CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

September 28, 2007

Headlines

  1. Throne Speech Priorities: The Speech from the Throne on October 16 should address three critical foreign policy priorities: accelerating global poverty reduction, redefining Canada's mission in Afghanistan and promoting fair global trade policies, all in the context of respect for human rights and sustainable development. CCIC stressed these points in a recent letter to Prime Minister Stephen Harper (see www.ccic.ca/e/home/index.shtml ). CCIC members are encouraged to send their own letters to remind the Prime Minister that ending global poverty is still a Canadian priority.

  2. First licence Granted to Export Generic AIDS Drugs to Africa: The first licence to produce generic drugs for export to countries without drug production capacity has been issued in Canada. This comes four years after a WTO decision allowing compulsory licencing to export essential medicines and three years after Canada's law implementing that decision. The Canadian Commissioner of Patents, on September 19, issued the licence using Canada's Access to Medicines Regime [a.k.a Jean Chrétien Pledge to Africa Bill]. The licence was issued after Rwanda notified the World Trade Organization (WTO) of its intent to import generic HIV/AIDS drugs from Canada. The Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network, while welcoming the licence, noted that "this is not the 'rapid' response that is needed to address the lack of access to affordable medicines in developing countries." For more information see www.aidslaw.ca/publications/publicationsdocEN.php?ref=705.

  3. Civil Society and Aid Effectiveness Consultations: The Advisory Group to the Working Party on CSOs and Aid Effectiveness, hosted at the OECD-DAC, is launching five CSO/government consultations in the South and a consultation in Brussels for Northern-based International CSOs. In support of these consultations, the Advisory Group, chaired by Canada, has written concept and issues papers on CSOs and Aid Effectiveness. The consultations will focus on seven areas: recognition for CSOs as development actors; strengths and limitations of the Paris Declaration for addressing CSO aid effectiveness; and case studies and lessons related to five CSO relationships (with CSO constituencies, in coalition with each other, North/South, with government, and with donors). CCIC's Africa Canada Forum, at its upcoming symposium, will address some of these questions. A CCIC Leadership Forum/National Consultation on these themes will take place January 17 and 18. The Advisory Group papers and consultation schedule are posted on CCIC's web site at www.ccic.ca/e/002/aid.shtml . For more information contact Brian Tomlinson at btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  4. Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples by the UN General Assembly: CCIC's Asia-Pacific Working Group is critical of the Government of Canada's decision to vote against the adoption of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples at the 61st session of the General Assembly. After being an early proponent of the Declaration, Canada has the distinction of being one of four countries opposed to its adoption. This, despite the fact that the Declaration was strongly supported by the Canadian Civil Society, the Assembly of First Nations, the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and the Métis National Council. The Declaration was also publicly supported by all three opposition parties with the Parliamentary Committee on Aboriginal Affairs twice calling on the government to support the Declaration.

  5. Shake Up in Public Service Senior Ranks: John McBride is the new Executive Vice-President of the Canadian International Development Agency. McBride comes to the position after spending more than two years as the President of the Canadian Commercial Corporation. Robert Fonberg is the new Deputy Minister of National Defence. Diane Vincent, who was the Executive VP at CIDA moves to the Canadian International Trade Tribunal as Vice-Chairperson.

  6. NetCorps Volunteer Placements: NetCorps placements are an opportunity for Information and Communications Technology (ICT) specialists aged 19 to 30 to share their skills on six-month overseas placements in Africa, Latin America, Asia and Eastern Europe. NetCorps placements are coordinated by nine Canadian non-governmental organizations, including four CCIC Members (Canadian Crossroads International, Oxfam-Québec, the Canadian Society for International Health and VSO Canada) and is funded by the Canadian International Development Agency. To learn more about volunteering with NetCorps visit www.netcorps-cyberjeunes.org .

Setting our Sites

  1. Launch of development website: BetterAid.org is designed as both an information and organising tool for individuals, communities, social movements, development activists, civil society organisations, governments, media and international institutions - in short anyone interested or involved in working on development issues. The website is designed to provide information and to involve users in discussions. It has with links to various civil society organisations, activities and events related to aid issues. For more information, see http://betteraid.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1&Itemid=2.

Ethics in a Flash

  1. Dear Ms Ethics: Does CCIC's Code of Ethics require organizations to make public (to employees and the public at large) the minutes from board of directors' meetings? Noteworthy

    Dear Noteworthy: There is no specific wording in the Code to tell organizations to make public to employees and the public the minutes of board meetings. There are, however, requirements for organizations to be committed to values of transparency, confidentiality and respect for privacy (3.2.7 and 3.3.1). These values may seem to conflict, but the objective is to ensure that organizations are transparent, except for cases where there is very good reason to do otherwise (i.e. cases that require confidentiality or privacy). Minutes of board meetings, for example may discuss confidential information such as staff performance which would involve the need to respect privacy and confidentiality. The default position for organizations is to be transparent and then to think about, and provide a good reason why it may not be transparent in a particular situation. Examples of this in practice include writing a summary of topics discussed and action items, without going into the details. Having a policy on transparency allows organizations to reflect on what to include and exclude, and helps ensure consistent application throughout the organization.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 28 septembre 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Priorités dans le discours du Trône. Le discours du Trône du 16 octobre devrait traiter de trois grandes priorités en politique étrangère : l'accélération de la réduction de la pauvreté dans le monde, la redéfinition de la mission du Canada en Afghanistan et la promotion de politiques commerciales mondiales justes, toujours dans le respect des droits de la personne et du développement durable. Le CCCI a mis ces points en évidence dans une lettre envoyée récemment au premier ministre Stephen Harper (voir www.ccic.ca/f/home/index.shtml). Les membres du CCCI sont encouragés à écrire eux-mêmes au premier ministre pour lui rappeler que l'élimination de la pauvreté dans le monde demeure une priorité au Canada.

  2. Première licence pour exportation de médicaments génériques contre le sida en Afrique. La première licence de production de médicaments génériques en vue d'une exportation vers des pays ne disposant pas des installations nécessaires pour en produire a été délivré au Canada. Cet événement survient quatre ans après une décision de l'OMC autorisant la délivrance obligatoire de licences pour l'exportation de médicaments essentiels et trois ans après l'adoption de la loi canadienne appliquant cette décision. Le commissaire aux brevets du Canada a délivré le permis le 19 septembre dans le cadre du Régime canadien d'accès aux médicaments (instauré par ce qu'on appelle communément la " Loi de l'engagement de Jean Chrétien envers l'Afrique "), après que le Rwanda a avisé l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) de son intention d'importer des médicaments génériques contre le VIH-sida en provenance du Canada. Tout en saluant l'événement, le Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida a souligné qu'" il ne s'agit pas là de la réponse "rapide" dont on a besoin pour régler le problème de l'inaccessibilité de médicaments à prix abordable dans les pays en développement. " Pour en savoir plus : www.aidslaw.ca/publications/publicationsdocFR.php?ref=705.

  3. Consultations sur la société civile et l'efficacité de l'aide. Le Groupe consultatif du Groupe de travail sur les OSC et l'efficacité de l'aide, hébergé par le CAD de l'OCDE, lance cinq consultations entre les OSC et les gouvernements dans le Sud et une autre à Bruxelles pour les OSC internationales du Nord. Le Groupe consultatif, présidé par le Canada, a produit des documents de réflexion et des dossiers sur la question pour alimenter le débat. Les consultations porteront sur sept grands sujets : la reconnaissance des OSC comme acteurs du développement, les forces et les faiblesses de la Déclaration de Paris relativement à l'efficacité de l'aide des OSC, et cinq études de cas et leçons à tirer relativement aux relations entre les OSC et leurs interlocuteurs (soit avec leurs membres, entre eux comme coalition, entre le Nord et le Sud, avec les pouvoirs publics et avec les bailleurs de fonds). À son prochain symposium, le Forum Afrique-Canada du CCCI traitera de certaines de ces questions. Par ailleurs, un Forum des leaders du CCCI conjugué à une consultation nationale portera aussi sur ces thèmes les 17 et 18 janvier. On peut trouver les documents du Groupe consultatif et le calendrier des consultations sur le site web du CCCI à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/002/aid.shtml. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Brian Tomlinson, à btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  4. Déclaration sur les droits des peuples autochtones par l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU. Le Groupe de travail de l'Asie-Pacifique du CCCI a dénoncé la décision du gouvernement du Canada de voter contre l'adoption de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones à la 61e session de l'Assemblée générale. Après avoir été un des premiers défenseurs de cette déclaration, le Canada est maintenant un des quatre pays qui s'y opposent. Pourtant, la Déclaration jouit d'un appui sans équivoque de la société civile canadienne, de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, des Inuits de Tapiriit Kanatami et du Ralliement national des Métis. La Déclaration a également reçu l'appui officiel des trois partis d'opposition, le Comité parlementaire des affaires autochtones ayant même réclamé par deux fois que le gouvernement appuie la Déclaration.

  5. Ça bouge dans le haute fonction publique. John McBride est le nouveau premier vice-président de l'Agence canadienne de développement international. Il quitte ainsi ses fonctions de président de la Corporation commerciale canadienne, fonctions qu'il a occupées pendant plus de deux ans. Par ailleurs, Robert Fonberg est le nouveau sous-ministre de la Défense nationale. Diane Vincent, qui était première vice-présidente à l'ACDI, est maintenant vice-présidente du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur.

  6. Stages bénévoles Cyberjeunes. Cyberjeunes offre aux spécialistes de l'informatique de 19 à 30 ans l'occasion de mettre leurs talents à profit grâce à un stage de six mois en Afrique, en Amérique latine, en Asie ou en Europe de l'Est. Financés par l'Agence canadienne de développement international, les stages de Cyberjeunes sont coordonnés par neuf organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes, dont quatre membres du CCCI (Carrefour canadien international, Oxfam-Québec, Société canadienne de santé internationale et VSO Canada). Renseignements : www.netcorps-cyberjeunes.org.

Des sites en vue

  1. Nouveau site web consacré au développement. BetterAid.org est considéré à la fois comme un outil d'information et d'organisation pour les particuliers, les collectivités, les mouvements sociaux, les militants pour le développement, les organisations de la société civile, les pouvoirs publics, les médias et les organisations internationales - autrement dit, pour quiconque est actif dans le domaine du développement ou aimerait l'être. Ce site web diffuse de l'information tout en permettant aux internautes de participer à des discussions. Il comporte des liens vers des organisations de la société civile et des annonces d'activités concernant l'aide internationale. Pour en savoir plus, voir http://betteraid.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1&Itemid=2 .

Flash éthique

  1. Chère Madame Éthique... Le Code d'éthique du CCCI oblige-t-il un organisme à divulguer (auprès des employés et du public) les procès-verbaux des réunions du conseil d'administration? Notable

    Chère notable… Aucun article du Code ne dit clairement que les organismes sont obligés de divulguer à leurs employés ou au public la teneur des procès-verbaux des réunions du conseil d'administration. Toutefois, le Code indique que les membres doivent adhérer à des valeurs de transparence, de confidentialité et de respect des renseignements personnels (art. 3.2.7 et 3.3.1). Ces valeurs pourraient avoir l'air contradictoires, mais l'objectif est de veiller à ce que les organisations soient transparentes, sauf dans les cas où il existe une très bonne raison de faire autrement (autrement dit, lorsqu'il faut privilégier la protection de renseignements personnels ou confidentiels). Ainsi, on peut trouver dans les procès-verbaux d'une réunion du C.A. des renseignements concernant le rendement d'un employé, renseignements qu'il y a lieu de garder confidentiels. Une organisation doit partir du principe qu'elle doit faire preuve de transparence, puis ne déroger à cette règle que dans des cas particuliers, lorsqu'elle peut justifier sa décision. Le cas échéant, on pourrait, par exemple, dresser la liste des sujets discutés et des mesures de suivi qui ont été arrêtées, sans entrer dans les détails. Le fait d'adopter une politique sur la transparence fournit à l'organisation une occasion de réfléchir à ce qu'elle veut rendre public ou garder confidentiel et facilite l'application de règles cohérentes à la grandeur de l'organisation.





     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca