CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Resources

Find out more. Do more. Stay connected.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
CCIC Publications
Employment
Archives
Links


IMPRIMER

The Role of Civil Society in
Preventing Conflict in Africa

Weakened states in Africa that have lost their legitimacy have also lost their capacity to ensure peace and security. Political and social vulnerability, which is at the origin of the conflicts, can be overcome by reforming institutions: by strengthening existing regional and continental institutions working in the field of prevention, management and resolution of conflicts, by strengthening political and administrative frameworks, by reforming the civil service and administration, by strengthening parliamentary control, by reforming the legal system, and by fighting against national corruption, etc. The objective is thus to refashion the capacity of African states for political governance so that they will be able to ensure, among other things, peace and security. While we subscribe to this project supported by NEPAD, we have differences with NEPAD on how to get there.

Is the strengthening of political institutions a matter of science and technology? Can recipes or models be applied? Can the institutions be reformed from above, without the participation of the people governed by those institutions? Some people seem to think so: the bilateral and multilateral projects based on this approach are so numerous that they are impossible to count, and NEPAD subscribes to this very same strategy.

Along with our African civil society colleagues, we would like to propose another avenue for refashioning the capacity of states for political governance, and thus their capacity to combat political and social vulnerability, which underlies conflicts. African civil society organizations must not replace the states; they do, however, have a crucial role to play in the democratic transformation of their society. Democratic transformation is a prerequisite for Africans to be able to genuinely participate in their own development.

The fundamental contribution of civil society to the prevention of conflict is on this level: it constitutes the very foundation on which democratic states can be built. Civil society's contribution is twofold. The first is civic education, carried out by its various components (church groups, women's groups, trade union groups, the independent press, professional associations, human-rights groups, etc.). The second is the transformation of political life by bringing about the emergence of networks with multiple and pluralist interests, which occupy an ever growing space and offer a counterweight to those networks characterized by a single-interest allegiance, such as along ethnic lines.

Initiatives are taking place in several African countries, often with ridiculously inadequate resources, to support citizen training programs, to create spaces where independent expression can take place, and to defend fundamental rights. They reflect a commitment to carry out a type of political work that has long been left derelict, in a field where the results are not spectacular, nor even measurable in the short term. It is a long-term job, and one that has risks.

Campaigns to combat tribalism, which has been exacerbated by foreign military occupation and the pillaging of resources in a country such as the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), can appear pathetically inadequate when compared to the millions of deaths caused by war. It is nonetheless true that it is these same organizations, who carried out civic education campaigns, which were the first to launch a peace agenda in the DRC, a process that at the end could not be ignored by any of the parties in the conflict. It was civil society in Sierra Leone that mobilized the population to denounce the "deal" that had brought Foday Sankoh to power and led the country into a dead end. Afterwards, they were able to begin a long process aimed at rebuilding the country and its institutions.

Civic education programs, which for the time being have limited resources, are managing to consolidate and broaden the spaces occupied by groups recognized for their commitment to promote rights and democracy. The messages are reaching new, larger publics and are slowly reaching the political, administrative, traditional and religious authorities. Communication media such as radio are becoming significant training tools. Use of the media enables the population to compare and contrast their own visions with those of other people and thus to escape from the seclusion in which the warlords are constantly trying to isolate them.

Resources at the disposal of civil society organizations enable them to enter into relations with different groups inside and outside the country. Information circulates more quickly and thus enables them to combat measures of intimidation and repression with which these groups are so often targeted. Networking and communication are becoming tools for prevention, with leaders increasingly being forced to think about the image they project outside the country.

On the local level, projects such as micro-credit that respond to survival needs can become places where people learn about democracy. In the medium- and long-term, these initiatives can influence the power structures and encourage the emergence of new leaders who focus on defending and promoting the interests of their constituents, and who are accountable to these constituents. They complement an educational process that is exposing the model that has been in place since the colonial period: for a long time, African leaders have built their legitimacy on their ties with the outside world rather than on their connections with their own population. Leaders were thus indebted first and foremost to outside powers and institutions that supported them rather than to their own people. NEPAD demonstrates that this unfortunate tendency still persists. One has only to look at the efforts expended by the African leaders to convince the G8 decision-makers to join a plan for a renaissance of Africa and compare that with the efforts they deployed to associate African populations with this same renaissance.

We are convinced that local initiatives must be developed and that these initiatives must come from the people and their organizations and be managed by them. In Africa, church groups, trade union groups, human-rights groups, solidarity groups of women and of young people, decentralized administrative bodies, places of instruction and research centres, can all be recognized as practitioners in the work of preventing conflicts and seeking peace. They are building democratic institutions, creating a better flow of information, providing goods and services in emergency situations that further the interests of small farmers and local expertise, including better access to financing, developing research, or conserving traditional knowledge. Capacity building in civil society groups is consistent with a strategy of participatory development in which institutional and political changes respond to the pressure of citizens and are rooted in the societies concerned.

Serge Blais, Africa Team Leader, Development and Peace, and Co-Chair, Africa Canada Forum, presentation to the Peacebuilding and Human Security Consultations, April 25, 2002


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Ressources

Information. Engagement. Réseautage.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Emploi
Ressources en emploi
Bénévolat et stages
Qui fait quoi
Coin des membres
Passer à l'action
Archives
Publications
Bon de commande
Liens


IMPRIMER

Le rôle de la société civile dans la prévention des conflits en Afrique

On reconnaît que les États affaiblis de l’Afrique, les États qui ont perdu leur légitimité ont aussi perdu leurs capacités d’assurer la paix et la sécurité. On peut combattre les vulnérabilités politiques et sociales qui sont à l’origine des conflits par la réforme des institutions : par le renforcement des institutions régionales et continentales existantes dans le domaine de la prévention, de la gestion et de la résolution des conflits, le renforcement du cadre politique et administratif, la réforme de la fonction publique et de l’administration, le renforcement du contrôle parlementaire, la réforme du régime judiciaire, la lutte contre la corruption nationale, etc. L’objectif est alors de refonder la capacité de gouvernance politique des États africains, entre autres pour assurer la paix et la sécurité. Nous souscrivons à ce projet soutenu par le NEPAD, là où les divergences se font jour, c’est sur la manière d’y arriver.

Le renforcement des institutions politiques est-il du ressort de la science et de la technologie, des recettes ou des modèles peuvent-ils être appliqués, peut-on réformer les institutions par le haut, sans le concours et la participation des populations gouvernées par ces institutions ? Certains semblent y croire, les projets bilatéraux et multilatéraux fondés sur cette approche ne se comptent plus, le NEPAD souscrit à cette même stratégie.

Avec nos collègues africains de la société civile, nous voudrions proposer une autre avenue pour refonder la capacité de gouvernance politique des États et partant leur capacités à combattre les vulnérabilités politiques et sociales qui sont à l’origine des conflits. Nous convenons que les organisations de la société civile africaine ne doivent pas se substituer aux États, elles ont cependant un rôle déterminant à jouer pour la transformation démocratique de leur société. Ces transformations sont des préalables à une participation véritable des Africains à leur propre développement.

La contribution fondamentale de la société civile à la prévention des conflits est à ce niveau : la constitution de la base, du sous bassement, sur lequel des états démocratiques pourront se construire. La contribution de la société civile est double, elle résulte du travail d’éducation civique mis de l’avant par ses diverses composantes (groupes d’églises, de femmes, syndicats, presse indépendante, associations professionnelles, groupe de défense des droits humains, etc.), elle transforme la vie politique, par l’émergence de réseaux d’intérêts multiples et pluriels qui occupent des espaces grandissants en opposition à des réseaux d’appartenance exclusifs, par exemple ethniques.

Des expériences sont en cours dans plusieurs pays Africains, souvent avec des moyens dérisoires pour soutenir des programmes de formation citoyenne, pour créer des espaces d’expression indépendants, pour défendre les droits fondamentaux. Il s’agit d’un engagement dans un travail politique longtemps délaissé, dans un domaine où les résultats ne sont pas spectaculaires, ni mesurables à court terme, un travail de longue haleine et qui comporte des risques.

Les campagnes de luttes contre le tribalisme exacerbé par l’occupation militaire étrangère et le pillage des ressources dans un pays comme la RDC peuvent paraître dérisoires face aux millions de morts provoquées par la guerre, il n’en demeure pas moins que ce sont ces mêmes organisations qui mènent ces campagnes d’éducation civique qui ont été les premières à lancer un agenda pour la paix dans ce pays, une démarche qui a fini par être incontournable pour l’ensemble des parties au conflit. C’est la société civile de Sierra Leone qui a mobilisé la population pour dénoncer le « deal » qui avait amené Foday Sankoh au pouvoir et mené le pays dans un cul de sac. Après, on a pu commencer à amorcer une longue démarche vers la reconstruction du pays et de ses institutions.

Les programmes d’éducation civique, qui bénéficient pour le moment de moyens limités, réussissent à consolider et à élargir les espaces occupés par les groupes reconnus pour leur engagement pour la promotion des droits et de la démocratie. Les messages touchent des publics nouveaux, plus nombreux et rejoignent peu à peu des autorités politiques, administratives, coutumières et religieuses. Les moyens de communication comme la radio deviennent des outils de formation considérables, ils permettent aux populations de confronter leurs visions à celles d’autres peuples et de sortir de l’enfermement dans laquelle les chefs de guerre veulent constamment les isoler.

Les moyens mis à la disposition des organisations de la société civile leur permettent de nouer des relations entre différents groupes dans le pays et avec l’extérieur, l’information circule plus rapidement et permet ainsi de combattre les mesures d’intimidation et de répression dont ces groupes font souvent l’objet. Le réseautage et la communication deviennent des outils de prévention, les dirigeants étant tenu de plus en plus de composer avec l’image qu’ils projettent à l’extérieur.

Au niveau local, par exemple des projets de micro-crédit qui répondent à des besoins de survie peuvent devenir des lieux d’apprentissage de la démocratie, ils peuvent avoir, à moyen terme et long terme, une influence à des niveaux supérieurs et favoriser l’émergence de nouveaux dirigeants qui axent leur travail sur la défense et la promotion des intérêts de leurs commettants et qui sont imputables vis-à-vis ces commettants. Cette tâche s’inscrit dans un processus d’éducation qui vient défaire le modèle mis de l’avant depuis la période coloniale : depuis longtemps les dirigeants africains ont construit leur légitimité sur leurs liens avec le monde extérieur plutôt que sur leurs liens avec leur propre population. Ils étaient ainsi d’abord redevables aux forces extérieures qui les soutenaient plutôt qu’à leur propres populations. Le NEPAD montre la persistance de cette tendance lourde, il suffit de comparer les efforts mis par les dirigeants africains à convaincre les décideurs du G8 de s’associer à un plan de renouveau de l’Afrique à ceux consentis pour associer les populations africaines à ce même plan de renouveau.

Nous pensons qu’il faut valoriser les initiatives locales issues des populations et de leurs organisations et gérées par elles. En Afrique, les groupes d’églises, les syndicats, les groupes de défense des droits de la personne, les groupes solidaires de femmes, de jeunes, les entités administratives décentralisées, les maisons d’enseignement et les centres de recherche peuvent être reconnus comme des intervenants dans la prévention des conflits et la recherche de la paix, la construction d’institutions démocratiques, une meilleure circulation de l’information, la fourniture de denrées et de services dans les situations d’urgence qui favorisent les petits producteurs et l’expertise locale, un meilleur accès au financement, le développement de la recherche et la conservation des savoirs populaires, etc. Le renforcement des capacités des groupes de la société civile s’inscrit dans une stratégie de développement participative, où les changements institutionnels et politiques répondent aux pressions des citoyens et trouvent leurs racines dans les sociétés concernées .

Serge Blais
Chef d’équipe Afrique, Développement et Paix, et co-président, FORUM AFRIQUE-CANADA
Exposé aux consultations du MAECI sur la Consolidation de la paix et la sécurité humaine, le 25 avril 2002


TOP
 
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • Devenez membre
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Code d'éthique
  • Bilan de l'aide