CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

March 17, 2006

Headlines

  1. Expanding Official Development Assistance Criteria? Recent statements by the department of Foreign Affairs Canada (FAC) indicate that the debate over expanding the criteria for Official Development Assistance (ODA) is active in Canada. In an official response to the e-consultation on "Failed and Fragile states", FAC stated that "Canada supports an expanded definition of ODA which includes more peace and security-related expenditures…". CCIC has been assured that the statement was intended to support the existing definition of ODA, which was expanded in March 2005 to include security sector reform, control of small arms and light weapons, civilian peacebuilding, conflict prevention and conflict resolution. CCIC and the Global Security and Development Network (GSDN) engaged actively in the DAC debate in 2005, and are still following the file. Contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca with any questions or comments.

  2. Peace and Conflict Impact Assessment: The Asia Pacific Working Group hosted a Peace and Conflict Impact Assessment (PCIA) workshop which provided participants with the opportunity to increase their knowledge of PCIA, and network with others who are working on peace and conflict issues. The workshop, held March 9 and 10, was facilitated by Professor Kenneth Bush and Marie-France Houle of Saint Paul University. Approximately 30 people representing more than 16 civil society organizations, the Assembly of First Nations, DFAIT, CIDA, and two international guests from the Solomon Islands and the Philippines were in attendance. A workshop report will be available soon. Resources for the workshop were provided by DFAIT, the APWG and Saint Paul University. For more information, contact Sara Kemp at skemp@ccic.ca.

  3. NSI Fellowship Opportunity: The North-South Institute is inviting applications for its annual Helleiner Visiting Researcher position. Newly-created, and named after Professor Emeritus G.K. Helleiner, the fellowship is funded with the support of Canada's International Development Research Centre. The Fellowship provides mid-career policy researchers with the opportunity to undertake research in an area that is compatible with the overall goals and areas of interest of The North-Institute. This year's position is open to African policy researchers interested in spending from nine months to one year at the Ottawa-based Institute. For more information go to www.nsi-ins.ca/english/about/employment.asp.

  4. 2006 John Humphrey Freedom Award: Rights & Democracy is accepting nominations for the John Humphrey Freedom Award, presented every year to an organization or person who has made an outstanding contribution to the promotion of human rights and democratic development. The award consists of a grant of $25,000 as well as a speaking tour of Canadian cities to help increase awareness of the recipient's human rights work. The deadline for nominations is April 15, 2006. More information is available at the Rights & Democracy web site at www.dd-rd.ca.

  5. Call for Nominations for the CSIH Lifetime Achievement Award 2006: All members of the Canadian Society for International Health (CSIH) are invited to submit nominations for the CSIH 2006 Lifetime Achievement Award. The purpose of this award is to publicly recognize a member of the Society who has made a substantial contribution to the field of international health throughout their career. Award recipients must be Canadian citizens or landed immigrants; CSIH members; and involved in international health for at least 15 years. Submit nominations by September 10, 2006. For more information contact Lisa Jibson at (613) 241-5785 ext. 303 or ljibson@csih.org.

  6. The 13th Canadian Conference on International Health - Call for Abstracts: Human resources represent the most critical and precious assets in the struggle to achieve global health. The 13th Canadian Conference on International Health will be exploring this issue and the Call for Abstracts, which includes instructions, the application form, the funding application form and the judging criteria, is now available. Go to www.csih.org/what/ccih.html for more information.

Upcoming Events

  1. Organizational Change Symposium Postponed Until September: The organizational change symposium, originally scheduled to follow the AGM, is postponed until the end of September. This is in response to members' suggestions, at CCIC's recent Leadership Forum, that CCIC advance the planning of a CIDA dialogue on their partnership framework (see below). Final dates and further details on the symposium will be available next month.

  2. CCIC 2006 AGM Theme - CIDA's Framework on Effective Partnerships: Responding to the building momentum around CIDA's review of Partnerships, CCIC will advance the planning of a CCIC/CIDA Dialogue on a draft CIDA Framework on Effective Partnerships. This session is now scheduled to take place on May 26 and 27 immediately following CCIC's AGM. Senior CIDA officials will participate and members will receive a draft version of the Framework prior to the Dialogue. CCIC is currently planning the session and notable international CSO colleagues will be invited to join in the discussions. More information will be available prior to the annual CCIC Members meetings beginning in the end of March.

Setting Our Sites

  1. CCIC Web Site Improvements Coming this Year: The CCIC web site will be getting revamped this year in order to better meet the needs of members and the public. Let us know what improvements are needed. In a new section exclusively for CCIC's members, what would you like to see (type of information, documents, electronic forum, discussion board, etc.)? Are there any new sections that should be added to the CCIC site? If yes, which ones? Is there anything else you would like to see added (type of information, documents, links, etc.)? Send answers or comments by March 31 to jloubert@ccic.ca.

Worth Looking At

  1. A Piece of Paradise: A Piece of Paradise, a one-hour CUSO radio documentary about land and life in Vanuatu, can be heard for free on the Rabble Podcast Network at www.rabble.ca/rpn/doc. A Piece of Paradise is about Vanuatu, a group of tropical islands in the South Pacific. On paper, it is one of the poorest countries- yet there is very little poverty. No one can own land there, but few are homeless. Sean Kelly, a staff writer with CUSO, traveled to Vanuatu to find out why. For more information on the Vanuatu documentary, or to offer your comments, e-mail sean.kelly@cuso.ca.

  2. Flash Schedule: Flash, CCIC's electronic publication, comes out every two weeks. Submissions are welcome and are due the Friday before the publication date. The issue date and submission deadlines, for the next few issues, are as follows: Submission deadline March 24 - Flash sent out March 31, submission deadline April 7 - Flash sent out April 14; submission deadline April 21 - Flash sent out April 28. Send submissions, no longer than one short paragraph, to katiag@ccic.ca.

 

TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 17 mars 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Élargir les critères définitoires de l'aide publique au développement ? De récentes déclarations du ministère des Affaires étrangères (MAE) du Canada indiquent que le débat entourant l'élargissement des critères définitoires de l'aide publique au développement (APD) est en cours au Canada. En effet, dans sa réponse officielle à la consultation électronique sur " les États fragiles et en déroute ", le MAE a déclaré que " …le Canada appu[yait] une définition plus large de l'APD incluant davantage de dépenses liées à la paix et à la sécurité… ". Le CCCI a reçu l'assurance que cet énoncé avait pour objet de soutenir la définition actuelle de l'APD, élargie en mars 2005 pour comprendre la réforme du secteur de la sécurité, la limitation des armes légères et de petit calibre, l'édification de la paix par les civils ainsi que la prévention et le règlement des conflits. Le CCCI et le Réseau mondial de la sécurité alimentaire (RMSA), qui ont participé activement au débat du CAD en 2005, suivent toujours le dossier de près. Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, communiquez avec Erin Simpson, à esimpson@ccic.ca .

  2. Évaluation des répercussions de la paix et des conflits. Le Groupe de travail de l'Asie-Pacifique (GTAP) a organisé un atelier sur l'évaluation des répercussions de la paix et des conflits qui a permis aux participants de se familiariser avec cette activité et de créer des liens entre eux. L'atelier, qui a eu lieu les 9 et 10 mars, était animé par le professeur Kenneth Bush et Marie-France Houle, de l'Université Saint-Paul. Une trentaine de personnes représentant plus de 16 organisations de la société civile, l'Assemblée des Premières nations, le MAECI, l'ACDI et deux invités étrangers (Iles Salomon et Philippines) étaient présents. Un compte rendu paraîtra sous peu. La documentation était fournie par le MAECI, le GTAP et l'Université Saint-Paul. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Sara Kemp, à skemp@ccic.ca.

  3. Bourse de l'INS. L'Institut Nord-Sud sollicite des candidatures pour le poste annuel de chercheur invité Helleiner. Nommé en l'honneur du professeur émérite G.K. Helleiner, ce nouveau poste accompagné d'une bourse est financé par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international du Canada. Cette bourse offre à des chercheurs à mi-carrière la possibilité de mener des travaux dans un domaine compatible avec les buts et intérêts généraux de l'Institut Nord-Sud. Cette année, le poste s'adresse aux spécialistes de l'Afrique intéressés à passer de neuf à douze mois au bureau national de l'Institut, à Ottawa. Renseignements : www.nsi-ins.ca/fran/employment/default.asp.

  4. Prix John-Humphrey pour la liberté 2006. Droits et Démocratie reçoit actuellement les candidatures pour le Prix John-Humphrey pour la liberté, remis chaque année à une personne morale ou physique ayant contribué de façon exceptionnelle à la promotion des droits de la personne et du développement démocratique. Le Prix comprend une bourse de 25 000 $ et comporte une tournée canadienne visant à sensibiliser le public au travail de la lauréate ou du lauréat. Date limite de réception des candidatures : 15 avril 2006. Pour renseignements, voir le site web de Droits et Démocratie : www.dd-rd.ca.

  5. Appel de candidatures pour le Prix 2006 de la SCSI pour l'œuvre accomplie. Tous les membres de la Société canadienne de santé internationale (SCSI) sont invités à présenter des candidatures : le Prix 2006 de la SCSI pour l'œuvre accomplie a pour objet de saluer publiquement un membre de la Société ayant fait une contribution substantielle au secteur de la santé internationale tout au long de sa carrière. Les candidats doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents, être membres de la SCSI et oeuvrer en santé internationale depuis au moins 15 ans. Les candidatures seront reçues jusqu'au 10 septembre 2006. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Lisa Jibson, au (613) 241-5785, poste 303, ou à ljibson@csih.org.

  6. XIIIe Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale - Demande de communications. Les ressources humaines constituent l'actif le plus indispensable et le plus précieux de la lutte pour la santé dans le monde. Ce sera le thème de la XIIIe Conférence canadienne sur la santé internationale, dont il est possible de consulter la demande de communications en ligne. Figurent également les instructions pertinentes, la formule de proposition, la formule de demande de financement et les critères d'évaluation à l'adresse www.csih.org/what/ccih.html.

À venir

  1. Colloque sur les changements organisationnels remis à septembre. Le colloque qui devait avoir lieu à la suite de l'AGA, a été reporté à la fin de septembre. Cette décision a été prise en raison de la demande formulée par les membres au dernier Forum des leaders du CCCI pour que les dates du dialogue avec l'ACDI soit avancées (voir ci-dessous). Les dates définitives et d'autres renseignements sur le colloque seront communiqués le mois prochain.

  2. Thème de l'AGA 2006 du CCCI : le cadre de l'ACDI sur les partenariats efficaces. Souhaitant profiter du bouillonnement actuel entourant la révision du cadre de l'ACDI sur les partenariats efficaces, le CCCI a décidé d'avancer le dialogue qu'il comptait tenir avec l'ACDI sur ce sujet. Ainsi, cette rencontre aura lieu les 26 et 27 mai, immédiatement après l'AGA du CCCI. Des hauts fonctionnaires de l'ACDI seront présents, et les membres recevront d'avance une version préliminaire du cadre. Le CCCI est en train de planifier l'événement, et des collègues renommés d'OSC internationales seront invités. D'autres renseignements seront diffusés avant les assemblées annuelles des membres du CCCI, qui commencent à la fin de mars.

Amélioration du site du CCCI

  1. Améliorations du site web à venir cette année. Le site web du CCCI sera rajeuni cette année pour mieux répondre aux besoins des membres et du public. Faites-nous savoir quelles améliorations vous attendez. Qu'aimeriez-vous trouver dans la nouvelle section réservée aux membres (genre d'information, documents, forum électronique, etc.) ? Croyez-vous que nous devrions ajouter de nouvelles sections ? Y a-t-il autre chose que vous aimeriez voir sur le site (types d'informations, documents, liens, etc.) ? Prière d'envoyer vos réponses et observations d'ici le 31 mars à jloubert@ccic.ca.

Vaut un coup d'oeil

  1. Un p'tit coin de paradis. A Piece of Paradise, documentaire radio d'une heure réalisé par CUSO au sujet de Vanuatu, est diffusé gratuitement par le Rabble Podcast Network à l'adresse www.rabble.ca/rpn/doc. Vanuatu est un archipel tropical dans le Pacifique Sud. Sur papier, il figure parmi les pays les plus pauvres; pourtant, on y trouve très peu de pauvreté. Il est interdit de posséder la terre, mais les sans-abri sont rares. Sean Kelly, rédacteur attitré de CUSO, est allé sur place pour comprendre pourquoi. Pour en savoir plus sur ce documentaire ou pour donner des commentaires, écrire à sean.kelly@cuso.ca.

  2. Calendrier du Flash. Flash, publication électronique du CCCI, paraît aux deux semaines. Les propositions de textes sont bienvenues et doivent parvenir le vendredi précédant la publication. Voici les dates de parution et de tombée pour les prochains numéros : date de tombée le 24 mars pour l'édition du 31 mars; date de tombée le 7 avril pour l'édition du 14 avril; date de tombée le 21 avril pour l'édition du 28 avril. Prière d'envoyer les textes (maximum un paragraphe) à l'adresse katiag@ccic.ca.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca