CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin


February 17, 2006


  1. New Cabinet Sworn in: On February 6, Prime Minister Stephen Harper and his new cabinet were sworn in. The new CIDA Minister is Josée Verner. Ms Verner is chair of the Québec Conservative caucus and will also serve as Minister for La Francophonie and Official Languages. For close to 20 years Ms Verner has worked in the communications and public service fields. Ted Menzies who has served as critic in both the trade and CIDA files, has been appointed Parliamentary Secretary for the Minister of International Co-operation. Nova Scotia MP and former Conservative Party leader, Peter McKay is now the Minister for Foreign Affairs. Former Liberal Minister of Industry, David Emerson, assumes the role of Minister for International Trade and former Defence critic and industry lobbyist is Minister of National Defence. For complete list of Ministers check out: Parliamentary Secretaries are listed at CCIC has written to the Prime Minister and several key Ministers to introduce strategic policy recommendations to the new government (check out under latest news).

  2. Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade to be re-integrated: Along with the new cabinet, the Prime Minister announced on February 6, new measures to streamline government, including the reintegration of the departments of Foreign Affairs and International Trade "to ensure a coherent approach to foreign affairs and international commerce and to better coordinate the provision of services to Canadians both at home and abroad." Moreover, the Prime Minister announced that CIDA "will also be part of this portfolio to ensure a coordinated approach to international development."

  3. Return of Parliament and Speech from the Throne: The 39th Parliament is scheduled to reconvene on Monday, April 3, 2006. Governor General Michaëlle Jean will officially open Parliament with a Speech from the Throne setting out the directions of the new government on April 4.

  4. Make Poverty History at the 2006 East Coast Music Awards. On Saturday, February 25, the East Coast Music Awards (ECMA) will hold a Make Poverty History concert as part of the Concert Series featuring The Barra MacNeils, J.P. Cormier and Dave Gunning. ECMA 2006 will also present keynote speaker Gerry Barr, the national co-chair of Make Poverty History and the president and CEO of the Canadian Council for International Co-operation, on Sunday, February 26 from noon to 1pm, speaking on "Music and Social Justice." This year the ECMA events are being held in Charlottetown, PEI.

  5. NDP Calls on Harper to Keep Commitment on Foreign Aid. On February 15, NDP Leader Jack Layton and Foreign Affairs Critic Alexa McDonough called on Prime Minister Harper him to make good on his commitment to foreign aid. One year ago, Conservative, Bloc and NDP leaders jointly called on the Prime Minister to honour Canada's commitments on aid spending to the world's poor and pass legislation to focus aid spending on ending poverty. For a copy of the NDP letter, go to

  6. Make Poverty History to Harper: Accountability includes 0.7% Pledge. Make Poverty History called for the Harper government to keep Canada's longstanding promise to provide 0.7% of GNI in foreign aid and welcomed NDP leader Jack Layton's call on February 15 for action on aid. "All-party cooperation is clearly possible on this issue," said Gerry Barr co-chair of the Make Poverty History campaign. "Prime Minister Harper has a perfect opportunity to move ahead quickly when the House reconvenes." For further information check out:

Upcoming Events

  1. CCIC Leadership Forum: CCIC will hold a Leadership Forum on March 6. The Leadership Forum includes participation of Executive Directors and Chairs of Boards. The Forum will look at an upcoming CIDA review of its relations with Canadian partner organizations. It will also be a key opportunity for leaders of CCIC members to discuss the current political context in Canada and its implications for our work. The Forum will be held at the Holiday Inn - Plaza la Chaudière, 2 Montcalm Street in Gatineau (Quebec). Leaders of our membership are encouraged to make time in their schedule for this important meeting. For further information contact Esperanza Moreno,

  2. Africa Canada-Forum General Meeting: The two-day ACF General Meeting will be held on April 6-7, 2006 in Ottawa, on "Adapting to Changing Winds: Affirming our actions and advocacy for Africa". Using a dialogue format with government officials and African colleagues, Forum members will reflect on the main changes in Africa, Canada and the world over the last six years (in the areas of peace and security, democratization and governance, and the fight against poverty) and suggest avenues for the future work of the Forum and its members. For more information or to register, please contact Sylvie Perras at or (613)241-7007 ext. 321.

Worth Looking At

  1. Call for Proposals - HIV/AIDS Small Grants Fund Phase III: 2006 - 2008 "HIV/AIDS and Gender": The Canadian Society for International Health (CSIH) and the Interagency Coalition for AIDS and Development (ICAD) are pleased to announce that the call for proposals for the HIV/AIDS Small Grants Phase III is now open. CSIH must receive complete proposal applications by Wednesday March 29 2006 at 2:00pm EST. Please see the Call for Proposals document for all application information.

  2. Haitian Elections: In the lead up to the Haitian elections, Concertation pour Haïti addressed a letter to Ambassador Rock concerning the "climate of insecurity in Haiti and the mandate of the Un Mission in Haiti--"Mission des Nations unies de stabilisation en Haiti (MINUSTAH). The letter recommends increased security and reforms to the UN mission in the lead-up to the elections. For more information, or a copy of the letter, please contact Marthe Lapierre from Development and Peace at
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation |

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 17 février 2006

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Assermentation du nouveau cabinet. Le 6 février, le premier ministre Stephen Harper et les membres de son nouveau cabinet ont prêté serment. Mme Josée Verner, présidente du caucus conservateur québécois, sera la nouvelle ministre de l'ACDI, de la Francophonie et des Langues officielles. Mme Verner est active dans les domaines des communications et de la fonction publique depuis près de 20 ans. Ted Menzies, ancien porte-parole de l'opposition en ce qui touche au commerce et à l'ACDI, devient secrétaire parlementaire de la ministre. Le député de la Nouvelle-Écosse et ancien chef du Parti conservateur, Peter McKay, est maintenant ministre des Affaires étrangères. L'ex-ministre libéral de l'Industrie, David Emerson, hérite du Commerce international et l'ancien porte-parole en matière de défense et lobbyiste du secteur privé devient ministre de la Défense nationale. La liste complète des ministres se trouve à l'adresse www.pm.gc.ca/fra/cabinet.asp et celle des secrétaires parlementaires à l'adresse www.pm.gc.ca/fra/new_team_1.asp. Le CCCI a écrit au premier ministre et à certains ministres pour leur faire part de ses orientations stratégiques (voir la rubrique Dernières nouvelles du site www.ccci.ca.).

  2. Réunification du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international. Le 6 février, en dévoilant la composition du nouveau cabinet, le premier ministre a annoncé de nouvelles mesures pour simplifier le gouvernement, notamment la réunification du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international " afin d'assurer la cohérence des démarches dans ces secteurs et de mieux coordonner la prestation de services aux Canadiens tant au pays qu'à l'étranger ". Le premier ministre a aussi annoncé que l'ACDI " fera également partie de ce portefeuille afin d'assurer une approche coordonnée en matière de développement international " (www.pm.gc.ca/fra/media.asp?id=684).

  3. Rentrée parlementaire et discours du Trône. La 39e législature amorce ses travaux le lundi 3 avril 2006. La gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean inaugurera la session par un discours du Trône énonçant les orientations du nouveau gouvernement le 4 avril.

  4. Abolissons la pauvreté aux East Coast Music Awards 2006. Le samedi 25 février aura lieu un concert Abolissons la pauvreté dans le cadre d'une série de spectacles organisée pour les East Coast Music Awards (ECMA) et mettant en vedette The Barra MacNeils, J.P. Cormier et Dave Gunning. Le conférencier invité, Gerry Barr, coprésident national de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté et président-directeur général du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale, prononcera une allocution sur " la musique et la justice sociale " le dimanche 26 février, de midi à 13 h. Cette année, les ECMA se déroulent à Charlottetown (Î.-P.-É.).

  5. Le NPD demande à M. Harper de respecter son engagement en matière d'aide internationale. Le 15 février, le chef du NPD, Jack Layton, et la porte-parole de l'opposition en matière d'affaires étrangères, Alexa McDonough, ont demandé au premier ministre Harper de respecter son engagement en ce qui a trait à l'aide internationale. Il y a un an, les chefs conservateur, bloquiste et néo-démocrate demandaient conjointement au premier ministre de respecter les engagements du Canada en la matière à l'égard des pays pauvres et d'adopter une loi qui ferait de l'élimination de la pauvreté la finalité de l'aide. Pour se procurer une copie de la lettre du NPD, consulter le site www.npd.ca/page/3471.

  6. Message de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté à M. Harper : Être responsable signifie également respecter l'engagement d'atteindre 0,7 p. 100. Un message de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté presse instamment le nouveau gouvernement de respecter la promesse de longue date du Canada d'atteindre l'objectif d'aide internationale de 0,7 p. 100 du RNB. De plus, l'appel en faveur de l'aide du chef néo-démocrate Jack Layton, lancé le 15 février, est accueilli avec enthousiasme. " Il est manifestement possible que tous les partis fassent consensus sur cette question ", affirme Gerry Barr, coprésident de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. " Le premier ministre Harper aura l'occasion d'aller de l'avant rapidement lorsque la Chambre siégera de nouveau ". Pour de plus amples renseignements, visiter le www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca.

À venir

  1. Forum des leaders organisé par le CCCI. Le 6 mars, le CCCI tiendra son Forum des leaders à l'intention des directions générales et des présidences des C.A. La rencontre portera sur l'examen que l'ACDI compte bientôt faire de ses relations avec ses partenaires canadiens. Ce sera aussi pour les dirigeants des membres du CCCI une excellente occasion d'examiner la conjoncture politique actuelle au Canada et de ses répercussions sur leur travail. Le Forum aura lieu au Holiday Inn - Plaza la Chaudière, 2, rue Montcalm, à Gatineau (Québec). Nous encourageons les dirigeants de nos membres à prendre le temps de participer à cette importante rencontre. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Esperanza Moreno à emoreno@ccic.ca.

  2. Assemblée générale du Forum Afrique-Canada. L'Assemblée générale de deux jours du FAC se tiendra les 6 et 7 avril 2006 et portera sur le thème du changement : Défier les vents changeants: arrimer nos actions et notre plaidoyer pour l'Afrique. La réunion prendra la forme d'un dialogue sur les politiques avec des représentants gouvernementaux et des collègues africains. Les membres seront appelés à réfléchir aux changements importants survenus en Afrique, au Canada et dans le monde au cours des six dernières années (dans les domaines de la paix et la sécurité, la démocratisation et la gouvernance et la lutte contre la pauvreté) puis ils esquisseront les orientations futures du Forum et des membres. Pour plus d'information ou s'inscrire, communiquer avec Sylvie Perras par courriel à sperras@ccic.ca ou par téléphone au (613) 241-7007, poste 321.

Vaut un coup d'œil

  1. Appel de propositions de projets - Programme des petites subventions VIH-SIDA, Phase III : 2006 - 2008 " Le VIH-SIDA et l'égalité entre les sexes ". La Société canadienne de santé internationale (SCSI) et la Coalition inter-agences sida et développement (CISD) sont heureuses de lancer un appel de propositions pour la Phase III du Programme des petites subventions VIH/SIDA (PPSIII). Les dossiers complets des propositions doivent parvenir à la Société canadienne de santé internationale (SCSI) d'ici le mercredi 29 mars 2006, à 14 h (HNE). Pour renseignements, voir le document " Appel de propositions de projets " à l'adresse www.csih.org.

  2. Élections en Haïti. En préparation des élections haïtiennes, Concertation pour Haïti a envoyé à l'ambassadeur Allan Rock une Lettre ouverte concernant le climat d'insécurité en Haïti et le mandat de la MINUSTAH (Mission des Nations unies de stabilisation en Haïti). L'organisme recommande que l'on améliore la sécurité et que l'on réforme la mission onusienne avant les élections. Pour en savoir plus ou pour obtenir copie de la lettre, communiquer avec Marthe Lapierre, de Développement et Paix, à marthe.lapierre@devp.org.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca