CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

April 28, 2006

Headlines

  1. Federal Budget Date Set: Stephen Harper's Conservative government will deliver its first budget on Tuesday May 2. CCIC has prepared a number of budget documents (Pre-budget Backgrounder and Pre-budget Backgrounder Briefing Note) that can be found at www.ccic.ca/e/docs/002_aid_2006_03_pre-budget_backgrounder.pdf and www.ccic.ca/e/docs/002_aid_2006-03_pre-budget_brief.pdf.

  2. Aid Numbers Inflated: The OECD DAC preliminary aid figures for 2005 suggest that ODA increased by more than 30% from 2004 to US$106 billion. The overall performance ratio reached 0.33% of donor Gross National Income (GNI), up from 0.26%. These increases, however, include the full value of cancelled Iraqi and Nigerian debt - more than US$23 billion. Total ODA increased by less than 9% when debt cancellation is removed. Under DAC rules, these additions to aid are allowed, but are also misleading as the actual annual benefit to the poor is significantly less than the face value. In 2005, UK aid actually decreased from 2004 levels when debt cancellation and other inflated items are removed. Canadian aid also increased by 30% according to the DAC, reaching 0.34% of Canadian GNI. When US$455 million in Canadian debt cancellation is removed, Canadian aid increased by only 17% and our aid performance drops to 0.30% of GNI. For more information see www.oecd.org/document/40/0,2340,en_2649_33721_36418344_1_1_1_1,00.html.

  3. WTO Deadline Missed and Process Blocked: World Trade Organization (WTO) members have conceded they have failed to meet the April 30 deadline, set in Hong Kong, to reach agreement on text for key negotiating issues in agriculture and industrial goods. Earlier this month, civil society groups world wide, including CCIC, sent an open letter to WTO Director General, Pascal Lamy raising serious concerns about a proposed April Mini-Ministerial meeting among a few select WTO countries to help break the deadlock. The proposal to have a Ministerial at such short notice was in contradiction to Lamy's previously stated commitment to an inclusive approach to the negotiations. WTO negotiations are deadlocked with no new deadline set, but the process to reach agreement continues. For a copy of the civil society letter e-mail gauri@ccic.ca.

  4. Capital Gains Exemption on Gifts: Prime Minister Stephen Harper recently addressed the St. Johns Board of Trade where he re-iterated his campaign commitment to eliminate capital gains on gifts of stocks to charities. The Prime Minister said, "We are also going to facilitate greater levels of charitable giving, by removing the capital gains tax on listed stocks donated to charities. Once implemented, this measure will make it that much easier for generous men and women to donate to the charity, or charities, of their choice, a move, which in turn, will strengthen all Canadian communities". For more information go to www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20060425.wcomment0425/BNStory/National/home.

Make Poverty History

  1. International Month of Action Announced: The Global Call to Action Against Poverty, the international arm of Canada's Make Poverty History campaign, is calling for an international month of action against poverty from September 16 to October 17. This month will culminate with an international White Band Day on October 17, the United Nations International Day for the Eradication of Poverty. The white band is the symbol of the campaign. For more information go to www.makepovertyhistory.ca or www.whiteband.org.

Upcoming Events

  1. Africa-Canada Forum Colloquium on HIV/AIDS: Building on the growing momentum of the XVI International AIDS Conference in Toronto, CCIC's Africa-Canada Forum (ACF) is organizing a one-day colloquium in Ottawa June 5: "Understanding HIV/AIDS in the Context of Development and Poverty in Africa." The colloquium will provide an opportunity for ACF members to deepen their understanding and analysis of HIV-AIDS issues and their links to broader processes of poverty and development. Panelists from Africa and Canada will address HIV/AIDS in the wider contexts of globalization, gender inequity and food insecurity. For registration or other information on the colloquium, contact sperras@ccic.ca.

  2. Conference Reminder - The Tsunami Crisis: "The Canadian Civil Society Response to the Tsunami Crisis: Challenges, Opportunities & Lessons Learned" will be an opportunity for in-depth discussion on key issues that affect civil society and the response to the tsunami. Confirmed speakers include Sasa Petricic, CBC videojournalist for The National; Wardah Hafidz, Indonesian Human Rights Activist and Recipient of the 2005 Gwangju Prize for Human Rights; and Lai-Ling Lee, Acting Programs Director, Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF). French and English interpretation will be available. This Asia Pacific Working Group conference, May 1 and 2 will be held in Ottawa. To register contact Sara Kemp at skemp@ccic.ca or (613) 241-7007 ext. 316.

  3. 2006 Ethical Trading Forum May 18: The Ethical Trading Action Group (ETAG), is hosting the 2006 Ethical Trading Forum, "Will transparent reporting lead to better labour practices? Lessons from the garment industry," on May 18, at the University of Toronto. The forum will examine what companies should report on labour rights issues, why and to whom, and how companies can collaborate with each other and with labour and non-governmental organizations to tackle systemic problems in supply chains. Speakers include leaders in labour rights and corporate accountability in the garment industry, and will address issue in a wide range of industries including apparel, electronics, groceries and other consumer goods. For more information contact pclaeys@maquilasolidarity.org.

  4. World Literacy "Power of Five" Readings: Five authors (Joan Barfoot, Karen Connelly, Charlotte Gray, Diana Beresford-Kroeger and Kim Ondaatje) will be reading from work focusing on the theme of the power of women to change the world through words and actions. This special Ottawa reading event is a partnership with the Library and Archives Canada, Nicholas Hoare, Sasquatch Reading Series, St. Mary's Home and Immaculata High School. The reading will take place May 9 at 6:30 at the Library and Archives Canada. Tickets ($20.00 with a $10.00 charitable receipt) are available from Nicholas Hoare Bookstore at 419 Sussex Dr. in Ottawa. For more information contact Linda Roger at (461) 977-0008 or Linda@worldlit.ca.

  5. APG General Meeting: The Americas Policy Group (APG) General Meeting will examine the current Canadian political landscape in relation to the APG's work in the Americas and Canadian investment in Colombia as well as the impacts of the conflict in Colombia on the Andean region. The meeting will take place in Ottawa (CCIC's boardroom) May 10 to 11. For more information contact Nadja Drost at ndrost@ccic.ca.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 28 avril 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. La date du dépôt du budget fédéral est maintenant connue. Le gouvernement conservateur de Stephen Harper déposera son premier budget le mardi 2 mai. Le CCCI a rédigé des documents à ce sujet (dont deux notes d'information prébudgétaire) que l'on peut lire à l'adresse www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_aid_2006-03_pre-budget_brief.pdf et www.ccic.ca/f/docs/002_aid_2006_03_pre-budget_backgrounder.pdf.

  2. Aide internationale : chiffres gonflés. Selon les chiffres préliminaires du CAD de l'OCDE pour 2005, l'APD aurait augmenté de plus de 30 p. 100 par rapport à 2004 pour atteindre 106 milliards de dollars US. Le ratio global entre l'aide et le revenu national brut (RNB) atteindrait 0,33 p. 100, comparativement à 0,26 p. 100 l'année précédente. Toutefois, ces chiffres comprennent l'annulation des dettes de l'Irak et du Nigeria, qui représente plus de 23 milliards de dollars US. Abstraction faite de ce facteur, l'augmentation de l'APD est inférieure à 9 p. 100. Les règles du CAD autorisent la comptabilisation des dettes annulées, mais ce procédé est trompeur, car le résultat laisse croire à des retombées pour les pauvres beaucoup plus importantes qu'elles ne le sont en réalité. En fait, l'aide du Royaume-Uni a même diminué par rapport à 2004 si on retranche l'annulation de la dette et les autres éléments artificiels. Toujours selon le CAD, l'aide internationale canadienne aurait également augmenté de 30 p. 100 pour atteindre 0,34 p. 100 du RNB. Cependant, si on soustrait les 455 millions de dollars US que représente l'annulation de la dette, on constate que l'aide internationale canadienne n'a augmenté que de 17 p. 100 et que son ratio par rapport au RNB plafonne à 0,30 p. 100. Pour en savoir plus : www.oecd.org/document/40/0,2340,fr_2649_33721_36418526_1_1_1_1,00.html.

  3. OMC : échéance ratée et négociations dans l'impasse. Les membres de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) reconnaissent qu'ils ont raté l'échéance du 30 avril, convenue à Hong Kong, pour la conclusion d'une entente sur le texte de base devant servir aux importantes négociations portant sur l'agriculture et les biens industriels. Plus tôt ce mois-ci, les groupes de la société civile de partout dans le monde, y compris le CCCI, ont envoyé une lettre ouverte au directeur général de l'OMC, Pascal Lamy, pour lui faire part de leur vive inquiétude au sujet d'une mini-rencontre ministérielle, projetée pour avril, à laquelle ne participeraient qu'un petit nombre de pays triés sur le volet pour débloquer le processus. Cette idée va à l'encontre de l'intention exprimée par M. Lamy d'ouvrir les négociations au plus grand nombre d'États possible. Ainsi, les négociations de l'OMC sont dans une impasse et aucune nouvelle échéance n'a été fixée, mais les pourparlers continuent. Pour recevoir le texte de la lettre, écrire à gauri@ccic.ca.

  4. Exonération fiscale sur les gains en capital pour les dons. Dans un discours prononcé devant le St. John's Board of Trade, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a réitéré l'engagement qu'il avait pris, pendant la campagne, d'éliminer l'impôt sur les gains en capital pour les actions données à un organisme de bienfaisance. Le premier ministre a en effet déclaré : " Nous allons faciliter les dons aux œuvres de charité en supprimant l'impôt sur les gains en capitaux sur les actions enregistrées qui leur sont données. Une fois cette mesure mise en œuvre, il sera beaucoup plus facile pour les femmes et les hommes généreux de faire des dons aux œuvres de bienfaisance de leur choix, ce qui aura pour effet de renforcer les communautés canadiennes. " Pour en savoir plus, voir le site www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20060425.wcomment0425/BNStory/National/home (disponible seulement en anglais)

Abolissons la pauvreté

  1. Mois d'action internationale. L'Action mondiale contre la pauvreté, organisme international dont Abolissons la pauvreté constitue le volet canadien, a annoncé la tenue d'un mois d'action internationale contre la pauvreté. Le mois débutera le 16 septembre pour se conclure par la Journée internationale du bracelet blanc le 17 octobre, qui est également la Journée internationale des Nations unies pour l'élimination de la pauvreté. Le bracelet blanc est le symbole de la campagne. Pour en savoir plus, voir les sites www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca ou www.whiteband.org/index_html/switchLanguage?set_language=fr.

À venir

  1. Colloque du Forum Afrique-Canada sur le VIH-sida. À l'approche du XVIe Congrès international sur le sida qui aura lieu à Toronto, le Forum Afrique-Canada (FAC) du CCCI organise un colloque d'une journée à Ottawa le 5 juin sous le thème " Comprendre le VIH-SIDA dans le contexte de la pauvreté et du développement en Afrique ". Ce colloque offrira aux membres du FAC l'occasion de se pencher sur les enjeux liés au HIV-sida ainsi que sur les rapports entre ce fléau, la pauvreté et le développement. Des conférenciers d'Afrique et du Canada traiteront du HIV-sida dans le contexte de la mondialisation, de l'inégalité entre les sexes et de l'insécurité alimentaire. Pour s'inscrire ou en savoir plus sur le colloque : sperras@ccic.ca.

  2. Rappel : conférence sur le tsunami. La conférence du Groupe de travail de
    l'Asie-Pacifique, sous le thème Réaction de la société civile canadienne à la crise du tsunami : obstacles, perspectives et leçons apprises, offrira aux participants l'occasion de débattre des questions de fond ayant une incidence sur la société civile et sur les actions menées à la suite du tsunami. Parmi les conférenciers ayant confirmé leur présence figurent Sasa Petricic, vidéojournaliste de la CBC pour The National, Wardah Hafidz, militante indonésienne pour les droits de la personne et récipiendaire du 2005 Gwangju Prize for Human Rights, et Lai-Ling Lee, directrice des programmes par intérim de Médecins sans frontières (MSF). Il y aura des services d'interprétation dans les deux langues officielles. La conférence aura lieu les 1er et 2 mai à Ottawa. Pour s'inscrire, communiquer avec Sara Kemp, à skemp@ccic.ca ou au (613) 241-7007, poste 316.

  3. Forum sur le commerce éthique 2006 le 18 mai. L'Ethical Trading Action Group (ETAG) organise son forum 2006 sur le commerce éthique, qui aura pour thème Will transparent reporting lead to better labour practices? Lessons from the garment industry. L'événement aura lieu le 18 mai à l'Université de Toronto. On y traitera des faits et chiffres que les sociétés devraient déclarer en matière de droits du travail, des raisons pour lesquelles elles doivent le faire, des destinataires légitimes de ces rapports et de la manière dont les entreprises peuvent collaborer entre elles et avec les syndicats et les organisations non gouvernementales pour régler les problèmes systémiques de chaîne d'approvisionnement. Parmi les conférenciers figureront des militants de premier plan pour les droits du travail et la responsabilité des entreprises du vêtement qui traiteront des problèmes de divers secteurs, notamment ceux de l'habillement, de l'électronique, de l'alimentation au détail et d'autres biens de consommation. Renseignements : pclaeys@maquilasolidarity.org.

  4. Conférences Power of Five de World Literacy. Cinq auteures (Joan Barfoot, Karen Connelly, Charlotte Gray, Diana Beresford-Kroeger et Kim Ondaatje) liront des extraits d'ouvrages portant sur le pouvoir des femmes de changer le monde par la parole et l'action. Cette soirée-conférence spéciale est organisée en partenariat avec Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, Nicholas Hoare, Sasquatch Reading Series, St. Mary's Home et Immaculata High School. Elle aura lieu le 9 mai à 18 h 30, à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, à Ottawa. Les billets (20 $, donnant droit à un reçu de charité de 10 $) sont en vente à la librairie Nicholas Hoare, au 419, promenade Sussex, à Ottawa. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Linda Roger, au (416) 977-0008 ou à Linda@worldlit.ca.

  5. Assemblée générale du GOPA. L'assemblée générale du Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) portera sur le paysage politique canadien actuel en rapport avec le travail du GOPA en Amérique, les investissements du Canada en Colombie, et les répercussions du conflit en Colombie et dans la région andine. Elle se tiendra à Ottawa (salle du conseil du CCCI) les 10 et 11 mai. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Nadja Drost, à ndrost@ccic.ca.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca