales, politiques et économiques ne dureront pas, à moins que les citoyens ne s'engagent plus à fond dans le processus décisionnel.

Les citoyens peuvent changer les choses non seulement dans leur milieu et dans les sociétés autres que la leur mais aussi façonner leur avenir..

Les ONG peuvent donner aux citoyens un exemple de participation. La première fois qu'elles ont envisagé d'éliminer la pauvreté dans le monde, les ONG ont envoyé de l'argent pour qu'il serve à creuser des puits, à nourrir les enfants et à appuyer les mouvements sociaux. Aujourd'hui, ils ont compris la nécessité de travailler au changement social de façon démocratique, comme des partenaires.

Les ONG du Nord doivent établir des rapports équitables avec les groupes qu'ils appuient dans le Sud. Pour relever ce défi il emporte de déterminer ensemble comment et où investir les sommes, et de passer des structures de pouvoir hiérarchiques à des modes décisionnels égalitaires. Voilà comment les gens à la base auront véritablement le pouvoir d'orienter les changements vers une amélioration de leur qualité de vie.

Notre défi comme Canadiens, c'est de prendre au sérieux la citoyenneté.

Selon le président de la République tchèque, Vaclav Havel, de puissantes forces tentent délibérément de dévier l'attention des citoyens des questions sociales. Et la consommation est, de loin, le plus simple, le plus facile et le plus séduisant instrument de déviation. " En rivant toute l'attention de l'humain au plancher de ses intérêts primaires de consommateur, écrit Havel, l'on espère le rendre incapable d'apprécier désormais la vitesse à laquelle se dégrade sa réalité spirituelle, morale et politique. "

Par contre, quiconque connaît l'importance de son rôle dans l'édification de ce monde tient à tout prix à contribuer aux grandes orientations de la société. Se penchant avec leurs semblables sur tout ce qui les concerne, tous pèsent le pour et le contre des diverses actions possibles sur le plan politique.

Alors ils seront en position de poser des jugements réfléchis.

Prendre le contrôle, contribuer au changement social, éliminer la pauvreté dans le monde : voilà trois objectifs réalisables… qui ne se réaliseront pas avant que les gens les croient réalisables et avant qu'ils ne joignent leurs efforts pour les réaliser.


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide