CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile May-June 2015

Amnesty International Canada

 

BCCIC

A mother from the rural community of Kouloun, Mali attends literacy classes with her young daughter as part of the SOS Family Strengthening Program Kouloun. With the help of this program 146 parents have received basic literacy classes for the first time.

This month CCIC met with Boyd McBride, President and CEO at SOS Children’s Villages –and one of CCIC new member organizations!-to discuss the organization’s focus and the recent response to the earthquake in Nepal….among other things!

 

CCIC - What would you say distinguishes SOS Children’s Villages Canada from other Canadian organizations working in international development?

Boyd McBride - What distinguishes us is our focus. SOS Children’s Villages exists for a simple reason: to see that no child is ever alone.

This informs all of our work, from our family based care model, where we provide loving homes for children who have been abandoned or orphaned, to our family strengthening programs, which empower families at risk to prevent the crises that lead to child abandonment.

 

CCIC - For those who are unfamiliar with the Children's Villages model, can you please introduce us to its structure and function?

Boyd McBride - SOS Children’s Villages believes that every child needs a loving family. Our first priority is to support families at risk to prevent family breakdown, so that children do not need alternative care.

In cases where a child cannot be cared for by their family of origin, we provide quality alternative family based care in the form of Children’s Villages where children grow-up as part of an SOS family. Each child is cared for as an individual until adulthood; children are cared for by an SOS mother in a family home with their biological brothers and sisters. SOS mothers are at the heart of the Children’s Village model. They are local women extensively trained in child care and protection, who are committed to creating a nurturing family home for children in their care.

In co-operation with local governments, SOS Children’s Villages also works to improve the quality of all forms of alternative care to ensure a range of options for children in need.

 

CCIC - SOS Children's Villages was one of the many organizations who responded to the Nepal Earthquake. Can you please briefly describe your emergency response as well as your overall work in Nepal?

Boyd McBride - Prior to the earthquake on April 25th, SOS Children’s Villages had been on the ground in Nepal for over 40 years and was operating thirty-seven programs. In the aftermath of the earthquake, our emergency response has focused on the well-being of unaccompanied and separated children, as well as children at risk of losing parental care.

As a participant in the Global Protection Cluster, SOS Children’s Villages is:

  • assisting with family reunification by providing temporary family based care for unaccompanied children, while working in partnership with state authorities to identify and locate biological family members;
  • offering 21 child-friendly spaces that provide therapeutic and informal class activities, medical treatment, meals and refreshments for children; and
  •  providing humanitarian aid by working in close collaboration with the Red Cross, UNICEF and the Nepalese government.

Four of the SOS Children’s Villages in Nepal have converted their grounds into emergency relief camps, supplying first aid, food, water and tents for children and families. A total of 14 essential services points have been created.

 

CCIC - 'Family Strengthening' appears to be core to your vision and programming. What is this approach and what makes it so unique?

Boyd McBride - Children have the right to grow-up with their biological family. By working with families at risk of breaking down, we can help prevent the crises that lead to child abandonment and ensure that children’s rights are realized and protected.

SOS Family Strengthening Programs are developed through wide-spread community consultation and are tailored to the needs of the local community and participating families. The overall objective of these programs is to ensure the wellbeing of children by improving the capacity of families and local communities.
First the Programs provide immediate assistance to families in crisis. The Programs then work with parents and caregivers over the long term to develop their income generating and financial capacity, as well as a range of essential parenting skills. At the same time the Programs work with community based organizations and local partners to develop the local communities’ ability to support vulnerable families and protect children.

 

CCIC - SOS Children's Villages Canada recently rejoined CCIC. Why was it important for you to become a member again?

Boyd McBride - For a long time we’ve recognized the value of CCIC as a voice for the development sector in Canada and have valued the support it offers to non-governmental organizations. All our work is to the same end: to make the world a better place for those who need it most, and CCIC helps us do that.

For more information about SOS Children’s Villages: www.soschildrensvillages.ca

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, mai-juin 2015


ACC

 

Alex Neve

Une mère de la communauté rurale de Kouloun au Mali participe à un cours d'alphabétisation avec sa fillette, dans le cadre du programme SOS Renforcement des Familles de Kouloun. Grâce à ce programme, 146 parents ont reçu pour la première fois des cours de base en alphabétisation.

Ce mois-ci le CCCI s’est entrenu avec Boyd McBride, prédident directeur général à SOS Children’s Villages (et l’un des nouveaux membres du CCCI!) pour discuter de la spécificité de l’organisation et de sa réponse récent au tremblement de terre survenu au Népal…entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - Qu'est-ce qui différencie selon vous SOS Children's Villages Canada des autres organisations canadiennes travaillant dans le secteur du développement international ?

Boyd McBride Ce qui nous distingue, c'est notre préoccupation principale. SOS Children's Villages existe pour une raison bien simple: s'assurer qu'aucun enfant ne soit laissé à lui-même.

Cette préoccupation influence tous les aspects de notre travail, que ce soit notre modèle de soins basé sur la famille,  à travers lequel nous offrons des foyers aimants aux enfants orphelins ou abandonnés, ou encore nos programmes de renforcement des familles, qui renforcent les capacités des familles à risque pour prévenir les crises pouvant mener à l'abandon des enfants.

 

CCCI - Pour ceux qui ne sont pas familiers avec SOS Children's Villages, pourriez-vous vous nous parler de sa structure et de son mandat ?

Boyd McBride SOS Children's Villages croit que tous les enfants ont besoin d'une famille aimante. Notre principale priorité est de soutenir les familles à risques afin de prévenir leur effondrement et de s'assurer que les enfants n'auront pas à être pris en charge ailleurs. 

Dans les cas où un enfant ne peut pas être pris en charge par sa famille d'origine, nous offrons une alternative de soins de qualité. Celle-ci prend la forme de villages d'enfants où les enfants peuvent grandir au sein d'une famille de SOS.   Chaque enfant est pris en charge comme individu jusqu'à l'âge adulte; les enfants sont pris en charge par une mère de SOS dans une maison familiale avec leurs frères et sœurs biologiques. Les mères SOS sont au cœur du modèle des villages d'enfants. Ce sont des femmes de la communauté locale qui reçoivent une formation intensive liée au soin et à la protection des enfants, et qui s'engagent à créer un milieu familial aimant pour les enfants qu'elles prennent en charge. 

En coopération avec les gouvernements locaux, SOS Children's Villages travaille aussi à améliorer la qualité de toutes les formes de soins alternatifs pour assurer un éventail d'options disponibles pour les enfants dans le besoin.

 

CCCI - SOS Children's Villages fait partie des nombreuses organisations qui sont intervenues suite au tremblement de terre survenu au Népal. Pouvez-vous décrire brièvement la nature de vos interventions d'urgence ainsi que votre travail au Népal en général?

Boyd McBride – Avant le tremblement de terre du 25 avril, SOS Children's Villages était déjà sur le terrain au Népal depuis plus de 40 ans et gérait 37 programmes. Suite au tremblement de terre, notre intervention d'urgence s'est concentrée sur le bien-être des enfants non accompagnés et séparés de leurs familles, ainsi que sur les enfants à risque de perdre leurs  soins parentaux.

En tant que participant au sein du Groupe de protection globale, SOS Children's Villages:

  • facilite la réunification des familles en fournissant des soins familiaux temporaires aux enfants non accompagnés, et en travaillant en partenariat avec les autorités étatiques afin d'identifier et localiser les membres de la famille biologique;
  • offre 21 espaces adaptés aux enfants qui proposent des activités thérapeutiques et des activités scolaires informelles, des traitements médicaux, des repas et des rafraîchissements pour les enfants; et
  •  fournit de l'aide humanitaire en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec la Croix-Rouge, UNICEF et le gouvernement népalais.

Quatre des villages d'enfants de SOS au Népal ont été convertis en camps de secours d'urgence, offrant les premiers soins, de la nourriture, de l'eau et des tentes pour les enfants et les familles.  Au total, 14 points de services essentiels ont été créés.

 

CCCI - Le renforcement des familles semblent être au cœur de votre vision et de vos programmes. Quelle est cette approche et qu'est-ce qui la rend unique?

Boyd McBride Les enfants ont le droit de grandir avec leur famille biologique. En travaillant avec les familles qui sont à risque d'éclater, nous pouvons aider à prévenir les crises menant à l'abandon des enfants et nous assurer que les droits des enfants sont réalisés et protéger.

Les programmes de renforcement des familles de SOS sont développés à travers de larges consultations auprès de la communauté et sont adaptés aux besoins des communautés locales et des familles participantes.  L'objectif global de ces programmes est de s'assurer du bien-être des enfants en renforçant la capacité des familles et des communautés locales. 

D'abord, les programmes offrent de l'aide immédiate aux familles en crise. Les programmes travaillent ensuite avec les parents et les proches aidants sur le long terme pour développer leurs capacités à générer des revenus et à gérer leurs finances, ainsi que pour développer toute une gamme d'habiletés parentales essentielles. En même temps, les programmes travaillent avec les organisations communautaires et les partenaires locaux afin de développer la capacité des communautés locales à soutenir les familles vulnérables et à protéger les enfants.

 

CCCI - SOS Children's Villages Canada s'est récemment joint au CCCI. Pourquoi était-il important pour vous de redevenir membre?

Boyd McBride Depuis longtemps, nous reconnaissons l'importance du CCCI en tant que voix pour le secteur du développement au Canada et nous apprécions le soutien qu'il offre aux organisations non gouvernementales. Nous travaillons tous pour atteindre le même objectif: contribuer à la création d'un monde meilleur pour ceux qui en ont le plus besoin, et le CCCI nous aide dans ce sens. 

Pour plus d'information sur SOS Children's Villages: www.soschildrensvillages.ca

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi