CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

April 13, 2007

Headlines

  1. Groundbreaking Report on Mining, Oil and Gas Companies: A groundbreaking civil society-industry report calling for tighter regulation of the Canadian mining, oil and gas sectors and their activities abroad is an important step forward, say civil society representatives. "There have been growing concerns about the environmental, social and human rights impact of Canadian extractive companies operating in the developing world. Now there is an effective framework to address these issues," says Gerry Barr, President and CEO of the Canadian Council for International Co-operation. The report comes out of a ten month government-led roundtable process that included representatives from civil society organizations, industry, academia, labour, and socially responsible investors. For more information go to www.halifaxinitiative.org. To see the Canwest article and Globe and Mail commentary on the report go to www.canada.com/montrealgazette/news/business/story.html?id=05cd5ae9-deb2-473b-91a8-e1ddea06cb47  and www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20070329.wcomment0329/BNStory/.

  2. 10 Point Agenda Online Consultation: CCIC members are encouraged to participate in an online consultation to renew CCIC's 10 point agenda to end global poverty. CCIC members can provide comments by going to http://members.ccic.ca/. The 10 point agenda is a work in progress and individual points will be posted to the web site as they become available. The agenda lays out the sector's vision for a progressive foreign policy agenda for Canada, and is the major reference document for CCIC on the policy priorities of members. The policy recommendations (for CSOs and Government) will be revised in each of the ten areas ahead of the CCIC AGM based on member feedback, and will be brought to the CCIC AGM for consultation. The agenda will then be edited and finalized at the CCIC Board meeting in September. If you are a CCIC member and have not yet received your individual password to access the Members' only website or if you have any questions, contact Joanne Vézina (jvezina@ccic.ca).

  3. Canadian Aid Performance Declines in 2006: The OECD's Development Assistance Committee (DAC) released preliminary statistics for ODA for 2006 and Canada is near the bottom, tied with Australia for 15th position among 22 donors. At 0.30% of our Gross National Income (GNI) in 2006, Canada is down from 0.34% in 2005. In both years, Canadian aid, along with other donors, has been affected by the inclusion of high debt cancellation for Iraq and several African countries. When debt cancellation is removed from Canadian ODA, performance drops to 0.28% in 2006, down from 0.30% in 2005. The DAC also reported that Canada was on track in its 2002 Monterrey commitment to increase Canadian aid by 8% per year up to 2010, but warned several countries that high debt cancellation in 2005 and 2006 will require significant new aid resources in 2007 to 2010, when no major debt cancellation is expected. The DAC reported that the average donor performance for 2006 was 0.46%. The Conservative Party in the 2006 election campaign promised to move Canadian aid towards this DAC average, but has largely failed to do so. For more information go to www.oecd.org/document/17/0,2340,en_2649_33721_38341265_1_1_1_1,00.html.

  4. DAC Donor Aid Declines in 2006 and Aid to Sub-Saharan Africa Off-Track: The OECD Development Assistance Committee reported that overall ODA for all donors declined from US$106.8 billion in 2005 to US$103.9 billion in 2006, with a corresponding decline in the overall donor performance ratio (total aid over total GNI for the 22 donor countries) from 0.33% in 2005 to 0.30% in 2006. Of the $103.9 billion, $19.2 billion was accounted for by debt cancellation, primarily for Iraq and Nigeria. When debt cancellation is removed, aid increased only slightly (3.7%) from $81.8 billion in 2005 to $84.8 billion in 2006, while aid performance remained at 0.25% for both years. The United Kingdom reported a large ($1.8 billion) increase in its aid, even when debt cancellation is removed, and is well on its way to achieving the UN goal of 0.7%. Five European countries exceed the UN target in 2006, but among other donors, only 5 registered an improved ODA to GNI ratio. The DAC warned that many countries will not meet their committed aid targets, if their aid does not increase substantially in the coming years. The DAC also reported that aid to Sub-Saharan Africa increased by only 2% in 2006, when debt cancellation is removed. This increase is far off the commitment by donors, including Canada, at the time of the Gleneagles G8 Summit, to double aid to Sub-Saharan Africa by 2010. New aid is also being directed to donor foreign policy interests. Of the US aid total of $22.7 billion, $6.4 billion or 28% was disbursed for Afghanistan and Iraq in 2006. For further information is available at www.oecd.org/dataoecd/56/51/38348577.htm.

Upcoming Events

  1. Conference on Trade and Human Rights: CCIC and Rights & Democracy are co-hosting an international conference on trade, human rights and development on May 28-29 in Ottawa (following the CCIC AGM). Entitled "Reconciling Trade and Human Rights: The New Development Agenda", the conference is organized in collaboration with Amnesty International, the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, North-South Institute, and Social Watch. The conference will be a unique opportunity to explore ways in which a human rights framework can inform new strategies for trade, development and poverty eradication. Speakers include Martin Khor, Director of Third World Network and Widney Brown, Senior Director of International Law, Policy and Campaigns at Amnesty's International Secretariat. For an agenda and further information, contact Augie van Biljouw at avanbiljouw@dd-rd.ca.

  2. Conference on International Health: The Canadian Society for International Health and the Canadian Coalition for Global Health Research will hold the 14th Canadian Conference on International Health November 4-7, 2007 in Ottawa. The theme is "Global Change and Health: Who are the Vulnerable?" The call for abstracts is posted at www.csih.org/en/ccih. Deadline for abstracts is May 30, 2007. More information is available at conference@csih.org.

  3. National Symposium on Charity Law: Jointly presented by the Canadian Bar Association and the Ontario Bar Association Charity and Not-for-Profit Law Sections, the National Symposium on Charity Law will bring together leading experts from across Canada to provide charities with the latest developments in this field. The symposium will be held on May 10 in Toronto. For information and a detailed agenda see www.oba.org/en/cle_pdf/07CHA0510J.pdf.

  4. Anti-Terrorism and Human Rights - An Evening with Warren Allmand: Anti-terrorism and human rights will be the theme Warren Allmand's address to the 2007 Inter Pares Annual General Meeting. Warren Allmand is a consultant in international human rights, and is a member of the International Civil Liberties Monitoring Group, of which Inter Pares is a founding member. He was appointed President of Rights & Democracy (1997-2002) following a 31-year career as a Member of Parliament for the Montreal riding of Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. He will be speaking at 6:00 pm on Tuesday April 24 at 330 Gilmour Street in Ottawa. Simultaneous French and English interpretation will be provided. RSVPs are appreciated by calling (613) 563-4801 or toll-free (866) 563-4801.

  5. Quaker Initiative to End Torture (QUIT): QUIT will be hosting a conference (April 27 and 28) bringing together faith communities, activists, students and NGOs, to raise awareness about torture in Canada and abroad. The aim is to inspire Canada's faith and activist communities to work together to monitor complicity in torture and to uphold and affirm human rights and civil liberties' commitments. The conference will be held at Saint Paul University, 223 Main Street, Ottawa. The event is co-sponsored by Ottawa Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends, Canadian Friends Service Committee and Inter Pares. More information is available at http://quaker.ca/quit or by emailing quit.conference.canada@gmail.com. www.oecd.org/document/17/0,2340,en_2649_33721_38341265_1_1_1_1,00.html.

Media file

  1. Green Revolution, Whose Revolution?: The public forum "Green Revolution" (held March 26 in Ottawa) looking whether industrial agriculture and genetic engineering benefit Afreican farmers generated a Macleans magazine article "Why many Africans are rejecting Bill Gates's Green Revolution" www.macleans.ca/homepage/magazine/article.jsp?content=20070402_104044_104044.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 13 avril 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Rapport novateur sur les entreprises minières, pétrolières et gazières. Selon les représentants de la société civile, le rapport d'avant-garde signé conjointement par des membres de la société civile et de l'industrie et demandant au Canada de resserrer la réglementation touchant les activités minières, pétrolières et gazières des entreprises canadiennes à l'étranger constitue un événement à souligner. " On s'inquiète de plus en plus de l'impact environnemental et social, et des répercussions sur les droits de la personne que peuvent avoir les sociétés extractives canadiennes menant des activités dans les pays en développement. Maintenant, il existe un cadre efficace pour aborder ces enjeux ", a déclaré Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale. Ce rapport fait suite aux tables rondes menées par le gouvernement pendant dix mois et ayant réuni des représentants d'organisations de la société civile, de l'industrie, du milieu universitaire et de syndicats, de même que des investisseurs socialement responsables. Pour en savoir plus, visiter le site www.halifaxinitiative.org. Pour lire l'article de Canwest et le texte du Globe and Mail à ce sujet, voir www.canada.com/montrealgazette/news/business/story.html?id=05cd5ae9-deb2-473b-91a8-e1ddea06cb47  et www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20070329.wcomment0329/BNStory/.

  2. Consultation en ligne sur le Programme d'action en 10 points. Les membres du CCCI sont encouragés à participer à une consultation en ligne visant à renouveler le Programme d'action en 10 points pour mettre fin à la pauvreté dans le monde. Le CCCI recueillera les commentaires de ses membres à l'adresse http://members.ccic.ca/.  Ce programme présente le point de vue de notre secteur sur ce que serait un programme progressif en politique internationale pour le Canada et constitue le principal document de référence du CCCI relativement aux objectifs des membres. Les recommandations (à l'intention des OSC et du gouvernement) ayant trait à chacun des dix points figureront au programme de l'AGA du CCCI pour une consultation. Le programme sera ensuite modifié et parachevé par le Conseil d'administration en septembre. Si vous êtes membre du CCCI et n'avez pas encore reçu votre mot de passe pour accéder au Coin des membres, ou si vous souhaitez obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Joanne Vézina (jvezina@ccic.ca).

  3. APD : le ratio du Canada a diminué en 2006. Le Comité de l'aide au développement (CAD) de l'OCDE a publié des chiffres préliminaires sur l'aide publique au développement (APD) de 2006. Sur les 22 donateurs, le Canada traînerait derrière en occupant, ex aequo avec l'Australie, la 15e position. L'APD du Canada a représenté 0,30 p. 100 de son revenu national brut (RNB) en 2006, comparativement à 0,34 p. 100 en 2005. Pour ces deux années, l'annulation de la dette de l'Irak et de plusieurs pays d'Afrique a influé sur ce ratio, pour le Canada comme pour les autres donateurs. Si on ne tient pas compte de l'annulation des dettes, le ratio du Canada chute à 0,28 p. 100 pour 2006, et à 0,30 p. 100 pour 2005. Le CAD a également déclaré que le Canada respectait jusqu'ici la promesse faite à Monterrey en 2002 d'augmenter son aide de 8 p. 100 par année jusqu'en 2010, mais a prévenu plusieurs pays qu'en raison de l'importance de l'annulation des dettes en 2005 et 2006, un apport considérable sera nécessaire entre 2007 et 2010, années où aucun montant important n'est prévu pour l'annulation des dettes. Selon le CAD, le ratio moyen des donateurs en 2006 serait de 0,46 p. 100. Au cours de la campagne électorale de 2006, le Parti conservateur s'était engagé à faire en sorte que l'aide canadienne se rapproche davantage de la moyenne du CAD, mais n'a pas vraiment honoré cette promesse. Pour en savoir plus, voir la page www.oecd.org/document/17/0,2340,fr_2649_33721_38341873_1_1_1_1,00.html.

  4. L'aide des donateurs du CAD a diminué en 2006 et l'aide à l'Afrique subsaharienne stagne. Le Comité de l'aide au développement de l'OCDE a fait savoir que l'APD globale des donateurs était passée de 106,8 milliards de dollars US en 2005 à 103,9 milliards en 2006, le ratio global (le total de l'aide sur le total du RNB des 22 pays donateurs) ayant aussi baissé pour passer de 0,33 à 0,30 p. 100. Sur les 103,9 milliards de dollars, 19,2 milliards ont été alloués à l'annulation des dettes, de l'Irak et du Nigeria en particulier. Si on écarte ce facteur, l'aide a légèrement augmenté (de 3,7 p. 100) en passant de 81,8 milliards en 2005 à 84,8 milliards en 2006, mais le ratio est demeuré à 0,25 p. 100 pour ces deux années. Le Royaume-Uni a sensiblement accru le montant de son aide (1,8 milliard), même en faisant abstraction de l'annulation des dettes, et est en bonne voie d'atteindre l'objectif onusien de 0,7 p. 100. Cinq pays européens ont dépassé l'objectif des Nations unies en 2006, mais parmi les autres donateurs, seulement cinq ont amélioré leur ratio APD/RNB. Le CAD a indiqué que de nombreux pays ne rempliront pas leurs promesses s'ils n'augmentent pas sensiblement leur enveloppe d'aide au cours des années à venir. Il a également rapporté que l'aide à l'Afrique subsaharienne n'avait augmenté que de 2 p. 100 en 2006, une fois soustraite l'annulation des dettes. Cette hausse est loin de refléter l'engagement qu'ont pris les donateurs, y compris le Canada, lors du Sommet du G8 à Gleneagles, à savoir doubler l'aide à l'Afrique subsaharienne d'ici 2010. Par ailleurs, la répartition de l'aide est motivée par les intérêts des donateurs en matière de politique étrangère. Ainsi, en 2006, sur les 22,7 milliards de dollars d'aide des États-Unis, 6,4 milliards, soit 28 p. 100, ont été alloués à l'Afghanistan et à l'Iraq en 2006. Pour plus de détails, cliquer sur www.oecd.org/dataoecd/56/51/38348577.htm (en anglais seulement)

À venir

  1. Conférence sur le commerce et les droits de la personne. Le CCCI et Droits et Démocratie tiendront conjointement une conférence sur le commerce, les droits de la personne et le développement les 28 et 29 mai à Ottawa (après l'AGA du CCCI). Cette conférence, intitulée " Réconcilier les droits humains avec le commerce : un nouveau programme pour le développement ", est organisée en collaboration avec Amnistie internationale, l'Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, l'Institut Nord-Sud et Social Watch. Il s'agira d'une occasion unique de trouver de quelles façons un cadre axé sur les droits de la personne peut inspirer de nouvelles stratégies de commerce, de développement et d'élimination de la pauvreté. Martin Khor, directeur de Third World Network et Widney Brown, directeur principal du droit international, des politiques et des campagnes du secrétariat d'Amnistie internationale, seront au nombre des conférenciers invités. Pour obtenir le programme complet ou plus d'informations, écrire à Augie van Biljouw, à avanbiljouw@dd-rd.ca.

  2. Conférence sur la santé internationale. La Société canadienne de santé internationale et la Coalition canadienne pour la recherche en santé mondiale présenteront la XIVe Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale du 4 au 7 novembre 2007 à Ottawa. Le thème sera Le changement global et la santé : qui sont les vulnérables ? Pour lire la demande de communications, consulter l'adresse www.csih.org/fr/index.asp. L'invitation prend fin le 30 mai 2007. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, écrire à conference@csih.org.

  3. Symposium national sur les lois régissant les organismes de bienfaisance. Présenté conjointement par la section des Organismes de bienfaisance ou à but non lucratif de l'Association du Barreau canadien et de l'Association du Barreau de l'Ontario, le Symposium national en droit des organismes de bienfaisance et à but non lucratif rassemblera des experts et chefs de file de partout au Canada qui présenteront aux organismes de bienfaisance les derniers progrès dans le domaine. Cet événement aura lieu le 10 mai à Toronto. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et le programme détaillé du symposium, visiter le www.cba.org/ABC/FJP/fjp00/char_07.aspx ou le www.oba.org/en/cle_pdf/07CHA0510J.pdf (en anglais seulement).

  4. Les droits de la personne et la lutte contre le terrorisme - une soirée avec Warren Allmand. Les droits de la personne et la lutte contre le terrorisme sera le thème de l'allocution de Warren Allmand à l'assemblée générale annuelle d'Inter Pares. Warren Allmand est conseiller en droits internationaux de la personne et membre de la Coalition pour la surveillance internationale des libertés civiles, dont Inter Pares est l'un des fondateurs. M. Allmand a été président de Droits et Démocratie (de 1997 à 2002) après avoir été député de Notre-Dame-de-Grâce (à Montréal) pendant 31 ans. Sa conférence commencera à 18 h, le mardi 24 avril, au 330, rue Gilmour, à Ottawa. Elle sera interprétée en simultanée dans les deux langues officielles. Prière de réserver votre place en appelant au (613) 563-4801 ou sans frais au 1-866-563-4801.

  5. Quaker Initiative to End Torture (QUIT). Le groupe QUIT tiendra les 27 et 28 avril un colloque rassemblant des groupes religieux, des militants, des étudiants et des ONG afin de dénoncer la torture au Canada et à l'étranger. Le but est d'inciter les groupes religieux et les militants du Canada à collaborer afin de détecter les cas de complicité de torture et de faire respecter les droits de la personne et les libertés civiles. Le colloque aura lieu à l'Université Saint-Paul, au 223, rue Main, à Ottawa. L'événement est parrainé par Ottawa Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends, Secours Quaker canadien et Inter Pares. Pour en savoir plus, visiter le site http://quaker.ca/quit ou écrire à quit.conference.canada@gmail.com.

La presse et nous

  1. La révolution verte - Qui en profitera ? Le forum public intitulé " La révolution verte " (26 mars à Ottawa) qui visait à déterminer si l'agriculture industrielle et le génie génétique profitaient aux agriculteurs africains a entraîné la parution d'un article dans le magazine Maclean's, " Why many Africans are rejecting Bill Gates's Green Revolution " (www.macleans.ca/homepage/magazine/article.jsp?content=20070402_104044_104044).





     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca