CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

February 3, 2006

Make Poverty History

  1. Make Poverty History Scores majority in the House of Commons: The 39th Parliament is a minority House - with Prime Minister Designate Stephen Harper now pondering cabinet choices. Because this is minority government, other parties and MPs will matter a lot in the new legislative program and it may matter that 178 of those elected to the 308 seat House of Commons, January 23rd , are on the record endorsing Make Poverty History. MPs were asked for their support during the federal campaign in which more than 1,000 candidates for federal office signed on as Make Poverty History supporters. Possible government moves linked to Make Poverty History demands include the level of Canada's aid spending, legislation to focus aid spending on ending poverty, a national anti-poverty strategy and increased levels for Canada's Child Tax Benefit. For more information go to www.makepovertyhistory.ca.

  2. World Social Forum: The Americas Policy Group (the APG) staff person attended the World Social Forum in Caracas, Venezuela, held from January 24th-29th. The APG co-hosted a workshop on the Canada-Central America Four Free Trade Agreement (CA4FTA) with the Bloque Popular Centroamericano. The APG and Central American groups are working together to develop a strategy regarding the CA4FTA. For more information, or to get involved, contact Nadja Drost at ndrost@ccic.ca, or (613)241-7007 ext. 333.

  3. Americas Policy Group General Meeting: The Americas Policy Group (APG) held a general meeting January 18 and 19. The group learned about ways to access the United Nations system, and explored trade issues from a regional and global perspective. Over the next months, the APG will continue to be active on various issues, including the economic integration in Central America and human rights in Colombia. The coalition also plans on reviving its work on Mexico and human rights in coordination with the upcoming federal elections in Mexico. For more information, contact Nadja Drost at ndrost@ccic.ca, or (613)241-7007 ext. 333.

  4. Call for Proposals for Stand-Alone Public Engagement Fund. CIDA's Partnership Branch has launched, a "Call for Proposals for the 2006-07 Stand-Alone Public Engagement Fund". The deadline for submission of these proposals is February 17. Canadian NGOs, publicly funded post-secondary institutions and Provincial/Regional Councils may apply to the Fund providing they meet the eligibility criteria. Complete submission information can be found at www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/cida_ind.nsf/vall/AD1905A8B4BDD51285256DE4005B2487?OpenDocument

Upcoming Events

  1. The Ethical Challenges in Sub-Saharan Africa and Beyond: On paper, the countries of the world have committed themselves to reducing poverty and to realizing human rights, including a right to development. The premise of this conference is that these commitments can be realized only if accountability, responsibility, and integrity prevail. The conference will bring together key thinkers, educators, policy-makers, and development workers to clarify the values as well as mechanisms that are required to enhance accountability, responsibility, and integrity in development, especially in the African context. The conference will be held at Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda, July 19 to 22, 2006 and is organized by the International Development Ethics Association (IDEA) with the Ethics & Public Management Program, Faculty of Arts, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda. For more information go to www.development-ethics.org.

  2. Campaigning Workshop: CCIC will be holding a learning session on organizational capacities for campaigning in Canada on February 23. CCIC members have been working to strengthen their capacity to influence public policy and to engage Canadians as active global citizens. Taking advantage of the widespread involvement by the membership in the Make Poverty History campaign, the learning session will let members share their experiences; reflect on organizational capacities to best respond to policy campaigning opportunities; examine connections to our organizations' broader policy and public engagement work; and explore new ways of campaigning in Canada. For more information and to register contact the Organizational Development Team at od@ccic.ca or (613)241-7007 ext. 336.
TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 3 février 2006

Abolissons la pauvreté

  1. Majorité à la Chambres des communes pour la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. Les travaux de la 39e Législature seront dirigés par un gouvernement minoritaire; le premier ministre désigné Stephen Harper réfléchit d'ailleurs actuellement à la composition de son cabinet. Le gouvernement étant minoritaire, les autres partis et les députés pourront exercer une grande influence sur le programme législatif. Or, 178 des 308 personnes élues le 23 janvier ont officiellement appuyé la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, ce qui pourrait avoir des conséquences. Rappelons que plus de 1 000 candidats ont répondu favorablement aux demandes d'appui sollicitées par les organisateurs d'Abolissons la pauvreté pendant la campagne électorale. Parmi les décisions que le gouvernement pourrait prendre en conformité avec les revendications de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, citons l'augmentation des dépenses d'aide internationale, l'adoption d'une loi faisant de l'élimination de la pauvreté l'objet exclusif de cette aide, le mise en place d'une stratégie nationale de lutte contre la pauvreté et l'augmentation des prestations fiscales pour enfant. Pour en savoir plus : www.makepovertyhistory.ca.

  2. Forum social mondial. Le membre du personnel attaché au Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) a assisté au Forum social mondial qui a eu lieu à Caracas, au Venezuela, du 24 au 29 janvier. Le GOPA a coanimé un atelier sur l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Groupe des quatre de l'Amérique centrale (ALE4AC) avec le Bloque Popular Centroamericano. Le GOPA travaille avec des groupes d'Amérique centrale à l'élaboration d'une stratégie dans ce dossier. Pour en savoir plus ou participer aux travaux, communiquer avec Nadja Drost, à ndrost@ccic.ca ou au (613)241-7007, poste 333.

  3. Assemblée générale du Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques. Le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques (GOPA) a tenu une assemblée générale du 18 au 19 janvier. À cette occasion ses membres ont appris comment entretenir des contacts dans le système onusien et explorer les enjeux du commerce dans une perspective régionale et mondiale. Au cours des prochains mois, le GOPA poursuivra ses travaux dans plusieurs domaines, dont l'intégration économique en Amérique centrale et les droits de la personne en Colombie. La coalition prévoit aussi profiter des élections fédérales qui s'annoncent au Mexique pour relancer le problème des droits de la personne dans ce pays. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Nadja Drost, à ndrost@ccic.ca, ou au (613) 241-7007, poste 333.

  4. Demande de propositions pour le Fonds autonome d'engagement du public. La Direction générale du partenariat de l'ACDI lance une demande de propositions (DDP) pour le Fonds autonome d'engagement du public (FADEP) 2006-2007. La date de clôture est fixée au 17 février. ONG canadiennes, institutions postsecondaires et conseils provinciaux et régionaux de coopération internationale peuvent présenter une demande à condition de remplir les critères d'admissibilité. Renseignements : http://www.acdi-cida.gc.ca/cida_ind.nsf/vall/D12D77691E11A9FB85256DE4005B8700?OpenDocument.

À venir

  1. Les défis éthiques de l'Afrique subsaharienne et au-delà. Les pays du monde se sont engagés à réduire la pauvreté et à concrétiser les droits de la personne, y compris le droit au développement. Ce colloque pose comme prémisse qu'il sera impossible de remplir ces engagements sans un cadre de responsabilisation et d'intégrité. Cette activité rassemblera des penseurs, des éducateurs, des responsables de politiques et des travailleurs humanitaires pour dégager les valeurs et les mécanismes nécessaires à l'amélioration de ces dimensions dans les activités de développement, particulièrement en Afrique. Le colloque aura lieu à la Makerere University de Kampala (Ouganda), du 19 au 22 juillet 2006, sous l'égide de l'International Development Ethics Association (IDEA) et de l'Ethics & Public Management Program, de la Faculty of Arts de la Makerere University. Renseignements : www.development-ethics.org.

  2. Atelier sur l'organisation de campagnes. Le CCCI tiendra le 23 février une journée de formation sur l'organisation de campagnes au Canada. Les membres du CCCI s'efforcent déjà d'accroître ensemble leur poids dans les affaires publiques et de réveiller le citoyen du monde dans l'âme des Canadiens. Dans la foulée de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, qui a profité de la mobilisation d'une grande partie des membres, ceux-ci pourront échanger sur leur expérience, réfléchir aux meilleurs moyens de profiter des occasions d'intervenir dans les affaires publiques, découvrir les liens qui unissent leurs actions principales en matière de politiques publiques et d'engagement du public, et de trouver de nouvelles manières de faire campagne au Canada. Pour en savoir plus ou s'inscrire, communiquer avec l'équipe Développement organisationnel, à od@ccic.ca ou au (613) 241-7007, poste 336.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca