CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile July-August 2016

CoDev

 

SCIC
Saskatchewan and Salvadorean youth playing a team-building game in El Zapote, Cabañas, El Salvador, during the Global Citizen Youth Leadership Program. The GCYL Program was a partnership between SCIC and the Primates World Relief and Development Fund (PWRDF).
 

This month CCIC met with Jacqui Wasacase, Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Council for International Cooperation (SCIC) to discuss the recent funding cut by the government of Saskatchewan and its impacts on SCIC, and the #LookDeeper campaign, among others!

CCIC - CCIC was very disappointed to learn that as part of its recent budget cut, the government of Saskatchewan had ended a 42 year partnership with the Saskatchewan Council for International Cooperation (SCIC) and the Matching Grants in Aid Program.  Can you tell us about the impacts of this decision? 

Jacqui Wasacase - The Matching Grants in Aid Program (MGAP) was founded as a partnership between Saskatchewan citizens and the Provincial Government to leverage more funds for global cooperation, justice and peace. Originally created as a dollar-for-dollar grant matching program, the MGAP has been administered by SCIC since 1974 when a resolution to fund humanitarian, international cooperation, public education, and global poverty reduction programs on behalf of Saskatchewan people was unanimously agreed to by all parties in the Legislature.
 
Projects that have been funded through the program range from maternal health and food security, to co-operative business development, teacher training, children’s rights, emergency response, and more. SCIC’s members include leaders in the field such as Oxfam, Save the Children, as well as the relief and development programs of major churches – many of which run programs in Canada as well as internationally – such as Canadian Lutheran World Relief, Mennonite Central Committee Canada, and Presbyterian World Service & Development.
 
The real impact of the cuts is already being felt by SCIC member organizations and their international partners, who annually count on the matching fund to reach more people in need. For example, a current application to respond to flooding caused by Cyclone Roanu in Sri Lanka, which has affected more than 300,000 people, will not be funded as a direct result of the cuts. “For 42 years our members have been doing the difficult work of long-term, sustainable community development – the type of work which is often overlooked because it happens when the cameras turn away,” said André Magnan, SCIC’s President. The cuts will be felt within the SCIC office as well, with substantial cuts to staffing and office operations being decreased to 4 days a week starting this fall.

 

CCIC - The #LookDeeper campaign takes an in-depth examination of issues such as hunger, health, education and conflict. What is this campaign hoping to achieve? And how can people get involved?

Jacqui Wasacase - The goal of our #LookDeeper campaign is to engage ordinary citizens in effective sustainable development by using the arts and creative messaging. The campaign invites people to consider the root causes of these four major global challenges, in order to change the public perception of international development from a charity-based model, towards a justice-based perspective.

Embarking on new territory, this ambitious and creative campaign uses commercial radio advertising outlets to share poetry carrying messages of justice and solidarity that are not heard on mainstream media. Through the creation of these poetic radio ads, our goal is to connect people on a human level, regardless of personal politics, to give voice to the issues and to demonstrate that being an active global citizen means working for human rights, equality, partnerships, and ecological resilience.

The campaign was designed to be accessible to people who don’t have backgrounds in international development, while at the same time not oversimplifying the issues, and providing multiple avenues for people to engage at a level appropriate to them. Citizens can simply use the website to listen to the radio ads, explore the underlying causes of global health, conflict, education, and food security challenges, and read stories of sustainable solutions. But, there are also tools to continue learning and take small personal actions, including taking a pledge to LookDeeper, and to engage others through social media and other avenues.

 

CCIC - Why must a human-rights based approach be at the core of Canada’s global cooperation policies and programming? How is this linked to Global Affairs Canada’s recent International Assistance Review?

Jacqui Wasacase - Human rights are not realized consistently the world over. Men, women and children around the world face human rights abuses every day. In this increasingly globalized world economy it is vital that Canada not be complicit in the wide spread human rights abuses that are occurring, and further act as a leader in advocating for change, making principled decisions in terms of aid, trade and commerce. 
 
The recent International Assistance Review initiated by Global Affairs Canada gave agencies and individuals involved with international aid work to provide feedback and suggestions on government policies and priorities moving forward. In consultation with our members, many concerns and suggestions were raised relating to human rights.
 

For example issues related to food security are of significant concern to many of our members. The rights of people to have access to land, water, seeds and other resources to sustainably feed themselves was a major theme in our discussion. Along with calling on the government of Canada to be a leader in principled business and trade deals, and advocating for environmental and social safeguards against abuses by Canadian companies operating abroad. Our actions and investments here impact the lives of others around the world. From environmental and labour exploitation to state armament, it is vital we move forward with open eyes and a clear national conscience.

 

CCIC - In 2016, the Global Citizen Youth Leadership Program embarked on a speaking tour in Saskatchewan, inspiring youth to become leaders in their local and global communities.  Why is it important for youth to see themselves as global citizens?

Jacqui Wasacase - In this globalized world, the challenges that face humanity are increasingly global in scope and require global solutions. In order to move humanity towards sustainable, peaceful solutions, SCIC believes in supporting youth in becoming critically informed, motivated, globally competent citizens with social problem solving skills and a willingness to challenge misinformation and government inaction.
 
The Global Citizen Youth Leadership Program is grounded in a belief in supporting students to develop a critical awareness of ourselves and our global identities. By exploring how power and privilege shape our world, learning how local and global issues are connected, and through experiencing positive relationships across cultural and geographical differences, the youth leaders emerge more prepared to engage in difficult conversations and the creative problem-solving that is needed to address these global challenges.

 

CCIC - SCIC is a longstanding and engaged CCIC member. Can you share one membership highlight from the past year?  

Jacqui Wasacase - SCIC had the opportunity to send Rosemary MCallum, a long standing board member to the CCIC Women Leaders Forum this past fall. Rosemary returned from the forum with lessons and experience to share with the rest of the organisation. Rosemary summarised her experience as, “…equal parts inspiration, valuable information, and practical skill-building.”  It was a rewarding opportunity that will have lasting impact.  We are pleased that CCIC has prioritised and supported this type of opportunity for women leaders, and we look forward to participating in future events like this!

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, juillet-août 2016

Oxfam Québec

 

SCIC

Des jeunes de la Saskatchewan et du El Salvador participent à un jeu de consolidation d'équipe à El Zapote, Cabañas, El Salvador, dans le cadre du Programme de leadership des jeunes citoyens du monde. Ce programme est le fruit d'un partenariat entre le SCIC et le Fonds du primat pour le secours et le développement mondial (PWRDF).

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Jacqui Wasacase, directrice générale du Saskatchewan Council for International Cooperation (SCIC) pour discuter entre autres des récentes coupes du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan et de leurs conséquences pour le SCIC, ainsi que de la campagne #LookDeeper.

 

CCCI - Le CCCI a été très déçu d'apprendre que, dans le cadre de ses récentes compressions budgétaires, le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan avait mis fin à un partenariat de 42 ans avec le Saskatchewan Council for International Cooperation (SCIC) et au Programme de subvention de contrepartie  pour l'aide internationale.  Pouvez-vous nous parler des conséquences de cette décision?

Jacqui WasacaseLe Programme de subvention de contrepartie pour l'aide internationale a été comme un partenariat entre les citoyens de la Saskatchewan et le gouvernement provincial pour aller chercher davantage de financement pour la coopération, la justice et la paix mondiale. Créé  à l'origine comme un programme de subvention de contrepartie pour chaque dollar reçu, ce programme était géré par le SCIC depuis 1974 alors qu'une résolution visant à financer des programmes humanitaires, de coopération internationale, d'éducation du public et de réduction de la pauvreté mondiale avait été adoptée à l'unanimité par tous les partis siégeant au parlement.
 
Les projets qui ont été financés à travers ce programme au fil des ans ont touché notamment la santé maternelle et la sécurité alimentaire, le développement de coopératives, la formation d'enseignants, les droits des enfants et les interventions d'urgence. Parmi les membres du SCIC, on compte des leaders du secteur, comme Oxfam et  Aide à l'enfance, ainsi que des programmes de secours et de développement de grandes Églises - dont plusieurs mettent en oeuvre des programmes tant au Canada qu'à l'international - comme l'Organisation de secours luthérienne mondiale canadienne, le Comité central mennonite du Canada et l'Église Presbytérienne du Canada.
 
Le véritable impact de ces coupes se fait déjà sentir chez les organisations membres du SCIC et chez leurs partenaires internationaux qui comptent sur la subvention de contrepartie chaque année pour rejoindre davantage de gens dans le besoin. Par exemple, une initiative proposée récemment et visant à répondre aux inondations causées par le passage du cyclone Roanu au Sri Lanka, qui a affecté plus de 300 000 personnes,  ne sera pas financée en raison de ces coupes.  « Pendant 42 ans, nos membres ont accompli le dur travail lié au développement communautaire durable et à long terme - le genre de travail qui passe souvent inaperçu parce qu'il se fait loin du regard des caméras  » dit André Magnan, président du SCIC. Les coupes seront également ressenties au sein du secrétariat du SCIC puisqu'il y aura une réduction importante du nombre d'employés et que les activités du bureau seront réduites à quatre jours par semaine à compter de l'automne.

 

CCCI - La campagne #LookDeeper traite en profondeur des enjeux comme la faim, la santé, l'éducation et les conflits. Quel est l'objectif de cette campagne? Et comment les gens peuvent-ils y participer?

Jacqui Wasacase – Le but de la campagne #LookDeeper est d'impliquer les citoyens ordinaires dans le développement durable efficace par le biais des arts et de messages créatifs. La campagne invite les gens à considérer les causes profondes de ces quatre défis mondiaux importants afin de changer la perception du public par rapport au développement international, pour passer d'un modèle fondé sur la charité à une perspective ancrée dans l'idée de justice.

Cette campagne ambitieuse et créative explore de nouveaux espaces en utilisant la publicité radiophonique pour partager de la poésie comportant des messages de justice et de solidarité qu'on n'entend pas dans les médias de masse. À travers la création de ces publicités radiophoniques poétiques, notre objectif est de toucher les gens à un niveau humain, peu importe leurs préférences politiques personnelles, pour donner voix aux enjeux et pour montrer qu'être un citoyen du monde actif signifie travailler en faveur des droits humains, de l'égalité, des partenariats et de la résilience écologique.

La campagne a été conçue afin d'être accessible pour les gens qui n'ont pas nécessairement de formation en développement international, sans pour autant trop simplifier les enjeux, et pour offrir aux gens des possibilités d'engagement diversifiées à un niveau approprié pour eux.   Les citoyens peuvent  se rendre sur le site web simplement pour écouter les publicités radiophoniques, explorer les causes profondes des défis mondiaux liés à la santé, aux conflits, à l'éducation et à la sécurité alimentaire, et pour lire des histoires de solutions durables.  Mais il y a aussi des outils qui sont offerts pour poursuivre les apprentissages et pour poser de petits gestes personnels, comme de s'engager à examiner les enjeux en profondeur et de sensibiliser d'autres personnes à travers les médias sociaux et d'autres canaux.

 

CCCI - Pourquoi une approche fondée sur les droits humains doit-elle être au cœur des politiques et des programmes de coopération mondiale du Canada? Quel est le lien avec le récent Examen de l'aide internationale menée par Affaires mondiales Canada?

Jacqui Wasacase – Les droits humains ne sont pas réalisés de manière uniforme à travers le monde. Des hommes, des femmes et des enfants aux quatre coins du monde subissent chaque jour des violations de leurs droits humains. Dans cette économie mondiale de plus en plus globalisée, il est primordial que le Canada ne soit pas complice des nombreux abus de droits humains qui ont cours, et qu'il agisse en leader en se faisant un avocat du changement et en prenant des positions de principe par rapport à l'aide et au commerce. 
 
Le récent Examen de l'aide internationale mené par Affaires mondiales Canada a offert l'occasion aux organisations et aux individus impliqués dans le travail de développement international de donner leur avis et de partager leurs suggestions quant aux futures politiques et priorités du gouvernement.  Lors des consultations auprès de nos membres, de nombreuses préoccupations et suggestions liées aux droits humains ont été évoquées.
 

Par exemple, les enjeux liés à la sécurité alimentaire sont une préoccupation importante pour nos membres. Le droit des populations à la terre, à l'eau, aux semences et aux autres ressources afin de pouvoir se nourrir de façon durable fut un des thèmes majeurs de nos discussions. La nécessité de faire pression sur le gouvernement du Canada pour qu'il agisse en leader et qu'il prenne des positions de principe en matière de commerce et d'accords de libre-échange, ainsi que le plaidoyer en faveur de la mise en place de protections sociales et environnementales contre les abus de certaines compagnies qui opèrent à l'étranger furent aussi des thèmes importants.  Nos actions et nos investissements ici affectent la vie d'autres personnes à travers le monde. Qu'on parle d'exploitation de l'environnement ou des travailleurs ou encore de la question de l’armement de l'État, il est primordial d'avancer avec les yeux ouverts et une conscience nationale tranquille.

 

CCCI - En 2016, le Programme de leadership des jeunes citoyens du monde a lancé dans une tournée de conférences en Saskatchewan pour inspirer et inciter les jeunes à devenir des leaders dans leurs communautés locale et mondiale. Pourquoi est-ce important que les jeunes se considèrent comme des citoyens du monde?

Jacqui Wasacase – Dans cet univers mondialisé, les défis auxquels fait face l'humanité sont de plus en plus  globaux et requièrent donc des solutions à cette échelle.  Pour que l'humanité progresse vers des solutions durables et pacifiques, le SCIC croit qu'il faut soutenir les jeunes pour qu'ils deviennent des citoyens du monde bien informés, motivés et compétents, possédant des habiletés en résolution de conflits sociaux et une volonté de contester la désinformation et l'inaction des gouvernements.
 
Le Programme de leadership des jeunes citoyens du monde est ancré dans la croyance qu'il est important d'aider les étudiants à développer une conscience critique de nous-mêmes et de nos identités globales.  En explorant la manière dont le pouvoir et les privilèges façonnent notre monde, en découvrant comment les enjeux locaux et mondiaux sont interreliés et en faisant l'expérience de relations positives avec des gens de cultures et régions géographiques différentes, les jeunes leaders sortent du programme mieux préparés à participer aux  conversations difficiles et à la résolution de conflit créative qui sont nécessaires pour faire face à ces défis mondiaux.

 

CCCI - Le SCIC est un membre impliqué du CCCI depuis longtemps. Pouvez-vous partager avec nous un fait saillant lié à votre participation au réseau au cours de la dernière année?

Jacqui Wasacase Le SCIC a eu l'occasion de d'envoyer Rosemary McCallum, une personne qui fait partie de notre conseil d'administration depuis longtemps, au Forum des femmes leaders du CCCI l'automne dernier. Rosemary est revenue de ce forum avec des leçons apprises et des expériences à partager avec le reste de l'organisation. Rosemary a résumé son expérience en disant qu'elle avait été « à la fois inspirante, pleine d'informations utiles et propice au développement de compétences pratiques ».  Ce fut une occasion enrichissante qui aura un impact durable.  Nous sommes ravis que le CCCI ait priorisé et soutenu ce type d'opportunité pour les femmes leaders et nous nous réjouissons à l'avance de participer à d'autres événements comme celui-là à l'avenir!

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi