CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

December 21, 2007

Headlines

  1. Colombia: a test case for Canada's 'principled' role in the Americas: The negotiation of bilateral trade deals is a key element in the Canadian Government's new "Americas Strategy". An example, under negotiation, is the proposed free trade agreement with Colombia, a country that Human Rights Watch calls "the worst humanitarian and human rights crisis" in the Hemisphere. CCIC and a number of other CSOs with an interest in human rights and development in Colombia and elsewhere in the South argue that this is the wrong deal with the wrong country. A commentary by CCIC's Senior Trade Analyst, Gauri Sreenivasan makes the case for putting a stop to the current negotiations. See the full commentary at: www.ccic.ca/e/docs/004_commentary_2007-11_colombia.pdf (in French: www.ccic.ca/f/docs/004_commentary_2007-11_colombia.pdf)

  2. Human Rights Groups Challenge Canadian Government's Assertions on Colombia - Point to Ongoing Rights Violations: Concern over Canada's determination to sign a trade deal with Colombia continues to grow. Human rights groups and Parliamentarians recently turned up the heat. Amnesty International has written to the Minister of International Trade, David Emerson, challenging his assertion before Commons Committee on International Trade that the human rights situation in Colombia is improving (letter). Emerson defended negotiating a trade deal with Colombia, despite that country's failure to address serious human rights abuses. Amnesty is calling for an independent human rights impact assessment before any trade deal is signed. A strong letter to Prime Minister Harper from Human Rights Watch makes the same case (letter). It argues that "many now understandably believe that Canada does not care about Colombia's record on Human Rights as it is apparently willing to do business as usual with the country regardless of the plight of its workers and the influence of its murderous paramilitaries". Members of Parliament from the Liberal, Bloc Quebecois and NDP, raised related questions in the House of Commons this month. 2007 will be remembered by some as the year "Canada drifted closer to the Bush administration", on Colombia and other key foreign policy areas. 2008 can be different - Add your voice to the 5,000 Canadians who have already sent letters to their Members of Parliament about this issue through the following organizations: Make Poverty History: www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/colombia/, KAIROS: www.united-church.ca/getinvolved/takeaction/071115, Canadian Labour Congress: http://action.clc-ctc.ca/colombia_freetrade, Amnesty International : www.amnesty.ca/.

  3. Amnesty Issues Updated Human Rights Agenda for Canada: "There is a sense that Canada is moving away from its total commitment to multilateralism and is now, I think, advancing other forms of either national or regional alliances… Canada has to work very hard to maintain what historically has been the perception internationally that it's a consensus builder and that it's a valid interlocutor to all." This quote from an October speech in Ottawa by Louise Arbour, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, leads Amnesty's December update, "Canada and the International Protection of Human Rights: An Erosion of Leadership?". A number of developments over the past two years lead Amnesty to ask whether Canada's position as a global human rights champion is slipping. Those include Canada's approach to the human rights of Indigenous Peoples, to strengthening the UN human rights system, to the death penalty, and to raising concerns about human rights violations in other countries. The report stresses how important Canada's leadership has been to the cause of global human rights protection. But it highlights recent political decisions that have resulted in a failure of that crucial human rights leadership. See the report at: www.amnesty.ca/amnestynews/upload/Human_Rights_Agenda_2007.pdf.

  4. CCIC Tells Manley Panel Canada's Whole-of-Government Approach in Afghanistan Hurts Development and Peace-Building: Canada's "integrated" approach encompassing development, diplomacy, defence (and other departments) has had adverse effects on development assistance and peace-building in Afghanistan. The 3-D approach has elevated the military component to the neglect of development and diplomatic efforts. Worse still, it has served to militarize peace-building and humanitarian and development assistance. The last two years have seen an increasing shift towards putting security first, on the assumption that development will follow. Security is indeed important, but cannot come at the expense of development and diplomatic efforts. The four options the government presents to the panel for review reveal how the whole-of-government approach fails to give adequate attention to humanitarian, development, and diplomatic considerations. A military effort alone cannot guarantee security. The CCIC submission explores how the whole-of-government approach constrains development and peace-building on the ground. It makes the case for a fundamental re-orientation of Canada's role that enables CIDA and DFAIT, as the development and diplomatic arms of Canadian international policy, to play stronger roles in Canada's engagements in Afghanistan. It calls for an approach that clearly differentiates between development, diplomatic, and military functions in policy and in practice. For the full submission: www.ccic.ca/e/docs/002_humanitarian_2007-12_ccic_submission.pdf  (in French: www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_humanitarian_2007-12_ccic_submission.pdf

  5. CCIC and Other CSOs Sign Open Letter to Canada's Environment Minister on Climate Change and Development: Canadian CSOs were very active in efforts to overcome Canada's resistance to setting hard and effective targets for carbon emissions reduction at the recent UN conference in Bali, Indonesia. While the government toed the US line through much of the conference, the pressure from Canadians finally paid off on the last day of negotiations when Canada found itself isolated by other Kyoto signatories and retreated from its earlier opposition to new targets for reductions in 2020. In an open letter to Environment Minister John Baird, prior to the talks in Bali, leading humanitarian, development and environmental organizations called on Canada's government to change its policies on global warming and to do its fair share in preventing dangerous climate change. See the letter to John Baird on the Oxfam Canada website at: www.oxfam.ca/news-and-publications/news/open-letter-to-the-environment-minister-on-climate-change-and-development. The letter also calls on Canada to increase its commitment to funding adaptation to climate change on the part of those communities and populations most vulnerable to climate change. Oxfam has produced a Graph of Climate Injustice, which plots the per capita carbon emissions in the richest and poorest countries against their respective incomes, and clearly shows that responsibility for emissions and ability to pay lies firmly with the richest countries. You can access the Graph at: www.oxfam.ca/news-and-publications/pressroom/injustice-a4.pdf

  6. North/South CSOs Call for Bali Mandate on Global Economic and Energy Transitions: The International Forum on Globalization, a network of CSOs in North and South challenging the impacts of globalization, has set out the essential elements of a new architecture designed to solve a complex of inter-related ecological crises, including, among other things, the end of cheap energy, species extinction, scarcity of fresh water, and the collapse of the fisheries, forests and other natural resources (www.ifg.org/pdf/Bali_climate_change.pdf) . The groups say they "support movements toward subsidiarity that shift power away from global and national governance, and towards local economies, especially energy and food systems." For more information, visit the Institute for Policy Studies at
    www.ips-dc.org, or the International Forum on Globalization at www.ifg.org.

  7. The Changing Face of Global Development Finance - Conference, Feb. 1&2, 2008 in Ottawa: The Halifax Initiative is organizing a conference, co-hosted by CCIC, the North-South Institute, and the Reality of Aid Network, entitled "The Changing Face of Global Development Finance - Impacts and implications for aid, development, the South and the Bretton Woods Institutions". The conference will consider the changing roles and relevance of the IMF and World Bank, southern initiatives to create independent sources of development finance (such as the Bank of the South), the impact of new actors (such as China in Africa), innovative sources of finance, what is missing from current discussions on aid effectiveness, and moving beyond the aid box. It will feature presentations from southern experts in these fields. Space is limited, so register early. For the conference web page visit: www.halifaxinitiative.org/index.php/current_events/1071. A conference agenda is also available at: www.halifaxinitiative.org/updir/ConferenceAgendaGDF.doc. To register, visit: www.halifaxinitiative.org/Action_Alerts/conference.php?language=en.

  8. Gender and Poverty - Latest Issue of the International Poverty Centre's Periodical, "Poverty in Focus", Devoted to Gender Equality: This issue of IPC's journal Poverty in Focus presents a dozen articles summarizing some of the most important recent research results and commentaries on the links between gender and poverty. Reducing gender inequality promises significant returns; empowering women by improving their living conditions and enabling them to actively participate in the social and economic life of a country may well be the key for long-term sustainable development. This collection of articles should contribute to a better understanding of the importance of recognizing the crucial role of gender inequalities as barriers to economic and social development, and thus of undertaking policy and institutional reforms that will more effectively reduce poverty and social injustice. Available online at: www.undp-povertycentre.org/pub/IPCPovertyInFocus13.pdf.

  9. Gender and Humanitarian Assistance Workshop, Toronto, January 10, 2008: The workshop is organized by PAGER, a network of Canadian humanitarian agencies. The overall goal of the workshop is to provide participants with; 1). A better understanding of the issues of gender in emergencies, 2). An overview of existing resources and frameworks, and 3). Ideas for implementation. For a registration form, please contact Madina Aliberdieva, FOCUS at: madina.aliberdieva@focushumanitarian.org.

  10. Outcome Mapping Training Workshop, 6-8 March, 2008 in Ottawa: Outcome Mapping is described as "a practical, flexible and participatory approach to planning, monitoring and evaluation". First introduced by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) in 2000, Outcome Mapping (OM) has been used in projects, programs and organizations around the world. A growing body of donor agencies, NGOs and monitoring and evaluation professionals are adopting OM because it helps them address issues that other, more traditional methods do not consider. Outcome Mapping is also on the agenda of the CCIC Leadership Forum (January 17,18, 2008). The course methodology will embody the participatory values that are at the core of OM, combining theory with group discussion, individual reflection, small group practice and case studies. Course materials include a training manual, CD-ROM containing OM information in three languages (English, French and Spanish), and the book Outcome Mapping: Building Learning and Reflection in to Development Programs by S. Earl, F. Carden and T. Smutylo. The workshop will be held at Oxfam Canada in Ottawa (250 City Centre Ave., Suite 400), March 6-8, 2008, 9 am - 5 pm. Cost: $600 per person, $450 per person for not-for-profit organizations. For more information, or to register, contact: Heidi Schaeffer at heidis@xplornet.com.

  11. World Federalist Movement Presses for a UN Parliamentary Assembly (UNPA): While governments and aid organizations promote democratic governance in other countries, the World Federalist Movement says they ignore the democratic deficit in governance at the global level. So the WFM launched an international grassroots campaign to strengthen citizens' representation at the United Nations earlier this year. The UNPA campaign aims to build support for a parliamentary advisory body at the UN that gradually transitions into a world parliament. This would be similar to the evolution of the European Parliament that now has co-decision powers at the European Union and has members elected by over 490 million voters. The World Federalist Movement-Canada is the Canadian focal point in this effort. It is seeking both individual and organizational endorsers. For more information or to endorse the proposal on-line go to: www.unpacampaign.org.

  12. Reminder - Film Screening: "Undermined: Communities, Consultation and Corporate Accountability in Guyana": The Ontario Council for International Cooperation (OCIC) helped to fund the production of this short video by two first-time filmmakers from Ottawa. The 35-minute documentary profiles the perspectives of eight Amerindians from Guyana, South America, about issues relating to mining-in particular, the issue of community consultation and the activities of Canadian mining companies operating in the country's interior, where numerous land claims remain unresolved. The Ottawa premiere of the documentary will take place at the National Library & Archives on January 9th, 2008 from 7.00-9.00 pm. The screening will be followed by presentations from invited speakers and a public discussion on topics related to the film. Admission is free. For more information, please contact Emily Wilson or Brent Parker at info@undermined.ca or check the website for news and updates at www.undermined.ca.

Ethics in a Flash

  1. Ethics Committee Opportunity: Are you interested in joining the CCIC Ethics Review Committee? The committee's role is to assist the CCIC membership to meet the Code of Ethics standards and to aspire to higher levels of ethical practice? CCIC is seeking nominations to fill one vacancy on the Committee. The nominee must be from within the CCIC membership and could be a board member, staff person, or a volunteer. The person is not expected to be an expert in ethics programs, but will be expected to bring an understanding of development practice and the realities of member organizations' experiences. For further information please contact Anne Buchanan at (613) 241-7007 ext 315 or e-mail abuchanan@ccic.ca. Nominations accepted until January 16, 2005.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 21 décembre 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. La Colombie, un cas type pour le rôle " fondé sur des principes " du Canada en Amérique. La négociation d'accords commerciaux bilatéraux est au cœur de la nouvelle stratégie canadienne en Amérique. L'accord de libre-échange actuellement en négociation avec la Colombie en est un exemple, mais Human Rights Watch considère que la Colombie possède le pire dossier du continent en matière de droits de la personne et de crise humanitaire. Le CCCI, et un certain nombre d'OSC intéressées par les droits de la personne et le développement en Colombie ainsi qu'ailleurs dans l'hémisphère Sud, affirment que ce type d'accord ne convient pas. Dans un commentaire à ce sujet, Gauri Sreenivasan, analyste principale du CCCI en matière de politiques commerciales, présente les arguments en faveur de l'arrêt des négociations actuelles. Voir le texte à l'adresse : www.ccic.ca/f/docs/004_commentary_2007-11_colombia.pdf.

  2. Des organismes de protection des droits de la personne contestent les affirmations du Canada à propos de la Colombie et dénonce la violation incessante des droits. L'inquiétude grandit à l'égard de la détermination du Canada à conclure un accord commercial avec la Colombie. Les organismes de défense des droits de la personne et les parlementaires augmentent la pression. Amnistie Internationale a écrit au ministre du Commerce international, David Emerson, afin de contester l'affirmation qu'il a faite devant le Comité du commerce international de la Chambre des communes selon laquelle la situation en Colombie s'améliorait (lettre en anglais seulement). M. Emerson a tenté de justifier la négociation d'un accord commercial avec la Colombie en dépit du fait que ce pays omet de s'attaquer aux graves problèmes de violation des droits de la personne. Amnistie Internationale demande une évaluation indépendante des conséquences sur les droits de la personne d'un éventuel accord commercial, et ce, avant que celui-ci ne soit conclu. Human Rights Watch a aussi adressé une lettre insistante au premier ministre Harper dans le même but (lettre). Selon l'organisme, beaucoup pensent, à bon droit, que le Canada ne se soucie pas de la violation des droits de la personne en Colombie et que, apparemment, le Canada souhaite faire comme si de rien n'était devant la situation critique des travailleurs et les massacres perpétrés par les forces paramilitaires. Des députés libéraux, bloquistes et néo-démocrates ont soulevé la question à la Chambre des communes ce mois-ci. On se souviendra de l'année 2007 comme de celle où le Canada s'est rapproché encore un peu plus du gouvernement Bush, au sujet de la Colombie et dans d'autres dossiers d'affaires étrangères. L'année 2008 pourrait être différente. Joignez-vous aux 5 000 autres Canadiennes et Canadiens qui ont déjà envoyé des lettres à leurs députés sur cette question par l'entremise des organismes suivants : Abolissons la pauvreté ( www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca/f/colombia/), KAIROS ( www.united-church.ca/getinvolved/takeaction/071115), Congrès du travail du Canada (http://action.clc-ctc.ca/fr/node/65) et Amnistie Internationale ( www.amnesty.ca/).

  3. Mise à jour du programme relatif aux droits de la personne à l'intention du Canada par Amnistie Internationale. " On sent que le Canada s'éloigne de son engagement total au multilatéralisme et favorise à présent, je crois, d'autres formes d'alliances nationales ou régionales [...] Le Canada doit faire de gros efforts pour continuer à être aux yeux de la communauté internationale ce qu'il a toujours été, c'est-à-dire un pays de consensus et un interlocuteur respecté de tous. " Cette citation, tirée d'un discours prononcé en octobre par Louise Arbour, haut commissaire des Nations Unies aux droits de l'homme, coiffe la mise à jour d'Amnistie Internationale, intitulée Le Canada et la protection des droits humains : Un leadership fragilisé?. Les événements des deux dernières années incitent Amnistie Internationale à se demander si la réputation mondiale du Canada, qui s'était fait le champion des droits de la personne, n'est pas en train de s'effriter. On pense ici à l'attitude du Canada envers les droits des peuples autochtones, la consolidation du système onusien des droits de la personne, la peine de mort et la de violation des droits de la personne à l'étranger. Comme on le souligne dans le rapport, le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans le monde pour la protection des droits de la personne, mais force est de constater que les dernières décisions politiques ont affaibli ce leadership. Voir le rapport à l'adresse : www.amnistie.ca/images/stories/accueil/PDF/programme.pdf.

  4. Le CCCI avise le groupe de travail Manley que l'approche pangouvernementale du Canada en Afghanistan nuit au développement et à l'instauration de la paix. L'approche canadienne " intégrée " qui englobe le développement, la diplomatie, la défense et divers ministères a des effets pervers sur l'aide au développement et la consolidation de la paix en Afghanistan. L'approche " 3-D " donne priorité à l'aspect militaire, aux dépens du développement et de la diplomatie. Pis encore, il sert à militariser la consolidation de la paix ainsi que l'aide humanitaire et l'aide au développement. Ainsi, depuis deux ans s'est opéré un changement de politique prônant la sécurité avant tout et présumant que le développement suivra automatiquement. La sécurité est bien sûr importante, mais elle ne peut pas s'instaurer aux dépens du développement et des efforts diplomatiques. Les quatre options que le gouvernement propose au groupe de travail montrent le manque d'attention qu'il porte aux questions d'aide humanitaire, de développement et de diplomatie. L'effort militaire ne peut pas, à lui seul, garantir la sécurité. Le mémoire du CCCI montre comment l'approche pangouvernementale limite le développement et la consolidation de la paix dans les faits. Il démontre l'importance fondamentale d'une réorientation du rôle du Canada afin de permettre à l'ACDI et au MAECI, organes principaux en matière de développement et de diplomatie au service de la politique internationale canadienne, de participer à l'engagement du Canada en Afghanistan. Il plaide en faveur d'une approche qui marque clairement la différence entre le développement, la diplomatie et les fonctions militaires, en théorie comme en pratique. La version intégrale du mémoire se trouve à la page www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_humanitarian_2007-12_ccic_submission.pdf.

  5. Le CCCI et d'autres OSC signent une lettre ouverte adressée au ministre de l'Environnement au sujet du changement climatique et du développement. Les OSC canadiennes se sont montrées très actives dans leurs efforts pour vaincre la résistance du Canada quant à l'établissement d'objectifs fermes et efficaces de réduction des émissions de CO2 à la conférence onusienne de Bali, en Indonésie. Alors que le gouvernement se rangeait du côté des États-Unis pendant la majorité de la conférence, la pression exercée par les Canadiens a finalement porté fruit le dernier jour des négociations, lorsque le Canada s'est retrouvé isolé des autres signataires de Kyoto et a abandonné son opposition initiale aux nouveaux objectifs de réduction pour 2020. Avant la conférence de Bali, dans une lettre ouverte adressée au ministre de l'Environnement John Baird, les principaux organismes d'aide humanitaire, de développement et de protection de l'environnement ont demandé au gouvernement canadien de changer ses politiques sur le réchauffement planétaire et de faire sa juste part pour prévenir les dangereux effets du changement climatique. Voir la lettre adressée à John Baird sur le site Web d'Oxfam Canada à l'adresse suivante (en anglais) : www.oxfam.ca/news-and-publications/news/open-letter-to-the-environment-minister-on-climate-change-and-development. Dans la lettre, on demande aussi que le Canada affermisse son engagement de financer les projets adaptés au changement climatique entrepris par les collectivités et les populations les plus vulnérables au réchauffement de la planète. Oxfam a produit un graphique illustrant l'injustice de la situation en comparant les pays riches et les pays pauvres en ce qui concerne les revenus et les émissions de carbone per capita; ce graphique montre clairement que la responsabilité des émissions et la capacité de payer incombe aux pays riches. On peut voir ce graphique à : www.oxfam.ca/news-and-publications/pressroom/injustice-a4.pdf.

  6. Des OSC du Nord et du Sud exigent que les États se dotent à Bali d'un mandat de transition économique et énergétique mondiale. L'International Forum on Globalization (IFG), un réseau d'OSC du Nord et du Sud luttant contre les effets de la mondialisation, a établi les éléments essentiels d'une nouvelle architecture conçue pour régler un ensemble de crises écologiques interreliées, entre autres la fin de l'énergie bon marché, la disparition de certaines espèces, la rareté de l'eau douce et l'appauvrissement des pêcheries, des forêts et d'autres ressources naturelles. Le document se trouve à l'adresse suivante (en anglais) : www.ifg.org/pdf/Bali_climate_change.pdf. Les organismes soutiennent les mouvements qui prônent une subsidiarité en vertu de laquelle le pouvoir doit se déplacer des niveaux international et national vers les économies locales, particulièrement dans le domaine des systèmes énergétiques et alimentaires. Pour plus de renseignements, visiter le site de l'Institute for Policy Studies (www.ips-dc.org) ou celui de l'IFG ( www.ifg.org).

  7. Le nouveau visage du financement du développement mondial - Conférence les 1er et 2 février 2008 à Ottawa. L'Initiative d'Halifax, de pair avec le CCCI, l'Institut Nord-Sud et le réseau Reality of Aid organisent une conférence, " Le nouveau visage du financement du développement mondial - Incidences et répercussions sur l'aide, le développement, le Sud et les institutions de Bretton Woods ". La conférence portera sur l'évolution du rôle et la pertinence du FMI et de la Banque mondiale, les initiatives du Sud visant à créer des sources de financement du développement indépendantes (telle que la Banque du Sud), les conséquences des actions des nouveaux acteurs (comme la Chine en Afrique), les sources de financement novatrices, les éléments manquants aux examens et aux débats actuels relatifs à l'efficacité de l'aide, et le besoin d'aller au-delà de l'aide d'urgence. Des experts venus du Sud viendront débattre de ces sujets. Comme les places sont limitées, prière de s'inscrire au plus tôt. La page Web de la conférence se trouve à : www.halifaxinitiative.org/index.php/current_events/1071 (en anglais seulement). Le projet d'ordre du jour est à l'adresse suivante : www.halifaxinitiative.org/updir/ordredujourFDM.doc. Pour s'inscrire, aller à : www.halifaxinitiative.org/Action_Alerts/conference.php?language=fr.

  8. Égalité des sexes et pauvreté : le dernier numéro de Poverty in Focus, le magazine de l'International Poverty Centre (IPC), est consacré à l'égalité entre les sexes. Ce numéro de Poverty in Focus contient une douzaine d'articles qui présentent et commentent certaines des études récentes les plus importantes sur la relation entre l'égalité des sexes et la pauvreté. La réduction de l'inégalité entre les sexes est une voie très prometteuse; le fait de donner plus de pouvoir aux femmes en améliorant leurs conditions de vie et en leur permettant de participer activement à la vie sociale et économique de leur pays pourrait bien être la clé du développement durable. Cette série d'articles montre combien il est important de reconnaître que l'inégalité entre les sexes contribue à entraver le développement social et économique, et donc qu'il est important d'entreprendre des réformes politiques et institutionnelles qui permettront de réduire la pauvreté et les injustices sociales de manière plus efficace. Le magazine peut être lu à l'adresse suivante (en anglais) : www.undp-povertycentre.org/pub/IPCPovertyInFocus13.pdf.

  9. Atelier sur l'égalité des sexes et l'aide humanitaire, Toronto, 10 janvier 2008. L'atelier est organisé par PAGER, un réseau informel de groupes d'aide humanitaire canadiens. L'objectif général est de donner aux participants : 1) une meilleure compréhension du problème de l'égalité des sexes dans le contexte des situations d'urgence, 2) un aperçu des ressources et des cadres de travail existants et 3) des idées d'actions concrètes. Pour obtenir un formulaire d'inscription, écrire à Madina Aliberdieva (du groupe FOCUS) à l'adresse suivante : madina.aliberdieva@focushumanitarian.org.

  10. Atelier de formation sur la cartographie des incidences, Ottawa, du 6 au 8 mars 2008. La cartographie des incidences est une approche pratique, souple et participative de la planification, du suivi et de l'évaluation. Utilisée pour la première fois par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) en 2000, la cartographie des incidences est appliquée à des projets, à des programmes et à des organismes partout dans le monde. Cette approche est adoptée par un nombre croissant d'organismes donateurs, d'ONG et de professionnels du suivi et de l'évaluation car elle leur permet de traiter d'aspects dont les méthodes traditionnelles ne tiennent pas compte. La cartographie des incidences est également au programme du Forum des dirigeants du CCCI (qui aura lieu les 17 et 18 janvier 2008). La formule de l'atelier appliquera les valeurs mêmes de participation qui sont à la base de la cartographie des incidences : aux exposés théoriques se combineront des discussions de groupe, une réflexion individuelle, des exercices en petits groupes et des études de cas. La matériel comprend un manuel, un CD-ROM en trois langues (anglais, français et espagnol) et le livre La cartographie des incidences : Intégrer l'apprentissage et la réflexion dans les programmes de développement, de Sarah Earl, Fred Carden et Terry Smutylo. L'atelier aura lieu à Oxfam Canada, à Ottawa (250, av. City Centre, bureau 400), du 6 au 8 mars 2008, de 9 h à 17 h. Prix : 600 $ par personne, 450 $ par personne représentant un organisme à but non lucratif. Pour plus de renseignements ou pour s'inscrire, communiquer avec Heidi Schaeffer (heidis@xplornet.com).

  11. Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial fait pression pour la création d'une assemblée parlementaire des Nations Unies (APNU). Tandis que les gouvernements et les organismes d'aide prônent la gouvernance démocratique dans d'autres pays, Le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial (MFM) affirme qu'ils ne tiennent pas compte du déficit démocratique au niveau de la gouvernance mondiale. C'est pourquoi le MFM a lancé cette année une campagne de terrain internationale pour l'amélioration de la représentation de la population auprès des Nations Unies. Cette campagne vise à recueillir des appuis pour la création d'un organe consultatif parlementaire aux Nations Unies, qui serait la première étape d'une transition graduelle vers l'établissement d'un parlement mondial. Cette transition serait semblable à l'évolution du Parlement européen, qui prend part à la procédure de codécision de l'Union européenne et dont les membres sont élus par plus de
    490 millions d'électeurs. Au Canada, la campagne est menée par le Mouvement fédéraliste mondial du Canada, qui recherche des appuis auprès des particuliers et des organismes. Pour plus de renseignements ou pour donner son appui, visiter le site de la campagne à l'adresse suivante : http://fr.unpacampaign.org.

  12. Rappel : présentation du film Undermined: Communities, Consultation and Corporate Accountability in Guyana. Le Conseil ontarien pour la coopération internationale (OCIC) a contribué financièrement à la production d'un court métrage réalisé par deux cinéastes débutants d'Ottawa. Ce documentaire de 35 minutes présente le point de vue de huit Amérindiens de Guyane (Amérique du Sud) sur les enjeux de l'exploitation minière, en particulier sur la consultation de la collectivité et les activités des compagnies minières canadiennes établies à l'intérieur des terres, où d'importantes revendications territoriales sont toujours irrésolues. La première aura lieu à Ottawa, à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, le 9 janvier 2008, de 19 h à 21 h. Le visionnement sera suivi de conférences et de discussions avec le public sur les sujets abordés dans le film. Entrée libre. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Emily Wilson ou Brent Parker à l'adresse info@undermined.ca, ou consulter le site Web du film : www.undermined.ca.

Flash éthique

  1. Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique - Occasion. Le Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique du CCCI vous intéresse ? Le rôle du Comité est d'aider les membres à respecter les normes du Code d'éthique et à aspirer à des niveaux supérieurs de conduite éthique. Le CCCI est à la recherche de personnes souhaitant pourvoir un poste vacant au sein du Comité. Le candidat, qu'il s'agisse d'un membre du conseil d'administration, d'un employé ou d'un bénévole, doit faire partie d'une des organisations membres du CCCI. Le CCCI n'exige pas qu'il soit un expert dans le domaine des programmes d'éthique, mais on s'attend à ce qu'il contribue à la compréhension des pratiques de développement et qu'il donne l'heure juste en ce qui concerne les expériences des organisations membres. Pour obtenir plus d'information, prière de communiquer avec Anne Buchanan au 613-241-7007, poste 315 ou à abuchanan@ccic.ca. La date limite pour poser sa candidature est le 16 janvier 2008.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca