CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

June 13, 2008

HEADLINES

  1. Government Concludes Free Trade Agreement with Colombia: Parliament, human rights, labour and environment experts were being ignored as Canada concluded free trade negotiations with Colombia. Trade Minister David Emerson announced the conclusion of negotiations last week saying that environment and labour concerns will be dealt with in parallel agreements. The negotiations concluded while the Standing Committee on International Trade was in the middle of studying the environmental impacts and human rights concerns of a trade deal with Colombia. To read CCIC's news release go to www.ccic.ca

  2. Greenhill Leaves CIDA: Robert Greenhill is leaving the public service as President of the Canadian International Development Agency to take on the role of Managing Director and Chief Business Officer of the World Economic Forum in Geneva. Margaret Biggs, currently Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet, Plans and Consultation, Privy Council Office, has been named as CIDA's new President.

  3. UNICEF Global Award: The UNICEF Aldo Farina Prize was awarded to Kathy Vandergrift for her work with children's rights advocacy groups, peace-building and social justice organizations over 25 years. The UNICEF prize is a biannual, global award recognizing outstanding contribution to child rights advocacy or education for development. Kathy Vandergrift is the Chair of the Canadian Coalition for the Rights of Children and founded the international Watchlist on Children and Armed Conflict.

  4. Africa Prize Nominations: Launched by The Hunger Project in 1987, The Africa Prize honours distinguished African women and men who are leading the way in bringing about the sustainable end of hunger at the national, regional or continent-wide level. The Africa Prize spotlights individuals working in areas such as public policy, science, agriculture, education and health. Through awarding the prize, it is hoped that heightened awareness will be generated of the many African leaders who are taking the necessary actions to resolve the pressing agricultural, economic, political and social issues facing the continent. For more information, and to nominate candidates, visit www.africaprize.org.

WORTH LOOKING AT

  1. The Use of IT in Youth Engagement - A CCIC Report: The Strategic Use of IT in Youth Engagement for Global Citizenship reflects the findings of research conducted by CCIC, in collaboration with its member, on the potential of Information Technology (IT) for youth engagement. The Strategic Use of IT is a public engagement resource to help in developing effective strategies and selecting the right IT tools for achieving objectives. A glossary of technologies, innovative practices and numerous links to online resources are also in the report. The Strategic Use of IT is available online at www.ccic.ca/e/docs/002_pe_ticej_final.pdf.

UPCOMING EVENTS

  1. 15th Canadian Conference on International Health: "Checking In: Health for All or Health for Some?" the 15th Canadian Conference on International Health will take place in Ottawa from October 26 to 29. "Checking In: Health for All or Health for Some?" will provide a kaleidoscope of perspectives on primary health care and offer a forum for re-examining both successes and failures of practice, policies and research. Practitioners, community members, policy makers and researchers will meet to explore new global partnerships, to share new visions and ways of working in primary health care that offer possibilities for achieving improvements to community health, progress toward the Millennium Development Goals, improved equity on the social determinants of health, and strengthened health systems. For more information on CCIH 2008 and to download the Call for Abstracts, see www.csih.org or contact Virginia Fobert at vfobert@csih.org.

Note: Flash is moving to its summer schedule. The next Flash will go out on July 11 followed by a Flash on August 8.

TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 13 juin 2008

DERNIÈRES NOUVELLES

  1. Le Canada signe un accord de libre-échange avec la Colombie. Le gouvernement faisant fi du parlement, de spécialistes en matière d'environnement, de droits de la personne et du travail, a conclu un accord de libre-échange avec la Colombie. Le ministre du Commerce international, David Emerson, qui a annoncé la semaine dernière, la fin des négociations, a déclaré que les questions relatives à l'environnement et au droit du travail feraient l'objet d'accords auxiliaires. Le gouvernement a mis fin aux négociations alors que le Comité permanent du commerce international procède à l'examen des répercussions d'un accord commercial sur l'environnement et sur les droits de la personne. Le communiqué de presse est disponible au www.ccic.ca.

  2. Robert Greenhill quitte l'ACDI. M. Greenhill quitte la fonction publique où il assurait la présidence de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) pour assumer le poste d'administrateur délégué et dirigeant principal des affaires du Forum économique mondial de Genève. Margaret Biggs, actuellement sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Planification et Consultations) Bureau du Conseil privé, devient présidente de l'Agence.

  3. Prix international de l'UNICEF. Kathy Vandergrift a reçu le prix Aldo Farina de l'UNICEF pour ses 25 ans de travail avec les groupes de défense des droits des enfants et les organismes de consolidation de la paix et de la justice sociale. Ce prix international est décerné deux fois par année pour souligner une contribution exceptionnelle à la défense des droits des enfants ou à l'éducation axée sur le développement. Kathy Vandergrift est présidente de la Coalition canadienne pour les droits des enfants et fondatrice de l'organisme international Watchlist on Children and Armed Conflict.

  4. Appel de candidatures pour le Prix Leadership Afrique. Décerné par The Hunger Project depuis 1987, le Prix Leadership Afrique récompense des femmes et des hommes d'Afrique qui se distinguent par leur leadership dans la recherche d'une solution durable à la faim à l'échelle nationale, régionale ou panafricaine. Le Prix est remis à des personnes oeuvrant, entre autres, dans les sphères de la politique publique, de la science, de l'agriculture, de l'éducation et de la santé. En remettant ce prix, le programme sensibiliser la communauté internationale au travail des leaders africains qui prennent les moyens nécessaires pour résoudre les grands problèmes agricoles, économiques, politiques et sociaux du continent. Pour tout renseignement ou pour proposer un lauréat : www.africaprize.org/fr/.

VAUT UN COUP D'ŒIL

  1. Rapport du CCCI sur l'utilisation des TIC en engagement jeunesse. L'utilisation stratégique des TIC (Technologies de l'information et des communications) en engagement jeunesse pour une citoyenneté mondiale présente les conclusions d'une étude menée par le CCCI, en collaboration avec ses membres, sur le potentiel des technologies de l'information et des communications (TIC) dans le domaine de l'engagement des jeunes. Le rapport qui se veut une ressource sur la mobilisation du public peut aider à élaborer des stratégies efficaces et à choisir les bons outils pour atteindre les objectifs. Il contient également un glossaire sur les TIC et les pratiques novatrices, ainsi que de nombreux liens vers des ressources en ligne. Il est possible de le consulter à l'adresse suivante : www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_pe_ticej_final.pdf.

À VENIR

  1. 15e Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale. La 15e Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale (CCSI) aura lieu à Ottawa du 26 au 29 octobre, sous le thème " Bilan : La santé pour tous ou pour combien ? ". Ce sera l'occasion de comparer un éventail de points de vue sur les soins de santé primaires et de faire le bilan des réussites et des échecs de la pratique, des politiques et de la recherche. Des échanges d'idées entre praticiens, membres de la communauté, intervenants et intervenantes dans les domaines de la politique et de la recherche porteront sur de nouveaux partenariats internationaux et les diverses façons de prodiguer les soins de santé primaires susceptibles d'améliorer la santé communautaire, de conduire à la réalisation des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement, de favoriser l'équité en matière de déterminants sociaux de la santé et de soutenir les systèmes de santé. Pour plus de renseignements sur la CCSI et pour télécharger l'appel à contributions, visiter le www.csih.org ou communiquer avec Virginia Fobert (vfobert@csih.org).

N.B. : Flash passe maintenant à l'horaire d'été; les prochains numéros paraîtront les 11 juillet et 8 août prochains.


 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca