CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

May 26, 2006

Headlines

  1. Afghan Debate Should Focus on Mandate: Canadian NGOs, in advance of the debate on extending the Canadian mission in Afghanistan, called on the government to focus attention on the mandate of the Canadian mission in Afghanistan and not make pre-mature decisions about extending the mission. "What is lacking and desperately needed is a mandate for the mission that is clearly focused on civilian protection and peace-making." said Gerry Barr President and CEO of the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC). There is also a need for clarity about the roles and responsibilities of military and development actors. The military should do security, not reconstruction and development. When aid is used for military purposes, both the recipients of aid and aid workers are put at risk. Read the full news release at www.ccic.ca.

  2. "Failed and Fragile" States: In response to an Ottawa Citizen editorial stating that "failed and fragile" states are a threat to Canada's security and need to be "fixed", a CCIC letter to the editor was published May 20. CCIC critiqued the threat-centred approach to "fragile states" and argued that Canada needs to take a human rights based approach to states with weak governance and mired in violent conflict. For more information, contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca and to read the letter to the editor visit www.ccic.ca.

  3. Platform for Action on AIDS: The Global Treatment Access Group (GTAG) has developed a common "civil society platform for action" highlighting four areas of action for Canada to help address the global AIDS crisis. In early August, in the lead-up to the AIDS 2006 conference, the platform will be launched and presented to Prime Minister Stephen Harper. GTAG is a working group of international development, human rights, humanitarian and AIDS service organizations, trade unions and faith-based groups seeking to improve access to essential medicines and other aspects of care, treatment and support for people living with HIV/AIDS in developing countries. GTAG is accepting platform endorsements until July 14. For a copy of the platform go to www.aidslaw.ca/Maincontent/issues/cts/GTAGplatform2006.htm.

  4. Public Engagement Reference Group Launched: The newly formed CCIC Public Engagement Reference Group met early in May to provide strategic input on CCIC's future role and activities to support members' work in public engagement and active global citizenship. Members also helped to map key factors influencing work in this area (eg. participation in Make Poverty History, issues related to infrastructure and resources, etc.) and highlighted evident weaknesses, strengths and potential areas to build on in the next year and beyond. The group will serve as a consultative body for CCIC. For further information contact Sue Cass at scass@ccic.ca.

Make Poverty History

  1. Mark Your Calendars: Make Poverty History days of action for 2006 will include: June 29 - Anniversary of Live 8 and G8 report card; August 13 to 18 - HIV/AIDS conference in Toronto; and September 16 to October 17 - White Band international month of action culminating on October 17, United Nations Day for the Eradication of Poverty. More information will be available soon at www.makepoverthistory.ca.

Upcoming Events

  1. Results Based Management: Are we there yet? It has been ten years since CIDA adopted Results Based Management (RBM). What has been learned to make better use of RBM in reporting, strengthening partner organizations, working with communities and in seeing greater impact on the field? In November 2005, a workshop explored the challenges, opportunities and ways forward in working with RBM. On Friday, June 2 from 9:00am to 10:30 at the Voluntary Centre in Ottawa, Anna Miller of the Canadian Physicians for Aid and Relief, Donald Nseljani of the University of Toronto and Will Postma of World Vision will present their reflections on the November workshop. The workshop report will be available as of May 29 from www.arewethereyet2005.com.

Worth Looking At

  1. Killing the Messenger: Sandra Rodriguez's book Solidarités renouvelées. Faut-il tuer le messager? explores the difficulties of mobilizing and engaging civil society, particularly youth. Rodriguez argues that although there is an interest in international issues among youth, NGOs need to re-think how they communicate to more effectively bring them into their organizations. Solidarités renouvelées is published by Presses de l'Université du Québec. To order on-line go to www.puq.ca.

Ethics in a Flash

  1. Dear Ms Ethics: Recently our Board received a letter about staff-Board relations. If the letter is discussed at a Board meeting, should it be made available to members or the general public if someone requests it later? What does the Code of Ethics say about secrecy of information of Civil Society Organizations? Being transparent


  2. Dear Transparent: Public trust is a core asset of organizations. Board transparency is key to maintaining trust - Code of Ethics section 3.3 "the affairs of the organization shall be conducted with integrity and transparency". Transparency through disclosure is a good default position because of the principles of respect/truth-telling (to donors, government, and beneficiaries) and trust (in organizations). But what about respect for the people named in a letter? Is there good reason for not disclosing information? A letter's content is key, as is the question: what are the chances of causing undue harm or compromising someone's legitimate privacy? Imagine a letter challenging the integrity of an employee is later determined to be unfounded and that the organization's policy renders the letter, as part of its board proceedings, public. Later, a potential employer Googles the name, reads the allegation and decides not to hire the applicant. Boards must balance truth-telling and trust, with possible harm and respect for privacy. There is no prescription for what is right in every situation, but starting with transparency, and allowing exceptions only where there is reasonable likelihood of causing undue harm or compromising legitimate privacy, may be a useful approach.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 26 mai 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Le débat sur l'Afghanistan doit tenir compte du mandat de la mission canadienne. À l'approche du débat sur la prolongation de la mission canadienne en Afghanistan, les ONG canadiennes ont demandé au gouvernement de concentrer son attention sur le mandat de la mission et de ne pas prendre de décision précipitée. " Il est absolument indispensable que le mandat clairement de la mission porte sur la protection des civiles et le rétablissement de la paix ", a déclaré Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI). Il faut également clarifier les rôles respectifs de l'armée et des organismes de développement. L'armée doit s'occuper de sécurité, et non de relèvement et de développement. Lorsque l'aide internationale est affectée à des activités militaires, on met en péril à la fois les bénéficiaires de cette aide et les travailleurs humanitaires. On peut lire le communiqué à l'adresse www.ccic.ca.

  2. États " fragiles et en déroute ". Le CCCI a réagi à un éditorial du Ottawa Citizen qui décrivait les États " fragiles et en déroute " comme une menace pour la sécurité du Canada. Dans la lettre publiée le 20 mai, le CCCI rejette cette vision axée sur la menace et avance que le Canada doit plutôt aborder les États faibles et déchirés par des conflits violents du point de vue des droits de la personne. Pour en savoir plus, joindre Erin Simpson à esimpson@ccic.ca. Pour lire la lettre, voir le site www.ccic.ca.

  3. Programme d'action sur le sida dans le monde. En vue de SIDA 2006, Treatment Access Group (GTAG) a élaboré un programme d'action de la société civile, qui présente quatre domaines où le Canada devrait passer aux actes afin de contribuer à juguler la crise mondiale du sida. À l'approche de SIDA 2006, au début d'août, aura lieu le lancement de ce programme, lequel sera présenté au premier ministre du Canada. Le GTAG est un groupe de travail réunissant des organismes de développement international, de droits humains, d'aide humanitaire, de lutte au VIH-sida ainsi que des syndicats et des groupes confessionnels, dans le but d'élargir l'accès aux médicaments essentiels et d'autres aspects des soins, des traitements et du soutien à l'intention des personnes vivant avec le VIH-sida dans les pays en développement. Les organismes peuvent souscrire d'ici au 14 juillet. Pour obtenir un exemplaire du programme voir le site www.aidslaw.ca/francais/Contenu/themes/soinstraitements/GTAGprogdaction2006.htm.

  4. Groupe de référence sur l'engagement du public. Les membres du nouveau Groupe de référence sur l'engagement du public du CCCI tenaient une réunion dans le but d'examiner le rôle du CCCI et les activités qu'il doit entreprendre pour seconder ses membres en matière d'engagement du public et de citoyenneté mondiale active. Le Groupe a également dressé une liste des principaux facteurs influant sur les actions dans ce domaine (participation à la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, difficultés liées à l'infrastructure et aux ressources, etc.) et a mis en évidence les forces et faiblesses, de même que certains domaines d'intervention qu'il conviendrait de développer au cours des années à venir. Ce groupe jouera le rôle d'organisme consultatif pour le CCCI. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Sue Cass à scass@ccic.ca.

Abolissons la pauvreté

  1. Inscrire à l'agenda ! Voici les dates importantes pour la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté en 2006 : le 29 juin (anniversaire de Live 8 et publication du bilan du G8), du 13 au 18 août (Congrès international sur le sida à Toronto), et du 16 septembre au 17 octobre (mois d'action internationale qui se conclura par la Journée internationale du bracelet blanc le 17 octobre, qui est également la Journée internationale des Nations Unies pour l'élimination de la pauvreté). De plus amples renseignements seront bientôt disponibles au www.abolissonslapauvreté.ca.

À venir

  1. La gestion axée sur les résultats : Y sommes-nous ?... Voilà maintenant dix ans que l'ACDI a adopté la gestion axée sur les résultats (GAR). Dans quelle mesure a-t-on appris à intégrer efficacement cette approche à la création de rapports, au renforcement des organisations partenaires, à la collaboration avec le milieu et à l'amélioration des résultats sur le terrain ? Un atelier tenu en novembre 2005 a permis d'analyser les difficultés et perspectives concernant la GAR. Le vendredi 2 juin, de 9 h à 10 h 30, au Centre Bénévoles Canada Volunteers à Ottawa, Anna Miller, de Canadian Physicians for Aid and Relief, Donald Nseljani, de l'Université de Toronto et Will Postma, de Vision mondiale, dresseront leur bilan de cet atelier. Le compte rendu de l'événement sera accessible en ligne à partir du 29 mai au www.arewethereyet2005.com/fr_index-html.

Vaut un coup d'oeil

  1. Tuer le messager. Le livre de Sandra Rodriguez, Solidarités renouvelées. Faut-il tuer le messager ?, analyse les difficultés liées à la mobilisation et à l'engagement de la société civile, tout particulièrement chez les jeunes. Sandra Rodriguez affirme que pour rallier les jeunes intéressés par la coopération internationale, les ONG devront repenser leurs pratiques de la communication. Solidarités renouvelées est publié aux Presses de l'Université du Québec. On peut le commander en ligne à l'adresse www.puq.ca.

Flash éthique

  1. Chère Madame Éthique… Dernièrement, notre conseil d'administration a reçu une lettre au sujet des relations entre le C.A. et le personnel. Si cette lettre figure à l'ordre du jour d'une réunion du C.A., faudra-t-il en communiquer le texte aux membres ou au grand public advenant le cas où nous recevrions une telle
    demande ? Que dit le Code d'éthique au sujet de la confidentialité des renseignements détenus par une organisation de la société civile ? Transparence


  2. Chère Transparence… La confiance du public est indispensable à toute organisation, et la transparence de son conseil d'administration est gage de confiance. Comme il est indiqué à l'article 3.3 du Code d'éthique : " L'Organisation gère ses affaires avec intégrité et transparence. " Il est bon, pour faire preuve de transparence que tous les documents soient mis à la disposition du public en vertu des principes de respect et de vérité (envers les donateurs, l'État et les bénéficiaires) et de confiance (envers les organisations). Mais qu'en est-il des renseignements personnels contenus dans une lettre ? Existe-t-il une bonne raison, dans ce cas, de ne pas divulguer l'information ? Tout dépend du contenu, ainsi que du risque de voir la divulgation du texte entraîner un préjudice indu ou compromettre la vie privée qu'une personne. Supposons qu'une lettre mette en cause l'intégrité d'un employé mais que les propos qui y sont tenus s'avèrent plus tard sans fondement. Supposons ensuite que, par principe, l'organisme rende la lettre publique avec les dossiers de son conseil d'administration. Plus tard, un employeur éventuel pourrait taper le nom de la personne dans Google, lire les allégations et décider de rejeter sa candidature. Ainsi, le C.A. doit trouver un équilibre entre, d'une part les principes de vérité et de confiance d'une part et, d'autre part celui de protection des renseignements personnels. Il n'existe pas de règle absolue, mais l'idéal serait d'opter pour la transparence d'abord et de ne restreindre ce principe que dans les cas où il y a un motif raisonnable de porter des préjudices à une personne ou d'aliéner son droit légitime à la vie privée.

     

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca