CCIC - Flash
A semi-monthly electronic bulletin www.ccic.ca
PRINT FRANÇAIS

Flash

November 11, 2005

Headlines

  1. Presentation to Parliamentary Standing Committee: In the context of growing concerns about the blurring of lines between humanitarian assistance and military action, CCIC President-CEO Gerry Barr presented on November 3 before the Standing Committee on National Defence and Veteran Affairs about Canada's 3D approach. CCIC made three key points: (1) Humanitarian action must be independent from military action (2) The rights of those affected by armed conflict must come first in international interventions in conflicts and (3) The Canadian aid program must be focused on ending global poverty. CARE Canada and the Canadian Red Cross also presented to the Committee. For more information contact Erin Simpson at esimpson@ccic.ca.

  2. Research Project on Effectiveness in Social Justice Influencing and Advocacy: How do you know that your organization is being effective in its work? This is a question few organizations have time or resources to examine. Funded by a special Social Science and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) grant, a team of researchers from the Universities of Carleton and Calgary are studying this question. They are seeking participation from organizations doing advocacy on social justice issues. For selected organizations, participation will include interviews with key stakeholders in the organization, followed by one or more facilitated workshops. The goal is to make the process and the results useful to participating organizations. Other than time, there will be no cost. For further information contact Dr. Elizabeth Whitmore at Elizabeth_whitmore@carleton.ca.

  3. Summit of the Americas: Leaders from the Americas discussed Hemispheric issues and Prime Minister Paul Martin expressed Canada's commitment to negotiating a Free Trade Agreement of the Americas at the 4th Summit of the Americas November 4 and 5 in Mar de Plata, Argentina. This Summit's theme was 'Creating Jobs to Fight Poverty and Strengthen Democratic Governance'. Parallel to this political forum, the 3rd Peoples' Summit of the Americas ran from November 1to 5. Over 40,000 people took to the streets rallying for an alternative America. The march concluded with a reading of the Declaration of the 3rd Peoples' Summit of the Americas which called for an immediate and definite suspension of the Free Trade Agreement of the Americas. For more information, visit the web sites of the Canadian Labour Congress, Common Frontiers, and KAIROS, or contact Nadja Drost at (613) 241-7007 ext. 333 or ndrost@ccic.ca.

Upcoming events

  1. Memoirs of a Geisha: World Literacy of Canada is hosting a benefit event, on December 1 in Toronto, in conjunction with Random House of Canada and Sony Pictures. The evening will be a unique experience illuminating Japanese culture and the history of the Geisha. There will be Japanese cuisine, music and screening of "Memoirs of a Geisha". Arthur Golden, the author of the international bestselling book from which the film is adapted, will be interviewed prior to the screening. All proceeds will support World Literacy of Canada's programs in Canada and overseas. The Gala Ticket (includes post-screening sushi and sake gala party, complimentary signed copy of novel and reserved-section seating or film) is $125 with a tax receipt for $100. The Benefit Premier Ticket is $50 with a $35 tax receipt. For more information or to buy tickets call (416) 977-0008.

  2. Habitat Jam: Imagine tens of thousands of people around the world connecting in real time over the internet to discuss and debate some of the most urgent and controversial issues that face a rapidly urbanizing planet. Imagine world-class thinkers leading the discussions. This is Habitat JAM. As part of the preparations for the third session of the World Urban Forum, the Government of Canada in partnership with UN-HABITAT is sponsoring this 72-hour internet event from December 1 to 3. The six forum topics to be discussed are: improving the lives of slum dwellers; sustainable access to water; environmental sustainability; safety and security; finance and governance; the future of our cities. For more information go to www.habitatjam.com or contact Micheline Lesage at micheline.lesage@habitatjam.com.

  3. Development and Adaptation Days at COP-11: The International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) is co-hosting Development and Adaptation Days at COP-11, (the eleventh Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change). This workshop addresses development and climate change while facilitating greater collaborative links between climate change and development communities. The event takes place at Guy Favreau Complex on December 3 in Montreal. Visit Development and Adaptation Days at COP-11 www.iisd.org/climate/unfccc/cop_dadays.asp for more information.

  4. APWG Forum: This is a reminder that the APWG Forum will take place on November 21 and 22 in Cantley, Quebec (20 minutes from Ottawa). The main topics covered will be peace and conflict impact assessments and militarized commerce. If you have not received a registration package, contact Sara Kemp at skemp@ccic.ca or (613) 241-7007 ext. 316. Registration forms must be returned to Sara Kemp as soon as possible.

  5. PPP AGM - November 28: The Pacific Peoples' Partnership is hosting its Annual General Meeting in Victoria on November 28. Papuan human rights activist Yan Christian Warinussy, the winner of the John Humphrey's Freedom Award, will give the keynote. For more information contact Randall Sach at director@pacificpeoplespartnership.org or at (250) 381-4131.

  6. John Humphrey Freedom Award Recipient to Speak in Canada: Papuan human rights activist Yan Christian Warinussy, recipient of the 2005 John Humphrey Freedom Award (Rights & Democracy), will be speaking in several Canadian cities in late November and early December. For more information contact Anyle Coté at (514) 283-6073 ext. 230 or visit Rights & Democracy's web site: http://www.dd-rd.ca

Worth Looking At

  1. SIDPD Reports: Two reports on Sectoral Involvement in Departmental Policy Development (SIDPD) are now available. "Trends in Collaboration: Lessons Learned from Sectoral Involvement in Departmental Policy Development (SIDPD) and Beyond"(http://www.vsi-isbc.ca/eng/policy/sidpd_final_report/index.cfm) provides an analysis of what was learned from the SIDPD projects particularly partnerships and collaboration. "Trends in Collaboration" was the basis for a workshop in March 2005, convened by the Non-Profit and Voluntary Sector Affairs Division (Social Development Canada) and the Voluntary Sector Forum. The workshop report, "Moving Policy Forward through Collaborative Practice" (http://www.vsi-isbc.ca/eng/policy/sidpd_workshop_report.cfm) is also now available.
TOP
All Rights Reserved © 2009 Canadian Council for International Co-operation | info@ccic-ccci.ca

CCCI - Flash
Le bulletin électronique bi-mensuel www.ccic.ca
IMPRIMER ENGLISH

Flash

Le 11 novembre 2005

Dernières nouvelles

  1. Intervention devant un comité permanent au Parlement. Pendant que les craintes se multiplient au sujet de la confusion des limites entre aide humanitaire et action militaire, le 3 novembre dernier, le président-directeur général du CCCI, Gerry Barr, a traité de l'approche 3D (diplomatie, défense et développement) du Canada devant le Comité permanent de la défense nationale et des anciens combattants. Ses trois grands messages étaient les suivants : 1) l'aide humanitaire doit être indépendante de l'action militaire; 2) les droits des victimes d'un conflit armé doivent primer dans les interventions internationales; 3) l'aide internationale canadienne doit être axée sur l'élimination de la pauvreté. Care Canada et la Croix-Rouge canadienne ont aussi témoigné devant le Comité. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Erin Simpson, à esimpson@ccic.ca.

  2. Projet de recherche sur l'efficacité des mesures de défense pour la justice sociale. Comment savoir si l'action de votre organisation est efficace ? Il est rare qu'on ait le temps ou les ressources nécessaires pour se pencher sur cette question. Une équipe de chercheurs des universités Carleton et de Calgary étudient actuellement la question grâce à une subvention spéciale du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSHC). Pour faire cette étude, l'équipe est à la recherche d'organisations qui mènent des activités de défense de la justice sociale. La participation prendra la forme d'un entretien avec des responsables des organisations retenues, ainsi que d'un ou plusieurs ateliers, le tout dans un souci d'utilité pour les organisations. Mis à part le temps demandé, la participation est gratuite. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Elizabeth Whitmore, à Elizabeth_whitmore@carleton.ca.

  3. Sommet des Amériques. Le 4e Sommet des Amériques s'est tenu les 4 et 5 novembre à Mar de Plata, en Argentine. Les dirigeants d'Amérique y ont traité des enjeux continentaux et le premier ministre Paul Martin y a exprimé la volonté du Canada de négocier un accord de libre-échange. Le thème du Sommet était Créer des emplois pour combattre la pauvreté et renforcer la gouvernance démocratique. Parallèlement à ce forum politique, le 3e Sommet des peuples des Amériques battait son plein du 1er au 5 novembre. Plus de 40 000 personnes sont descendues dans la rue pour réclamer l'avènement d'une autre Amérique. La marche s'est conclue par une lecture de la Déclaration du 3e Sommet des peuples, qui réclame la suspension immédiate et définitive de l'Accord de libre-échange des Amériques. Pour en savoir plus, visiter les sites web du Congrès du travail du Canada, de Common Frontiers et de KAIROS, ou communiquer avec Nadja Drost, au (613) 241-7007, poste 333 ou, à ndrost@ccic.ca.

À venir

  1. Mémoires d'une geisha. Le 1er décembre aura lieu à Toronto une activité-bénéfice organisée par World Literacy of Canada de concert avec Random House of Canada et Sony Pictures. Il s'agira d'une expérience unique qui mettra en lumière la culture japonaise et l'histoire des geishas. Vous pourrez y savourer des mets japonais au son de la musique du pays, et il y aura une projection du film Mémoires d'une geisha. Arthur Golden, auteur du best-seller international dont ce film est l'adaptation, sera interviewé avant la projection. Tous les bénéfices seront consacrés aux programmes exécutés par World Literacy of Canada au Canada et à l'étranger. Les billets « gala » sont en vente à 125 $ (ce qui comprend une réception aux sushis et au saké après la projection, un exemplaire autographié et une place assise réservée pour le film) et vous recevrez un reçu fiscal de 100 $. Les billets « bénéfice » se vendent 50 $ et vous recevrez un reçu de 35 $. Pour en savoir plus ou acheter des billets, composer le (416) 977-0008.

  2. Habitat Jam. Imaginez des dizaines de milliers de personnes qui se branchent à Internet en même temps partout dans le monde pour débattre de certains des enjeux les plus urgents et les plus controversés d'une planète en pleine urbanisation. Imaginez que les débats sont animés par de grands penseurs de notre époque. Voilà ce qu'est Habitat JAM. En effet, dans le cadre des préparatifs devant mener à la troisième session du Forum urbain mondial, le gouvernement du Canada, en partenariat avec ONU-HABITAT, parraine ce cyber-événement d'une durée de 72 heures qui aura lieu du 1er au 3 décembre. Les six thèmes à débattre sont les suivants : amélioration de la vie des habitants des taudis, accès durable à l'eau, durabilité environnementale, sécurité, finances et gouvernance, et avenir de nos cités. Pour en savoir plus, consulter le http://www.habitatjam.com/?&language=fr ou écrire à Micheline Lesage micheline.lesage@habitatjam.com.

  3. Journées du développement et de l'adaptation dans le cadre de la CdP-11. L'Institut international du développement durable (IIDD) est un des organisateurs des Journées du développement et de l'adaptation qui se tiendront à la CdP-11 (onzième Conférence des parties à la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques). Cet atelier porte sur les rapports entre développement et changement climatique ainsi que sur la concertation entre les milieux en développement dans ce domaine. Il aura lieu le 3 décembre au Complexe Guy-Favreau, à Montréal. Pour en savoir plus : www.iisd.org/climate/unfccc/cop_dadays.asp.

  4. Forum du GTAP. Rappel : le Forum du GTAP aura lieu les 21 et 22 novembre à Cantley, au Québec (à 20 minutes d'Ottawa). Il portera principalement sur la détermination d'impact sur la paix et les conflits ainsi que sur le commerce militarisé. Vous n'avez pas encore reçu votre trousse d'inscription ? Communiquez avec Sara Kemp, à skemp@ccic.ca ou, au (613) 241-7007, poste 316. Les inscriptions doivent être envoyées à Sara Kemp le plus tôt possible.

  5. AGA de Pacific Peoples' Partnership (PPP) le 28 novembre. PPP tiendra son Assemblée générale annuelle à Victoria le 28 novembre. Le conférencier vedette sera Yan Christian Warinussy, militant papou pour les droits de la personne et lauréat du prix John-Humphrey pour la liberté. Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Randall Sach, à director@pacificpeoplespartnership.org ou, au (250) 381-4131.

  6. Tournée canadienne du lauréat du prix John-Humphrey pour la liberté. Le militant papou pour les droits de la personne, Yan Christian Warinussy, lauréat du prix John-Humphrey pour la liberté 2005 (Droits et Démocratie), donnera des conférences dans plusieurs villes canadiennes à la fin de novembre et au début de décembre. Pour renseignements, communiquer avec Anyle Côté, au (514) 283 6073, poste 230, ou visiter le site web de Droits et Démocratie : http://www.dd-rd.ca.

Vaut un coup d'œil

  1. Mémoires d'une geisha. Le 1er décembre aura lieu à Toronto une activité-bénéfice organisée par World Literacy of Canada de concert avec Random House of Canada et Sony Pictures. Il s'agira d'une expérience unique qui mettra en lumière la culture japonaise et l'histoire des geishas. Vous pourrez y savourer des mets japonais au son de la musique du pays, et il y aura une projection du film Mémoires d'une geisha. Arthur Golden, auteur du best-seller international dont ce film est l'adaptation, sera interviewé avant la projection. Tous les bénéfices seront consacrés aux programmes exécutés par World Literacy of Canada au Canada et à l'étranger. Les billets « gala » sont en vente à 125 $ (ce qui comprend une réception aux sushis et au saké après la projection, un exemplaire autographié et une place assise réservée pour le film) et vous recevrez un reçu fiscal de 100 $. Les billets « bénéfice » se vendent 50 $ et vous recevrez un reçu de 35 $. Pour en savoir plus ou acheter des billets, composer le (416) 977-0008.

  2. Rapports sur la PSEPM. Deux rapports sur la Participation du secteur à l'élaboration des politiques ministérielles (PSEPM) viennent de paraître. Le premier, Tendances en matière de collaboration : Leçons tirées de la Participation du secteur à l'élaboration des politiques ministérielles (PSEPM) et coup d'œil sur l'avenir (http://www.vsi-isbc.ca/fr/policy/sidpd_final_report/index.cfm), traite des enseignements tirés des projets de PSEPM, en particulier au sujet des partenariats et de la collaboration. Il a servi de document de référence pour un atelier tenu en mars 2005 à l'initiative de la Division des affaires du secteur sans but lucratif, bénévole et communautaire de Développement social Canada et du Forum du secteur bénévole et communautaire. À cela s'ajoute le compte rendu de cet atelier, Faire avancer l'élaboration de politiques par la pratique collaborative (http://www.vsi-isbc.ca/fr/policy/sidpd_workshop_report.cfm).

 

HAUT
Tous droits réservés © 2009 Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale | info@ccic-ccci.ca