CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin


September 29, 2006


  1. Security Focus of Prime Minister's First Major International Speech: In his first major speech on the international stage, before the United Nations, Prime Minister Stephen Harper focused on the Afghan mission, security issues, and UN accountability. CCIC President-CEO Gerry Barr, appearing on CTV Newsnet and quoted in the Toronto Star, expressed disappointment with the speech. "What about the other global issues?" asked Barr. "What about environment, health and HIV-AIDS for heaven's sake? What about development?" The speech was overwhelmingly focused on security issues, and framed Canada's Afghanistan mission as a United Nations priority. The Afghan mission is, in fact, a NATO mission, sanctioned by the UN on an annual basis. The Prime Minister's comments on UN reform focused on accountability to tax payers and demands for improvement in management, pointing to a shift in Canada's role at the UN from team player to "share-holder". The Prime Minister appeared before the United Nations on September 21. For more information, contact Erin Simpson at or (613)241-7007 ext. 320.

  2. Bill C-293 Passes Second Reading: CCIC and Make Poverty History welcome the passing, at second reading, of Bill C-293. The Bill calls for Canadian foreign aid spending to focus on ending poverty. Make Poverty History has been campaigning for such legislation as part of its "More and Better Aid" platform. Over 15000 messages encouraging Members of Parliament to vote in favour of the Bill were sent by Make Poverty History supporters in the lead-up to the vote on September 20. MPs from all parties supported the Bill which passed 159 to 108. The Bill now goes to the Foreign Affairs committee before it comes back to the House for its third reading.

Make Poverty History

  1. Stand Up to Make Poverty History: Join forces with people all over the world on October 15 for the Stand Up challenge to set a Guinness World Record for the greatest number of people ever to Stand Up Against Poverty. Within a 24-hour period, a minimum of 10,000 people must physically and symbolically "Stand Up" to let world leaders know that we are holding them accountable for their promises to end poverty. A Stand Up event can be almost anything - a concert, vigil, picnic. It can take place at work, in the streets, at the family dinner table, a church service or a conference. For more information on how to organize a Stand Up moment and to report on the number of people participating go to the Millennium Campaign web site at

Upcoming Events

  1. CCIC Trade Reference Group Meeting: The CCIC Trade Reference Group meets on October 4 from noon to 4:00 pm in CCIC offices. The suspension of the WTO talks significantly changes the entry point for our work on trade globalization and human rights issues. This meeting will provide an opportunity to share institutional approaches in this context and provide input to CCIC future priorities. The Trade Reference Group is an informal network regrouping members and select non-members active on trade and development issues. For further information contact Gauri Sreenivasan in the Policy Team at

  2. Corporate Social Responsibility Roundtables: The Canadian government is holding a series of national roundtables on corporate social responsibility in the mining, oil and gas sectors and their operations in developing countries. The roundtables will try to identify ways for Canadian extractive sector companies operating in developing countries to meet or exceed leading international corporate standards and best practices.The next roundtable is set for Calgary on October 10 to 12. Individuals and organizations are encouraged to attend the public forum. Online registration is available at the government website at For more information contact Andrea Botto at or (613) 789-9368.

  3. Shopping, Eating, and Doing Good: SalvAide will be hosting its 9th Annual Dinner and Auction. The meal, included in the ticket price, is a feast of authentic Salvadoran flavours. Entertainment will be provide by the band Colores Andinos, performing a blend of native-Andean rhythms. The live and silent auctions contain over 150 items. The dinner/auction will take place Thursday, October 26 starting at 5:30pm at the Ukrainian Hall, 1000 Byron Ave, Ottawa. Tickets are $32 in advance and $35 at the door. To buy tickets, call (613) 233-6215 or e-mail

  4. International Cooperation Days - Working Together for Effective Aid: More than a thousand representatives from the non-governmental, voluntary, public, and private sectors will meet with international development experts and front-line workers to exchange knowledge and ideas at this year's International Cooperation Days. Plenary sessions include: Strengthening Aid Effectiveness; Successful Partnership Models; Building Support for Development; Accountability for Results; and a CIDA Senior Management Roundtable. International Cooperation Days will take place October 30 to November 1 at the Ottawa Congress Centre. Online registration will be available soon at

  5. Celebrate with Coady: Stephen Lewis, United Nations Special Envoy for HIV/AIDS in Africa will be the keynote speaker at the 4th annual Coady Celebrates. Coady Celebrates will take place on Wednesday, November 1 at the Westin Nova Scotian Hotel in Halifax. Tickets are $125 ($75 tax deductible). All proceeds will go towards helping international participants attend Coady community development leadership education programs. For more information contact Christina Edwards at (902) 867-5264 or

  6. Youth Speaking Out: Horizons of Friendship is hosting two youth from their Nicaraguan partner, the Oscar Arnulfo Romero Community Centre (CCOAR). Márvin Antonio Bustos López and Éliette de los Ángeles Mejía will be in Canada November 5 to 20 and will be speaking in Guelph, Waterloo, London, Peterborough, Cobourg, as well as in Quebec. CCOAR works with women, youth, and cooperatives, providing technical and financial support to existing collectives and cooperatives and by promoting community projects and youth leadership. For more information contact Michelle Switzer at or (905) 372-5483 ext. 24.

  7. IDRF Gala Evening: Louise Arbour, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, will be the keynote speaker at the International Development & Relief Foundation (IDRF) GALA 2006. The speech will be followed by dinner and musical entertainment. The gala evening starts 6:00 pm on Saturday November 4 at the Marriott Eaton Centre Hotel in Toronto. Tickets are $100 and advance registration required as seats are limited. For more information contact Penny Fancy at (416) 497-0818 Ext 26 or For online reservations visit



All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation |

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 29 septembre 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. La sécurité passe avant tout dans le premier grand discours international du premier ministre. Le premier grand discours prononcé par le premier ministre Stephen Harper sur la scène internationale, devant les Nations unies, portait d'abord et avant tout sur la mission en Afghanistan, la sécurité et la responsabilisation de l'ONU. Le président-directeur général du CCCI, Gerry Barr, n'a pas caché son désappointement, comme on a pu le voir à CTV Newsnet et le lire dans le Toronto Star : " Mais qu'en est-il des autres dossiers mondiaux ? Qu'en est-il de l'environnement, de la santé et du sida, pour l'amour du ciel ? Et le développement, dans tout ça ? " Le discours portait presque exclusivement sur les enjeux de sécurité et présentait la mission du Canada en Afghanistan comme une priorité des Nations unies. En réalité, il s'agit d'une mission dirigée par l'OTAN et soumise à l'approbation annuelle de l'ONU. Au sujet de la réforme de l'ONU, M. Harper a simplement insisté sur l'obligation de rendre des comptes aux contribuables, réclamant une meilleure gestion et préconisant que le Canada change de rôle et devienne " actionnaire " plutôt que simple " coéquipier ". Le discours du premier ministre aux Nations unies a eu lieu le 21 septembre. Pour obtenir de plus amples détails, communiquer avec Erin Simpson à esimpson@ccic.ca ou au (613) 241-7007, poste 320.

  2. Adoption du projet de loi C-293 en deuxième lecture. Le CCCI et la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté sont heureux d'apprendre que le projet de loi C 293 a été adopté en deuxième lecture. Ce projet de loi exige que les dépenses d'aide étrangère du Canada soient consacrées exclusivement à l'élimination de la pauvreté, ce que réclame activement Abolissons la pauvreté dans ses revendications sur l'accroissement et l'optimisation de l'aide. Le 20 septembre, les sympathisants de la campagne avaient fait parvenir plus de 15 000 messages aux membres du Parlement afin de les inciter à voter en faveur de ce projet de loi. Des députés de tous les partis ont appuyé le projet de loi, adopté à 159 contre 108. Le texte est actuellement entre les mains du comité des Affaires étrangères avant de retourner au Parlement pour sa troisième lecture.

Abolissons la pauvreté

  1. Tout le monde debout pour abolir la pauvreté. Le 15 octobre, joignez-vous aux participants de la campagne Stand Up du monde entier pour contribuer à établir le record mondial Guinness du plus grand nombre de personnes à s'être levées contre la pauvreté. En 24 heures, 10 000 personnes devront, littéralement et symboliquement, se lever pour faire savoir aux leaders du monde entier qu'ils doivent respecter leurs promesses concernant l'abolition de la pauvreté. L'activité peut prendre n'importe quelle forme : concert, manifestation silencieuse, pique-nique. Elle peut avoir lieu au travail, dans la rue, en famille, autour de la table, pendant la messe ou lors d'une conférence. Pour en savoir plus sur l'organisation d'un événement Stand Up et pour faire connaître le nombre de participants, visiter le site Web de la Campagne du millénaire à l'adresse www.millenniumcampaign.org/site/pp.asp?c=grKVL2NLE&b=1806429.

À venir

  1. Réunion du Groupe de référence en matière de commerce du CCCI. Le Groupe de référence en matière de commerce du CCCI se réunira le 4 octobre, de 12 h à 16 h, dans les locaux du CCCI. La suspension des négociations de l'OMC modifie sensiblement l'angle d'attaque du travail sur la mondialisation du commerce et les droits de la personne. Cette réunion permettra aux membres de débattre de diverses approches institutionnelles et de réorienter les priorités du CCCI. Le Groupe de référence en matière de commerce est un réseau non officiel regroupant des membres et des partenaires externes triés sur le volet qui œuvrent dans le domaine du commerce et du développement. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Gauri Sreenivasan de l'équipe Orientation politique à gauri@ccic.ca.

  2. Tables rondes sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Le gouvernement canadien tient présentement une série de tables rondes nationales sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises des secteurs minier, pétrolier et gazier et leurs activités dans les pays en développement. Ces tables rondes visent à trouver des moyens, pour les entreprises canadiennes présentes dans les pays en développement, de respecter ou de surpasser les normes et les pratiques exemplaires des grandes entreprises internationales. La prochaine table ronde se tiendra à Calgary, du 10 au 12 octobre. Particuliers et organisations sont invités à assister à la tribune publique. On peut s'inscrire en ligne sur le site Web du gouvernement : http://geo.international.gc.ca/cip-pic/current_discussions/csr-register-fr.asp. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Andrea Botto à cnca@halifaxinitiative.org ou au (613) 789-9368.

  3. Quelques achats, un petit festin, une bonne action. Salvaide tiendra son 9e dîner-encan annuel. Le prix du billet comprend le repas, un festin composé d'authentiques plats salvadoriens. Le dîner sera agrémenté des rythmes typiquement andins de la formation Colores Andinos. Les ventes aux enchères, à la criée et par écrit, comprendront plus de 150 articles. Le dîner-encan aura lieu le jeudi 26 octobre dès 17 h 30 au Ukrainian Hall, 1000, avenue Byron, à Ottawa. Les billets sont offerts au coût de 32 $ en prévente et de 35 $ à la porte. Pour s'en procurer, composer le (613) 233-6215 ou écrire à auction@salvaide.ca.

  4. Journées de la coopération internationale - Travaillons ensemble pour une aide efficace. Plus d'un millier de représentants des secteurs non gouvernemental, bénévole, public et privé rencontreront des experts en développement international et des intervenants de première ligne afin d'échanger leur savoir et leurs idées lors des Journées de la coopération internationale. Les séances plénières porteront sur le renforcement de l'efficacité de l'aide, les modèles efficaces de partenariat, la consolidation du soutien au développement et l'obtention de résultats par la responsabilisation et comprendront une table ronde des cadres supérieurs de l'ACDI. Les Journées de la coopération internationale auront lieu du 30 octobre au 1er novembre au Centre des congrès d'Ottawa. Il sera bientôt possible de s'inscrire en ligne à l'adresse www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/CIDAWEB/acdicida.nsf/Fr/JUD-121410952-KSQ.

  5. Célébrons avec l'institut Coady. Stephen Lewis, envoyé spécial de l'ONU pour le sida en Afrique, sera le conférencier principal du 4e événement annuel " Coady Celebrates! ". Cette soirée aura lieu le mercredi 1er novembre au Westin Nova Scotian Hotel, à Halifax. Les billets sont en vente au coût de 125 $ (dont 75 $ sont déductibles). Les recettes serviront à financer les programmes de formation en leadership de l'aménagement des collectivités de l'institut Coady pour les participants étrangers. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Christina Edwards au (902) 867-5264 ou à cmedward@stfx.ca.

  6. Les jeunes s'expriment. Horizons d'amitié accueille présentement deux jeunes du Oscar Arnulfo Romero Community Centre (CCOAR), un de ses partenaires du Nicaragua. Márvin Antonio Bustos López et Éliette de los Ángeles Mejía seront au Canada du 5 au 20 novembre et présenteront des conférences à Guelph, Waterloo, London, Peterborough et Cobourg de même qu'au Québec. Le CCOAR travaille auprès des femmes, des jeunes et des coopératives. Il offre un soutien financier et technique aux coopératives et encourage les projets communautaires et le leadership des jeunes. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Michelle Switzer à mswitzer@horizons.ca ou au (905) 372-5483, poste 24.

  7. Soirée de gala de l'IDRF. Louise Arbour, la haute commissaire aux droits de l'homme des Nations unies, sera la conférencière principale du Gala 2006 de l'International Development & Relief Foundation. Son discours sera suivi d'un dîner et de prestations musicales. La soirée aura lieu dès 18 h, le dimanche 4 novembre, au Marriott Eaton Centre Hotel à Toronto. Les places étant limitées, il faut réserver les billets à l'avance, au coût de 100 $. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Penny Fancy au (416) 497-0818, poste 26, ou à pfancy@idrf.ca. Pour réserver une place en ligne, visiter le www.idrf.ca.


 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca