CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

January 19, 2007

Headlines

  1. International Development NGOs applaud Committee Report on Aid Bill: Canada's aid accountability law passed a key hurdle on December 13. "We applaud the cross-party collaboration of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development to effectively get Bill C-293 through the Committee process" said Gerry Barr, President-CEO of the Canadian Council for International Co-operation. The Bill aims to focus aid spending on ending poverty. The next step for the Bill will be to pass third reading in the House of Commons. Then the Bill will be referred to the Senate for final approval.

  2. Civil Society Aid Effectiveness Discussion Paper: A CCIC discussion paper on conditions for civil society effectiveness in addressing the rights of poor and marginalized people is now available. The paper attempts to distinguish between the principles for effective donor cooperation (as outlined in the 2005 Paris Declaration) and the principles that should, in fact, shape how civil society organizations (CSOs) work on a North/South basis. The paper is available at http://ccic.ca/e/docs/002_aid_2006-11_cida_aid_effectiveness_and_csos_paper.pdf. For comments or questions contact Brian Tomlinson at btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  3. Advisory Group at DAC on Civil Society Aid Effectiveness: CCIC will be joining an advisory group at the Development Assistance Committee (DAC) tasked with identifying the principles affecting civil society aid effectiveness and its relationship with the Paris Declaration. CIDA is expected to Chair this advisory group. The results of the group's discussions will go to the steering committee planning the September 2008 High Level Forum in Accra, Ghana. The Forum will be the first substantial review of progress made on the Paris Declaration commitments. For more information, contact Brian Tomlinson at btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  4. Working Paper on Aid Effectiveness and Non-State Actors: An excellent working paper on aid effectiveness and the role of donor and civil society and private sector partnerships is now available. The paper (written by Real Lavergne - CIDA Policy Branch and Jacqueline Wood - Canadian Partnership Branch) is an authored working paper and not a CIDA position or policy paper, however, it was drafted as background material for current CIDA initiatives at the DAC and in Canada on renewing Canadian partnerships. The paper is available in English and French from Brian Tomlinson at btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  5. Colombia Policy Brief: Towards a Human Rights Framework for Canadian Policy on Colombia, written by CCIC's Americas Policy Group, examines the state of the human rights crisis in Colombia, the factors contributing to the crisis, and impact on the most vulnerable populations. The brief looks at Canada's donor, diplomatic, and commercial relations with Colombia and includes recommendations on justice for victims of armed groups, improving trade and investment practices, and promoting human rights. Copies of the brief are available at www.ccic.ca/e/docs/003_apg_2006-11_canadian_policy_towards_colombia.pdf

  6. Resources for Policy Work: Building Knowledge and Capacity for Policy Influence: Reflections and Resources is a compilation of ideas, tools and reflections from a multi-year CCIC project. It includes some basic information on the Canadian government policy-making process, and touches on some of the skills and approaches needed to carry out policy work in respectful partnership with Southern counterparts. Download it free of charge from www.ccic.ca/e/002/capacity_building.shtml. Hard copies are also available ($15 per copy for CCIC members, $20 per copy for non-members). Contact od@ccic.ca.

Upcoming Events

  1. Collaborating for Change - A CCIC Sector Retreat: Spaces are going fast so don't miss this opportunity to discuss what is needed for Canadian CSOs to contribute to global change. Register today to join other civil society leaders at the "Collaborating for Change" retreat this February 11 to13 at the Hôtel du Lac in Ville de Mont-Tremblant (www.hoteldulac.ca). Space cannot be guaranteed for registrations received after January 24. The retreat will focus primarily on efforts in policy influence, public awareness and mobilization, and partnership and alliance-building. Further information is available from od@ccic.ca.

Worth Looking At

  1. Ethics in Action - The Ethical Challenges of International Human Rights Nongovernmental Organizations: Ethics in Action, edited by Daniel A. Bell and Jean-Marc Coicaud, is the product of a multi year dialogue between theorists and NGO practitioners on the ethical challenges involved in international human rights work. The first chapter, written by Betty Plewes and Rieky Stuart, discusses the images used in NGO communications. The book is available at www.cambridge.org/uk/catalogue/catalogue.asp?isbn=9780521865661.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 19 janvier 2007

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Les ONG œuvrant au développement international accueillent favorablement le rapport du Comité sur le projet de loi relatif à l'aide internationale. Le 13 décembre dernier, le projet de loi visant à optimiser l'aide canadienne au développement a franchi une étape importante. " Nous nous réjouissons que tous les partis siégeant au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international aient collaboré avec succès au processus d'examen du projet de loi C-293 ", a déclaré Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale. Ce projet de loi exige que les dépenses d'aide internationale soient exclusivement consacrées à l'élimination de la pauvreté. Il lui reste à être adopté en troisième lecture par la Chambre des communes avant d'être présenté au Sénat pour approbation finale.

  2. Document de travail sur l'efficacité de l'aide de la société civile. Le document de travail du CCCI sur les conditions essentielles à l'efficacité des initiatives de la société civile en matière de défense des droits des personnes pauvres et marginalisées est terminé. Ce document a pour objet de faire la distinction entre les principes relatifs à l'efficacité de la coopération entre donateurs (définis dans la Déclaration de Paris de 2005) et ceux qui doivent effectivement servir à orienter l'interaction Nord-Sud dans le travail des organisations de la société civile (OSC). Le document est disponible à l'adresse suivante :
     http://ccic.ca/f/docs/002_aid_2006-11_cida_aid_effectiveness_and_csos_paper.pdf. Pour toute question ou commentaire, communiquer avec Brian Tomlinson (btomlinson@ccic.ca).

  3. Groupe consultatif du CAD sur l'efficacité de l'aide de la société civile. Le CCCI fera partie d'un groupe consultatif du Comité d'aide au développement (CAD) ayant pour tâche de définir les principes qui influent sur l'efficacité de l'aide de la société civile et le rôle de la Déclaration de Paris sur cette efficacité. Ce groupe consultatif devrait être présidé par l'ACDI. Ses conclusions seront acheminées au comité permanent responsable de la planification du Forum de haut niveau de septembre 2008, qui aura lieu à Accra, au Ghana. Ce forum sera l'occasion d'analyser réellement pour la première fois les progrès réalisés par rapport à la Déclaration de Paris. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Brian Tomlinson à btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  4. Document de travail sur l'efficacité de l'aide et les acteurs non étatiques. Un excellent document de travail sur l'efficacité de l'aide internationale et le rôle des partenariats entre les donateurs, la société civile et le secteur privé vient d'être publié. Ce document - écrit par Réal Lavergne, de la Direction générale des politiques de l'ACDI, et Jacqueline Wood, de la Direction générale du partenariat canadien - constitue le fruit d'un travail personnel plutôt qu'un énoncé de principes de l'ACDI. Toutefois, il a été conçu en tant que document d'information pour les initiatives de renouvellement des partenariats du CAD et de l'Agence. Pour se procurer le document en anglais ou en français, écrire à Brian Tomlinson à btomlinson@ccic.ca.

  5. Document d'orientation sur la Colombie. Vers un cadre des droits de la personne pour la politique canadienne relative à la Colombie, du Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques du CCCI, traite de la crise des droits de la personne en Colombie, des facteurs qui y contribuent et de son incidence sur les populations vulnérables. Les auteurs y examinent les relations entre le Canada et la Colombie sur les plans de la coopération, des rapports diplomatiques et des relations commerciales. Ils présentent également diverses recommandations sur la justice pour les victimes des groupes armés, l'amélioration des pratiques en matière de commerce et d'investissement et la promotion des droits de la personne. Pour obtenir un exemplaire du document, consulter le
     www.ccic.ca/f/docs/003_apg_2006-11_canadian_policy_towards_colombia.pdf

  6. Les ressources pour le travail de fond. Le document Accroître nos connaissances et nos capacités en vue d'influer sur les politiques : Réflexions et ressources est un inventaire d'idées, d'outils et de réflexions issus d'un projet pluriannuel du CCCI. Il comprend des renseignements essentiels sur le processus d'élaboration des politiques au sein du gouvernement canadien. Il aborde aussi certaines des compétences et des démarches nécessaires pour élaborer des politiques dans le respect des partenariats avec nos homologues du Sud. Il est possible de le télécharger gratuitement au www.ccic.ca/f/002/capacity_building.shtml ou de se procurer un exemplaire papier (15 $ chacun pour les membres du CCCI, 20 $ pour les non-membres) en écrivant à od@ccic.ca.

À venir

  1. Journée de réflexion du secteur " Conjuguons nos efforts ". Les places s'envolent rapidement, alors ne manquez pas l'occasion de venir partager vos idées sur ce que doivent faire les OSC canadiennes pour contribuer au changement mondial. Inscrivez-vous aujourd'hui et joignez-vous aux autres leaders de la société civile lors de la journée de réflexion " Conjuguons nos efforts ", qui aura lieu du 11 au 13 février à l'Hôtel du Lac, à Mont-Tremblant (www.hoteldulac.ca). Les inscriptions reçues après le 24 janvier pourraient être refusées en raison du manque de places. Cette activité portera principalement sur les efforts visant à influer sur les politiques et à sensibiliser et mobiliser la population, de même que sur le partenariat et la formation d'alliances. Pour en savoir plus, écrire à od@ccic.ca.

Vaut un coup d'œil

  1. L'éthique en action. Ethics in Action - The Ethical Challenges of International Human Rights Nongovernmental Organizations, publié sous la direction de Daniel A. Bell et Jean-Marc Coicaud, est le fruit d'un dialogue de plusieurs années entre théoriciens et praticiens des ONG sur les dilemmes éthiques que connaissent les organisations internationales de droits de la personne. Le premier chapitre, signé par Betty Plewes et Rieky Stuart, traite des images utilisées dans les communications des ONG. Cet ouvrage (en anglais) est disponible à l'adresse www.cambridge.org/uk/catalogue/catalogue.asp?isbn=9780521865661.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca