CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

March 16, 2007

Headlines

  1. Third and Final Reading for Bill C-293: The Better Aid Bill (Bill C-293) is ready for third reading and final vote in the House of Commons on March 22. Passage of this Bill will help to achieve the "Better" part of the "More and Better Aid" demand of the Make Poverty History campaign by making poverty reduction the focus of Canadian foreign aid spending. The Make Poverty History campaign sent out an action alert encouraging supporters of the Bill to contact their MPs encouraging them to vote in favour of the Bill at third reading. The action alert is available at www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/take-action/e-alerts/2007-03-05.html  and background briefing note on Bill c-293 is available at www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/resources/bill-c293-briefing-note.pdf

Upcoming Events

  1. Green Revolution - Whose Revolution?: A public forum, "Green Revolution", looking at whether industrial agriculture and genetic engineering benefit African farmers will be held Monday, March 26 at 7:30pm at the Ottawa Congress Centre. The Bill Gates and Rockefeller Foundations plan to invest US$150 million into Africa's agricultural development. Find out what African and Canadian farm leaders and scientists think. The forum host will be CCIC's President and CEO, Gerry Barr and it will feature speakers Pat Mooney, Assétou Samaké, Mamadou Goïta, Ibrahim Ouédraogo, Dr. Melaku Worede and Colleen Ross. Admission is free, but donations are welcome. For more information call (613) 241-0817 or go to www.cban.ca.

  2. Illusions of Security: A book launch for Illusions of Security: Global Surveillance and Democracy in the Post-9/11 World, by Maureen Webb will be held Thursday March 29 at 4:30pm at the Amnesty International boardroom at 312 Laurier Avenue East in Ottawa. Maureen Webb is the Co-Chair of the International Civil Liberties Monitoring Group (ICLMG) and the book grew out of one of the ICLMG's projects on international surveillance. For more information contact Hilary Homes at (613) 744-7667 ext. 247

  3. The Red Cross Film Festival - "Exploring Humanitarian Values": March is Red Cross month and the Humanitarian Issues Committee of the Canadian Red Cross - Ottawa Branch is organized three film screenings at the Alumni Auditorium at Ottawa University. The films will highlight the crisis in the Middle East, conflict and gender issues, and reconstruction in Rwanda. "Syrian Bride will be shown on March 11, "Crimes of War" on March 18 and "Women and War" on March 25. For more information contact Liz Tyrwhitt at (613) 560-7220 ext. 301 or liz.tyrwhitt@redcross.ca or visit www.redcross.ca/filmfestival.

Ethics in a Flash

  1. CSO/Private Sector Partnerships: Members are invited to join the Ethics Review Committee (ERC) for a presentation and discussion by Brenda Plant, co-founder of ethiquette.ca. The discussion will focus on questions that organizations need to consider when looking at private sector partnerships; issues that need to be considered as policies and procedures are developed; and an overview of resources currently available to CSOs. After the presentation members are encouraged to stay for a dialogue with the Ethics Review Committee to share experiences and ethical issues dealing with private sector relationships. The presentation will take place at CCIC on Wednesday, April 4, from 12:00 to 2:00pm (a light lunch will be provided). Space is limited. Register by March 28 by contacting Anne Buchanan at abuchanan@ccic.ca.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 16 mars 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Troisième et dernière lecture du projet de loi C-293. Le projet de loi sur l'optimisation de l'aide (C-293) est prêt pour le vote final en troisième lecture qui aura lieu à la Chambre des communes le 22 mars. L'adoption de ce projet loi contribuera au volet " optimisation " de l'objectif de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté qui vise " l'accroissement et l'optimisation de l'aide " en faisant de la réduction de la pauvreté la finalité de l'aide internationale canadienne. Les organisateurs de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté ont écrit à ceux et celles qui appuient le projet pour qu'ils communiquent avec leur député pour les inciter à voter en faveur du projet de loi en troisième lecture. On peut lire ce message à l'adresse www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/take-action/e-alerts/2007-03-05.html (le français est au bas de la page) ainsi qu'une note d'information plus détaillée sur le projet de loi à l'adresse www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca/f/ressources/c293-note.pdf.

À venir

  1. La révolution verte - Qui en profitera ? Un forum public sur le thème " La révolution verte " aura lieu le lundi 26 mars à 19 h 30 au Centre des congrès d'Ottawa. Elle portera sur la question de savoir si l'agriculture industrielle et le génie génétique profitent aux agriculteurs africains. La Fondation Bill Gates et la Fondation Rockefeller prévoient investir 150 000 000 $ US dans le développement agricole de l'Afrique. Venez entendre ce qu'en pensent les scientifiques et les porte-parole de l'agriculture du Canada et de l'Afrique. Le forum sera animé par Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du CCCI, et les conférenciers seront Pat Mooney, Assétou Samaké, Mamadou Goïta, Ibrahim Ouédraogo, le Dr Melaku Worede et Colleen Ross. L'entrée est libre, mais les dons seront bienvenus. Pour en savoir plus, composer le (613) 241-0817 ou consulter le site www.cban.ca.

  2. Illusions de sécurité. Il y aura un lancement pour le livre Illusions of Security: Global Surveillance and Democracy in the Post-9/11 World, de Maureen Webb, le jeudi 29 mars à 16 h 30 dans la salle du conseil d'Amnistie internationale, au 312, avenue Laurier Est, à Ottawa. Maureen Webb est coprésidente de la Coalition pour la surveillance internationale des libertés civiles (CSILC), et son livre est le fruit d'un des projets de ce groupe sur la surveillance internationale. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Hilary Homes au (613) 744-7667, poste 247.

  3. Festival du film de la Croix-Rouge - Exploring Humanitarian Values. Mars est le mois de la Croix-Rouge, et le Comité des enjeux humanitaires de la section d'Ottawa de la Croix-Rouge canadienne organise trois projections de films à l'Auditorium des anciens de l'Université d'Ottawa. Les films porteront sur la crise du Moyen-Orient, les inégalités entre hommes et femmes dans les conflits et la reconstruction au Rwanda. Syrian Bride sera présenté le 11 mars, Crimes of War le 18 mars et Women and War le 25 mars. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquer avec Liz Tyrwhitt, au (613) 560-7220, poste 301, ou à l'adresse liz.tyrwhitt@redcross.ca, ou consulter le site www.redcross.ca/filmfestival.

Flash éthique

  1. Les partenariats entre les OSC et le secteur privé. Les membres sont invités à se joindre au Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique (CECE) pour une présentation et une discussion animées par Brenda Plant, cofondatrice d'ethiquette.ca. La présentation portera sur les questions que les organisations doivent se poser lorsqu'elles envisagent un partenariat avec le secteur privé, sur les enjeux dont il faut tenir compte dans l'élaboration des politiques et des procédures, et sur les ressources dont disposent actuellement les OSC sur ces questions. Par la suite, les membres seront invités à rester pour participer à un dialogue avec le Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique où chacun pourra partager son expérience et aborder des questions éthiques relatives aux relations avec le secteur privé. La présentation aura lieu dans les bureaux du CCCI le mercredi 4 avril, de midi à 14 h (un léger déjeuner sera servi). Le nombre de places est limité. Prière de vous inscrire au plus tard le 28 mars en communiquant avec Anne Buchanan, à l'adresse abuchanan@ccic.ca.





     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca