CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

May 25, 2007

Headlines

  1. Giant 0.7% Sign on Parliament Hill: Hundreds took to Parliament Hill on May 11 to form a giant human 0.7% sign. The sign was a message to Prime Minster Stephen Harper calling on him to announce a timetable, while at the G8 meeting in Germany this June, to reach the internationally agreed to target for aid spending of 0.7% of Gross National Income. A photo of the sign was picked up by Canadian Press and articles appeared in the St. John's Telegraph and Embassy. For information go to www.makepovertyhistory.ca.

  2. Better Aid Bill Slowed in Senate: There is uncertainty about the fate of Bill C-293, or the "better aid bill" as the upcoming break in the legislative calendar may cause a set back for the Bill. A letter sign by a number of CCIC member organizations was sent to both Senator Marjory LeBreton, Government Leader and Senator Céline Hervieux-Payette, Leader of the Opposition calling on the Senate to ensure expeditious consideration of Bill C-293 as it would be a "great public shame if the many years of work that have gone into the development of this Bill and its core ideas were squandered not because of voted opposition to the Bill but because the legislative calendar had run out." A commentary ,on this same issue, by CCIC President and CEO Gerry Barr appeared in the May 16 issue of Embassy-Canada's Foreign Policy Newsweekly.

  3. Inter Pares Counterpart Attacked in Guatemala: A staff member of Inter Pares' long-term counterpart Project Counselling Service (PCS) was attacked and assaulted on May 7, 2007. The same person received a phone call on May 17 referring to the assault and threatening to kill the entire PCS team. Inter Pares is calling for broad support for PCS and other national and international organizations in Guatemala under attack for promoting respect for human rights and justice. In particular letters should be written to both the Guatemalan authorities and to the Canadian government letting them know that Canadians are extremely concerned about attacks clearly aimed to intimidate the PCS as it works on the issue of sexual violence against women in the context of armed conflict. For more information and a list of addresses go to www.interpares.ca.

Upcoming Events

  1. Conference on International Health: The Canadian Society for International Health and the Canadian Coalition for Global Health Research will hold its 14th Canadian Conference on International Health from November 4 to 7 in Ottawa. The theme is "Global Change and Health: Who are the Vulnerable?" The call for abstracts is posted at www.csih.org/en/ccih/index.asp and the deadline is May 30. Registration will open at the end of May, but preliminary program is already posted at www.csih.org/en/ccih/index.asp. For more information email conference@csih.org or visit www.csih.org/en/ccih/index.asp.

  2. Managing Change - Imagine Canada 2007 Policy Summit: Open to all charities and community nonprofit organizations, the agenda of the Summit will focus on both the opportunities and the need for change in response to some important challenges facing Charities and Not-for-Profit sector in Canada. Topics to be addressed include: New Ideas on Financing the Sector; Administration and Operating Challenges for Charities and Not- for- Profit Organizations; and Policy Development and Advocacy Activities. To register contact Jennifer Proulx at jproulx@imaginecanada.ca by Tuesday June 5.

  3. Travel Grants: The Partnerships for Tomorrow Program Phase II, funded by CIDA and administered by the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC), is a small travel grant mechanism designed to contribute to the democratic and economic reform process in the Balkans, Central Asia and Eastern Europe. The program supports small projects, up to a maximum of $10,000 and is open to all sectors including institutions, educational institutions, non governmental organizations, professionals, businesses, individuals, youth (ages 18-30) and government. All activities must have a capacity building component and must be compatible with CIDA's programming priorities. Applications must be received by AUCC by 5:00 pm EST on the 28th of each month and there must be 60 days between the end of the month in which the application is submitted to AUCC, and the start date of the project. For more information go to www.ptp2.ca.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 25 mai 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Un " 0,7 % " géant sur la Colline du Parlement. Le 11 mai, ils étaient des centaines à former un " 0,7 % " humain géant sur la Colline du Parlement. Ce message s'adressait au premier ministre Stephen Harper le pressant de fixer un échéancier, à l'occasion du Sommet du G8 en Allemagne en juin, pour atteindre l'objectif d'aide internationale de 0,7 p. 100 du revenu national brut, accepté par consensus mondial. La Presse canadienne a photographié l'activité et des articles ont parus dans le St. John's Telegraph et Embassy. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca.

  2. Le projet de loi sur l'optimisation de l'aide retenu au Sénat. Le sort du projet de loi C-293 est incertain, puisque la pause imminente prévue au calendrier des travaux législatifs risque de le mettre en péril. Plusieurs organisations membres du CCCI ont signé une lettre adressée aux sénatrices Marjory LeBreton, chef du gouvernement en Chambre, et Céline Hervieux-Payette, chef de l'opposition. La lettre exhorte le Sénat à adopter le projet de loi dans les plus brefs délais car " il serait déplorable pour la population que toutes ces années passées à élaborer le projet de loi et les idées fondamentales qui s'y rattachent soient perdues, pas parce que le Sénat a voté non mais à cause du calendrier parlementaire. " Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du CCCI, a publié un commentaire à ce sujet dans l'édition du 16 mai de la publication Embassy-Canada's Foreign Policy Newsweekly.

  3. Organisation homologue d'Inter Pares attaquée au Guatemala. Le 7 mai 2007, un membre de Project Counselling Service (PCS), une organisation qui coopère depuis longtemps avec Inter Pares, a été attaqué et agressé. Cette même personne a reçu un appel téléphonique le 17 mai se référant à l'agression et menaçant de tuer toute l'équipe. Inter Pares demande d'appuyer massivement PCS et les autres organisations nationales et internationales qui œuvrent au Guatemala et qui sont victimes d'attaques pour avoir fait la promotion de la justice et des droits de la personne. Inter Pares recommande l'envoi de lettres informant les autorités guatémaltèques et le gouvernement du Canada que les Canadiens sont extrêmement préoccupés par les attaques qui visent manifestement à intimider PCS dont le travail porte sur des questions de violence sexuelle contre les femmes en situation de conflit armé. Pour plus d'information ou obtenir une liste d'adresses, consulter le www.interpares.ca.

À venir

  1. Conférence sur la santé internationale. La Société canadienne de santé internationale et la Coalition canadienne pour la recherche en santé mondiale organisent la 14e Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale du 4 au 7 novembre à Ottawa. Le thème est " Le changement global et la santé : Qui sont les vulnérables ? ". La demande de communications se trouve à l'adresse www.csih.org/fr/index.asp et la date limite est le 30 mai 2007. L'inscription ne débutera qu'à la fin mai mais entre-temps, on peut lire le programme préliminaire au www.csih.org/fr/index.asp. Pour en savoir plus, faire parvenir un courriel à conference@csih.org ou consulter le www.csih.org/fr/index.asp.

  2. Gérer le changement - Sommet des politiques publiques 2007 d'Imagine Canada. Le Sommet est ouvert à tous les organismes de bienfaisance et communautaires sans but lucratif. L'ordre du jour portera sur le changement - à la fois les conditions qui le favorisent et sa nécessité - en réponse à quelques grands défis auxquels les organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif du Canada sont confrontés. Les thèmes qui seront abordés sont : les nouvelles idées sur le financement du secteur, les défis administratifs et fonctionnels des organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif et l'élaboration de politiques et activités de défense des intérêts. Pour s'inscrire, communiquer avec Jennifer Proulx d'ici au mardi 5 juin à jproulx@imaginecanada.ca.

  3. Subventions de frais de voyage. Le Programme Partenariats pour l'avenir - Phase II, financé par l'ACDI et administré par l'Association des universités et collèges du Canada (AUCC), est un mécanisme de petites subventions qui couvrent les frais de voyage de participants au processus de réforme démocratique et économique dans les Balkans, en Asie Centrale et en Europe orientale. Le Programme appuie des projets à petite échelle, jusqu'à concurrence de 10 000 $. Sont admissibles tous les secteurs : institutions, établissements d'enseignement, organisations non gouvernementales, membres des professions libérales, entreprises, particuliers, jeunes (entre 18 et 30 ans) et gouvernements. Toutes les activités doivent comporter un élément de renforcement des capacités et doivent être compatibles avec les priorités de programmation établies par l'ACDI. Les demandes doivent parvenir à l'AUCC avant 17 h (HNE) le 28 de chaque mois. Il faut compter au moins 60 jours entre la fin du mois pour lequel la demande est soumise à l'AUCC et la date prévue de début du projet. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consulter le www.aucc.ca/ptp-ppa/index_f.html.





     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca