CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

January 20, 2006

Make Poverty History

  1. Election Support for Ending Poverty: Three parties and 987 candidates in this federal election endorse the Make Poverty goals of more and better aid, trade justice, 100% debt cancellation and an end to child poverty in Canada. Candidates were given until January 16 to respond to the Make Poverty History call for support. This call was echoed by thousands of Make Poverty History supporters who contacted their local candidates to let them know that their position on ending poverty at home and abroad mattered in this election. A complete listing of supporters can be found at www.makepovertyhistory.ca. Liberal: Support received from the party leader and all 308 candidates. NDP: Support received from the party leader and all 308 candidates. Green Party: Support received from the party leader and all 308 candidates. Conservatives: Support from 55 candidates. Bloc: Support from 8 candidates. Make Poverty History is calling on the next government to turn its support for ending poverty into concrete actions.

  2. Make Poverty History Election Debate: "Make Poverty History Election Debate: Poverty at Home and Abroad", held before a sold-out crowd of over 600 people in Toronto, featured a hard hitting interview panel including Stephen Lewis, journalists Linda McQuaig and John Stackhouse and anti-poverty activist Josephine Grey. moderated by CPAC's Ken Rockburn. The debate focused on the four Make Poverty History goals of more and better aid, trade justice, 100% debt cancellation and an end to child poverty in Canada. Party representatives were David Chernushenko for the Green Party, Paul Summerville for the NDP and John McKay for the Liberals. CPAC's Ken Rockburn moderated the debate and the debate will be aired this Sunday January 22 on CPAC's Talk Politics show from 6:00pm to 8:00pm.

  3. Peacebuilding Commission at the United Nations: The United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council passed resolutions on December 20, 2005 creating a Peacebuilding Commission. The Commission is an inter-governmental body tasked with focusing international attention and resources on post-conflict peace-building and preventing the slide into conflict in post-conflict contexts. For more information, see the Reform the UN site at www.reformtheun.org/index.php/issues/1735?theme=alt4. The site features an overview, as well as links to all relevant UN documents, government statements and civil society analysis. CCIC will be hosting telephone conferences to share perspectives on the Commission. Contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca for more information.

Upcoming Events

  1. Campaigning Workshop: CCIC will be holding a learning session on organizational capacities for campaigning in Canada on February 23. CCIC members have been working to strengthen their capacity to influence public policy and to engage Canadians as active global citizens. Taking advantage of the widespread involvement by the membership in the Make Poverty History campaign, the learning session will let members share their experiences; reflect on organizational capacities to best respond to policy campaigning opportunities; examine connections to our organizations' broader policy and public engagement work; and explore new ways of campaigning in Canada. For more information about this one-day learning session contact the Organizational Development Team at od@ccic.ca or (613)241-7007 ext. 336.

  2. Peer learning session on "Images of Africa": Fundraisers and communication staff are invited to participate in this learning session hosted by the Africa-Canada Forum and CCIC in collaboration with AQOCI. The session on building collective knowledge on good fundraising practices will take place in French and will take the form of a learning session between peers. The intent is to create a community of practitioners composed of fundraisers, marketing and communication staff to build collective knowledge on good fundraising practices. The session will take place February 16 from 8:30 to 5:00 at Centre St-Pierre in Montreal. For an agenda and registration form, contact Yolande Geadah at ygeadah@aqoci.qc.ca, or (514) 871-1086. The registration deadline is February 1.

  3. World Social Forum (America's Region): The Americas Policy Group will be holding a workshop at the World Social Forum on the Canada-Central America Four Free Trade Agreement, referring to the four Central American nations of El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. The workshop will provide information on the agreement as well as bring groups together for future collaboration. The Americas section of the World Social Forum will be held January 24 to 29 in Caracas, Venezuela. For more information, contact Nadja Drost at (613) 241-7007 ext. 333 or ndrost@ccic.ca.

  4. Peace and Conflict Impact Assessment Workshop: The Asia Pacific Working Group (APWG) will host, on March 9 and 10, a workshop on Peace and Conflict Impact Assessment and its application in Asian and Pacific countries. Dr. Kenneth Bush, a professor of Conflict Studies, will facilitate the workshop at St. Paul University in Ottawa. Registration is free, thanks to a contribution agreement from Foreign Affairs Canada's Asia Pacific Bureau. Register early as space is limited, and priority will be given to APWG members. For further information contact Sara Kemp at skemp@ccic.ca or (613)241-7007 ext. 316.

  5. Canadian Council on Refugees conference: The Canadian Council for Refugees will be holding an international refugee rights conference June 17 to 19 in Toronto. The conference will be an opportunity to network and strategize on issues such as: interdiction and access to protection; effective protection; detention of asylum seekers; and gender violence. E-mail ccr5@web.ca to indicate your interest.

Ethics in a Flash

  1. Questions and concerns for Ethics Committee: The CCIC Ethics Program offers support to members through the ethical expertise of the Ethics Review Committee (ERC). The committee meets next on January 26 and 27 and would appreciate receiving ethical concerns by January 25. This Committee responds to members' questions of an ethical nature related to the CCIC Code of Ethics. The concern may relate to either a potential ethical dilemma, or an existing dilemma on which you may wish to seek the opinion and guidance from the ERC. To help the committee respond fully to your question, complete the Ethical Concern Form found in the Ethics Program section at www.ccic.ca/e/002/ethics.shtml, or contact abuchanan@ccic.ca. Send your questions to the attention of the Ethics Review Committee c/o Anne Buchanan at CCIC.
TOP
All Rights Reserved 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 20 janvier 2006

Abolissons la pauvreté

  1. Élections : appuis des candidats à la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. Dans la campagne électorale en cours, trois partis et 987 candidats appuient les objectifs de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté : accroître et optimiser l'aide, rendre le commerce équitable, annuler la totalité de la dette et éliminer la pauvreté des enfants au Canada. Les candidats avaient jusqu'au 16 janvier pour répondre à l'appel que nous leur avions lancé. Cette démarche a d'ailleurs bénéficié de l'apport de milliers de citoyennes et de citoyens qui ont communiqué avec les candidats de leur circonscription pour leur faire savoir que la pauvreté au Canada et dans le monde constituait pour eux un enjeu majeur. On trouvera la liste complète des personnes qui appuient les objectifs à l'adresse www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca. Parti libéral : Appui exprimé par les 308 candidats et le chef au nom du parti. NPD : Appui exprimé par les 308 candidats et le chef au nom du parti. Parti vert : Appui exprimé par les 308 candidats et le chef au nom du parti. Parti conservateur : Appui exprimé par 55 candidats. Bloc québécois : Appui exprimé par 8 candidats. La campagne Abolissons la pauvreté attend du prochain gouvernement qu'il traduise en gestes concrets son appui à l'objectif d'éliminer la pauvreté.

  2. Débat électoral dans le cadre de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. Un débat intitulé Poverty at Home and Abroad (" La pauvreté au Canada et à l'étranger ") a fait salle comble à Toronto. En effet, six cents personnes se sont déplacées pour entendre des intervenants de marque, soit Stephen Lewis, les journalistes Linda McQuaig et John Stackhouse, et la militante antipauvreté Josephine Grey. Le débat portait sur les quatre volets de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté : accroître et optimiser l'aide, rendre le commerce équitable, annuler la totalité de la dette et éliminer la pauvreté des enfants au Canada. Les partis étaient représentés par David Chernushenko (Parti vert), Paul Summerville (NPD) et John McKay (Parti libéral). Animé par Ken Rockburn, le débat sera diffusé sur la chaîne CPAC, à l'émission Talk Politics, de 18 h à 20 h.

  3. Commission de consolidation de la paix aux Nations unies. Le 20 décembre, l'Assemblée générale et le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies ont créé par résolution la Commission de consolidation de la paix. Cet organisme intergouvernemental a pour mandat de concentrer l'attention et les ressources internationales sur la consolidation de la paix et la prévention des rechutes dans les pays qui émergent d'un conflit. Pour en savoir plus, voir le site de la réforme de l'ONU à http://www.reformtheun.org/index.php/issues/1735?theme=alt4 (en anglais). Ce site présente un aperçu du dossier et donne accès à tous les documents pertinents : documents de l'ONU, déclarations des gouvernements, analyses de la société civile. Le CCCI organise des conférences téléphoniques sur ce thème. Renseignements : Erin Simpson, esimpson@ccic.ca.

À Venir

  1. Atelier sur l'organisation de campagnes. Le CCCI tiendra le 23 février une journée de formation sur l'organisation de campagnes au Canada. Les membres du Conseil s'efforcent déjà de peser d'un plus grand poids dans les affaires publiques et de réveiller le citoyen du monde dans l'âme des Canadiens. Dans la foulée de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, qui a profité de la mobilisation d'une grande partie des membres, cette journée leur donnera l'occasion d'échanger sur leur expérience, de réfléchir aux meilleures possibilités d'intervention dans les affaires publiques, de découvrir les liens qui unissent leur action globale en matière de politiques publiques et de mobilisation du public, et de trouver de nouvelles manières de faire campagne au Canada. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec l'équipe Développement organisationnel, à od@ccic.ca ou au (613)241-7007, poste 336.

  2. Journée de formation mutuelle sur le thème " Images d'Afrique ". Les responsables du financement et les agents de communication sont invités à participer à cette nouvelle journée de formation organisée par le Forum Afrique-Canada et le CCCI en collaboration avec l'AQOCI. Cette journée se déroulera en français et prendra la forme d'une session de travail entre pairs. Il s'agit de réunir en une communauté de praticiens, des responsables de la collecte de fonds et du marketing ainsi que des membres du personnel des communications qui souhaitent se concerter pour enrichir leurs connaissances sur les bonnes pratiques en matière de collecte de fond. L'activité se déroulera le 16 février, de 8 h 30 à 17 h, au Centre Saint-Pierre à Montréal. Pour connaître le programme et obtenir un formulaire d'inscription, communiquer avec Yolande Geadah, à ygeadah@aqoci.qc.ca ou au (514) 871-1086. Date limite d'inscription : 1er février.

  3. Forum social mondial (Amérique). Le Groupe d'orientation politique pour les Amériques tiendra au Forum social mondial une session de travail sur le projet d'accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le groupe des Quatre (Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua) de l'Amérique centrale. L'atelier permettra de s'informer à ce sujet et de créer des liens en vue d'une collaboration future. Le volet Amérique du Forum social mondial se déroulera du 24 au 29 janvier à Caracas, au Venezuela. Pour en savoir plus, communiquer avec Nadja Drost, au (613) 241-7007, poste 333 ou à ndrost@ccic.ca.

  4. Atelier sur l'évaluation des retombées de la paix et des conflits. Le Groupe de travail sur l'Asie et le Pacifique (GTAP) tiendra, les 9 et 10 mars, un atelier sur l'évaluation des retombées de la paix et des conflits en ce qui concerne les pays d'Asie et du Pacifique. La session sera animée par Kenneth Bush, Ph.D., professeur en étude des conflits, à l'Université Saint-Paul d'Ottawa. La participation est gratuite grâce à l'appui financier du Bureau de l'Asie-Pacifique d'Affaires étrangères Canada. Inscrivez-vous vite car le nombre de places est limité; priorité sera accordée aux membres du GTAP. Renseignements : Sara Kemp, skemp@ccic.ca ou (613) 241-7007, poste 316.

  5. Colloque du Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés. Le Conseil canadien pour les réfugiés tiendra un colloque sur les droits des réfugiés, à Toronto du 17 au 19 juin. Ce sera l'occasion de nouer des liens et de discuter stratégie sur des questions comme l'interdiction et le droit à la protection, l'efficacité de la protection, la détention des demandeurs d'asile et la violence contre les femmes. Pour signaler votre intérêt : ccr5@web.ca.

Éthique

  1. Questions au Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique. Le programme d'éthique du CCCI permet aux membres de profiter de l'expertise du Comité d'étude du Code d'éthique (CECE). Ce comité se réunira les 26 et 27 janvier et vous saurait gré de lui transmettre vos questions avant le 25 janvier. Le Comité répond aux questions des membres au sujet du code d'éthique du CCCI. La question peut porter sur un problème éthique potentiel aussi bien que sur une situation en cours. Pour aider le Comité à répondre le mieux possible, veuillez remplir le Formulaire de présentation d'une préoccupation d'ordre éthique, que vous trouverez dans la section consacrée à l'éthique de la page http://www.ccic.ca/f/002/ethics.shtml, ou encore communiquer avec le Comité en vous adressant à Anne Buchanan, à abuchanan@ccic.ca.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca