CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

December 9, 2005

Make Poverty History

  1. Bono Rocks Ottawa: Bono, in Ottawa for a U2 concert on November 25, appeared with Make Poverty History Co-chair Gerry Barr at a Press Conference on Parliament Hill. Bono said he was "not just disappointed" but "crushed" by Canada's lack of progress in reaching the internationally agreed to target for aid spending of 0.7% of Gross National Income. Bono, also noting that a federal election was imminent, said that he "would beseech the Canadian people, as their politicians meet them on their doorsteps, to say… this is the kind of Canada the world needs now." After the press conference, Bono met with a number of political leaders from all the parties where he continued to deliver the message that world leaders must act now to end global poverty.

  2. Election Time - Decision Time: It's election time and the message to political candidates is simple: Make Poverty History. Make Poverty History is calling on all candidates to pledge to support the Make Poverty History goals and to work towards achieving them if elected. A new election page is now on the Make Poverty History web site (www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/elections)

  3. Ending Poverty Should be on the Election Agenda According to Stephen Lewis: Stephen Lewis, who helped launch Make Poverty History in Canada, has called for all political leaders to support the Make Poverty History goals and for the election platforms of all the political parties to clearly state a commitment to reaching 0.7% of GNI for aid. Speaking at Carleton University in Ottawa on November 22, Lewis said that "There is every reason in the world for every one of us, including our political leaders, to embrace the targets of the Make Poverty History campaign. This issue needs to be raised at every all-candidates' meeting, in every riding, and in every possible fashion, to get Canada to embrace a schedule by which the 0.7% target will be reached." For more information see the news release at www.makepovertyhistory.ca.

  4. CCIC and Make Poverty History Testify before Parliamentarians on WTO: CCIC and Make Poverty History recently gave an overview of Canada's role and CCIC's recommendations for the upcoming World Trade Organization meeting. Gerry Barr, President and CEO of CCIC and Make Poverty History Co-chair, said that there are strategic areas of mutual concern between Canada and developing countries, which Canada could champion. In particular, Canada should back the ability of developing countries to use of one of their last remaining tools-tariffs-which are crucial to supporting local industry and agriculture. Barr also pointed out that despite claims that the greatest poverty benefits lie in greater market opening, the World Bank has recently downgraded its predictions of gains to developing countries from opening borders through the Doha Round to, at best, a penny per person per day. Barr, Gauri Sreenivasan of CCIC and Mark Fried of Oxfam Canada presented to the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade (SCFAIT) on November 24.

  5. Trade Justice Actions: In the lead-up to the World Trade Organization meeting in Hong Kong this December 13 to 18, Make Poverty History activists across Canada are calling for Canada not to sign on to any agreement that does not contribute to ending poverty. On December 7 Make Poverty History delivered petitions and postcards to the Prime Minister urging him to ensure trade justice. On December 10, the third international White Band Day, millions around the world will be reminding world leaders that they are still watching and waiting for trade justice to make poverty history. For more information go to the Make Poverty History White Band page at www.makepovertyhistory.ca/e/take-action/white-band-day-3.html.

Headlines

  1. Roundtable on Trade and Development held with NGOs: Ministers Jim Peterson and Aileen Carroll hosted a roundtable with about 40 organizations November 23 in Ottawa on the Doha Development Agenda. After short statements from both Ministers outlining how Canada will pursue development in the negotiations, each organization was invited to make a quick comment. Unfortunately there was little time for dialogue with the Ministers. However, the concerns from participants were overwhelmingly consistent that the current offers on the table for Hong Kong fall far short of a development round and indeed can undermine efforts to end poverty. NGOs raised concerns regarding the Canadian position in agriculture, NAMA and services, and pushed for stronger leadership from Canada in key areas such as human rights, health policy, and access to medicines.

  2. Stabilization and Reconstruction Taskforce (START): CCIC and the Canadian Peacebuilding Coordinating Committee (CPCC) sent a joint letter to Ministers Pettigrew, Graham and Carroll regarding the newly created START. The letter, and accompanying briefing note, emphasized the importance of human rights, humanitarian and peacebuilding principles in guiding the policies and programs of a whole-of-government approach to states experiencing conflict and weak governance. Contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca for more information or a copy of the letter and principles document.

  3. CCIC Presents on "fragile states": Participating in a conference hosted by the Centre for Global Studies at the University of Victoria, CCIC presented a paper entitled "Is Coherence a Trojan Horse for Politicization?". The conference, Fragile, Dangerous and Failed states: Implementing Canada's International Policy Statement, brought together academics, civil society and officials from CIDA, FAC and DND to discuss a range of issues relating to "fragile states", including gender dimensions, the Responsibility to Protect, policy coherence and nation-building. According to CIDA officials, the Agency is the midst of finalizing Guidelines for Engagement in Fragile States. The conference papers are available at http://www.failedstates.org/papers.php.

Worth Looking At

  1. Transparency Report Card on Canadian clothing retailers released: The Ethical Trading Action Group (ETAG) has released the study, "Coming Clean on the Clothes We Wear: Transparency Report Card." The Transparency Report Card assessed and compared 25 major retailers and brands selling apparel products in the Canadian market in terms of their efforts to address worker rights issues in their global supply chains and on how and what they report on those efforts. The Report found that none of the companies surveyed are providing sufficient information to consumers and investors to allow them to make ethical choices. It also noted certain brand-name companies that have been the target of anti-sweatshop campaigns over the past decade are now disclosing more information to the public on their labour standards policies and programs. The report charged that Canadian companies are generally disclosing less information than major US brands on their labour standards policies and programs. The full report is available on the Maquila Solidarity Network (MSN) web site at www.maquilasolidarity.org.

  2. Network on Global Security and Development: Recognizing the need for information-sharing and global advocacy on evolving security and development issues, CCIC recently took on the task of co-coordinating a monthly e-update called the Global Security and Development Network (GSDN) Update. Examples of relevant issues include "failed and fragile" states, International Financial Institutions and peace-building, the new Peace-building Commission, impacts of the "Global War on Terror" in developing countries, and Provincial Reconstruction Teams (PRTs). CCIC members are urged to join the network and contribute to the information-sharing by sending short news pieces. To contribute or subscribe, contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca.

  3. Corporate Accountability: The summary of the Civil Society analysis of the Government's Response to the SCFAIT report on Mining and Corporate Social Responsibility is now available on the CCIC web site www.ccic.ca. Contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca for more information.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 9 décembre 2005

Abolissons la pauvreté

  1. Bono fait vibrer Ottawa. De passage à Ottawa pour un concert de U2 le 25 novembre, Bono a participé à une conférence de presse avec Gerry Barr, coprésident de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, sur la colline du Parlement. Bono a déclaré qu'il n'était « pas seulement déçu » mais « navré » par l'absence de progrès du Canada dans la poursuite de l'objectif de 0,7 p. 100 du revenu national brut convenu à l'échelle internationale pour l'aide au développement. Prenant acte de l'imminence d'élections fédérales, Bono a ajouté qu'il « implor[ait] la population canadienne, lorsque les candidats sonneront à la porte, de leur dire que [...] voilà le Canada dont le monde a besoin aujourd'hui ». Après la conférence de presse, Bono a rencontré plusieurs personnalités de tous les partis, à qui il a répété que les dirigeants du monde devaient agir maintenant pour mettre un terme à la pauvreté.

  2. Je vote, je décide ! Nous irons bientôt aux urnes, et le message à passer aux candidats est simple : abolissons la pauvreté ! Les organisateurs de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté demandent à tous les candidats de manifester leur appui aux objectifs de la campagne et de les poursuivre s'ils sont élus. Le site web Abolissons la pauvreté comporte maintenant une page sur les élections (www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca/f/elections).

  3. L'élimination de la pauvreté doit être un thème de la campagne (Stephen Lewis). Stephen Lewis, qui a contribué au lancement de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté au Canada, demande à toutes les personnalités politiques d'appuyer les objectifs de la campagne et de s'engager officiellement, dans leur programme, à porter l'aide internationale à 0,7 p. 100 du RNB. Prenant la parole à l'Université Carleton à Ottawa le 22 novembre, M. Lewis à déclaré : « Chacun d'entre nous, y compris les personnalités politiques, a toutes les raisons du monde d'adhérer aux objectifs de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté. Cette question doit être soulevée dans tous les débats, dans toutes les circonscriptions, de toutes les manières possibles, afin que le Canada se dote d'un échéancier permettant l'atteinte du 0,7 p. 100 ». Pour en savoir plus, lire le communiqué à www.abolissonslapauvrete.ca.

  4. Le CCCI et la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté témoignent devant des parlementaires au sujet de l'OMC. Le CCCI et la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté ont récemment donné un aperçu du rôle que devrait jouer le Canada, selon le CCCI, à la rencontre de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce qui aura lieu bientôt. Gerry Barr, président-directeur général du CCCI et coprésident de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, a déclaré qu'il existait des secteurs stratégiques d'intérêt commun entre le Canada et les pays en développement et que le Canada devrait s'en faire le champion. En particulier, le Canada devrait appuyer les revendications des pays en développement qui souhaitent conserver un des derniers leviers économiques qu'il leur reste - les tarifs douaniers -, essentiels pour soutenir l'agriculture et l'industrie locales. M. Barr a également fait valoir que malgré les prétentions selon lesquelles l'ouverture des marchés est l'option la plus efficace pour faire reculer la pauvreté, dernièrement la Banque mondiale a revu à la baisse ses prévisions au sujet des gains que représenterait pour les pays en développement l'ouverture des frontières à l'issue du cycle de Doha : ces gains se chiffreraient, au mieux, à un sou par personne par jour. M. Barr, Gauri Sreenivasan du CCCI et Mark Fried d'Oxfam Canada témoignaient devant le Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du commerce international (CPAECI) le 24 novembre.

  5. Agir pour rendre le commerce équitable. À l'approche de la rencontre de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce qui aura lieu à Hong Kong du 13 au 18 décembre, les militants de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté, partout au pays, demandent au Canada de ne signer aucune entente qui ne contribue à l'élimination de la pauvreté. Le 7 décembre, les organisateurs de la campagne ont remis au premier ministre des pétitions et des cartes postales exhortant ce dernier à rendre le commerce équitable. Le 10 décembre, troisième Journée internationale du bracelet blanc, des millions de personnes rappelleront aux dirigeants de la planète qu'ils les surveillent toujours et qu'ils leur demande de rendre le commerce équitable pour abolir la pauvreté. Voir la page du bracelet blanc sur le site web de la campagne Abolissons la pauvreté à http://www.makepovertyhistory.ca/f/appel-action/journee-ruban-blanc-3.html.

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Table ronde sur le commerce et le développement tenue avec les ONG. Les ministres Jim Peterson et Aileen Carroll ont présidé une table ronde sur le programme d'action de Doha en matière de développement à laquelle participaient une quarantaine d'organisations le 23 novembre à Ottawa. Après de courtes allocutions des deux ministres décrivant comment le Canada se préoccupera du développement dans les négociations, chaque organisation a été invitée à formuler un bref commentaire. Bien qu'il y ait eu peu de temps pour les interactions la grande majorité des intervenants a indiqué que les offres actuelles des négociations de Hong Kong ne ressemblaient pas du tout à ce qu'on devrait voir dans un cycle consacré au développement, et pourraient même nuire à la lutte contre la pauvreté. Les ONG ont exprimé leur inquiétude au sujet de la position canadienne dans les domaines de l'agriculture, de l'AMNA et des services, et ont réclamé du Canada qu'il joue un rôle plus actif dans certains dossiers comme les droits de la personne, la santé et l'accès aux médicaments.

  2. Groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction (GTSR). Le CCCI et le Comité coordonnateur canadien pour la consolidation de la paix (CCCCP) ont envoyé une lettre aux ministres Pettigrew, Graham et Carroll au sujet du nouveau GTSR. La lettre, ainsi que la note d'information qui l'accompagne, insiste sur l'importance des droits de la personne, des principes humanitaires et des principes de consolidation de la paix dans l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes qui soient conformes à une approche pangouvernementale à l'égard des États affaiblis et vivant en situation de conflit. Pour en savoir plus ou obtenir la lettre et le document de fond, communiquer avec Erin Simpson à esimpson@ccic.ca.

  3. Communication du CCCI sur les « États fragiles ». Dans le cadre d'un colloque organisé par le Centre for Global Studies à la University of Victoria, le CCCI a présenté une communication intitulée Is Coherence a Trojan Horse for Politicization? (« La cohérence est-elle le cheval de Troie de la politisation? ») Le colloque, intitulé Fragile, Dangerous and Failed states: Implementing Canada's International Policy Statement (« États fragiles, dangereux et en faillite : la mise en oeuvre de l'Énoncé de politique internationale du Canada »), réunissait des universitaires, des membres de la société civile et des représentants de l'ACDI, de l'AEC et du MDN venus discuter de divers problèmes liés aux « États fragiles », dont les différences entre les hommes et les femmes, la responsabilité de protéger, la cohérence des politiques et le développement de l'appareil public. Les fonctionnaires de l'ACDI ont indiqué que l'Agence mettait la dernière main à des lignes directrices sur les interventions auprès des États fragiles. On peut lire les actes de la conférence à l'adresse http://www.failedstates.org/papers.php.

Vaut un coup d'œil

  1. Bilan de transparence des détaillants dans le domaine du vêtement au Canada. L'Ethical Trading Action Group (ETAG) a publié une étude intitulée Coming Clean on the Clothes We Wear: Transparency Report Card. Cette étude traite de la manière dont 25 grands commerces de détail et grandes marques dans le domaine du vêtement au Canada se préoccupent ou non des droits des travailleurs qui font partie de leur chaîne d'approvisionnement et rendent compte de leurs efforts à cet égard. Les auteurs concluent qu'aucun de ces entreprises ne fournit aux consommateurs et aux investisseurs suffisamment d'information pour permettre à ces derniers de faire un choix éthique. Les auteurs rappellent en outre que certaines marques ont été la cible de campagnes, contre les ateliers de misère au cours des dix dernières années et diffusent maintenant plus d'information au sujet de leurs méthodes et programmes en matière de normes du travail. Les auteurs dénoncent le fait qu'à ce sujet, les entreprises canadiennes sont généralement moins loquaces que les grands marques états-uniennes. Lire le rapport sur le site web du Maquila Solidarity Network (MSN), à www.maquilasolidarity.org.

  2. Network on Global Security and Development. Constatant le besoin de faire circuler l'information et d'internationaliser les revendications relatives au problèmes de sécurité et de développement, le CCCI a décidé de coproduire un bulletin mensuel intitulé Nouvelles du réseau développement et sécurité planétaire. Exemples de sujets traités : les États « fragiles et en déroute », les institutions financières internationales et la consolidation de la paix, la nouvelle Commission sur la consolidation de la paix, l'incidence de la « guerre mondiale contre le terrorisme » sur les pays en développement, et les équipes de reconstruction provinciales (ERP). Les membres du CCCI sont invités à se joindre au réseau et à partager de l'information en envoyant de courts communiqués. Pour ce faire, ou pour s'abonner au bulletin, communiquer avec Erin Simpson, à esimpson@ccic.ca.

  3. Responsabilité des entreprises. Des organismes de la société civile ont analysé la réponse du gouvernement au rapport du CPAECI sur l'exploitation minière et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. On peut dès maintenant lire le résumé de cette analyse dans le site web du CCCI (www.ccic.ca). Renseignements : Erin Simpson, esimpson@ccic.ca.

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca