CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

November 23, 2007

Headlines

  1. The Canada/Colombia Trade Agreement - No Deal: Canadian faith, labour and development groups active in Colombia, led by the CCIC, the Canadian Labour Congress and Common Frontiers, held a news conference on Parliament Hill on November 20th to call for a halt to trade talks between the two countries. Bishop Juan Alberto Cardona, leader of the Methodist Church in Colombia, who took part in the event argues a trade deal today would amount to a "stamp of approval" for a government that has done little to end murders by army and paramilitary groups, return illegally seized lands to small farmers and to bring about the rule of law. The Canadian groups point to the fact that 98% of the more than 550 murders of trade unionists under the current Uribe government remain unsolved as indicative of the continuing high level of human rights abuses and the climate of impunity. They call for an open debate in Parliament and among the public at large about the advisability of trade negotiations with Colombia at this time, about a new approach to trade, one that respects human rights, and for a human rights impact assessment before signing any deal. The news release, a briefing note on the trade negotiations and a fact sheet on Colombia can all be found on the CCIC website at www.ccic.ca/e/003/apg.shtml.

  2. CCIC analysis of the OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC) Peer Review of Canada's development co-operation program: Brian Tomlinson, Co-ordinator of CCIC's Policy Team, has completed an analysis of the DAC peer review. The document has not yet been translated, but is available in English on request. A French version will be available in December and both will be posted on our website at that time. For a copy of the English version, send Brian an e-mail at btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  3. Government Responds to Report of the Commons Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development: In its response to the Eight Report of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development (Advancing Canada's role in International Support for Democratic Development), the government announces its strategy on democratic development. The document, entitled A New Focus on Democracy Support, states that the government intends to develop a "Whole-of-Government Policy Statement" within six months for the specific area of Democracy Support. Furthermore, there will be a new CIDA "Annual Report on Development Results" and a new "Annual Report on Democracy Support." For the entire document, go to: http://cmte.parl.gc.ca/cmte/CommitteePublication.aspx?SourceId=216092

  4. Shifting Tides: Indigenous Responses to Global Climate Change: The Pacific Peoples' Partnership is proud to sponsor a delegation of Aboriginal Canadians and Maori Cook Islanders to travel across Canada to bring attention to the impacts of global climate change on their communities. The commonalities of indigenous peoples in the North and South are highlighted as Canadian Aboriginal and Maori elders, scientists, and journalists share their stories. The Canadian delegation will include a Coast Salish elder, a Cree scientist and a young Inuk woman. The South Pacific delegates come from Rarotonga and the Cook Islands. Their experience will demonstrate that climate change is more than an environmental issue. It threatens to undo progress toward the Millennium Development Goals. Please join us for an intimate discussion on Tuesday November 27, between 1 -3pm, in the CCIC Staff Room. Numbers are limited, please rsvp to surendrini@ccic.ca. For more information about the project, contact Stephanie Peter at climate@pacificpeoplespartnership.org.

  5. A World of Women - Jody Williams to Speak on Canada's Place in the World: The Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action and the Nobel Women's Initiative invite you to hear Jody Williams, the winner of the 1997 Nobel Peace Prize, along with the campaign she founded - the International Campaign to Ban Landmines. The organization ultimately achieved its goal in 1997 with the signing of the Ottawa Treaty banning antipersonnel landmines. Most recently, she led the UN High-Level Mission on the human rights situation in Darfur and the needs of Sudan in this regard. The Mission issued its report in March of this year. Jody Williams will address Canada's current conduct in international forums as well as the recent effort to establish a new UN Women's Agency. She will speak on Friday, November 30, 2007 at 7 pm at the Ottawa Arts Court Theatre, 2 Daly Avenue. Admission is free. For more information, contact kwilkinson@fafia-afai.org or, (613) 232-9505 x229

  6. Peacebuilding in Afghanistan: An International Conference: The University of Ottawa's Faculty of Social Sciences, International Development and Globalization is organizing a conference designed to take stock of the current situation in Afghanistan, six years after the fall of the Taliban, and to look ahead. A number of experts from Canada and around the world will explore such themes as "The Insurgency: Is There An Endgame?", "Governance and the Rule of Law: What can be Achieved?", "The Opium Problem: In Search of a Workable Strategy", "Reconstruction and Development: Untold Success Story, or Good Money After Bad?", "Looking Ahead: Prospects and Strategies for Success", and "What Should Canada Do?". The conference takes place at the Chateau Laurier Hotel, December 10-11, 2007. The event is free, but pre-registration is required by December 1. For more information contact marie-eve.desrosiers@uOttawa.ca

  7. Dr. Amir Attaran to Speak at Group of 78 Luncheon on Afghan Detainees: Dr. Amir Attaran, Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa will speak on "Afghan Detainees in the context of Canadian foreign policy" (working title). Dr. Attaran is by training both a lawyer and a biologist, whose research covers the gamut of both fields to explore the functional linkages between public policy, technology, and human well-being in the world's less developed countries. The luncheon will take place on Tuesday November 27, 2007 at 12 noon in the Courtyard Restaurant, 21 George Street, Ottawa. The cost is $25 for the lunch and presentation and $5 for the presentation only (presentation begins about 12:45 pm). Reservations required. Please email group78@web.ca or call 613-230-0860 by Friday November 23 to reserve a seat.
TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 23 novembre 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Les négociations commerciales entre le Canada et la Colombie : pas d'accord. Une conférence de presse a été convoquée le 20 novembre dernier sur la Colline du Parlement par des organismes confessionnels, des groupes ouvriers et des groupes de développement, sous l'égide du CCCI, du Congrès du travail du Canada et de Common Frontiers, afin d'exiger la cessation des négociations commerciales entre le Canada et la Colombie. L'évêque et chef de l'Église méthodiste de la Colombie, Juan Alberto Cardona, qui a participé à l'événement, a affirmé que le fait de conclure un accord commercial aujourd'hui reviendrait à entériner un gouvernement qui n'a pratiquement rien fait pour mettre un terme aux meurtres commis par l'armée et les groupes paramilitaires, rendre aux petits exploitants agricoles les terres dont ils ont été illégalement expropriés et instituer la primauté du droit. Les organismes canadiens soulignent que 98 p. 100 des 550 meurtres de syndicalistes commis depuis l'avènement du gouvernement Uribe restent impunis, ce qui révèle le haut degré de violation des droits de la personne et le régime d'impunité qui règnent en Colombie. Ils exigent que la question fasse l'objet d'un débat parlementaire en séance publique portant sur l'opportunité de tenir des négociations commerciales avec la Colombie en ce moment, sur la nouvelle approche commerciale à adopter, c'est-à-dire une approche qui respecte les droits de la personne, et sur l'évaluation des répercussions d'un accord commercial sur les droits de la personne avant de signer quelque entente que ce soit. Le communiqué de presse, une note d'information sur les négociations commerciales et une fiche de renseignements sur la Colombie se trouvent à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/003/apg.shtml.

  2. Analyse de l'examen par les pairs du programme canadien de coopération pour le développement par le Comité d'aide au développement (CAD) de l'OCDE. Brian Tomlinson, coordonnateur de l'équipe Orientation politique du CCCI, a effectué une analyse de l'examen par les pairs du CAD. Le document n'a pas encore été traduit, mais la version anglaise peut être obtenue sur demande. La version française et la version originale paraîtront sur le site web du CCCI en décembre. D'ici là, pour obtenir le texte de la version anglaise, veuillez envoyer un courriel à Brian Tomlinson (btomlinson@ccic.ca).

  3. La réponse du gouvernement au rapport du Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international (FAAE) de la Chambre des communes. Dans sa réponse au huitième rapport du FAAE (intitulé Renforcer le rôle du Canada dans le soutien international au développement démocratique), le gouvernement annonce sa stratégie en matière de développement démocratique. Dans ce document, intitulé Nouvel accent sur l'aide à la démocratie, le gouvernement déclare son intention d'élaborer, dans les six mois, un " énoncé de politique pangouvernementale " pour le secteur particulier de l'aide à la démocratie. De plus, seront publiés un nouveau rapport annuel de l'ACDI sur les résultats du développement et un nouveau rapport annuel sur l'aide à la démocratie. Le document intégral se trouve à l'adresse http://cmte.parl.gc.ca/cmte/CommitteePublication.aspx?COM=0&SourceId=216092&SwitchLanguage=1.

  4. Quand la marée ne redescend plus : le point de vue des Autochtones sur le changement climatique. Le Pacific Peoples' Partnership est fier de parrainer une délégation d'Autochtones canadiens et de Maoris des îles Cook qui parcourra le Canada dans le but de faire connaître les effets du changement climatique sur leurs collectivités. À cette occasion, des aînés, des scientifiques et des journalistes autochtones canadiens et maoris proposeront des témoignages mettant en relief les points qu'ils ont en commun. La délégation canadienne comprend un aîné salish de la côte, un scientifique cri et une jeune femme inuite. Les délégués du Pacifique Sud viennent de l'île de Rarotonga et des îles Cook. Leur expérience montre que le changement climatique n'est pas seulement une question environnementale, mais qu'il risque également de nuire aux progrès accomplis en vue de la réalisation des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement. Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous pour une discussion intime le mardi 27 novembre, de 13 h à 15 h, dans la salle du personnel du CCCI. Le nombre de places est limité; pour réserver la vôtre, veuillez écrire à l'adresse suivante : surendrini@ccic.ca. Pour en savoir plus sur le projet, communiquer avec Stephanie Peter (climate@pacificpeoplespartnership.org).

  5. Un monde de femmes - conférence de Jody Williams sur la place du Canada dans le monde. L'Alliance canadienne féministe pour l'action internationale et la Nobel Women's Initiative vous invitent à venir entendre Jody Williams, récipiendaire du prix Nobel de la paix en 1997 et fondatrice de la Campagne internationale pour l'interdiction des mines antipersonnel. Cette campagne a atteint son objectif lorsque le Traité d'Ottawa sur l'interdiction des mines antipersonnel a été signé en 1997. Tout récemment, Jody Williams a dirigé la Mission d'évaluation de haut niveau sur la situation des droits de la personne au Darfour, qui portait également sur les besoins du Soudan, et dont le rapport a été publié en mars dernier. Mme Williams traitera de l'attitude actuelle du Canada dans les forums internationaux, de même que des efforts déployés pour créer un nouvel organisme onusien sur la condition féminine. La conférence aura lieu le vendredi 30 novembre 2007, à 19 h, à la Cour des arts d'Ottawa (2, avenue Daly). Entrée libre. Pour de plus amples renseignements, écrire à l'adresse kwilkinson@fafia-afai.org ou téléphoner au 613-232-9505, poste 229.

  6. Conférence internationale sur la consolidation de la paix en Afghanistan. Le programme de développement international et mondialisation de la faculté des sciences sociales de l'Université d'Ottawa organise une conférence visant à faire le point sur la situation actuelle en Afghanistan, six ans après la chute des talibans, et à préparer l'avenir. De nombreux spécialistes du Canada et des quatre coins de la planète exploreront des thèmes comme l'insurrection et les perspectives d'apaisement, les progrès possibles en matière de gouvernance et de primauté du droit, la recherche d'une solution viable au problème de l'opium, la reconstruction et le développement, les perspectives et stratégies pour l'avenir et ce que le Canada devrait faire. La conférence aura lieu à l'hôtel Château Laurier les 10 et 11 décembre 2007. Entrée libre; pré-inscription requise au plus tard le 1er décembre. Pour de plus amples renseignements, écrire à l'adresse suivante : 
    marie-eve.desrosiers@uOttawa.ca
    .

  7. Allocution de M. Amir Attaran au déjeuner du Groupe des 78 sur les prisonniers afghans. M. Amir Attaran, professeur agrégé et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada de la faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa, fera une allocution sur les prisonniers afghans dans le contexte de la politique étrangère du Canada. M. Attaran est à la fois avocat et biologiste de formation, et ses recherches, qui touchent au droit et à la biologie, portent sur les liens fonctionnels entre la politique publique, la technologie et le bien-être des personnes dans les pays peu développés. Le déjeuner aura lieu le mardi 27 novembre 2007 à midi, au restaurant Courtyard, 21, rue George à Ottawa. Le prix d'entrée est de 25 $ pour le déjeuner et la conférence, ou de 5 $ pour la conférence seulement (elle débutera vers 12 h 45). Réservation requise. Pour réserver une place, prière d'écrire à l'adresse group78@web.ca ou de téléphoner au 613-230-0860, au plus tard le 23 novembre.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca