CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

December 8, 2006

Headlines

  1. Bill C-293 Out of Committee: The private member's bill aimed at focusing aid spending on ending poverty and promoting human rights standards will soon pass through the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development. It is anticipated that the Bill will be reported to the House of Commons in December. A third reading and vote is yet to be scheduled but is likely to take place early in 2007.

  2. "No Sweat" Purchasing Policy: Manitoba, on November 22, became the first province to adopt a policy requiring suppliers to meet minimum labour standards in the production of apparel products. The Ethical Trading Action Group (ETAG), of which CCIC is a member organization, welcomed the announcement saying that it was a "major step forward toward protecting the most vulnerable workers who produce apparel around the world."

  3. UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples Shelved: The Third Committee of the United Nations General Assembly failed to adopt, on November 28, the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Unfortunately, Canada along with the United States, Australia and New Zealand joined forces to block its adoption. The Declaration, 20 years in the making, would have filled a gap in the protection of human rights for Indigenous Peoples and had been endorsed by the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Peoples. The Declaration preamble states that "recognition of the rights of indigenous peoples…will enhance harmonious and cooperative relations between the State and indigenous peoples, based on principles of justice, democracy, respect for human rights…."

  4. Action-Research in Public Engagement Call for Letters of Intent: As part of its objective to strengthen members' capacity to engage Canadians as active global citizens, CCIC is launching an action research project on innovation in public engagement (PE) and evaluation. Members interested in designing a structured learning initiative, in collaboration with CCIC, to strengthen their understanding of good practice in public engagement and evaluation are encouraged to submit a letter of intent by December 29. The models, methods and tools stemming from this work will be subsequently profiled in a manual or guidebook. For more information contact Michael Stephens at mstephens@ccic.ca or (613) 241-7007 ext. 332.

Setting Our Sites

  1. "Where Credit is Due": A new CUSO radio documentary on microcredit is now available as a free webcast or downloadable pod-cast through the Rabble Podcast Network. Listen and download the documentary at: www.rabble.ca/rpn/files/doc/doc-2006-11-23.mp3. "Where Credit is Due" is a 52-minute documentary on microcredit and the bankrolling of economic hope. It features case studies of village micro-loan programs in Ghana.

Upcoming Events

  1. International Development Week 2007: CIDA invites you to participate in the 17th annual International Development Week to take place February 4-10, 2007 across Canada with a focus on equality between women and men. Soon you will be able to access more information about IDW, download graphics and enter your events into a calendar on the IDW website: www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/idw. Mark IDW 2007 in your own way and show how Canadians are working to improve the lives of people and communities around the world. For more information send an email to idw@acdi-cida.gc.ca.

  2. Forum on migrant workers' rights: To mark International Migrants' Day, a public forum will bring together migrant workers, activists, researchers and government representatives. Inter Pares, Equitas, the Centre d'Études et de Recherches Internationales de l'Université de Montréal and the Chaire de recherche du Canada en études asiatiques are organizing the forum which will take place on December 18 at 6 :00 pm at Université de Montréal (3744 Jean-Brillant St., Côte-des-Neiges metro station). For more information contact Galia Mejia at (514) 343-6111 ext. 1884 or galia.mejia@umontreal.ca.

NOTE: This is the last Flash for 2006. The next Flash will come out on January 19, 2007.

 

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 8 décembre 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Fin de l'étude en comité du projet de loi C-293. Le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international terminera incessamment l'étude du projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire visant à consacrer exclusivement les dépenses d'aide internationale à l'élimination de la pauvreté et à la promotion des droits de la personne. Le projet de loi sera renvoyé à la Chambre des communes en décembre. La troisième lecture et la mise aux voix ne sont pas encore au calendrier, mais elles devraient avoir lieu au début de 2007.

  2. Politique d'achat contre l'exploitation des ouvriers. Le 22 novembre, le Manitoba est devenu la première province à adopter une politique obligeant les fournisseurs à respecter des normes minimales de droit du travail dans le secteur du vêtement. L'Ethical Trading Action Group (ETAG), dont est membre le CCCI, s'est félicité de cette nouvelle, indiquant qu'il s'agissait d'" un pas important vers la protection des travailleurs les plus vulnérables qui produisent des vêtements dans le monde ".

  3. La Déclaration de l'ONU sur les droits des peuples autochtones mise au rancart. La Troisième Commission de l'Assemblée générale des Nations unies n'a pas adopté la Déclaration de l'ONU sur les droits des peuples autochtones le 28 novembre. Malheureusement, le Canada s'est uni aux États-Unis, à l'Australie et à la Nouvelle-Zélande pour bloquer ce projet. La déclaration, fruit d'une vingtaine d'années de travail, aurait comblé une lacune dans le domaine des droits de la personne pour les peuples autochtones et aurait été appuyée par l'Instance permanente sur les questions autochtones des Nations unies. Dans son préambule, on lit que " la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones […] encouragera des relations harmonieuses et de coopération entre les États et les peuples autochtones, fondées sur les principes de justice, de démocratie, de respect des droits de l'homme […] ".

  4. Recherche-action en engagement du public. Conformément à son objectif d'aider les membres à renforcer leur capacité de mobilisation des Canadiennes et des Canadiens en tant que citoyens actifs du monde, le CCCI lance un projet de recherche-action sur l'innovation en matière d'engagement du public (EP) et l'évaluation. Les membres qui sont intéressés à la conception d'une initiative d'apprentissage structurée dans le but de cerner les pratiques optimales en matière d'engagement du public et d'évaluation sont invités à envoyer une lettre d'intention d'ici le 29 décembre. Les modèles, méthodes et instruments qui résulteront de ces travaux feront l'objet d'un guide. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Michael Stephens à mstephens@ccic.ca ou au (613) 241-7007, poste 332.

Des sites en vue

  1. Where Credit is Due. Un nouveau documentaire radio de CUSO sur le microcrédit est maintenant disponible sous forme de webémission ou de balado sur le site Rabble Podcast Network, à l'adresse www.rabble.ca/rpn/files/doc/doc-2006-11-23.mp3. Where Credit is Due est un documentaire de 52 minutes sur le microcrédit et les institutions de l'espoir économique. On y présente des programmes particuliers de microcrédit au Ghana.

À venir

  1. Semaine du développement international 2007. L'ACDI vous invite à participer à la 17e édition de la Semaine du développement international (SDI) qui aura lieu partout au pays du 4 au 10 février 2007 et qui portera cette année sur l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Vous pourrez bientôt avoir accès à de plus amples renseignements sur la SDI, télécharger des images et inscrire vos activités dans un calendrier sur le site Web de la SDI : www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/sdi. Marquez la SDI 2007 à votre façon et montrez comment les Canadiennes et les Canadiens œuvrent à améliorer la vie des gens et des collectivités dans le monde. Pour en savoir davantage, envoyer un courriel à sdi@acdi-cida.gc.ca.

  2. Forum sur les droits des travailleurs migrants. Pour souligner la Journée internationale des migrants, Inter Pares, Equitas, le Centre d'études et de recherches internationales de l'Université de Montréal et la Chaire de recherche du Canada en études asiatiques, organisent un forum public qui réunira des travailleurs migrants, des militants, des chercheurs, ainsi que des représentants gouvernementaux. L'événement aura lieu le 18 décembre, 18 h, à l'Université de Montréal (3744, rue Jean-Brillant, métro Côte-des-Neiges). Pour plus d'information, communiquer avec Galia Mejia au (514) 343-6111, poste 1884 ou à galia.mejia@umontreal.ca.

N.B. : Ceci est le dernier numéro de Flash pour 2006. Le prochain Flash paraîtra le
19 janvier 2007.


 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca