CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile October 2014

 

World Literacy Canada

 

BCCIC

The Women of World Literacy Canada.

This month CCIC met with Jasmine Gill, Executive Director of World Literacy Canada.  Jasmine shared her views on World Literacy Canada’s programming, explained the approach World Literacy Canada uses to foster women’s empowerment and described the impact of one of their main project, the Sally Swenson Scholarship… among other things!

 

CCIC - World Literacy Canada has been a leader in delivering literacy education for nearly 60 years. In your opinion what has made World Literacy Canada's programming so successful and unique?

Jasmine Gill - World Literacy Canada's programs are very effective because they are grassroots, that is, community-based in their approach. We work directly with our beneficiaries to design and deliver educational programs that are responsive to the needs of the community as a whole. In India, where we have a program office, our adult literacy programs are created and governed with the participation of women's groups in each community. In Canada, we work to provide opportunities for children in under-served communities to contribute their voices to the global community. Our mission is to deliver and support the education of women and children as a means to enhance gender equity, to eliminate poverty and to increase the well-being of the communities in which we work. Our programming successfully supports our mission because of its direct and efficient approach, responsiveness to community concerns and the strength, commitment and  dedication of all involved to further the cause of literacy.

 

CCIC - Women's empowerment is at the core of your work. Could you please describe the approach that World Literacy Canada uses and why this such a priority for your organization.

Jasmine Gill - World Literacy Canada supports the development of women as leaders through the establishment of a democratically-elected community groups (Mahila Mandals)  that meet regularly to discuss local issues, and to act as the decision-making body on all components of our educational programs. These Mahila Mandals are at the centre of our overseas educational programming, because they act both as a collective female voice to speak on behalf of those who cannot yet read or write and as the driving force supporting the efforts of other women in the community in achieving literacy and making their voices heard. We also work to provide resources to the Mahila Mandals concerning access to government benefits and services in order to make positive changes in their homes and communities. Women are often the caretakers of their homes and communities, and through supporting the education and contributions of women we are supporting the development and well-being of the community as a whole.

 

CCIC - World Literacy Canada's Sally Swenson Scholarship is currently one of your main projects. Could you briefly describe the impact that this project has and the type of results you have achieved.

Jasmine Gill - The Sally Swenson Scholarship program is currently supporting 200 kids through their entire formal education process. With the help of the committed sponsors of this program, we cover a student’s tuition, books, school supplies, transportation, after-school tutoring, and community engagement in the importance of education. The results are enormous, as the children who participate in this program are able to reach the tops of their classes and proceed to higher education opportunities. It is a remarkable reminder that the capacity to succeed comes from within, and we are fortunate to have the opportunity to provide educations to children who would otherwise not have access and to support them in the development of their many talents and aspirations.

 

CCIC - What are you most looking forward to in the coming year?

Jasmine Gill - I am looking forward to exploring the many creative opportunities before us to expand the reach of World Literacy Canada's longstanding programs through partnerships with like-minded organizations, and to evolve our programming to add other dimensions to education that will strengthen the link between literacy and economic well-being. 

 

CCIC - World Literacy Canada is a longstanding CCIC member. From your perspective, what is the value of CCIC?

Jasmine Gill - The coalition of organizations involved offer a depth and expansive view of sustainable development, which undoubtedly has contributed to our knowledge base and growth over decades. We are grateful to be represented by a coalition that has all of  its diverse members' interests at heart, and that provides a powerful and coherent voice on the issues that affect us all!

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, octobre 2014

 

World Literacy Canada

 

BCCIC

Les femmes de World Literacy Canada

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Jasmine Gill, directrice générale de World Literacy Canada. Jasmine nous a fait part de ses opinions au sujet des programmes de World Literacy Canada, nous a expliqué l'approche utilisée par World Literacy Canada pour favoriser l'autonomisation des femmes et nous a donné une description des effets positifs d'un de leurs principaux projets, soit les Bourses d'études Sally Swenson... entre autres choses !

 

CCCI - World Literacy Canada est un leader dans le domaine de l'alphabétisation depuis près de 60 ans. À votre avis, qu'est-ce qui fait que les programmes de World Literacy Canada soient si uniques et qu'ils connaissent autant de succès?

Jasmine Gill Les programmes de World Literacy Canada sont très efficaces parce qu’ils sont orientés au niveau local, c’est-à-dire qu’ils privilégient une approche communautaire. Nous travaillons directement avec nos bénéficiaires pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des programmes éducatifs qui répondent aux besoins de la communauté dans son ensemble. En Inde, où nous avons un bureau de programme, nos programmes d’alphabétisation pour les adultes sont créés et gérés grâce à la participation des groupes de femmes de chaque communauté. Au Canada, nous travaillons à offrir aux enfants des communautés mal desservies la possibilité de faire entendre leurs voix au sein de la communauté mondiale. Notre mission est de favoriser et de soutenir l’éducation des femmes et des enfants afin de renforcer l’équité entre les sexes, d’éliminer la pauvreté et d’accroître le bien-être des communautés où nous travaillons. Nos programmes consolident notre mission avec succès en raison de leur approche directe et efficace et de leur capacité à répondre aux attentes des communautés, sans oublier la force, l’engagement et le dévouement de tous ceux qui s’impliquent pour la cause de l’alphabétisation.

 

CCCI - Le renforcement des capacités des femmes est au cœur de votre travail. Pouvez-vous nous décrire l'approche utilisée par World Literacy Canada et nous dire pourquoi il s'agit d'une priorité pour votre organisation?

Jasmine Gill – World Literacy Canada appuie le développement des femmes comme leaders à travers la création de groupes communautaires élus démocratiquement (Mahila Mandals) qui se rencontrent régulièrement pour discuter des enjeux locaux et pour agir en tant qu’organe décisionnel pour tous les éléments de nos programmes éducatifs. Ces Mahila Mandals sont au centre de nos programmes éducatifs à l’étranger parce qu’ils servent à la fois de voix collective des femmes pour parler au nom de celles qui ne peuvent pas encore lire ou écrire, et de moteurs pour appuyer les efforts d’alphabétisation des autres femmes de la communauté et pour faire entendre leurs voix. Nous travaillons aussi à offrir des ressources aux Mahila Mandals en lien avec l’accès aux bénéfices et services gouvernementaux afin de favoriser des changements positifs dans leurs foyers et leurs communautés. Les femmes sont souvent les gardiennes de leurs foyers et de leurs communautés et, grâce au soutien à l’éducation et aux contributions des femmes, nous favorisons le développement et le bien-être de la communauté dans son ensemble.

CCCI - Les bourses d'études Sally Swenson de World Literacy Canada représentent actuellement un de vos principaux projets. Pouvez-vous nous décrire brièvement les retombés de ce projet et le type de résultats que vous avez atteints ?

Jasmine Gill – Le programme de bourses d’études Sally Swenson soutient actuellement 200 enfants pour l’ensemble de leur processus formel d’éducation. Avec l’aide des commanditaires engagés dans ce programme, nous couvrons les frais de scolarité, les livres, les fournitures scolaires, le transport, le tutorat après l’école et l’engagement communautaire en faveur de l’éducation de chaque étudiant. Les résultats sont impressionnants, alors que les étudiants qui participent au programme arrivent à se classer parmi les meilleurs de leurs classes et poursuivent leurs études à des niveaux supérieurs. Il s’agit d’un rappel remarquable que la capacité de réussite vient de l’intérieur, et nous sommes chanceux d’avoir la possibilité de fournir une éducation à des enfants qui autrement n’y auraient pas accès, et d’appuyer le développement de leurs nombreux talents et de leurs aspirations.

CCCI - Quelles sont vos principales attentes pour l'année à venir?

Jasmine Gill J’ai très hâte d’explorer les nombreuses possibilités qui se présentent afin d’élargir la portée des programmes de World Literacy Canada à travers des partenariats avec des organisations partageant les même valeurs, et de faire évoluer nos programmes pour ajouter d’autres dimensions liées à l’éducation qui renforceront le lien entre alphabétisation et bien-être économique. 

 

CCCI - World Literacy Canada est membre du CCCI depuis longtemps. Selon vous, quelle est la valeur du CCCI?

Jasmine Gill La coalition des organisations impliquées offre une profondeur et une vision plus large du développement durable qui ont sans aucun doute contribué à notre base et à notre accumulation de connaissances au cours des décennies. Nous sommes reconnaissants d’être représentés par une coalition qui a à cœur les intérêts de tous ses membres et qui offre une voix forte et cohérente sur des enjeux qui nous affectent tous!


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi