CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

February 16, 2007

Headlines

  1. WTO Negotiations in Full Swing - High Pressure Deal May Thwart Development: Six months after WTO negotiations on the Doha "Development" Agenda were suspended, WTO Director-General Pascal Lamy announced that talks are back on track. The talks were given the green light following a mini-Ministerial meeting of about 30 countries. The WTO round had stalled last July due to irreconcilable differences primarily in agricultural negotiations. No new formal offers have been made to address the stalemate, but informal talks have been underway for several months. There is now enormous pressure on WTO members to find their way to a deal on three key areas: agriculture, services and industrial tariffs. Civil society organizations are extremely concerned, given both the danger to development of the trade deal as it is shaping up, and the pressure-cooker process in which the majority of developing countries have little voice or influence to promote their interests.

  2. Canada-Wide Pre-Budget Consultations: An online pre-budget consultation was launched this week by Finance Minister Jim Flaherty. The online consultation gives Canadians an opportunity to participate in the development of the 2007 Budget. Last year, nearly 6,000 participated. The deadline for consultation is February 28 at midnight (EST). The pre-budget consultation page on the Department of Finance web site can be found at http://www.fin.gc.ca/activty/consult_e.html. To read CCIC's pre-budget note go to http://www.ccic.ca/e/002/aid.shtml.

  3. New Microcredit Investment: The Citizens Bank of Canada has teamed up with the Calvert Foundation, RESULTS Canada and a group of NGOs working in the field to create a new microfinance investment product. The Citizens Bank "Shared World Term Deposit " is the first such product to be offered by a national financial institution. Canadians can now directly support microcredit with their savings. One hundred percent of the funds invested flow through to groups working in the field. For more information go to www.citizensbank.ca or contact Blaise Salmon, RESULTS Canada, at bsalmon@results-resultats.ca or (250) 384-1842.

Upcoming Events

  1. DFAIT Burma Roundtable: Strategic approaches for promoting democratic development, human rights and fundamental freedoms in Burma will be discussed at a roundtable for Canadian civil society and the government hosted by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade. The session will be held on February 16, from 2:00 to 4:00 pm at the Lester B. Pearson Building, 125 Sussex Drive in Ottawa. Registration is required. RSVP by February 9 to Chrystal Waddington at chrystal.waddington@international.gc.ca  or (613) 995-8649.

  2. Spotlight on Colombia: The Americas Policy Group will be holding a spotlight on Colombia on parliament hill, February 27 at 12:00pm. Updates on the volatile human rights context and tactical reflections on Canada's role in the peace process and Canadian corporate activity in the conflict-affected country will be provided by speakers David Bruer (Inter Pares) and Robin Buyers (Christian Peacemakers Team). The Americas Policy Group Brief: Towards a human rights framework for Canadian Foreign Policy on Colombia www.ccic.ca/e/docs/003_apg_2006-11_canadian_policy_towards_colombia.pdf   will also be launched at the Spotlight event. For more information, contact Fiona Meyer Cook at fmeyercook@ccic.ca.

  3. Stop the Killings in the Philippines: Five prominent Philippine church leaders and human rights activists will be in Ottawa on March 7 to appeal for Canadian support for a campaign to stop the political killings in the Philippines. Meet the delegation, hear their personal testimony and analysis, and be part of Canada's response at a panel discussion on Wednesday, March 7 from 2:00 to 4:30 pm, at St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, 82 Kent St., Ottawa. For more information, contact Elaine Bruer at elaine.bruer@rogers.com .

Media File

  1. Canada's WTO Corn Challenge: Following Canada's recent lodging of a complaint against US corn Subsidies, CCIC's commentary "What's between our ears? Canada's corn challenge and the world's poor farmers" was distributed widely by the United States based Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy. The commentary goes on to state that "Slashing rich country subsidies has been a high profile objective of the Doha Round to help poor farmers. But how valiant is Canada really being on the plight of poor farmers?" The commentary can be found at http://www.ccic.ca/e/004/commentaries.shtml .

Ethics in a Flash

  1. Private Sector Engagement: Do you see opportunities to achieve organizational ends by engaging the private sector, but do not want to undermine your organization's or the sector's integrity? CCIC's tool: Asking the C.Y.A. Questions: Due Diligence in our Engagements with the Private Sector www.ccic.ca/e/docs/002_ethics_final_due_diligence_new.pdf  helps organizations work through such questions and concerns. The tool is divided into three sections. One section presents key questions for organizations. A second section provides explanations and points to consider. The third provides resources and practical suggestions for researching individual companies or sectors. Questions about ethical practice in organizations can be sent to CCIC's Ethics Review Committee through Anne Buchanan at abuchanan@ccic.ca .

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 16 février 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Les négociations de l'OMC battent leur plein mais un accord précipité pourrait contrecarrer le développement. Six mois après la suspension des négociations de l'OMC sur le programme de " développement " de Doha, le directeur général de l'OMC, Pascal Lamy, a annoncé que les pourparlers ont repris. Ce nouveau départ fait suite à une mini-rencontre ministérielle réunissant quelque 30 pays. Le cycle de l'OMC a été retardé en juillet dernier en raison des profonds différends qui régnaient alors, principalement dans le domaine de l'agriculture. Aucune nouvelle offre officielle n'a été faite pour sortir de cette impasse, mais des pourparlers informels sont en cours depuis plusieurs mois. Les membres de l'OMC subissent maintenant une intense pression afin de trouver une solution dans trois secteurs clés : l'agriculture, les services et les droits de douane sur les produits industriels. Les organisations de la société civile sont extrêmement inquiètes, tant en raison du danger que représente l'accord commercial qui se dessine pour le développement que de ce phénomène de cocotte minute, où la majorité des pays en développement ont peu de voix ou d'influence pour faire valoir leurs intérêts.

  2. Consultations prébudgétaires nationales : Cette semaine, le ministre des Finances Jim Flaherty a lancé des consultations prébudgétaires en ligne. Elles donneront aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens l'occasion de participer à l'élaboration du budget de 2007. L'an dernier, près de 6 000 Canadiens ont participé Les consultations prendront fin à minuit, heure normale de l'Est, le 28 février 2007. L'adresse de la page Web du ministère des Finances réservée aux consultations prébudgétaires est la suivante : http://www.fin.gc.ca/activty/consult_f.html. Lire la note d'information prébudgétaire du CCCI à l'adresse http://www.ccic.ca/f/002/aid.shtml.

  3. Nouveau fonds d'investissement en microcrédit. La Banque Citizens du Canada fait équipe avec la fondation Calvert, RÉSULTATS Canada et un groupe d'ONG actives sur le terrain pour créer un nouveau produit d'investissement en microfinance. Le " dépôt à terme Shared World " de la Banque Citizens est le premier produit du genre offert par une institution financière nationale. Ainsi, les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent maintenant favoriser directement le microcrédit grâce à leurs épargnes. La totalité des fonds investis seront redistribués à des groupes œuvrant dans ce domaine. Pour en savoir plus, visiter www.citizensbank.ca ou communiquer avec Blaise Salmon, de RÉSULTATS Canada, à bsalmon@results-resultats.ca ou au (250) 384-1842.

À venir

  1. Table ronde du MAECI sur la Birmanie. Les approches stratégiques visant à promouvoir le développement démocratique, les droits de la personne et les libertés fondamentales en Birmanie feront l'objet d'une table ronde organisée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international à l'intention de la société civile canadienne et du gouvernement. La séance aura lieu le 16 février, de 14 h à 16 h, à l'édifice Lester B. Pearson, au 125 promenade Sussex, à Ottawa. Inscription obligatoire. Prière d'annoncer votre présence avant le 9 février en communiquant avec Chrystal Waddington, à chrystal.waddington@international.gc.ca ou au (613) 995-8649.

  2. Pleins feux sur la Colombie. Le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques braqueront les projecteurs sur la Colombie sur la Colline du Parlement le 27 février prochain à midi. Les conférenciers David Bruer (Inter Pares) et Robin Buyers (Christian Peacemakers Team) feront le point sur l'instabilité des droits de la personne et proposeront des réflexions tactiques sur le rôle du Canada dans le processus de paix et sur les activités des entreprises canadiennes dans les pays en conflit. À cette occasion, le mémoire du Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques Vers un cadre des droits de la personne pour la politique canadienne relative à la Colombie (www.ccic.ca/f/docs/003_apg_2006-11_canadian_policy_towards_colombia.pdf) sera également distribué. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Fiona Meyer Cook à fmeyercook@ccic.ca.

  3. Pour mettre fin aux massacres aux Philippines. Cinq éminents hommes d'Église et défenseurs des droits de la personne viendront à Ottawa le 7 mars pour demander l'aide des Canadiens dans le cadre d'une campagne visant à mettre fin aux massacres politiques aux Philippines. Venez rencontrer les membres de la délégation, entendre leurs propos et leurs témoignages et contribuer à la réponse du Canada lors d'une discussion entre experts qui aura lieu le mercredi 7 mars, de 14 h à 16 h 30, à l'église presbytérienne St. Andrew's, au 82, rue Kent, à Ottawa. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Elaine Bruer à elaine.bruer@rogers.com.

La presse et nous

  1. Le Canada proteste contre les subventions sur le maïs devant l'OMC. À la suite de la plainte déposée récemment par le Canada contre les subventions accordées aux producteurs de maïs des États-Unis, l'Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, dont le siège est situé aux États-Unis, a largement distribué le texte du CCCI Qu'avons-nous entre les oreilles ? L'action en justice du Canada dans le dossier du maïs et les cultivateurs pauvres du reste du monde. Le texte annonce ainsi ses couleurs : " La réduction des subventions des pays riches a été l'un des objectifs de premier plan du cycle de Doha en vue d'aider les cultivateurs pauvres. Mais dans quelle mesure le Canada est-il prêt à aller jusqu'au bout ? " On peut le lire au complet à l'adresse http://www.ccic.ca/f/004/commentaries.shtml.

Flash éthique

  1. Participation du secteur privé. Vous arrive-t-il de laisser échapper des occasions de vous allier au secteur privé pour poursuivre les objectifs de votre organisation par crainte de compromettre votre intégrité ou celle du secteur ? Le CCCI propose un guide intitulé Poser les bonnes questions : Diligence raisonnable dans notre interaction avec le secteur privé (www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_ethics_final_due_diligence_new.pdf) pour vous aider à examiner ce genre de problème. Ce guide se divise en trois parties. La première présente les questions de fond. La deuxième offre des explications et des éléments à considérer. La dernière propose enfin des ressources et des suggestions pratiques pour effectuer des recherches qui permettront de trouver des réponses aux questions concernant des entreprises ou des secteurs en particulier. Par ailleurs, on peut toujours confier ses interrogations à ce sujet au Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique en écrivant à Anne Buchanan, à abuchanan@ccic.ca.





     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca