CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

April 13, 2006

Headlines

  1. Afghan Mission Debate Welcome and Needed: Canadian NGOs welcomed the announcement of the debate in the House of Commons on the Afghanistan mission. CCIC called for the debate to focus on the mandate of the military operations, military and civilian roles in development, and the effectiveness of the current approach in Afghanistan. To read the news release and CCIC's briefing note "Canada in Afghanistan" go to www.ccic.ca.

  2. Web Based Pre-Budget Consultation Launched: A pre-budget on-line consultation, launched by the federal government, can be found on the Department of Finance's web site www.fin.gc.ca/activty/consult_e.html. Finance Minister Jim Flaherty and Parliamentary Secretary Diane Ablonczy will also meet with stakeholders as part of the budget consultation process, which ends April 19. The web consultation page, including a background document, can be found on the Department of Finance web site and submissions can be made by e-mail at budget2006consult@fin.gc.ca or by fax at (613) 992-0938.

  3. Bruce Cockburn and Susan Aglukark Help Make Poverty History with Federal Budget Action Alert: An electronic action alert was sent out to all Make Poverty History supporters last week by Bruce Cockburn and Susan Aglukark. "This upcoming Federal Budget is a great opportunity to help make poverty history. The new Conservative government's first budget must make ending poverty at home and abroad a priority," said Cockburn and Aglukark. Go to www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/home.php and send an e-mail to Finance Minister Jim Flaherty and Members of Parliament. To date, over 6000 e-mails have been sent to the Finance Minister and MPs.

  4. World Bank Trade Programs Criticized for Opening Borders, but Not Addressing Poverty: The Independent Evaluation Group (IEG), an autonomous body reporting to the executive board of the World Bank, recently released an evaluation of the Bank's work in promoting trade reforms in developing countries for past 20 years. The report notes the Bank's significant investments to promote trade since 1987 ($38 billion) were successful at helping countries open their borders, but not effective at helping bring about payoffs in growth, poverty reduction or increased exports. The lead author notes the Bank has been overly optimistic about the benefits of more open trade. Civil society groups say the report underlines the need to slowdown technical advice on trade from international organizations like the Bank that are dominated by the interests of industrialized countries. For more information see www.worldbank.org/ieg/trade/docs/press_release_trade_evaluation.pdf.

Upcoming Events

  1. New Initiatives in Financing for Development: John Foster, Principal Researcher of The North South Institute, attended the Paris Conference on Innovative Development Financing Mechanisms as a representative of CCIC, along with more than 90 state delegations, multilateral institutions and 60 non-governmental participants from around the world. Foster and other guests will speak to the accomplishments of the Conference, the challenges facing new initiatives, and possible strategies for engaging the Canadian government on alternative financing for development at a joint CCIC/The North South Institute event. This report-back will take place April19 from 10:00am to 12:30pm at The North South Institute, 55 Murray Street, Ottawa, 3rd Floor Boardroom. RSVP before April 17 to events@nsi-ins.ca.

  2. Make Poverty History Evaluation and Planning Meeting: The Make Poverty History campaign achieved considerable success throughout 2005 in placing international poverty issues on the public and political agenda in Canada and in over 80 other countries. CCIC members have been vitally involved throughout and are invited to participate in a Make Poverty History Evaluation and Visioning Day on April 28 in Ottawa. Not only will the participants share their work and evaluate the activities of the past year, but they'll also discuss the campaign plans to build momentum for 2006-07. Register by April 24. Contact jgunn@makepovertyhistory.ca for more details.

  3. Conference on Education for All - New Roles for Civil Society: Canadian Global Campaign for Education (CGCE) Alliance is holding its second annual Conference entitled, "Education for All: New Roles for Civil Society". The CGCE Conference, to be held April 28 at the University of Ottawa, will bring together a wide range of Canadian NGOs, the Canadian Teachers Federation, members of the Canadian academic community and Southern civil society colleagues involved in issues related to Education for All. Topics will include new policy directions, Canadian aid, basic education and civil society and its role in the achievement of gender equality in education. For more information and registration e-mail canadiangce@oise.utoronto.ca or go to www.campaignforeducationcanada.org.

Ethics in a Flash

  1. Call for nominees: CCIC is seeking nominations of individuals to replace the outgoing members of the Ethics Review Committee (members sit for 2 years beginning in September). The Committee need individuals external to the membership who have no direct connection with a member organization (e.g. direct connection means Board of Directors, staff, volunteer). The wish list of skills and attributes includes experience elsewhere in ethical standards and their implementation; knowledge of learning processes; critical thinking; conciliation/conflict resolution skills; knowledge of management realities in NGOs; ability to work in a group using consensual process; creativity; capacity building experience. As with all of its committees, CCIC strives for bilingual capacity, gender equity and increased participation of minorities. If you have a nominee, or for further information, contact Anne Buchanan at (613) 241-7007 ext. 315 or e-mail abuchanan@ccic.ca. Additional information on CCIC's ethics program is available at: www.ccic.ca/e/002/ethics.shtml. Nominations accepted until April 28.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 13 avril 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Afghanistan : un débat à faire. Les ONG canadiennes se félicitent de l'annonce du débat sur la mission en Afghanistan à la Chambre des communes. Selon le CCCI, ce débat doit porter sur le mandat de l'armée canadienne, sur les rôles respectifs des militaires et des civils dans le développement, de même que sur l'efficacité des méthodes pratiquées actuellement en Afghanistan. Pour lire le communiqué de presse et la note d'information du CCCI, intitulée Le Canada en Afghanistan, visiter le site www.ccic.ca.

  2. Lancement des consultations prébudgétaires en ligne. Le ministère des Finances a inauguré une consultation prébudgétaire en ligne à l'adresse www.fin.gc.ca/activty/consult_f.html. Le ministre des Finances Jim Flaherty et la secrétaire parlementaire Diane Ablonczy rencontreront également les intéressés dans le cadre des consultations budgétaires, qui prendront fin le 19 avril. La page web des consultations, qui comprend un document d'information, se trouve sur le site du ministère des Finances ou les suggestions peuvent être transmises par courriel à budget2006consult@fin.gc.ca ou par télécopieur au (613) 992-0938.

  3. Bruce Cockburn et Susan Aglukark manifestent leur appui à la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté en lançant un appel à la mobilisation au sujet du budget fédéral. Bruce Cockburn et Susan Aglukark ont lancé sur Internet un appel à la mobilisation à tous les sympathisants de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté la semaine dernière. " Le prochain budget fédéral constitue une excellente occasion de contribuer à la lutte contre la pauvreté. En effet, il faut que le premier budget du gouvernement conservateur fasse une priorité de l'élimination de la pauvreté, au pays comme à l'étranger ''", ont déclaré M. Cockburn et Mme Aglukark. Rendez-vous sur www.makepovertyhistory.ca/f/home.php et adressez un courriel au ministre des Finances Jim Flaherty et aux députés. Jusqu'à maintenant, plus de 6000 messages électroniques ont été ainsi envoyés.

  4. Critique des programmes de la Banque mondiale qui réussissent à ouvrir les frontière mais non à lutter contre la pauvreté. L'Independant Evaluation Group (IEG)', organe indépendant relevant directement du Conseil des administrateurs de la Banque mondiale, a publié une appréciation des résultats des réformes effectuées dans les pays en développement au cours des 20 dernières années dans le domaine du commerce. Ce rapport indique que les investissements massifs (38 milliards de dollars) engagés par la Banque depuis 1987 pour promouvoir le commerce ont réussi à inciter ces pays à ouvrir leurs frontières, mais non pour apporter des avantages en matière de croissance, de pauvreté ou d' exportations. L'auteur principal indique que la Banque s'est montrée trop optimiste au sujet des avantages de la libéralisation du commerce. Selon les groupes de la société civile, ce rapport montre clairement la nécessité de jeter un regard critique sur les principes commerciaux prônés par les organismes internationaux comme la Banque mondiale, qui sont dominés par les intérêts des pays industrialisés. Pour de plus amples renseignements, télécharger le document www.worldbank.org/ieg/trade/docs/press_release_trade_evaluation.pdf.

À venir

  1. Nouvelles initiatives pour le financement du développement. John Foster, chercheur principal à l'Institut Nord-Sud, a assisté pour le CCCI au sommet de Paris sur les sources innovantes du financement, où étaient présents plus de 90 délégations d'État, des institutions multilatérales et 60 participants non gouvernementaux des quatre coins du monde. Au cours d'une conférence organisée par le CCCI et l'Institut Nord-Sud, M. Foster et d'autres invités parleront des résultats de ce sommet, des obstacles qui s'opposent aux nouvelles initiatives et des stratégies envisageables pour inciter le gouvernement canadien à trouver de nouvelles formes de financement du développement. La conférence se tiendra le 19 avril, de 10 h à 12 h 30 à l'Institut Nord-Sud, 55, rue Murray, à Ottawa, à la salle de conférence du 3e étage. R.S.V.P. avant le 17 avril à events@nsi-ins.ca.

  2. Réunion d'évaluation et de planification d'Abolissons la pauvreté. La campagne Abolissons la pauvreté a remporté un vif succès au cours de 2005 en mettant la pauvreté mondiale au cœur des préoccupations du public et des décideurs politiques du Canada et de plus de 80 autres pays. Les membres du CCCI qui ont joué un rôle très actif sont donc invités à participer, le 28 avril à Ottawa, à une journée d'évaluation de la campagne et d'élaboration d'une vision d'avenir pour Abolissons la pauvreté. Les participants pourront non seulement parler de leur travail et évaluer les activités qu'ils ont menées à bien l'an dernier, mais également discuter des moyens de mobilisation à mettre en oeuvre pour 2006-2007. Pour vous inscrire ou en savoir davantage, écrire avant le 24 avril à jgunn@makepovertyhistory.ca.

  3. Colloque sur la campagne Éducation pour tous. les nouveaux rôles de la société civile. La Canadian Global Campaign for Education (CGCE) Alliance organise son deuxième colloque annuel sous le thème Education for All: New Roles for Civil Society. Ce colloque, qui se déroulera le 28 avril à l'Université d'Ottawa, rassemblera diverses ONG canadiennes, des membres de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et enseignants et de la communauté universitaire canadienne, de même que divers partenaires de la société civile du Sud qui s'intéressent à certains aspects liés à Éducation pour tous. On y traitera entre autres des nouvelles orientations stratégiques, de l'aide internationale canadienne, de l'instruction élémentaire et du rôle de la société civile dans l'égalité des sexes en enseignement. Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour s'inscrire, écrire à canadiangce@oise.utoronto.ca ou visitez www.campaignforeducationcanada.org.

Flash éthique

  1. Appel de candidatures. Le CCCI est à la recherche de candidats pour remplacer les membres du Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique (les membres sont nommés pour un mandat de deux ans à compter du mois de septembre). Nous avons besoin de personnes non affiliées au CCCI (c'est-à-dire qui n'ont aucun lien avec une organisation membre, ni comme administrateur, ni comme membre du personnel, ni comme bénévole). Idéalement, les personnes retenues doivent répondre aux critères suivants : Expérience en matière de conception et d'application de normes éthiques, en développement des capacités, en gestion ou la connaissance des processus d'apprentissage, jugement éprouvé et compétence en conciliation et en règlement de conflits; aptitude à travailler par consensus et créativité. Dans tous ses comités, le CCCI privilégie l'égalité des sexes et une participation accrue des minorités. Pour proposer une candidature ou obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Anne Buchanan au (613) 241-7007, poste 315 ou à abuchanan@ccic.ca. Pour plus d'information au sujet du programme d'éthique visiter le site du CCCI www.ccic.ca/f/002/ethics.shtml. Candidatures acceptées jusqu'au 28 avril.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca