CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile February 2016

CoDev

Oxfam Québec - profile

Denise Byrnes (Oxfam-Quebec's Executive Director) and Oxfam GB's Chief Executive meet the Syrian refugees in Zaatari camp, Jordan.

This month CCIC met with Denise Byrnes, Executive Director at Oxfam-Québec to discuss women’s rights, the new volunteer sending program, why Canadians should care about tax havens and much more…!

 

CCIC - March 8th is International Women's Day. This year's theme is Pledge for Parity, celebrating and championing the social, economic, cultural and political achievement of women. Why is it important to focus on gender parity in 2016?

Denise Byrnes - Because it's 2016!  Humour aside, achieving gender equality is key if we want to realise the sustainable development goals and build equitable societies.  We know that women continue to do the bulk of unpaid work, earn lower salaries for the same work as men,  and in many countries, are concentrated in the informal sector, with little security and poor wages.  This leaves many women unable to pay for adequate health care for themselves or their children or to send their children to school.  This is a cycle that perpetuates poverty from one generation to another.   How can a society move forward economically and socially if it leaves half its population behind?  We know that when women have decent pay and access to adequate social services, they and their children can achieve their full potential and break free from this cycle.   Unfortunately, even in Canada, women continue to face strong barriers when it comes to gender equality, both in the private and public spheres.  Gender-based violence, discrimination and poverty continue to limit equality. The reality is that women continue to make up the bulk of the world's poor so our work is far from over!

 

CCIC - Women's rights and gender equality is at the core of Oxfam-Quebec's mandate and programming. Please tell us about a recent or current project related to women's rights or gender equality for which you are particular proud.

Denise Byrnes - We recently ended a five year project in women's rights and economic empowerment across four countries in the Middle East.  The project brought together women's organisations from Jordan, Palestine, Lebanon and Tunisia to form a network for women's empowerment.  Each group brought a particular expertise to the table: financial and non-financial support services for women, marketing and product promotion, advocacy and campaigns and research.  Building the network was a big challenge, but the end result was amazing!  Together, the partners were able to build and develop women's businesses from the micro level to small and medium sized enterprise and organise trips to countries in the region to market products. They organised trade fairs and one business woman from Palestine even signed a procurement contract with a company in Montreal for her organic essential oils.  They produced research in four languages that shed light on the barriers to the development of women's business in the region and ran a very successful campaign on changing inheritance laws that discriminate against women.  In Palestine, they put pressure on the Chamber of commerce to create services that were adapted to women, including reduced fees and access to credit for micro businesses.  I met some really amazing and strong women through this project.

 

CCIC - Oxfam Quebec has a long history of youth programming and volunteer sending. Please tell us about your new Programme ACCÈS INNOVATION (PAI) (which focuses on building capacities for social and economic advancement through innovation) and why young Canadians should get involved.

Denise Byrnes - Oxfam-Québec has indeed been working with youth both here in Québec, and overseas for many years.  We have recently adopted a new strategic plan, and we have decided to focus all our programming on women and youth.  Our new volunteer program is focused on building the capacity of our partner organisations to affect change in 12 countries.  Our volunteer technical advisors work in several key areas: combatting violence against women and women's economic empowerment, youth empowerment and active citizenship, food security and building resilience of communities to better face climate change and disasters.   We will support groups and communities to claim their rights and hold their governments to account. In Québec, our presence in schools and on campuses will continue to promote young people's involvement and understanding of development issues. Oxfam-Québec has created an alliance with others including Amnesty International and the YMCA, called the "Engagement journey", which offers collectively a series of engagement opportunities for high school students and culminates with a recognition as a member of the group "Engaged youth for change". We are very excited about this partnership.  Our campaign on inequality will continue to mobilise students in CEGEPs and universities, in particular on the issue of tax havens and fair taxation. Our petition has already collected thousands of signatures.

 

CCIC - Oxfam Quebec's current campaign 'Mettons fin à l'ère des paradis fiscaux' highlights the relationship between tax havens and inequality. What does this campaign aim to achieve? And why should Canadians care about this issue?

Denise Byrnes - Our campaign wants to raise the volume on how tax havens and an unfair tax system contribute to increasing inequality.  One year ago, Oxfam reported that the wealthiest 80 people in the world owned as much wealth as the poorest half of humanity.  One year later, they are only 62!  Concentration of wealth is increasing rapidly, increasing the gap between rich and poor.   At the same time, the use of tax havens and loopholes allow corporations and individuals to avoid paying their fair share of taxes.  The billions that are sitting in tax havens deprive governments of important revenues to provide universal public services like education and health to their citizens.  This loss of revenue is fueling inequality as governments make cuts in health and education budgets, claiming that funds are insufficient to provide for all.  Recent research has demonstrated that if we stop revenue flows to tax havens, the money coming to African governments would be sufficient to hire enough teachers to ensure education for all African children.  Can you imagine the impact of that for development?  Canadians should care because development outcomes and poverty reduction have positive impacts for everyone.  The refugee crisis we are seeing in Europe, for example, is directly linked to people fleeing poverty and conflict. People are looking for a better life.  Here in Canada, we are seeing the same trend - cuts to health and education and erosion of our basic services, so the use of tax havens, and the existence of a tax system that allows the wealthiest to avoid paying their fair share, concern us all.

 

CCIC - Oxfam-Québec is a very engaged and active CCIC member. Why is CCIC membership important to your organization's work? 

Denise Byrnes - We have been a member of CCIC for decades, and we continued to support CCIC through the difficult period when they lost all their government funding. Although it was a challenge for us to increase our contribution significantly, we do not regret stepping up to the plate.  It has been a long journey, but Oxfam-Québec is convinced that we need a collective voice for the sector to advance certain issues.  CCIC has a small team but they are able to accomplish a significant amount of work!  They provide precious policy analysis to the sector, can advocate for policy changes that have impact for all our organisations as well as for our programs.  Their convening role is important to facilitate learning, sharing and improved development practice. For many of us, CCIC provides important analysis of issues or policies that we often don't have time to do. 

I have been a board member of CCIC for the last 3 years and I am very impressed by the members' engagement and collective appropriation of our shared network. 

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, février 2016


Oxfam Québec

Oxfam Québec

Denise Byrnes (directrice générale d'Oxfam-Québec) et le directeur d'Oxfam Grande-Bretagne rencontrent les réfugiés syriens au camp de Zaatari en Jordanie.

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Denise Byrnes, directrice générale d'Oxfam-Québec, pour discuter de droits des femmes, du nouveau programme d’envoi de volontaires, et de l’importance que les Canadiens se préoccupent des paradis fiscaux, et de bien d’autres choses!

 

CCCI - Le 8 mars est la Journée internationale des femmes. Le thème de cette année est Contribuer à la parité et vise à célébrer les réussites des femmes dans les domaines social, économique et culturel. Pourquoi est-ce important de mettre l'accent sur la parité entre les sexes en 2016?  

Denise Byrnes Parce que c'est 2016!  Blague à part, parvenir à l'égalité entre les sexes est crucial si nous voulons réaliser les objectifs de développement durable et bâtir des sociétés équitables. Nous savons que les femmes continuent de faire la majorité du travail non rémunéré, qu'elles gagnent des salaires plus bas pour faire le même travail que les hommes et que, dans beaucoup de pays, elles sont concentrées dans le secteur informel où elles ont peu de sécurité et des salaires faibles. Cela place un grand nombre de femmes dans une situation où elles sont incapables de payer pour des soins de santé adéquats, pour elles-mêmes et pour leurs enfants, ou pour envoyer leurs enfants à l'école. Il s'agit d'un cycle qui contribue à perpétuer la pauvreté d'une génération à l'autre. Comment une société peut-elle progresser économiquement et socialement en laissant de côté la moitié de sa population? Nous savons que lorsqu'elles ont un salaire décent et un accès adéquat aux services sociaux, les femmes et leurs enfants peuvent atteindre leur plein potentiel et se libérer du cycle de la pauvreté. Malheureusement, même au Canada, les femmes continuent de faire face à des barrières importantes à l'égalité entre les sexes, tant dans la sphère privée que dans la sphère publique. La violence fondée sur le sexe, la discrimination et la pauvreté continuent de limiter l'égalité. La réalité, c'est que les femmes constituent toujours la majorité des pauvres dans le monde. Notre travail est donc loin d'être terminé!

 

CCCI - Les droits des femmes et l'égalité entre les sexes sont au cœur du mandat et des programmes d'Oxfam-Québec. Pouvez-vous nous parler d'un projet récent ou actuel portant sur les droits des femmes ou l'égalité entre les sexes, et dont vous êtes particulièrement fière?  

Denise Byrnes – Nous avons récemment complété un projet de cinq ans sur les droits des femmes et l'autonomisation économique dans quatre pays du Moyen-Orient. Le projet a permis de réunir des organisations de femmes de Jordanie, de Palestine, du Liban et de la Tunisie pour former un réseau pour l'autonomisation des femmes. Chaque groupe apportait une expertise particulière : services de soutien financiers et non-financiers pour les femmes, commercialisation et promotion des produits, plaidoyer et campagnes, et recherche. Bâtir ce réseau représentait un défi considérable, mais le résultat final est incroyable! Ensemble, les partenaires ont été en mesure de construire et de développer des microentreprises gérées par des femmes pour en faire de petites et moyennes entreprises, et d'organiser des voyages dans les pays de la région pour favoriser la commercialisation des produits. Elles ont organisé des foires commerciales et une femme d'affaires de la Palestine a même signé un contrat d'approvisionnement avec une compagnie de Montréal pour ses huiles essentielles biologiques.  Elles ont produit des recherches en quatre langues qui ont fait la lumière sur les barrières au développement des entreprises gérées par les femmes dans la région et elles ont mené une campagne qui a connu beaucoup de succès pour faire changer les lois de succession qui discriminaient contre les femmes. En Palestine, elles ont fait pression sur la chambre de commerce pour créer des services adaptés aux femmes, incluant la réduction des frais liés à l'accès au crédit pour les microentreprises. J'ai rencontré des femmes fortes et vraiment courageuses dans le cadre de ce projet.

 

CCCI - Oxfam-Québec a une longue tradition de programmes pour les jeunes et d'envoi de volontaires. Parlez-nous de votre nouveau Programme Accès innovation (PAI) et des raisons pour lesquelles les jeunes Canadiens devraient s'y impliquer.

Denise Byrnes – C'est vrai qu'Oxfam-Québec travaille avec des jeunes, tant ici au Québec qu'à l'étranger, depuis de nombreuses années. Nous avons récemment adopté un nouveau plan stratégique et nous avons décidé de concentrer toute notre programmation sur les jeunes et les femmes. Notre nouveau programme de volontaires vise à renforcer les capacités de nos organisations partenaires pour favoriser le changement dans 12 pays. Nos conseillers techniques volontaires travaillent dans plusieurs domaines : lutte contre la violence faite aux femmes et autonomisation économique des femmes, autonomisation des jeunes et citoyenneté active, sécurité alimentaire et renforcement de la résilience des communautés pour mieux faire face aux changements climatiques et aux catastrophes. Nous appuierons des groupes et des communautés dans la revendication de leurs droits et pour qu'ils puissent forcer leurs gouvernements à rendre des comptes. Au Québec, à travers notre présence dans les écoles et sur les campus, nous continuerons de promouvoir l'implication des jeunes et leur compréhension des enjeux liés au développement. Oxfam-Québec a formé une alliance appelée « Le parcours de l'engagement » avec d'autres partenaires comme Amnistie internationale et les YMCA. Ce parcours offre une série d'opportunités d'engagement aux étudiants du secondaire et culminera avec une reconnaissance en tant que membre du « Collectif de l'engagement ». Nous sommes très heureux de ce partenariat. Notre campagne sur les inégalités continuera de mobiliser les étudiants des cégeps et des universités, en particulier sur la question des paradis fiscaux et de la justice fiscale. Notre pétition a déjà recueilli des milliers de signatures.

 

CCCI - La campagne actuelle d'Oxfam-Québec « Mettons fin à l'ère des paradis fiscaux » met en évidence le lien entre les paradis fiscaux et les inégalités. Quel est l'objectif de cette campagne? Et pourquoi les Canadiens devraient-ils se soucier de cet enjeu?

Denise Byrnes – Notre campagne vise à braquer les projecteurs sur la manière dont les paradis fiscaux et un système de taxation injuste contribuent à accroître les inégalités. Il y a un an, Oxfam rapportait que les 80 personnes les plus riches du monde possédaient autant de richesse que la moitié de la plus pauvre de l'humanité.  Un an plus tard, ils ne sont plus que 62! La concentration de la richesse augmente rapidement et accroît l'écart entre les riches et les pauvres. En même temps, l'utilisation des paradis fiscaux et des échappatoires fiscales permet aux entreprises et aux individus d'éviter de payer leur juste part de taxes. Les milliards de dollars qui dorment dans les paradis fiscaux privent les gouvernements d'importants revenus pour offrir des services publics universels comme l'éducation et les soins de santé à leurs citoyens. Cette perte de revenus alimente les inégalités alors que les gouvernements procèdent à des coupures dans les budgets consacrés à la santé et à l'éducation, prétextant que le financement est insuffisant pour offrir ces services à tout le monde. Des recherches récentes ont démontré que si nous éliminions les flux financiers qui vont vers les paradis fiscaux, l'argent sur lequel les gouvernements africains pourraient compter serait suffisant pour leur permettre d'embaucher assez d'enseignants pour assurer l'éducation de tous les enfants africains. Pouvez-vous imaginer quel impact cela aurait pour le développement? Les Canadiens devraient se soucier de cet enjeu parce que le développement et la réduction de la pauvreté ont des impacts positifs pour tout le monde.  La crise des réfugié.e.s qui se déroule en Europe, par exemple, est directement liée aux gens qui fuient la pauvreté et les conflits. Les gens cherchent une meilleure vie.  Ici, au Canada, nous voyons la même tendance - coupures en santé et en éducation, érosion des services publics. Donc l'utilisation des paradis fiscaux et l'existence d'un système de taxation qui permet aux plus riches d'éviter de payer leur juste part nous concernent tous.

 

CCCI - Oxfam-Québec est un membre très impliqué et très actif du CCCI. Pourquoi est-ce important pour le travail de votre organisation d'être membre du CCCI?

Denise Byrnes Nous sommes membres du CCCI depuis des décennies et nous avons continué à soutenir le CCCI pendant la difficile période qu'il a traversé suite à la perte de son financement du gouvernement. Bien que ce fût un défi pour nous d'augmenter notre contribution de manière significative, nous ne regrettons pas de  nous être rangés derrière le CCCI. Ce fut un long parcours, mais Oxfam-Québec est convaincu que le secteur a besoin d'une voix collective pour faire progresser certains enjeux. Le CCCI a une petite équipe, mais elle est capable d'accomplir une grande quantité de travail! Son personnel fournit des analyses politiques précieuses pour le secteur et peut faire du plaidoyer en faveur de changements de politiques qui ont un impact pour toutes nos organisations, ainsi que pour nos programmes. Son rôle de rassembleur est important pour favoriser les apprentissages, les échanges et l'amélioration des pratiques du développement. Pour plusieurs d'entre nous, le CCCI fournit des analyses importantes sur des enjeux ou des politiques, analyses que souvent nous n'avons pas le temps de faire nous-mêmes. 

Je suis membre du conseil d'administration du CCCI depuis trois ans et je suis très impressionnée par l'engagement des membres et l'appropriation collective du réseau que nous partageons.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi