CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile February 2017

CoDev

 

CFGB
Mr. Richard Lacasse during his participation in an international cooperative seminar organized by SOCODEVI in Trujillo, Peru. In this country, SOCODEVI contributes to the improvement of the living conditions of 4000 families of agricultural producers in the context of its PRODIVCOM project.
 

This month, CCIC met with Richard Lacasse, Executive Director at SOCODEVI, to discuss the meeting between SOCODEVI members and Minister Bibeau, the vision of SOCODEVI for the future and expectations after the International Assistance Review, among other things!

CCIC - Minister Bibeau has recently visited SOCODEVI and has met with 150 partners from your network of cooperatives and mutuals. What would you say was the main message of Minister Bibeau to your partners, and vice versa? 

Richard Lacasse - The Minister delivered a stimulating and optimistic message to our members, partners and guests, insisting on the need to put women at the heart of development initiatives in poverty reduction strategies, ensuring in particular their empowerment. She has also stressed the importance of strengthening the skills of women and men as an essential means to achieve this greater empowerment.

On that occasion, SOCODEVI also presented a short video, "10 reasons why co-operatives are a lever for the empowerment of women", a document which is now available online on our communication platforms.  The meeting also helped to emphasize the natural role that cooperatives play in the promotion of inclusive economic growth, in the creation of fair partnerships and in capacity-building because of their DNA.

 

CCIC - SOCODEVI is a network of cooperative societies and mutuals. How would you describe this unique model and this approach to international cooperation? What is its main strength?

Richard Lacasse - The model of SOCODEVI has an extraordinary force because it can count on the experience and expertise of cooperatives and mutuals from all sectors in Quebec. These are organizations that make available to their partners in the South know-how, expertise and adapted tools based on actual experiences related to sustainable development and the implementation of solutions to promote inclusive economic growth and resolve serious poverty and inequality problems.

We must remember that nearly a billion people are part of co-operatives around the world, with more than a million cooperatives, and that they contribute to the creation of nearly 250 million jobs. Moreover, we should stress that the FAO acknowledges co-operatives as a tool to reduce hunger and poverty, and that the International Labor Office acknowledges co-operatives as a tool for job promotion and creation.

 

CCIC - SOCODEVI recently celebrated its 30th anniversary. Over the years, you have conducted more than 400 projects and 650 technical assistance missions. What is your vision for the future of the organization?

Richard Lacasse - SOCODEVI wants to excel and be recognized globally for its implementation of innovative and adapted solutions for the development of perennial cooperatives, mutuals or associations, which will provide quality services to their members and to their community, to enable them to become references in their environment in terms of social and economic performance, and to have an impact on the improvement of the living conditions of the populations.  An ambitious program, but we are convinced that we must strive to reduce inequalities and create opportunities to eliminate poverty.  As the slogan of the International Year of Cooperatives, declared by the United Nations in 2012, said: Co-operatives are businesses to build a better world.

 

 

CCIC - SOCODEVI participated in the International Assistance Review (IAR) in 2016. While there isn't yet an official commitment, what do you expect from the government in terms of strengthening the community of CSOs working in international development and humanitarian aid?

Richard Lacasse - The consultation document of the International Assistance Review stressed that "we must build on our comparative advantages and put in place more innovative programs and partnerships in order to obtain lasting results".  One of the comparative advantages of Canada is the expertise of its recognized sectors of excellence, which must be put forward even more.  Canadian civil society organizations, which offer great expertise and who have a strong reputation around the world, are part of these comparative advantages of Canada.

The co-operatives in Canada are one of these sectors of excellence. They are regarded as world leaders in this regard, and are part of Canadian values.  There is a real opportunity in the context of the International Assistance Review to further strengthen the  partnership between the Government of Canada and its exceptional partners to contribute more effectively to the delivery of aid and development  cooperation programs.

 

CCIC - SOCODEVI has been a member of CCIC since the fall of 2015. Why have you made the decision to join CCIC?

Richard Lacasse - It is important to have a strong voice to ensure that the development cooperation agenda is effectively promoted amongst the Canadian population, and with government officials in Canada in particular. We also think it is important to have a place of exchange, enrichment, practice-sharing and ideas to advance the cause of development.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, février 2017

Socodevi

 

CISD

M. Richard Lacasse, lors de sa participation à un séminaire coopératif international organisé par SOCODEVI à Trujillo, au Pérou. Dans ce pays, SOCODEVI contribue à l’amélioration des conditions de vie de 4 000 familles de producteurs et de productrices agricoles dans le cadre de son projet PRODIVCOM..

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Richard Lacasse, directeur général de SOCODEVI, pour discuter de la réunion entre les membres de SOCODEVI et la ministre Bibeau, de la vision de SOCODEVI pour l'avenir et des attentes après l'Examen de l'aide internationale, entre autres choses !

 

CCCI - La ministre Bibeau a récemment rendu visite à SOCODEVI et a rencontré 150 partenaires faisant partie de votre réseau de coopératives et de mutuelles. Selon vous, quel était le principal message de la ministre Bibeau à vos partenaires, et vice-versa?

Richard LacasseLa ministre a livré un message stimulant et optimiste à nos membres, partenaires et invités, en insistant sur le besoin de mettre les femmes au cœur des initiatives de développement dans les stratégies de réduction de la pauvreté, en s’assurant tout particulièrement de leur empowerment. Elle a aussi souligné l’importance du renforcement des compétences des femmes et des hommes comme moyen essentiel d’atteindre cette plus grande autonomisation.

D’ailleurs à cette occasion, SOCODEVI a présenté une capsule vidéo, «10 raisons pour lesquelles les coopératives sont un levier pour l'autonomisation des femmes », document qui est maintenant disponible en ligne sur nos plateformes de communication.  Cette rencontre a aussi permis de souligner le rôle naturel des coopératives dans la promotion de la croissance économique inclusive, dans la création de partenariats justes et dans le renforcement des capacités compte tenu de leur ADN. 

 

CCCI - SOCODEVI est un réseau de sociétés coopératives et de mutuelles. Comment décrieriez-vous ce modèle unique et cette approche de coopération internationale? Quelle est sa principale force?

Richard Lacasse – Le modèle de SOCODEVI possède une force extraordinaire car il peut compter sur l’expérience et l’expertise de coopératives et mutuelles du Québec de tous les secteurs. Ce sont des organisations qui mettent à la disposition des partenaires du Sud des savoir-faire, des expertises et des outils adaptés basés sur des expériences réelles de prise en charge, de développement durable et de mise en place de solutions pour favoriser une croissance économique inclusive et résoudre des problèmes graves de pauvreté et d’inégalités.

Il faut rappeler que près d’un milliard de personnes font partie de coopératives dans le monde, avec plus d’un million de coopératives et que celles-ci contribuent à créer près de 250 millions d’emplois. D’ailleurs soulignons que la FAO reconnait les coopératives comme un outil de réduction de la faim et de la pauvreté et que le Bureau international du travail reconnait les coopératives comme un outil de promotion et de création d’emplois.

 

CCCI - SOCODEVI célébrait récemment son 30e anniversaire. Au fil des ans, vous avez mené plus de 400 projets et 650 missions d'assistance technique. Quelle est votre vision pour le futur de l'organisation?

Richard Lacasse – SOCODEVI veut exceller et être reconnue mondialement dans la mise en place de solutions innovantes et adaptées pour le développement d’entreprises coopératives, mutualistes ou associatives pérennes, qui fourniront des services de qualité à leurs membres et à leur communauté, pour leur permettre de devenir des références dans leur milieu en termes de performance économique et sociale et ayant un impact sur l’amélioration des conditions de vie des populations.  Un gros programme mais nous sommes convaincus qu’il faut faire tous les efforts pour réduire les inégalités et créer les opportunités pour éliminer la pauvreté.  Comme le disait le slogan de l’année internationale des coopératives déclarée par les Nations-Unies en 2012 : Les coopératives, des entreprises pour bâtir un monde meilleur.

 

CCCI - SOCODEVI a participé à l'examen d'aide internationale (EAI) en 2016. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas encore d'engagement officiel, qu'attendez-vous du gouvernement pour le renforcement de la communauté des OSC œuvrant en développement international et en aide humanitaire?

Richard Lacasse – Le document de consultation de l’examen de l’aide soulignait que « nous devrons miser sur nos avantages comparatifs et mettre en place des programmes et des partenariats plus novateurs afin d’obtenir des résultats durables ».  Un des avantages comparatifs du Canada est l’expertise de ses secteurs d’excellence reconnus, qui doivent être mis davantage de l’avant.  Les organisations de la société civile canadienne qui offrent une expertise de qualité et qui ont une forte réputation dans le monde font partie de ces avantages comparatifs du Canada.

Les coopératives au Canada sont un de ces secteurs d’excellence et sont considérées comme un leader mondial à cet égard, faisant aussi partie des valeurs canadiennes.  Il y a une réelle opportunité dans le contexte de la revue de l’aide de renforcer encore plus les liens de partenariat entre le gouvernement du Canada et ses partenaires d’excellence pour contribuer plus fortement à la livraison des programmes d’aide et de coopération au développement.

 

CCCI - SOCODEVI est membre du CCCI depuis l'automne 2015. Pourquoi avez-vous pris la décision de vous joindre au CCCI?

Richard Lacasse Il est important d’avoir une voix forte pour s’assurer que l’agenda de la coopération au développement soit porté haut dans la population canadienne et tout particulièrement auprès des autorités gouvernementales canadiennes. Il nous semble également important d’avoir un lieu d’échanges, d’enrichissement, de partage de pratiques et idées pour faire avancer la cause du développement.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi