CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

March 2, 2007

Headlines

  1. Aid to Afghanistan: In response to Prime Minister Stephen Harper's announcement this week of aid increases to Afghanistan, CCIC commented that development must be a priority focus, not merely an add-on to counter-insurgency efforts in Afghanistan. "With today's announcement, I hope that the Prime Minister realizes that the conflict in Afghanistan will not be solved by military aggression. I hope that this announcement represents an important shift in Canada's strategy towards one of peace-making and not war-making," said Gerry Barr President and CEO of the Canadian Council for International Co-operation.

  2. Agriculture should be Priority for CIDA: The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development unanimously recommended to the Government "that the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) establish agriculture as a priority sector using the strategies and policies developed in the CIDA policy document entitled Promoting Sustainable Rural Development focusing on sustainability and the reduction of poverty and hunger." This resolution was the result of recent testimony before the Committee by the Canadian Food Security Policy Group (FSPG) based on research studies commissioned by the group on CIDA's programming in agriculture in three African countries. The FSPG will be following up with the Minister for International Cooperation to propose how the Agency can significantly increase CIDA investments in this sector. The research summary and report is available at www.ccic.ca/e/003/food.shtml.

  3. Public Engagement and Evaluation Action-Research Pilots Launched: Four action-research pilot projects to explore good practice in public engagement and evaluation are being launched. The Atlantic Council for International Cooperation, Canadian Nurses Association, Jamaican Self-Help, and the Manitoba Council for International Cooperation will participate in this project. The methodologies, tools and learnings from this core group of public engagement practitioners will be shared with the CCIC membership. For more information contact Michael Stephens at mstephens@ccic.ca, (613) 241-7007 ext. 332 or any of the above-mentioned organizations.

Media File

  1. Senate Report on Africa Commentary: Following the Senate Committee's recent report on aid to Africa, a commentary by CCIC President and CEO Gerry Barr appeared in the Ottawa Citizen. The commentary "Aid can work if it's properly channeled" pointed out that in the numerous recommendations in the Senate report, one was actionable right now (passing Bill C-293 which would focus aid spending on ending poverty) and the other (abolishing CIDA) was plainly wrong. The commentary can be found at www.ccic.ca/e/004/commentaries.shtml.

  2. Grant System Mired in Red Tape - Toronto Star Commentary: "Federal grants and contributions support investments in research and productivity by businesses, individuals and institutions in every part of Canada. They support the work of literally thousands of voluntary and non-profit organizations… Yet in the area of federal grants and contributions, matters seem to have become worse, not better. It has become harder to apply for grants and contributions, more difficult to comply with terms and conditions." Frances Lankin and Ian Clark, co-chairs of a Treasury Board Blue Ribbon Panel on Grants and Contributions, in their Toronto Star commentary on February 13, went on to note that "recipients of federal grants and contributions are treated like suspects to be watched over rather than partners in an enterprise of public good." The Blue Ribbon Panel report can be found at www.brp-gde.ca/en/report.cfm.

Upcoming Events

  1. Leadership Forum: A CCIC Leadership Forum, for member organization executive directors and board chairs, will look at the context and progress to-date on CIDA's Plan of Action on Partnerships with Civil Society. This year's Forum will take place March 15 from 9:00 am to 4:30 pm the Holiday Inn, Plaza de la Chaudière, Gatineau, Québec. CIDA officials will be in attendance for the afternoon session. For agenda and registration information contact France Joncas at fjoncas@ccic.ca.

  2. An Evening with Lawrence Hill: Canadian Crossroads International is presenting an evening with author Lawrence Hill who will read from his novel, The Book of Negroes. Proceeds from the event will be donated to Canadian Crossroads International to support its work stopping the spread of HIV/AIDS, promoting the rights of women and developing local economies through projects in West Africa, Southern Africa and the Andean region of South America. The event starts at 6:30pm on Thursday March 22 at the Gladstone Hotel (1214 Queen St. West in Toronto). Tickets are $100 and include a copy of the novel. For more information call (416) 967-1611 ext. 240 or toll free at 1-877-967-1611 ext 240.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 2 mars 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Aide à l'Afghanistan. Réagissant à l'annonce faite cette semaine par le premier ministre au sujet de l'augmentation de l'aide pour l'Afghanistan, le CCCI a fait observer que le développement devait être au cœur des préoccupations du Canada et non constituer une simple activité connexe aux mesures contre-insurrectionnelles. " J'espère que l'annonce d'aujourd'hui fera comprendre au premier ministre qu'une agression militaire ne réglera pas le conflit en Afghanistan. J'ose espérer que cette annonce marquera un virage de la stratégie canadienne en faveur des mesures de paix et non des mesures de guerre ", a déclaré Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale.

  2. L'agriculture doit être une priorité pour l'ACDI. Le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international recommande unanimement au gouvernement " que l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) fasse de l'agriculture un secteur prioritaire en s'appuyant sur les stratégies et programmes décrits dans un document d'orientation de l'Agence intitulé L'agriculture au service du développement rural durable qui met l'accent sur la viabilité et la lutte contre la pauvreté et la faim ". Cette résolution est le fruit d'un témoignage présenté récemment au Comité par le Groupe canadien de réflexion sur la sécurité alimentaire (GRSA) et s'appuyant sur des études commandées par ce groupe au sujet des programmes d'agriculture de l'ACDI dans trois pays africains. Le GRSA fera un suivi auprès de la ministre de la Coopération internationale pour lui proposer des mesures concrètes d'investissements substantiels. Lire le résumé et le rapport de l'étude à la page www.ccic.ca/f/003/food.shtml.

  3. Lancement des projets pilotes de recherche-action sur l'engagement du public et l'évaluation. Quatre projets pilotes de recherche-action portant sur les bonnes pratiques en matière d'engagement du public et d'évaluation sont mis en branle par le Conseil atlantique pour la coopération internationale, l'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada, Jamaican Self-Help et le Manitoba Council for International Cooperation. Ce groupe cadre de praticiens partagera ensuite les méthodes, outils et apprentissages qu'il aura acquis avec les membres du CCCI. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Michael Stephens, à mstephens@ccic.ca, ou au (613) 241-7007, poste 332, ou bien avec l'une des organisations mentionnées ci-dessus.

La presse et nous

  1. Commentaire sur le rapport du Sénat en ce qui concerne l'Afrique. L'Ottawa Citizen a publié un commentaire du président-directeur général du CCCI Gerry Barr à la suite du rapport récent du Comité du Sénat en ce qui concerne l'aide à l'Afrique. Le commentaire, intitulé L'aide peut être efficace si elle est acheminée convenablement, montre qu'il est possible dès maintenant de mettre en pratique une des nombreuses recommandations du Sénat (l'adoption du projet de loi C-293, qui consacre l'élimination de la pauvreté comme objet premier des dépenses d'aide internationale) tandis qu'une autre constituerait carrément une erreur (l'abolition de l'ACDI). Le commentaire est disponible à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/004/commentaries.shtml.

  2. Le système des subventions embourbé dans les méandres administratifs (commentaire du Toronto Star). " Les subventions et contributions fédérales favorisent les investissements dans la recherche et la productivité des entreprises, des individus et des institutions aux quatre coins du Canada. Elles alimentent littéralement des milliers d'organisations bénévoles et à but non lucratif. […] Pourtant, dans le domaine des subventions et contributions fédérales, il semble que les choses s'aggravent au lieu de s'améliorer. Il est plus difficile qu'avant de demander des subventions et des contributions, et plus difficile de respecter les conditions qui s'y rattachent. ". Cette citation est tirée du commentaire de Frances Lankin et Ian Clark, coprésidents d'un groupe d'experts du Conseil du Trésor sur les subventions et contributions, publié dans le Toronto Star du 13 février. Les auteurs poursuivent en ces termes : " Les bénéficiaires de subventions et contributions sont traités comme des suspects qu'il faut avoir à l'œil et non comme des partenaires dans un projet de bien public. " Lire le rapport du groupe d'experts à l'adresse www.brp-gde.ca/fr/report.cfm.

À venir

  1. Forum des dirigeants. Un Forum des dirigeants du CCCI s'adressant aux directeurs généraux et aux présidents des conseils des organisations membres se penchera sur la conjoncture et sur les progrès effectués à ce jour relativement au plan d'action de l'ACDI visant les partenariats avec la société civile. Cette année, le Forum aura lieu le 15 mars, de 9 h à 16 h 30, au Holiday Inn Plaza de la Chaudière de Gatineau (Québec). Des représentants de l'ACDI seront présents l'après-midi. Pour connaître le programme ou s'inscrire, communiquer avec France Joncas, à l'adresse fjoncas@ccic.ca.

  2. Soirée avec Lawrence Hill. Carrefour canadien international organise une soirée avec l'auteur Lawrence Hill, qui lira des extraits de son roman intitulé The Book of Negroes. Les bénéfices de la soirée seront remis à Carrefour canadien international, qui les consacrera à son travail de lutte contre la propagation du sida, de promotion des droits des femmes et de développement des économies locales par des projets réalisés en Afrique occidentale, en Afrique australe et dans la région andine en Amérique du Sud. L'activité débute à 18 h 30 le jeudi 22 mars à l'hôtel Gladstone (1214, rue Queen Ouest à Toronto). Les billets se vendent 100 $ et donnent droit à un exemplaire du livre. Pour en savoir plus, composer le (416) 967-1611, poste 240 ou, sans frais, le 1-877-967-1611, poste 240.





     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca