CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin


July 21, 2006


  1. Live 8 Concert Anniversary: On the anniversary of the Live 8 concerts, held in advance of last year's G8 meeting in Gleneagles, Make Poverty History called on the G8 leaders, including Prime Minister Stephen Harper, to reaffirm their commitments to end poverty at the G8 meeting in Russia. A press conference was held in Toronto on June 29 with Steven Page of the Barenaked Ladies, David Miller, Mayor of Toronto and Gerry Barr Chair of the Make Poverty History campaign. "The over 2 billion people who watched the Live 8 concerts last year won't stop calling on world leaders to make poverty history," said Steven Page. "The concert was a launching pad for a world wide movement to end poverty. What is needed now is the political will to act." Read the news release at

  2. Giant post-it notes G8 Reminders: Giant post-it notes were affixed to the wall of the Langevin Block on July 13 as a reminder to Prime Minister Stephen Harper to live up to commitments to make poverty history at the G8 meeting in Russia. Make Poverty History supporters in four other G8 countries, France, Germany, United Kingdom, and the United States, also took part in the post-it note action. "When Prime Minister Harper sees the post-it notes outside his office, he will know that we are watching, and that we will report to the quarter million Make Poverty History supporters in Canada on whether he keeps his commitment to end poverty when he meets with other world leaders," said Kathy Vandergrift, member of the Steering Committee of Make Poverty History.

  3. Platform for Canadian Action on Global AIDS: In anticipation of the XVI International AIDS Conference (August 13 to 19), the Global Treatment Access Group (GTAG) developed a common "civil society platform for action" highlighting four areas in which Canada should take action to help address the global AIDS crisis. GTAG is a working group of international development, human rights, humanitarian and AIDS service organizations, trade unions and faith-based groups seeking to improve access to essential medicines and other aspects of care, treatment and support for people living with HIV and AIDS in developing countries. GTAG is accepting endorsements from organizations at By going to the Make Poverty History web site ( an e-mail message can be sent to Prime Minister Stephen Harper asking him to show the world that Canada wants to beat the AIDS pandemic and make poverty history.

Worth Looking At

  1. Civil Society and the Paris Declaration: A background paper, a detailed PowerPoint presentation and the audio files from a CCIC organized workshop on the 2005 Paris Declaration are now available on CCIC's web site. A panel with an official from CIDA and two civil society colleagues from Africa introduced and commented on how the Declaration may affect civil society organizations in the South and North. The audio files are in the language of presentation. Go to

Ethics in a Flash

  1. New Committee Members: The CCIC Board of Directors appointed two new members for the Ethics Review Committee (ERC). Outgoing members Paul Maillet and Al-Noor Nenshi Nathoo have finished their terms. Beginning a two-year mandate are Dr. John Hubert, professor of ethics at Dalhousie University in Halifax, specializing in justice theory/health care ethics, and Susan Quinn, Instructor at Bissett School of Business at Mount Royal College, specializing in human resource ethics. They join sitting members Chuck Masur and Nina Josefowitz. Short bios of the Committee members are available on the Ethics section of the CCIC web site ( The Committee is available to respond to members' questions of an ethical nature related to the CCIC Code of Ethics. The question may relate to either a potential ethical dilemma that you wish to avoid, or an existing dilemma for which you want the ERC's opinion and guidance. The Committee can be contacted through

  2. International Accountability Charter: The heads of 11 leading International NGOs recently endorsed an accountability charter outlining a common commitment to excellence, transparency and accountability. This charter is an important addition to the growing number of Codes and accountability mechanisms established by civil society organizations around the world. The many similarities between this Charter and CCIC's Code of Ethics, one of the first NGO codes to be written, reinforce the common values, principles and commitment to ethical practices that civil society organizations hold globally. The Accountability Charter for International NGOs includes commitment to International Human Rights and principles of responsibility, transparency and equity. It also covers the same areas of ethical practices that CCIC members find to be essential including governance, fundraising, management and human resources. For more information see:
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation |

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 21 juillet 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Anniversaire des concerts Live 8. Pour marquer l'anniversaire des concerts Live 8 qui ont précédé la rencontre du G8 à Gleneagles l'an dernier, la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté a demandé instamment aux dirigeants du G8, en particulier au premier ministre Stephen Harper, de profiter de la rencontre de cette année, en Russie, pour réaffirmer leur volonté d'éliminer la pauvreté. Steven Page, des Barenaked Ladies, David Miller, maire de Toronto et Gerry Barr, président de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, ont présenté une conférence de presse à Toronto le 29 juin dernier. " Les deux milliards et plus de personnes qui ont regardé les concerts Live 8 l'année dernière vont continuer de demander aux dirigeants du monde d'abolir la pauvreté, affirme Steven Page. Le concert a servi de tremplin à l'action mondiale contre la pauvreté. Maintenant, il faut une volonté politique. " Pour lire le communiqué de presse, voir www.makepovertyhistory.ca.

  2. Rappels au G8 sur des " Post it " géants. Ces papillons adhésifs ont été apposés au mur de l'édifice Langevin le 13 juillet pour rappeler au premier ministre Stephen Harper de tenir ses engagements à l'égard de l'abolition de la pauvreté durant la rencontre du G8 en Russie. Des sympathisants de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté de quatre autres pays du G8, soit la France, l'Allemagne, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis, ont également pris part à cette initiative. " Quand le premier ministre Harper verra les papillons adhésifs à l'extérieur de son bureau, il saura que nous le surveillons et que nous dirons au quart de million de militants de la campagne au Canada s'il respecte sa promesse d'éliminer la pauvreté à la rencontre du G8 ", a déclaré Kathy Vandergrift, membre du Comité directeur d'Abolissons la pauvreté.

  3. Programme d'action canadien contre le sida dans le monde. En prévision de la XVIe Conférence internationale sur le sida (du 13 au 19 août), le Global Treatment Access Group (GTAG) a élaboré un programme d'action de la société civile axé sur quatre domaines où le Canada devrait prendre des mesures concrètes pour contribuer à juguler la crise mondiale du sida. Le GTAG est un groupe de travail qui réunit des organisations de développement international, de droits de la personne, d'aide humanitaire et de lutte contre le sida de même que des syndicats et des groupes confessionnels visant à améliorer l'accès aux médicaments essentiels ainsi que d'autres aspects des soins, des traitements et du soutien destinés aux personnes touchées par le sida dans les pays en développement. Les organisations peuvent souscrire à l'adresse www.aidslaw.ca/Maincontent/issues/cts/GTAGplatform2006.htm. On peut également se rendre sur le site web d'Abolissons la pauvreté (www.makepovertyhistory.ca) pour envoyer au premier ministre Stephen Harper un courriel lui demandant de montrer au monde que le Canada entend enrayer la pandémie du sida et abolir la pauvreté.

Vaut un coup d'oeil

  1. Société civile et Déclaration de Paris. Un document d'information, une présentation PowerPoint détaillée et les fichiers sonores d'un atelier du CCCI sur la Déclaration de Paris de 2005 sont maintenant accessibles sur le site web du Conseil. Un groupe d'experts réunissant un représentant de l'ACDI et deux membres de la société civile d'Afrique ont expliqué les incidences possibles de la Déclaration pour les organisations de la société civile du Sud et du Nord. Les fichiers sonores ne sont offerts que dans la langue de présentation. Pour les écouter, voir la page http://ccic.ca/f/002/aid.shtml.

Flash éthique

  1. Nouveaux membres du Conseil. Le conseil d'administration du CCCI a nommé deux nouveaux membres au Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique (CECE). Les anciens membres Paul Maillet et Al-Noor Nenshi Nathoo sont parvenus au terme de leur mandat de deux ans. M. John Hubert, professeur d'éthique à l'Université Dalhousie (Halifax) se spécialisant dans la théorie de la justice et l'éthique des soins de santé, et Mme Susan Quinn, chargée de cours à la Bissett School of Business of Mount Royal College se spécialisant dans l'éthique des ressources humaines, se joignent donc aux membres actuels Chuck Masur et Nina Josefowitz. Les notices biographiques des membres sont affichées dans la section Éthique du site web du CCCI (www.ccic.ca). Le Comité se tient à la disposition des membres pour toute question relative au Code d'éthique du CCCI. Ces questions peuvent porter sur les moyens d'éviter un éventuel dilemme éthique, ou sur un dilemme actuel à propos duquel une organisation aimerait profiter des lumières du CECE. Pour communiquer avec le Comité, écrire à od@ccic.ca.

  2. Charte de responsabilité internationale. Les dirigeants de onze grandes ONG internationales ont récemment ratifié une charte de responsabilité exprimant un engagement commun en matière d'excellence, de transparence et de reddition de comptes. Cette charte constitue un important ajout au nombre croissant de codes et de mécanismes de reddition de comptes établis par les organisations de la société civile du monde entier. Les nombreuses similitudes entre cette charte et le Code d'éthique du CCCI, l'un des tout premiers codes rédigés à l'intention des ONG, accentuent les valeurs, les principes et les règles éthiques auxquels se doivent d'adhérer les organisations de la société civile. La Charte de responsabilité des ONG internationales exige de celles-ci qu'elles s'engagent à respecter les droits internationaux de la personne et les principes de responsabilité, de transparence et d'équité. Elle embrasse également les domaines régis par des règles éthiques que les membres du CCCI considèrent comme essentiels, notamment la saine gestion, la collecte de fonds, les pratiques de gestion et les ressources humaines. Pour en savoir plus, voir le document www.amnesty.org/resources/downloads/INGO_Accountability_Charter.pdf.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca