CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

June 22, 2007

Headlines

  1. Advisory Group on CSOs and Aid Effectiveness: The Advisory Group on Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and Aid Effectiveness, which has been meeting in Paris at the Development Assistance Committee (DAC) over the past several months, is considering roles for CSOs as development actors and the enabling conditions needed for improving CSO aid effectiveness. The Advisory Group will be making recommendations to the Working Party on Aid Effectiveness at the DAC. The Working Party is organizing the Third High Level Forum (to be held in Ghana September 2008) to review progress in implementing the Paris Declaration. The Advisory Group, chaired by Canada and with CCIC as a member, is made up of six CSOs, three donors, and three partner governments. The Group's Concept Note, looking at the applicability of the Paris Declaration to issues of CSO aid effectiveness, is now available on CCIC's web site at www.ccic.ca/e/002/aid.shtml. For more information contact Brian Tomlinson at btomlinson@ccic.ca.

Upcoming Events

  1. Civil Society Consultation: The North-South Institute and the Africa-Canada Forum are organizing a civil society consultation in advance of the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting and the Commonwealth People's Forum to be held in Kampala, Uganda, in November 2007. The theme of the People's Forum is "Transforming Commonwealth Societies to Achieve Political, Economic and Human Development". Briefing papers for the consultation are being developed on health, education, culture, governance and economic development. The consultation will take place in the CCIC boardroom in Ottawa on July 5, from 1:30 to 4:00 pm. For more information or to register, contact Sylvie Perras at sperras@ccic.ca or
    (613) 241-7007 ext. 321.

  2. Canadian Launch of State of World Population 2007: Action Canada for Population and Development (ACPD) will host the launch of the United Nations Population Fund's (UNFPA) flagship report "State of World Population 2007: Unleashing the Potential of Urban Growth". This year speakers include Patricia Leidl, Media Advisor/Senior Editor at UNFPA, Katherine McDonald, ACPD Executive Director and Victor Piché, Honorary Professor, University of Montréal. The launch will take place June 27 at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa from 10:00 am - 12:00 pm. R.S.V.P. by Monday June 25 with Sarah Mitchell at (613) 562-0880 ext. 226 or sarah@acpd.ca.

  3. 2007 Africa-Canada Forum Symposium: Civil Society and Aid Effectiveness will be on the agenda at the Africa-Canada Forum (ACF) 2007 Symposium to be held September 30 to October 3. The ACF is preparing a number of case studies highlighting best practices and enabling conditions for CSOs in their role as development actors. These case studies will contribute to the process led by the DAC's Advisory Group on Civil Society and Aid Effectiveness (see above). A draft agenda will be available early July. For more information or to register, contact Sylvie Perras at sperras@ccic.ca or (613) 241-7007 ext. 321.

  4. Public Engagement Video Forum October 11 to 13 - Circle the date: A Public Engagement Video Forum for CCIC members will take place October 11 to 13. The forum is an opportunity for participants to hook up, via video, to discuss the current context for Public Engagement in Canada, profile good practices in campaigning and public engagement, and share models and tools. Ottawa and one other Canadian city (still to be confirmed) will be linked. Details will follow in September. For more information contact Michael Stephens at mstephens@ccic.ca or (613) 241-7007 ext. 332.

Media File

  1. Aid to Africa and the Americas: The Harper government's announcement at the G8 meeting in Germany to focus Canadian aid on the Americas has generate follow-up media interest on Canada's international commitments to Africa and what this new focus would mean. CCIC's President and CEO Gerry Barr was interviewed for CBC radio's "The House". "If turning towards the Americas means turning our backs on Africa, then it's not a good thing." Barr went on to say that Stephen Harper's upcoming trip to Latin America is an opportunity to highlight some of the concerns we have in the region for human rights, trade justice and socially responsible mining practices.

Note: Flash is moving to its summer schedule. The next Flash will go out on July 20 followed by a Flash on August 17.

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 22 juin 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Groupe consultatif sur les OSC et l'efficacité de l'aide. Le Groupe consultatif sur les organisations de la société civile (OSC) et l'efficacité de l'aide, qui se réuni à Paris, au Comité d'aide au développement (CAD), depuis plusieurs mois, se penche sur le rôle que peuvent jouer les OSC en tant qu'acteurs du développement et sur les conditions nécessaires à l'optimisation de leur action. Le Groupe consultatif présentera des recommandations au Groupe de travail sur l'efficacité de l'aide du CAD. Le Groupe de travail organise le troisième Forum de haut niveau (qui aura lieu au Ghana en septembre 2008), qui doit faire le bilan des progrès accomplis dans l'application de la Déclaration de Paris. Le Groupe consultatif, qui est présidé par le Canada et dont le CCCI fait partie, est composé de six OSC, trois pays donateurs et trois États partenaires. Le document cadre du groupe, qui porte sur le caractère applicable de la Déclaration de Paris aux questions liées à l'efficacité de l'aide apportée par les OSC, est actuellement en ligne sur le site web du CCCI à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/002/aid.shtml. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Brian Tomlinson à btomlinson@ccic.ca.

À venir

  1. Consultation de la société civile. L'Institut Nord-Sud et le Forum Afrique-Canada organisent une consultation de la société civile en vue de la Réunion des chefs de gouvernement des pays du Commonwealth et du forum des peuples du Commonwealth qui auront lieu à Kampala (Ouganda) en novembre 2007. Le thème du forum des peuples sera Transforming Commonwealth Societies to Achieve Political, Economic and Human Development (Transformer les sociétés du Commonwealth pour assurer un développement politique, économique et humain). Des documents d'information sur la santé, l'éducation, la culture, la gouvernance et le développement économique sont en cours de rédaction en vue de la consultation, qui aura lieu à la salle du conseil du CCCI, à Ottawa, le 5 juillet, de 13 h 30 à 16 h. Pour en savoir plus ou pour s'inscrire, communiquer avec Sylvie Perras à sperras@ccic.ca ou au 613-241-7007, poste 321.

  2. Lancement canadien de l'État de la population mondiale 2007. Action Canada pour la population et le développement (ACPD) organise le lancement du rapport phare du Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population (FNUAP), State of World Population 2007: Unleashing the Potential of Urban Growth (État de la population mondiale 2007 : libérer le potentiel de la croissance urbaine). Cette année, figurent au nombre des conférenciers Patricia Leidl, conseillère média et rédactrice principale au FNUAP, Katherine McDonald, directrice générale d'ACPD, et Victor Piché, professeur honoraire à l'Université de Montréal. Le lancement aura lieu le 27 juin au Centre national des Arts d'Ottawa, de 10 h à midi. Prière d'annoncer votre présence au plus tard le lundi 25 juin en communiquant avec Sarah Mitchell au 613-562-0880, poste 226 ou à sarah@acpd.ca.

  3. Symposium 2007 du Forum Afrique-Canada. La contribution de la société civile à l'efficacité de l'aide sera un des thèmes du Symposium du Forum Afrique-Canada (FAC) 2007, qui aura lieu du 30 septembre au 3 octobre. Le FAC est à préparer des études de cas mettant en valeur les pratiques optimales et les conditions propices à l'efficacité des OSC comme acteurs du développement. Ces études de cas alimenteront les délibérations du Groupe consultatif du CAD sur la société civile et l'efficacité de l'aide (voir plus haut). Le programme provisoire sera prêt au début de juillet. Pour en savoir plus ou pour s'inscrire, communiquer avec Sylvie Perras à sperras@ccic.ca ou au 613-241-7007, poste 321.

  4. Forum vidéo sur la mobilisation du public du 11 au 13 octobre : des dates à réserver! Un forum vidéo sur la mobilisation du public aura lieu pour les membres du CCCI du 11 au 13 octobre. Les participants entreront en communication par vidéo pour discuter du contexte actuel de la mobilisation du public au Canada, mettre en valeur les pratiques optimales de campagne et de mobilisation et partager modèles et outils. Ottawa et une autre ville canadienne (à déterminer) seront liées par connexion vidéo. Détails en septembre. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Michael Stephens, à mstephens@ccic.ca ou au 613-241-7007, poste 332.

La presse et nous

  1. Aide à l'Afrique et à l'Amérique. L'annonce faite par le gouvernement Harper à la réunion du G8, en Allemagne, selon laquelle l'aide internationale canadienne se concentrera sur les pays d'Amérique a suscité l'intérêt des médias au sujet des engagements internationaux du Canada envers l'Afrique et de l'interprétation à donner à ce virage. Le président-directeur général du CCCI, Gerry Barr, a été interviewé à l'émission The House du réseau anglais de Radio-Canada. " Si le fait de privilégier les pays d'Amérique signifie qu'on négligera l'Afrique, il n'y a pas de quoi se réjouir. " M. Barr a ajouté que le voyage prochain de Stephen Harper en Amérique latine sera l'occasion de faire valoir certaines préoccupations du Canada au sujet des droits de la personne, de la justice commerciale et des pratiques d'exploitation minière socialement responsables dans cette région du monde.

Nota : Flash passe au calendrier d'été. Le prochain numéro paraîtra le 20 juillet, et le suivant le 17 août.






     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca