CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin


October 26, 2007


  1. CCIC Reacts to the Throne Speech, October 16, 2007: The federal government's Throne Speech claims that "Canada is back as a credible actor on the international stage" but many Canadians might say, "Not yet." Unfortunately, on the day before the UN's International Day for the Eradication of Poverty, the speech remains silent on the government's plan to meet its international aid commitments. Many crucial details on aid, trade, development and peace are missing from the Throne Speech. CCIC hopes this is not conclusive. We will be looking for evidence that the Throne Speech means what it says about Canada's return to its values in its foreign policies. For the full release summing up CCIC's reaction go to

  2. CCIC Calls For Broader Mandate for New Advisory Panel on Afghanistan: The PM's independent advisory panel is a welcome opportunity for Canadians to reconsider our goals in Afghanistan. But to achieve that end, it will need to broaden its purview. The Advisory Panel, chaired by former Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs John Manley, has been asked by the government to consider four options. All four focus on military deployment or withdrawal. "We would like to see the panel add peace-building and development to its options" say's Gerry Barr, President and CEO of CCIC. "And we can't wait until 2009 to start talking about peace, Afghans need peace now." CCIC and its members are calling on the Panel to consult Canadian and Afghan NGOs fully in their research, deliberations and recommendations. For more, go to

  3. Darfur Conference at University of Ottawa: On Nov. 9-11, 2007,The Canadian Centre for Genocide Education, STAND Canada, STAND Ottawa, Canadians Against Slavery and Torture in Sudan, WUSC, Armenian National Committee of Canada, Genocide Watch, the U of O Department of History and Faculty of Law, and Students Helping Others Understand Tolerance are hosting a conference on the continuing crisis in Darfur. It brings together genocide scholars, Africanists and Sudanists, and Canadian humanitarian workers and activists who are working on Darfur. Among the speakers are Major Brent Beardsley, operations manager for Lt. Gen. Dallaire in Rwanda, Nigel Fisher, Pres./CEO of UNICEF Canada, author Robert Collins, Dr. Gregory Stanton, Pres. Of Genocide Watch, and Prof. Samuel Totten, a member of the Darfur Atrocities Documentation Team of the US Dept. of State. For more info: or e-mail

  4. PM Announces New Parliamentary Secretaries: Of interest are Deepak Obhrai (Calgary East AB) as P.S. to Min. of Foreign Affairs, Brian Pallister (Portage-Lisgar MB) P.S. to Min. of International Trade and to Min. of International Cooperation, Ed Komarnicki (Souris-Moose Mountain SK) P.S. to Min. of Citizenship and Immigration, Guy Lauzon (Stormont-Dundas ON) P.S. to Min. of Agriculture and Agri-Food, Ted Menzies (MacLeod AB) P.S. to Min. of Finance, Mark Warawa (Langley BC) P.S. to Min. of Environment, Sylvie Boucher (Beauport-Limoilou QC) P.S. to the Prime Minister and for Status of Women,
    Rod Bruinooge (Winnipeg South MB) P.S. to the Min. of Indian Affairs and for Metis and Non-Status Indians, and Laurie Hawn (Edmonton Centre AB) P.S. to Min. of National Defence.

  5. Canadian Council of Refugees Fall Consultation: Nov. 29 - Dec. 1, 2007 refugee and immigrant rights advocates from across Canada will be gathering in Ottawa for CCR's 2007 Fall Consultation on the theme of 'Breaking the Barriers to Refugee and Immigrant Rights'. Information about the consultation and online registration forms are available at: . Register before 9 November to take advantage of the reduced fees. Prior to the Consultation, on Wednesday Nov. 28, the CCR is organizing a National Lobby Day on Parliament Hill in the afternoon. CCR members will meet with MPs to raise issues relating to family reunification, temporary workers, and the protection of trafficked persons in Canada. Interested in receiving more information about the National Lobby Day? Please check the appropriate box on your CCR Fall Consultation registration form or email Colleen French at

  6. Southern Perspectives on Global Development Finance Conference: The Halifax Initiative Coalition, in partnership with CCIC, the North-South Institute and the Reality of Aid Network, is planning a conference on February 1-2, 2008 to hear Southern perspectives on "The Changing Shape of Global Development Finance - Impacts and implications for aid, development, the South and the Bretton Woods Institutions", and to explore what this means for Canadian and international civil society. Details to follow in November at For more information, please contact

  7. Oxfam Report on Conflict Costs in Africa: Africa suffers enormously from conflict and armed violence. For the first time, IANSA, Oxfam, and Safeworld have estimated the economic cost of armed conflict to Africa's development. Since 1990, around $300bn has been lost by Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan and Uganda. This sum is equivalent to international aid from major donors in the same period. Armed conflict costs Africa around $18 billion per year, seriously derailing development. If this money was not lost in armed conflict, it could solve the problems of HIV and AIDS in Africa, or it could address Africa's needs in education, clean water and sanitation, and prevent tuberculosis and malaria. The most commonly used weapons are Kalashnikov assault rifles, the vast majority from outside Africa. To protect lives and livelihoods, the 2008 UN Group of Governmental Experts working on the Arms Trade Treaty must ensure swift progress towards a strong and effective Treaty. For more, see:
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation |

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 26 octobre 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Réaction du CCCI au discours du Trône du 16 octobre 2007. Selon le discours du Trône du gouvernement fédéral, " le Canada est redevenu un acteur crédible dans le monde "; toutefois, bien des Canadiennes et des Canadiens pourraient répondre : " Je demande à voir. " En effet, malheureusement, la veille même de la Journée internationale pour l'élimination de la pauvreté de l'ONU, le gouvernement est resté muet, dans son discours, quant à ses engagements en matière d'aide internationale. En effet, le discours passe sous silence de nombreux détails d'importance critique au sujet de l'aide, du commerce, du développement et de la paix. Le CCCI espère que cela ne s'arrêtera pas là. Le CCCI sera à l'affût de signes montrant que le gouvernement prend au sérieux les intentions qu'il a exprimées dans son discours au sujet du retour aux valeurs canadiennes dans la politique étrangère. Pour connaître la réaction complète du CCCI, lire le communiqué à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/004/news_2007-10-16_throne_speech.shtml

  2. Le CCCI réclame un mandat élargi pour le nouveau groupe consultatif sur l'Afghanistan. Le groupe consultatif indépendant du premier ministre constitue une excellente occasion pour le Canada de revoir les objectifs de sa présence en Afghanistan. À condition toutefois qu'il élargisse son champ de réflexion. Le groupe, présidé par l'ancien vice-premier ministre et ministre des Affaires étrangères John Manley, a reçu du gouvernement le mandat de se pencher sur quatre options, portant toutes sur le déploiement militaire ou le retrait des troupes. " Nous aimerions que la consolidation de la paix et le développement fassent partie des options proposées ", explique Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du CCCI. " Et on ne peut pas attendre 2009 pour commencer à parler de paix. Les Afghans ont besoin de la paix dès maintenant. " Le CCCI et ses membres demandent au groupe de consulter pleinement les ONG canadiennes et afghanes dans leurs recherches, leurs délibérations et leurs recommandations. Pour en savoir plus, lire www.ccic.ca/f/home/index.shtml .

  3. Colloque sur le Darfour à l'Université d'Ottawa. Du 9 au 11 novembre 2007, le Canadian Centre for Genocide Education, STAND Canada, STAND Ottawa, Canadians Against Slavery and Torture in Sudan, EUMC, le Comité national arménien du Canada, Genocide Watch, le Département d'histoire et la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa et Students Helping Others Understand Tolerance tiendront un colloque sur la crise toujours en cours du Darfour. Cet événement réunira des spécialistes des génocides, des africanistes, des soudanistes et des travailleurs et militants humanitaires canadiens présents dans la région. Parmi les conférenciers figurent le major Brent Beardsley, gestionnaire des opérations pour le lieutenant-général Dallaire au Rwanda, Nigel Fisher, président-directeur général d'UNICEF Canada, Robert Collins, auteur, Gregory Stanton, président de Genocide Watch, et le professeur Samuel Totten, membre du Darfur Atrocities Documentation Team du US Department of State. Pour en savoir plus : www.genocideeducation.ca ou, par courriel, darfur@genocideeducation.ca .

  4. Le premier ministre annonce la nomination de nouveaux secrétaires parlementaires. Il y a lieu de souligner entre autres les nominations suivantes : Deepak Obhrai (Calgary-Est [Alb.]), S.P. pour les Affaires étrangères, Brian Pallister (Portage-Lisgar [Man.], S.P. du min. du Commerce international et de la min. de la Coopération internationale,
    Ed Komarnicki (Souris-Moose Mountain [Sask.]), S.P. du min. de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration, Guy Lauzon (Stormont-Dundas [Ont.]), S.P. du min. de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire, Ted Menzies (MacLeod [Alb.]), S.P. du min. des Finances,
    Mark Warawa (Langley, [C.-B.]), S.P. du min. de l'Environnement, Sylvie Boucher (Beauport-Limoilou [Québec]), S.P. du premier ministre et de Condition féminine,
    Rod Bruinooge (Winnipeg-Sud [Man.]), S.P. du min. des Affaires indiennes et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, et Laurie Hawn (Edmonton-Centre, [Alb.]), S.P. du ministre de la Défense nationale.

  5. Consultation d'automne du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés. Du 29 novembre au 1er décembre 2007, des défenseurs des droits des réfugiés et des immigrants de partout au Canada se réuniront à Ottawa pour la Consultation d'automne 2007 du CCR sur le thème " Supprimer les obstacles aux droits des réfugiés et des immigrants ". Pour en savoir plus sur la consultation ou pour s'inscrire en ligne, consulter le www.ccrweb.ca/fra/apropos/reunions.htm. Inscrivez-vous avant le 9 novembre pour profiter d'un rabais. Avant la consultation, dans l'après-midi du mercredi 28 novembre, le CCR organisera une Journée nationale de lobby sur la colline du Parlement. Les membres du CCR rencontreront des députés pour discuter des problèmes de réunification des familles, des travailleurs temporaires et de la protection des victimes de la traite des personnes au Canada. Vous voulez en savoir plus au sujet de la Journée nationale de lobby ? Il suffit de cocher la case correspondante dans le formulaire d'inscription ou d'écrire à Colleen French, à l'adresse ccr4@web.ca.

  6. Colloque sur les perspectives du Sud au sujet du financement du développement. La Coalition de l'Initiative d'Halifax, en partenariat avec le CCCI, l'Institut Nord-Sud et le Réseau du Bilan de l'aide, organise un colloque qui aura lieu les 1er et 2 février 2008 pour connaître les perspectives du Sud sur le thème " Évolution du financement du développement mondial : impacts et implications pour l'aide, le développement, le Sud et les Institutions de Bretton Woods ", et pour se pencher sur les aspects qui intéressent la société civile canadienne et internationale. Les détails seront publiés en novembre à l'adresse www.halifaxinitiative.org/Current_Events. Pour en savoir plus, écrire à freillyking@halifaxinitiative.org.

  7. Rapport d'Oxfam sur le coût des conflits en Afrique. L'Afrique souffre énormément des conflits et de la violence armée. Pour la première fois, le RAIAL, Oxfam et Safeworld ont estimé le coût économique des conflits armés pour le développement de l'Afrique. Ainsi, depuis 1990, environ 300 milliards de dollars ont été perdus par l'Algérie, l'Angola, le Burundi, la République centrafricaine, le Tchad, la République démocratique du Congo, la République du Congo, la Côte-d'Ivoire, Djibouti, l'Érythrée, l'Éthiopie, le Ghana, la Guinée, la Guinée-Bissau, le Liberia, le Niger, le Nigeria, le Rwanda, le Sénégal, la Sierra Leone, l'Afrique du Sud, le Soudan et l'Ouganda. Cette somme est équivalente à l'aide internationale accordée par les grands bailleurs de fonds pour la même période. Les conflits armés coûtent à l'Afrique environ 18 milliards de dollars par année et constituent ainsi une entrave majeure au développement. Si cet argent n'était pas gaspillé ainsi, il pourrait régler les problèmes du VIH et du sida en Afrique ou répondre aux besoins de l'Afrique en matière d'éducation, d'eau pure et de services d'assainissement, et prévenir la tuberculose et le paludisme. Les armes les plus couramment utilisées sont les fusils d'assaut Kalachnikov, dont la grande majorité sont importés de l'extérieur de l'Afrique. Pour protéger des vies et des gagne-pain, le Groupe d'experts gouvernementaux de l'ONU mis sur pied en 2008 pour travailler sur le Traité sur le commerce des armes doit assurer un progrès rapide vers un traité solide et efficace. Renseignements : www.oxfam.org/fr/policy/briefingpapers/bp107_milliards_manquants_afrique?set_language=fr.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca