CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

May 12, 2006

Headlines

  1. Canada Lobbying to Expand ODA Criteria: Canada is pressing to expand the criteria for ODA to include more military and security expenditures, according to a Canadian Press article of May 6, 2006. A briefing note for Foreign Affairs Minister Peter MacKay, obtained through Access to Information, makes clear that Canada is not only in favour of expanding the criteria, but plans to lobby within the G8 to gain support for this shift. Quoted in the article in response to the document, CCIC's President and CEO, Gerry Barr commented that the shift is "…just a plain invitation to vagary and alternative uses of aid money, which is already a problem with the donor community." For more information, contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca.

  2. Conservative Budget Mum on Foreign Aid: Canadian development organizations were deeply disappointed the world's poor did not merit mention in Finance Minister Jim Flaherty's first budget speech. Although the Government will continue with the Liberal policy of increasing foreign aid spending by 8 percent, the May 2, 2006 budget failed to outline a timetable to meet the Conservatives' own election promises for aid spending. During the election, the Conservatives committed to reaching the average spending levels for aid of all donor countries by 2010. They also promised to add a further $425 million to foreign aid. There was no mention of any of these increases in the budget. For the news release go to www.ccic.ca/e/004/news_2006_05_02_conservative_budget_mum_on_foreign_aid.shtml. For CCIC's review of the budget see www.ccic.ca/e/docs/002_aid_federal_budget_may_2006.pdf

  3. Capital Gains Tax Eliminated: The federal budget included the elimination of the capital gains tax for donations to charities. This is a full elimination, effective immediately, and also extends to land. Private foundations, however, are not included in this change, but there is a commitment by the government to consider further changes. The Prime Minister had previously stated that the elimination of the Capital Gains Tax is intended to "facilitate greater levels of charitable giving, by removing the capital gains tax on listed stocks donated to charities."

  4. U2's Bono Reacts to Canada's Federal Budget: On May 5 Bono released the following statement through Make Poverty History Canada. "With this budget Flaherty and Harper seem to be breaking an election pledge to increase Canadian aid by more than the previous government. This isn't about abstract aid targets and vague promises. This is about effective initiatives to save lives, provide AIDS drugs, get kids in school and make a better world. This government has a small window to turn this around. Many lives depend on whether it does."

  5. Private Members' Bills on Aid Legislation Tabled: Private members' Bills calling for aid legislation that would make ending poverty the guiding objective of all aid spending were tabled by Alexa McDonough of the New Democratic Party and Daryl Kramp of the Conservative Party. Both CCIC and Make Poverty History have been calling for such legislation. Gerry Barr, CCIC's President and CEO and the Co-chair of Make Poverty History said that "Legislation will help ensure that aid spending is accountable, transparent and effective."

Upcoming Events

  1. Corporate Social Responsibility Roundtables: The Canadian government, in November 2005, agreed to hold five roundtables on corporate social responsibility (CSR). The roundtables, scheduled to take place in five cities between June and December 2006, will develop recommendations for action by government, industry and civil society on the ways in which the Canadian international extractive sector can improve its corporate social responsibility performance. The roundtables will hear from expert witnesses from industry, civil society, and Aboriginal peoples, as well as the general public. For updates on the roundtables, contact Andrea Botto, Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability, cnca@halifaxinitiative.org or (613) 789-9368.

  2. Reminder - Africa-Canada Forum Colloquium on HIV/AIDS, Poverty and Development: Building on the growing momentum of the XVI International AIDS Conference in Toronto, CCIC's Africa-Canada Forum (ACF) is organizing a one-day colloquium in Ottawa June 5: "Understanding HIV/AIDS in the Context of Development and Poverty in Africa." The colloquium will provide an opportunity for ACF members to deepen their understanding and analysis of HIV-AIDS issues and their links to broader processes of poverty and development. For more information, contact sperras@ccic.ca.

  3. Who Cares? The Human Dimension of Global Health: The 13th Canadian Conference on International Health will explore the field of human resources, across all aspects of the health system, and encourage a broad, but critical, approach to the theme stressing the links between research, advocacy and action. The Canadian Society for International Health, in partnership with the Canadian Coalition for Global Health Research, invites practitioners, researchers, educators, policy makers, and community advocates to debate some of the most controversial issues related to global health. The call for abstracts is available on the website (www.csih.org). The deadline is May 15.

Worth Looking At

  1. Aid and security: Two new fact sheets from CCIC address the relationship between aid and security, and debunk the myths around the need to expand aid criteria to include more military and security expenditures. See www.ccic.ca or contact esimpson@ccic.ca for more information.

  2. Youth Opinion Poll: Conducted by Environics Research Group, the War Child Canada Youth Opinion Poll is a national public opinion survey of young Canadians' attitudes towards human rights and international issues. In total, 750 Canadian youth (5 to 24 years old) from all parts of the country were surveyed. Survey results show that peacekeeping and foreign aid are seen as Canada's most positive contributions to the world and that youth in Quebec appear to be better informed about global issues than youth in the rest of Canada. For more information go to www.warchild.ca/news_article.asp?ID=158.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 12 mai 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Le Canada milite pour l'élargissement des critères de l'APD. Selon un article de la Presse canadienne daté du 6 mai 2006, le Canada fait pression pour élargir les critères d'admissibilité à l'APD pour augmenter les dépenses au titre des activités militaires et de sécurité. En effet, dans une note d'information adressée au ministre des Affaires étrangères, Peter MacKay, obtenue en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, le gouvernement du Canada indique clairement qu'il est non seulement en faveur de cette mesure, mais qu'il compte même la défendre au G8. L'article cite la réaction du président-directeur général du CCCI, Gerry Barr, qui veut que cette position constitue " ni plus ni moins qu'une porte ouverte à l'arbitraire et au détournement des fonds destinés à l'aide internationale, problème déjà présent chez les donateurs ". Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Erin Simpson à esimpson@ccic.ca.

  2. Le budget conservateur reste muet au sujet de l'aide internationale. C'est avec consternation que les organisations canadiennes de développement ont noté que le premier exposé budgétaire du ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, passait totalement sous silence le problème de la pauvreté dans le monde. Bien que le gouvernement maintienne la politique libérale visant à augmenter de 8 p. 100 l'aide internationale, le budget des conservateurs, présenté le 2 mai 2006, ne comprend aucun échéancier permettant de croire que les conservateurs respecteront leur propre promesse électorale à l'égard de l'aide internationale. Pendant les élections, en effet, les conservateurs se sont engagés à atteindre la moyenne des pays donateurs d'ici à 2010 et à injecter 425 millions de dollars supplémentaires dans l'enveloppe d'aide internationale. Pourtant, le budget reste muet sur ces hausses. À ce sujet, lire le communiqué à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/004/news_2006_05_02_conservative_budget_mum_on_foreign_aid.shtml et l'analyse budgétaire du CCCI, au www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_aid_federal_budget_may_2006.pdf.

  3. Suppression de l'impôt sur les gains en capital. Le budget fédéral prévoit l'abolition de l'impôt sur les gains en capital tirés des dons faits aux organisations de bienfaisance. La suppression complète, en vigueur dès maintenant, s'applique également aux terres. Toutefois, les fondations privées ne sont pas encore visées par ce changement, bien que le gouvernement ait laissé entrevoir la possibilité d'étendre la portée de cette mesure. Le premier ministre a déclaré dernièrement qu'elle visait à " faciliter les dons aux œuvres de charité en supprimant l'impôt sur les gains en capital sur les actions cotées qui leur sont données. "

  4. Le chanteur de U2 réagit au budget du gouvernement du Canada. Le 5 mai dernier, Bono a fait la déclaration suivante par l'entremise d'Abolissons la pauvreté Canada : " Il semble bien que par ce budget, Messieurs Flaherty et Harper brisent leur promesse électorale d'accroître l'aide canadienne plus rapidement que le gouvernement précédent. Il ne s'agit pas ici d'objectifs abstraits ni de vagues promesses, mais bien d'initiatives concrètes pour sauver des vies, pour distribuer des médicaments aux personnes atteintes du sida, pour permettre aux enfants de s'instruire et pour améliorer notre monde. Il reste peu de temps pour que le gouvernement renverse la situation, et de nombreuses vies en dépendent. " [trad.]

  5. Dépôt de projets de lois d'initiative parlementaire sur l'aide internationale.
    Alexa McDonough, du Nouveau Parti Démocratique, et Daryl Kramp, du Parti conservateur, ont déposé des projets de loi sur l'aide internationale qui feraient de l'abolition de la pauvreté la finalité des dépenses d'aide internationale, conformément aux revendications du CCCI et de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. Selon Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du CCCI et coprésident de la campagne, " cette loi garantirait la responsabilité, la transparence et l'efficacité en matière d'aide internationale. "

À venir

  1. Tables rondes sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. En novembre 2005, le gouvernement canadien acceptait d'organiser cinq tables rondes sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE). Ces activités, qui devraient se dérouler dans cinq villes entre juin et décembre 2006, serviront à formuler des recommandations à l'intention du gouvernement, du secteur privé et de la société civile sur les moyens d'accroître la responsabilité sociale des entreprises canadiennes d'extraction minière qui exploitent à l'étranger. Les tables rondes comporteront des exposés de témoins experts du secteur privé, de la société civile, de la communauté autochtone et du grand public. Pour suivre l'exercice, communiquer avec Andrea Botto, de Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability, à cnca@halifaxinitiative.org ou, au (613) 789-9368.

  2. Rappel : colloque du Forum Afrique-Canada sur le VIH-sida - pauvreté et développement. À l'approche de la XVIe Congrès international sur le sida qui aura lieu à Toronto, le Forum Afrique-Canada (FAC) a décidé d'organiser un colloque d'une journée à Ottawa le 5 juin : " Le VIH-sida dans le contexte de la pauvreté et du développement en Afrique ". Ce colloque offrira aux membres du FAC l'occasion d'analyser et de mieux comprendre les divers aspects du VIH-sida dans le contexte global de la pauvreté et du développement. Pour de plus amples renseignements, écrire à sperras@ccic.ca.

  3. Dimension humaine de la santé globale : qui s'en préoccupe? La XIIIe Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale portera sur les ressources humaines dans les divers éléments du système de santé. Elle mettra également en avant une approche générale mais critique de ce thème en faisant ressortir les liens entre recherche, revendication et action. La Société canadienne de santé internationale, en collaboration avec la Coalition canadienne pour la recherche en santé mondiale, invite les praticiens, les chercheurs, les pédagogues, les décisionnaires et les militants communautaires à prendre part aux débats sur certains des dossiers les plus controversés en matière de santé mondiale. Vous pouvez remplir une demande de communications sur le site web de la Société (www.csih.org). Date d'échéance : 15 mai.

Vaut un coup d'oeil

  1. Aide et sécurité : Le CCCI a publié deux nouveaux feuillets de renseignements sur le lien entre aide et sécurité qui jettent bas les mythes entourant la nécessité d'élargir les critères définitoires d'aide internationale afin d'y inclure davantage de dépenses liées aux activités militaires et à la sécurité. Pour en savoir plus, visiter le www.ccic.ca ou écrire à esimpson@ccic.ca.

  2. Sondage d'opinion jeunesse : Environics Research Group a réalisé un sondage national d'opinion publique pour le compte de War Child Canada, visant à recueillir l'opinion des jeunes Canadiennes et Canadiens sur les droits de la personne et des enjeux internationaux. Ont participé, 750 jeunes des quatre coins du pays âgés de 5 à 24 ans. Les conclusions montrent que le maintien de la paix et l'aide internationale sont perçus comme des apports indéniables du Canada au monde, et que les jeunes québécois semblent mieux informés des dossiers internationaux que ceux du reste du pays. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter l'adresse www.warchild.ca/news_article.asp?ID=158.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca