CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space
Who's Who: Who does what where


IMPRIMER

Member Profile February 2014

AKFC

MiningWatch Canada

 

Mining Watch Canada Profile

MiningWatch banner hanging in La Puya, north of Guatemala City, where protestors continue to block a mining project from moving forward. Translation of banner message: In solidarity with the people of San José del Golfo and San Pedro Ayampuc - For their peaceful struggle in defence of health, water and a decent standard of living.

This month CCIC had an interesting conversation with Catherine Coumans, Research Co-ordinator at Mining Watch Canada. We discussed the work being done by the organization to influence public policy and mining practices to ensure the health of communities and the environment, and how Canada could become a leader in making mining companies accountable...among other things!

 

CCIC - Your mission is about “Changing public policy and mining practices to ensure the health of individuals, communities and ecosystems”. What are some of the main challenges and opportunities in achieving this in the current context?

Catherine Coumans - There is a fundamental conflict between the public interest — especially mining-affected communities who seek to protect their access to land and ecosystems which form the basis for sustainable social, environmental, and economic development — and the interests of mining companies that seek to exploit the natural resources beneath the surface. Canadian mining interests are strongly supported by the actual Canadian government.  Some Canadian civil society organizations, consultants, and others are also partnering with, or working for, the industry.  We believe this magnifies a crippling imbalance of power that disadvantages communities with minimal resources and capacity in their struggle to protect values of importance to them.  MiningWatch Canada seeks ways to address this power imbalance through our research, advocacy, and policy work.

We work within a global context of struggle for environmental and social justice rooted in intensive long-term strategic work by civil society movements in the “host” countries where Canadian mining companies and their international supporters operate. The tools of this struggle range widely, including: local moratoriums, referendums, protests, and blockades; media campaigns (including social, alternative, and mass media), shareholder activism; non-judicial grievance mechanisms (e.g., in Canada: the Canadian National Contact Point (NCP) under the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, or the World Bank’s Compliance Advisor Ombudsman), legal action (e.g., the current Hudbay case undertaken by Klippensteins), requests for anti-corruption investigations by the RCMP under the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act, and policy engagement with representatives of host and home governments and various UN bodies.

 

CCIC - A lot of your work is about advocating for change and good practices in the mining sector; who are your key partners, in Canada and overseas, for achieving this work?

Catherine Coumans - From the time it was founded fifteen years ago, MiningWatch has been clear that only by working together with national and international allies would we be able to effect positive change. We have enjoyed support from our member organizations that include Aboriginal, social justice, environmental, and labour organizations from across Canada. Beyond our membership, we work with activists, academics, communities, and networks to build campaigns and carry out research, both nationally and internationally.  

Within Canada, one of the most important networks we helped found and continue to work intensively with is the Canadian Network on Corporate Accountability (CNCA), which has united diverse voices calling for social and environmental justice with a particular focus on mining. We are also part of the International Civil Liberties Monitoring Group and are doing research with a view to generating public debate on the criminalization of environmental, Indigenous, and human rights defenders in Latin America and Canada, with particular emphasis on the use of anti-terrorist legislation and concepts. We are active in the Americas Policy Group and also the Africa Canada Forum within the CCIC, which provide a forum for collaborative policy proposals on issues of trade agreements and aid distribution, to which we bring our focused work on the mining sector. We collaborate with various university-based initiatives across the country, presenting, researching, writing and publishing on a wide range of mining-related topics.

Internationally, we focus our energies on areas where we are able to work in collaboration with local allies to contribute to their empowerment as authors of their own development. We look to such partnerships to move from the micro to the macro, to have local struggles strengthen environmental justice movements. The ever-present goal is to influence policy, to educate the public, and to set positive precedents — to create systemic change.

 

CCIC - How do you connect local and global issues in the mining sector? How can your work in Canada and overseas reinforce one another?

Catherine Coumans - In some ways, social and environmental issues are specific to each mining project: no two communities face exactly the same challenges or necessarily arrive at similar positions. Indeed, diverse perspectives within communities often contribute to tensions among members. However, there are common threads that mean that communities within a particular area or country or even from different parts of the world can learn much from one another, can benefit from support from social justice organizations, and can mutually gain strength from collaborative actions. Connections between mining-affected communities in Canada and the Global South are therefore important components in the struggle for social/environmental justice. With our allies, we facilitate these relationships through Canadian participation in Southern initiatives, and exchanges between actors when partners from the South visit Canada.

The interconnectedness of the issues is complex, but in fact contributes to finding common goals. A community’s efforts to protect water are also about citizens’ democratic right to speak out; an exposé of a company’s failure to be transparent with investors about obstacles to getting mining permits may well include a description of its unfair labour practices; an analysis of a country’s inadequate monitoring capacity will often also refer to interference by the Canadian government striving to promote its companies. In our calls for progress on any given front, many closely related issues are either explicitly or implicitly part of that work.

 

CCIC - Mining Watch is supporting the “Open for Justice” campaign. Can you tell us more about the need for such a campaign, and what you are hoping to achieve?

Catherine Coumans - Canada’s companies are the dominant players in the mining sector in developing countries. They are also too often implicated in environmental and human rights abuses. When companies harm the human rights of their workers, or of affected communities, or when they do not comply with local laws — when they commit environmental crimes or their local personnel carry out acts of violence, or they are found to use illegal means to influence host governments, or they are guilty of tax avoidance — they often are not held to account in the countries in which they operate because of weak regulatory and judicial institutions in those countries. There have to be ways that Canadian companies can be held to account in Canada. The Open for Justice campaign calls for legislated access to courts in Canada for those harmed by the international operations of Canadian extractive companies operating overseas, and an ombudsman with the power to investigate complaints, report out on the findings of investigations, recommend remedy, and make policy recommendations to government.

 


CCIC - Some people in Canada and overseas believe that mining activities can make a positive contribution to economic development; do you agree with that? And if so, what do we need to realize this potential?

Catherine Coumans - The reality is that the mining “business as usual” model creates long-lasting development deficits, not benefits. MiningWatch has written extensively on this issue.  An answer to this can be found in a December 2013 article, “Mining and development – how much will it cost us to clothe the naked emperor?”, where we cite analysis done by economists such as Joseph Stiglitz who conclude that poor countries that rely on the development of their mineral resources for economic development “have done even more poorly than countries without resources.” He and others have witnessed deepened poverty, increased inequality, increased corruption and conflict at the national level as characteristics of the “resource curse,” indicating that even at local level social, environmental and economic impacts exacerbate poverty of many community members around mine sites.

There is also a need to address the massive capital flight out of poor countries associated with transfer miss-pricing arrangements of Canadian mining companies that mean the taxes they should have paid in those countries, end up in tax havens such as the Cayman Islands. Moreover, financial bonds should be posted to cover the true costs of managing the ongoing toxic threats from mined-out projects for the length of time these threats will prevail – which is often “in perpetuity.” In Canada alone, there are thousands of legacy sites that taxpayers now have to pay to clean up and manage: a bill that runs in the billions of dollars – and counting. This is a financial burden developing countries cannot bear.

 


CCIC - How could Canada become a leader in making mining companies accountable?

Catherine Coumans - In order to make mining companies more accountable, Canada must take seriously its obligations to protect the human rights of all Canadians, and Indigenous peoples in Canada. This means, among others: creating legislation that is in line with Canada’s human rights commitments as a signatory to numerous UN conventions and treaties, including legislation that implements Free, Prior and Informed Consent for Indigenous peoples; upholding and strengthening national legislation and enforcement capacity to protect the environment and the rights and ability of Canadians to have a say in development projects; support research to provide baseline environmental and socio-cultural data, and preserve such taxpayer-funded data that has been collected in the past.

With respect to the activities of Canadian companies operating overseas, Canada should, among others: provide true access to remedy for people harmed by the activities of Canadian companies by legislating access to Canadian courts and by providing an effective non-judicial grievance mechanism in the form of an ombudsman; assure that diplomatic activities and trade and investment agreements do not protect the interests of Canadian companies over those of citizens and environments in other countries; set standards for Canadian extractive companies operating overseas and make their continued Canadian corporate registration and stock exchange listing — as well as publicly-funded political and financial support — contingent on meeting them; require revenue transparency so that Canadian companies publish, project by project, what they pay to governments in other countries; take steps to halt the illicit flow of revenues from Canadian mining operations by requiring disclosure of the beneficial of corporate subsidiaries and contractual relationships; take steps to document and control the mining and distribution of metals that contribute to conflict, particularly in the Great Lakes region of Africa.

 


CCIC - In your opinion, what are some of the key benefits of being a CCIC member? And what does Mining Watch bring to the table?

Catherine Coumans - As a member of CCIC, we are able to be part of a community of small and large international development and social justice organizations from across the country to debate the key issues of the day, work together to engage the Canadian public in international initiatives, and ensure that elected representatives and other decision-makers consider broader social perspectives in their deliberations. As the only NGO in Canada focused on the specific issues related to mining in Canada and operations by Canadian companies abroad, we bring expertise and analysis on an industry that affects the lives of so many people in Canada and in the Global South and act as a resource to CCIC members working with mining-affected communities.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • Who's who
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, février 2014

Project Ploughshares

Mines alerte

 

MFMC

La bannière de Mines Alertes suspendue à La Puya, au nord de Guatemala City, où des manifestants continuent de bloquer le développement d’un projet minier. Traduction du message sur la bannière : En solidarité avec la population de San José del Golfo et de San Predro Ayampuc – Pour leur lutte pacifique pour la défense de la santé, de l’eau et d’un niveau de vie décent

Ce mois-ci le CCCI a eu un échange intéressant avec Catherine Coumans, coordonnatrice de la recherche à Mines Alerte Canada. Nous avons discuté du travail fait par l’organisation pour influencer les politiques publiques et les pratiques minières afin d’assurer la santé des populations et de l’environnement, et de comment le Canada pourrait devenir un leader de la reddition de compte des compagnies minières…entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - Votre mission consiste à « faire changer les politiques publiques et les pratiques minières afin d’assurer la santé des individus, des communautés et des écosystèmes ». Quels sont les principaux défis et opportunités auxquels vous êtes confrontés pour remplir cette mission dans le contexte actuel?

Catherine Coumans Il y a un conflit fondamental entre l’intérêt public – particulièrement les communautés affectées par les activités minières qui veulent protéger leur accès à la terre et aux écosystèmes qui sont à la base d’un développement social, environnemental et économique durable – et les intérêts des compagnies minières qui souhaitent exploiter les ressources naturelles sous la surface de la terre. Les intérêts miniers canadiens reçoivent un soutien important de la part du gouvernement canadien actuel. Certaines organisations de la société civile canadienne, des consultants et d’autres acteurs collaborent avec, ou travaillent pour, l’industrie également. Nous croyons que cela amplifie un grave déséquilibre de pouvoir qui désavantage les communautés qui ont peu de ressources et de capacités pour lutter pour la protection des valeurs qui leurs sont chères. Mines Alertes tente de réduire ce déséquilibre de pouvoir en misant sur la recherche, le plaidoyer et le travail sur les politiques.    

Nous travaillons dans le contexte mondial des luttes pour la justice environnementale et sociale enracinées dans un travail stratégique et intensif à long-terme des mouvements de la société civile au sein des pays « hôtes » où les compagnies minières canadiennes et leurs partisans internationaux opèrent. Les outils de cette lutte sont divers et incluent les moratoires locaux, les référendums, les manifestations et les barrages; les campagnes médiatiques (incluant les médias sociaux, alternatifs et les grands médias), l'activisme actionnarial; les mécanismes de réclamation non judiciaires (au Canada par exemple : le Point de contact national du Canada (PCN) pour les Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales ou encore le Conseiller-médiateur pour l'application des directives de la Banque mondiale), des actions judiciaires (par exemple, l’action actuelle contre Hudbay entreprise par Klippensteins), les requêtes  d’enquête sur la corruption par la GRC en vertu de la Loi sur la corruption d'agents publics étrangers, et l’engagement sur les politiques auprès des représentants des gouvernements d’origine, des gouvernements hôtes et des agences onusiennes.

 

CCCI - Une grande partie de votre travail consiste à faire du plaidoyer pour le changement et l’adoption de bonnes pratiques dans le secteur minier; qui sont vos principaux partenaires, au Canada et à l’étranger, dans la poursuite de ce travail?

Catherine Coumans – Depuis sa création il y a quinze ans, Mines Alerte a toujours dit clairement que c’est seulement en travaillant avec des alliés nationaux et internationaux que nous arriverons à produire des changements positifs. Nous avons reçu le soutien de nos organisations membres, qui incluent des organisations autochtones, de organisations de justice sociale, des groupes environnementaux et des syndicats de partout au Canada. Au-delà de nos membres, nous travaillons avec des militants, des universitaires, des communautés et des réseaux pour développer des campagnes et mener des recherches, tant au niveau national qu’international.

Au Canada, un des réseaux les plus importants que nous avons contribué à mettre sur pied - et avec lequel nous continuons de travailler étroitement - est le Réseau canadien pour la reddition de compte des entreprises (RCRCE), qui a réussi à unir des voix diverses réclamant la justice sociale et environnementale en portant une attention particulièrement aux activités minières. Nous faisons aussi partie de la Coalition pour la surveillance internationale des libertés civiles et nous menons des recherches dans le but de générer un débat public sur la criminalisation des défenseurs de l’environnement, des autochtones et des droits humains en Amérique latine et au Canada, en mettant l’accent particulièrement sur l’utilisation des lois antiterroristes et des concepts qui y sont reliés. Nous sommes actifs au sein du Forum Afrique-Canada et du Groupe d’orientation politique pour les Amériques du CCCI. Ces groupes offrent un forum pour le développement collaboratif de propositions politiques sur des enjeux tels que les accords commerciaux et la distribution de l’aide, et auxquelles notre travail sur le secteur minier peut contribuer. Nous collaborons à de nombreuses initiatives universitaires à travers le pays en effectuant des présentations, en menant des recherches et en contribuant à des projets d’écriture et des publications sur un grand nombre de sujets reliés aux activités minières.

Au niveau international, nous concentrons nos efforts dans des secteurs où nous pouvons travailler en collaboration avec des alliés locaux afin de contribuer à leur autonomisation en tant qu’auteurs de leur propre développement. Nous utilisons ces partenariats afin de passer du micro au macro, afin que les luttes locales renforcent les mouvements pour la justice environnementale. L’objectif demeure toujours d’influencer les politiques, d’éduquer le public et de créer des précédents positifs – afin de produire un changement systémique.

CCCI - Comment faites-vous le lien entre les enjeux locaux et mondiaux dans le secteur minier ? Comment votre travail au Canada et à l’étranger peuvent-ils se renforcer mutuellement ?

Catherine Coumans – D’une certaine façon, les enjeux sociaux et environnementaux sont spécifiques à chaque projet minier : il n’y a pas deux communautés qui font face exactement aux mêmes défis ou qui arrivent à des positions exactement similaires. En effet, des perspectives différentes au sein des mêmes communautés contribuent souvent aux tensions entre les membres. Cependant, il y a des éléments communs qui signifient que les communautés au sein d’une région, d’un pays ou même de différentes régions du monde peuvent apprendre les unes des autres, peuvent bénéficier de l’appui d’organisations de justice sociale et peuvent être renforcées mutuellement à travers les actions collectives. La création de liens entre les communautés affectées par les activités minières au Canada au dans les pays du Sud sont donc des parties importantes de la lutte pour la justice sociale et environnementale. Avec nos alliés, nous facilitons le développement de ces relations à travers la participation canadienne à des initiatives menées par le Sud et à travers les échanges entre les acteurs lorsque les partenaires du Sud visitent le Canada.

L’interdépendance des enjeux est complexe, mais contribue en fait à l’identification de buts communs. Les efforts d’une communauté pour protéger l’eau sont aussi liés  au droit démocratique de s’exprimer; un exposé sur l’incapacité d’une compagnie d’être transparente avec ses investisseurs au sujet de la difficulté à obtenir des permis d’exploitation minière peut très bien comprendre une description de pratiques de travail injustes; l’analyse de l'insuffisance des capacités de suivi d’un pays fera aussi souvent mention de l’interférence du gouvernement canadien tentant de promouvoir ses compagnies. Dans chacun de nos appels au progrès, plusieurs enjeux intimement liés font partie de ce travail de manière explicite ou implicite.

CCCI - Mines Alerte soutient la campagne Une affaire de justice. Pouvez-vous nous dire pourquoi cette campagne est nécessaire et ce que vous espérez accomplir ?

Catherine Coumans Les compagnies canadiennes sont les joueurs dominants dans le secteur minier dans les pays en développement. Elles sont aussi trop souvent impliquées dans des violations environnementales et de droits humains. Lorsque des compagnies portent atteintes aux droits humains des travailleurs ou des communautés affectées, ou encore lorsqu’elles ne respectent pas les lois locales – quand elles commettent des crimes environnementaux ou que leurs employés locaux commettent des actes violents, quand ils utilisent des moyens illégaux pour influencer les gouvernements hôtes, ou quand ils sont coupables d’évasion fiscale – ils sont rarement obligé de rendre des comptes dans les pays où ils opèrent en raison de la faiblesse des institutions règlementaires et judiciaires dans ces pays. Il doit y avoir des moyens pour que les compagnies canadiennes puissent être forcées à rendre des comptes au Canada. La campagne Une affaire de justice demande d’adopter une loi donnant accès aux cours de justice canadiennes aux personnes qui ont été gravement touchées par les activités des entreprises canadiennes à l’étranger; ainsi que la création d’un poste d’ombudsman qui aura le pouvoir d’examiner les plaintes de façon indépendante et de faire rapport sur les résultats des enquêtes, de recommander des recours et d’adresser des recommandations au gouvernement.

CCCI - Plusieurs personnes au Canada et à l’étranger croient que les activités minières peuvent contribuer de manière positive au développement économique. Êtes-vous d’accord avec cette affirmation? Si oui, de quoi avons-nous besoin pour que ce potentiel se réalise ?

Catherine Coumans – La réalité est que le modèle habituel d’extraction minière crée des déficits de développement sur le long-terme, et non des bénéfices. Mines Alerte a écrit abondamment sur ce sujet. Une réponse à cette question peut être trouvée dans un article paru en décembre 2013 et intitulé “Mining and development – how much will it cost us to clothe the naked emperor?”. Dans cet article, nous citons des analyses réalisées par des économistes tels que Joseph Stiglitz qui conclut que les pays pauvres qui dépendent de leurs ressources minérales pour leur développement économique « ont obtenu des résultats encore plus faibles que ceux qui n’ont pas ces ressources ». Stiglitz et d’autres auteurs soutiennent que l’aggravation de la pauvreté, l’augmentation des inégalités, ainsi que l’augmentation de la corruption et des conflits sont toutes des caractéristiques, au niveau national, de la « malédiction des ressources », indiquant que, même au niveau local, les impacts sociaux, environnementaux et économiques exacerbent la pauvreté de nombreux membres des communautés vivant près des sites miniers.

Il est également nécessaire de se pencher sur les fuites massives de capitaux hors des pays pauvres qui sont le résultat de la manipulation des prix de transferts par des compagnies minières canadiennes - ce qui signifie que les taxes qu’ils auraient dû payer à ces pays se retrouvent dans des paradis fiscaux comme les Îles Caïmans. De plus, les obligations financières devraient être déposées pour couvrir les véritables coûts associés à la gestion des menaces toxiques liées aux projets épuisés tant et aussi longtemps que ces menaces existent – souvent à perpétuité. Au Canada seulement, il y a des milliers d’anciens sites miniers pour lesquels les contribuables doivent maintenant assumer la facture de nettoyage et de gestion : une facture qui avoisine les milliards de dollars – et le compteur tourne. C’est un fardeau financier que les pays en développement ne peuvent pas assumer.

CCIC - Comment le Canada pourrait-il devenir un leader en rendant les compagnies canadiennes imputables?

Catherine Coumans – Pour rendre les compagnies canadiennes plus imputables, le Canada doit prendre au sérieux son obligation de protéger les droits humains de tous les Canadiens et des populations autochtones du Canada. Cela signifie, entre autres, de mettre en place des lois qui sont cohérentes avec les engagements du Canada sur les droits humains en tant que signataire de multiples conventions et traités des Nations Unies, incluant une loi pour mettre en œuvre le consentement préalable, libre et éclairé pour les peuples autochtones; de maintenir et de renforcer la législation nationale et la capacité d’application pour protéger l’environnement et les droits et les aptitudes des Canadiens d’avoir leur mot à dire dans les projets de développement; de soutenir la recherche pour développer des données environnementales et socio-culturelles de base, et de préserver ces données financées avec de l’argent public recueillies dans le passé.  

En ce qui concerne les activités des compagnies minières canadiennes à l’étranger, le Canada devrait entre autres : assurer un véritable accès à des recours pour les individus lésés par les activités des compagnies canadiennes en légiférant pour assurer l’accès aux cours canadiennes et en mettant en place un mécanisme de réclamation non judiciaire efficace sous la forme d’un ombudsman; assurer que les activités diplomatiques et les traités de commerce et d’investissement ne protègent pas les intérêts des compagnies canadiennes au détriment de ceux des citoyens et de l’environnement dans les pays étrangers; établir des normes pour les compagnies minières canadiennes qui opèrent à l’étranger et s’assurer que l’enregistrement de leur société au Canada  et à la bourse – ainsi que le soutien politique et financier de l’État - soient conditionnels au respect de ces normes; exiger la transparence des revenus afin que les compagnies canadiennes publient, projet par projet, les montants qu’ils paient aux gouvernements étrangers; prendre des mesures pour contrer les flux illicites de revenus des compagnies canadiennes en exigeant la divulgation des filiales et des relations contractuelles; prendre des mesures pour documenter et contrôler l’extraction et la distribution de métaux qui contribuent aux conflits, particulièrement dans la régions des Grands Lacs en Afrique.

 

CCIC - À votre avis, quels sont quelques-uns des principaux avantages d’être membre du CCCI ? Et quelle est la contribution de Mines Alerte?

Catherine Coumans – En tant que membre du CCCI, nous avons la chance de faire partie d’une communauté de petites et de grandes organisations de développement international et de justice sociale de partout au pays pour débattre des enjeux de l’heure, de travailler ensemble afin d’impliquer le public canadien dans des initiatives internationales et de nous assurer que les représentants élus et autres décideurs prennent en compte les perspectives sociales plus larges dans leurs délibérations. En tant que seule ONG canadienne mettant l’accent sur les enjeux spécifiques liés aux activités minières au Canada et aux opérations de compagnies canadiennes à l’étranger, nous  apportons une expertise et des analyses sur une industrie qui affecte la vie d’un très grand nombre de personnes au Canada et dans les pays du Sud, et nous sommes une ressource pour les membres du CCCI qui travaillent avec des communautés affectées par les activités minières.

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • QUI FAIT QUOI
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi