CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile March 2017

Islamic Relief Canada

 

CFGB
Zaid Al-Rawni
 

This month, CCIC met with Zaid Al-Rawni, CEO of Islamic Relief Canada to discuss the relief and development work they do globally – and domestically – and of the changing roles for Canadian NGOs working internationally.

CCIC - Islamic Relief works with communities in over 40 countries to strengthen their resilience to calamities, and provide vital emergency aid when disasters occur. Please tell us about a recent project of which you are particular proud. 

Zaid Al-Rawni - One project that we are very proud of is our Raspberry farming project in Bosnia-Herzegovina. The region is still reeling from the war that took place in the 1990s. Women are the ones who find it hard to find work to support their families. Official national figures estimate that around 20 percent of the population lives below the nationally-defined poverty line and 30 percent just above the poverty line.

In this project, Islamic Relief trains orphan families and single female-headed households on raspberry planting so that they can earn a living by growing and selling raspberries.

Islamic Relief Canada provides families with relevant equipment, training, and land  to enable raspberry planting, growing, marketing and selling. The autonomy that comes with a project of this nature allows for these families to be lifted out of poverty and become contributing members of their economy and society. 

 

CCIC - Islamic Relief Canada helps the impoverished access basic services, including education, water and sanitation, and healthcare, and provides lasting routes out of poverty through sustainable development schemes. How does your organization educate, inspire, and engage Canadians on the importance of your work?

Zaid Al-Rawni - We strongly believe in community engagement and have worked hard over the last ten years to build a strong and trusting relationship with Canadians - specifically the Muslim community. In 2016, we raised a total of over $20 million from the Muslim community in Canada. We educate, inspire and engage Canadians on our work through community events, fundraising dinners, mosques outreach and by empowering volunteers and staff to own projects and causes.

In Ramadan, which is the holy month of fasting for Muslims, we reached out to our supporters and volunteers and encouraged them to organise fundraising dinners in their homes for an Islamic Relief project of their choice.  With our support, Canadians across the country were mobilising their friends and families to come together to donate towards humanitarian programmes in the Middle East, Africa and Asia. Our Ramadan campaign raised a total of $ 8.2 million.

We also participate in media initiatives, forums  and local and international conferences where we present and share our expertise on the work that we do. Recently we took part in a UN Women conference  raising awareness about our work on women and girls  - which was also attended by various Canadian NGOs, Ministers and MPs.

 

CCIC - According to the UN Humanitarian Chief, the world currently faces the largest humanitarian crisis since the United Nations was founded in 1945, with more than 20 million people in four countries facing starvation and famine. Given the Prime Minister's pledge that "Canada is back" on the world stage, do you think there is an opportunity for Canada to take a leadership role in humanitarian assistance? What type of response would you like from Global Affairs Canada?

Zaid Al-Rawni - We believe Canada has an important role to play on the world stage when it comes to humanitarian assistance. We are a country stronger together not in spite of our differences, but because of them, as our Prime Minister has said. We welcome the recent Government announcement of funding to respond to the crises we are seeing in Somalia, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Yemen. Here at Islamic Relief , we've received 1.5 million for a project in Yemen.

 

CCIC - Given the recent Quebec mosque shooting, and the troubling international trends, do you see a shift in the domestic role of Canadian NGOs working internationally?

Zaid Al-Rawni - Of course. The Quebec mosque shootings was a threat to all Canadians. We were personally affected as we had a strong relationship with the mosque and some of our volunteers were injured that day. When it comes to domestic work, for us, we believe that there is a balance. We've been around in Canada for 10 years now (this year marks our 10 year anniversary) and over the years we've been expanding our work here in Canada for all communities of all faiths.

We are actively assisting the victims of the Quebec mosque shootings. Last year, we mobilised our teams in Edmonton to help those affected by the Fort Mcmurray wildfires and we supported  the resettlement programme for Syrian refugees arriving in Canada. We're also pursuing initiatives on ending violence against women and girls in Canada.

With everything that is going on in the world right now, we feel that as the largest Muslim NGO in Canada we have a responsibility to step up when we are needed for all Canadians - regardless of race, gender or religion.  I think that as more events change here in Canada, we will see more NGOs starting to venture into more domestic projects - while still maintaining its strong international presence. There is a balance and we are working to achieve that where we can be the voice of Canadian Muslims in Canada and around the world.

 

CCIC - Islamic Relief Canada is an important member of CCIC. What contribution do you hope to bring to CCIC and what value does CCIC bring to your work?

Zaid Al-Rawni - We are honoured to be a CCIC member. We hope that we can work together with its members and staff to achieve our goals of ending global poverty and promoting social justice and human dignity for all.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, mars 2017

Islamic Relief Canada

 

CISD

Zaid Al-Rawni

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Zaid Al-Rawni, PDG d'Islamic Relief Canada, pour discuter de leur travail de secours et de développement à travers le monde - et à l'échelle nationale - et de l'évolution des rôles pour les ONG canadiennes qui travaillent à l'échelle internationale.

 

CCCI - Islamic Relief Canada travaille avec les communautés dans plus de 40 pays pour renforcer leur résilience face aux catastrophes naturelles et fournit des secours d'urgence lorsque se produisent des catastrophes. Parlez-nous d'un projet récent duquel vous êtes particulièrement fier.

Zaid Al-RawniUn projet dont nous sommes très fiers, c'est notre projet de culture de framboises en Bosnie-Herzégovine. La région est encore sous le choc de la guerre qui a eu lieu dans les années 1990. Les femmes sont celles qui ont du mal à trouver du travail pour soutenir leurs familles. Les chiffres officiels estiment qu'environ 20 % de la population vit sous le seuil de la pauvreté tel qu’il est définit au niveau national, et 30 % vivent tout juste au-dessus de ce seuil.

Dans ce projet, Islamic Relief Canada offre une formation aux familles orphelines et aux ménages dirigés par des femmes monoporarentales sur la cultivation des framboises afin qu'ils puissent gagner leur vie grâce à la culture et la vente de framboises.

Islamic Relief Canada donne aux familles de l'équipement, de la formation et des terres pour leur permettre de planter, cultiver, commercialiser et vendre des framboises. L'autonomie qui vient avec un projet de cette nature permet à ces familles à sortir de la pauvreté et de devenir des membres productifs de la société et l'économie.

 

CCCI - Islamic Relief Canada aide les personnes vivant dans la pauvreté à accéder aux services de base, y compris l'éducation, l'eau et l'assainissement, et la santé, et fournit des opportunités de sortir de la pauvreté pour de bon grâce à des programmes de développement durable. Comment votre organisation s'y prend-elle pour éduquer, inspirer et de mobiliser les Canadiens sur l'importance de votre travail ?

Zaid Al-Rawni – Nous croyons fermement dans l'engagement communautaire et avons travaillé dur au cours des dix dernières années pour bâtir une solide relation de confiance avec les Canadiens - en particulier la communauté musulmane. En 2016, nous avons amassé plus de 20 millions de dollars grâce à la communauté musulmane au Canada. Nous éduquons, inspirons et engageons les Canadiens par rapport à notre travail grâce à des événements communautaires, des soupers de levée de fonds, de la sensibilisation dans les mosquées et en encourageant les bénévoles et les employés à s'investir dans leurs projets et leurs causes.

Pendant le Ramadan, qui est le mois du jeûne pour les musulmans, nous avons tendu la main à nos partisans et bénévoles, et nous les avons encouragés à organiser des soupers de levée de fonds dans leurs foyers pour un projet d'Islamic Relief de leur choix.  Avec notre appui, des Canadiens de partout au pays ont mobilisé leurs familles et amis pour faire un don à des programmes humanitaires au Moyen-Orient, en Afrique et en Asie. Notre campagne du Ramadan a permis d'amasser un total de 8,2 millions de dollars.

Nous participons également à des initiatives médiatiques, des forums et des conférences locales et internationales, où nous présentons et partageons notre expertise sur le travail que nous faisons. Nous avons récemment pris part à une conférence d'ONU Femmes pour sensibiliser les gens à notre travail sur les femmes et les filles - diverses ONG, ministres et députés canadiens ont également participé à cet événement.

 

CCCI - Selon le chef de l'action humanitaire des Nations Unies, le monde fait face actuellement à la plus grande crise humanitaire depuis que l'Organisation des Nations Unies a été fondée en 1945, alors que 20 millions de personnes dans quatre pays font face à la famine. Compte tenu du fait que le premier ministre a promis que « le Canada estd e retour » sur la scène mondiale, pensez-vous qu'il y a une occasion pour le Canada de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans l'aide humanitaire ? Quel type de réponse souhaitez-vous voir de la part d'Affaires mondiales du Canada ?

Zaid Al-Rawni – Nous croyons que le Canada a un rôle important à jouer dans le monde en ce qui a trait à l'aide humanitaire. Nous sommes un pays plus fort ensemble grâce à nos différences et non en dépit de celles-ci, comme l'a dit notre premier ministre. Nous nous félicitons de la récente annonce de financement du gouvernement  en réponse aux crises que nous voyons en Somalie, au Soudan du Sud, en Éthiopie et au Yémen. Ici, à Islamic Relief, nous avons reçu 1,5 millions de dollars pour un projet au Yémen.

 

CCCI - Compte tenu de la fusillade récente à la mosquée de Québec et des tendances internationales troublantes, voyez-vous un changement dans le rôle des ONG canadiennes à l'étranger ?

Zaid Al-Rawni – Bien sûr. La fusillade de la mosquée de Québec était une menace pour tous les Canadiens. Nous avons été personnellement touchés parce que nous avions une relation forte avec cette mosquée et que certains de nos bénévoles ont été blessés ce jour-là. Quand il s'agit de travailler à l'échelle locale, de notre côté, nous croyons qu'il y a un équilibre. Nous existons au Canada depuis maintenant 10 ans (cette année marque notre 10e anniversaire) et, au fil des ans, nous avons augmenté notre travail ici au Canada avec toutes les communautés de toutes les confessions.

Nous venons activement en aide aux victimes de la fusillade de la mosquée de Québec. L'année dernière, nous avons mobilisé nos équipes à Edmonton pour aider les personnes touchées par les feux de forêts à Fort Mcmurray, et nous avons appuyé le programme de réinstallation pour les réfugiés syriens arrivant au Canada. Nous menons aussi des initiatives visant à mettre fin à la violence contre les femmes et les filles au Canada.

Avec tout ce qui se passe dans le monde aujourd'hui, nous estimons que, en tant que plus grande ONG musulmane au Canada, nous avons la responsabilité d'intensifier nos efforts lorsque les Canadiens ont besoin de notre aide - peu importe leur race, leur sexe ou leur religion.  Je pense qu'à force de voir les événements qui changent ici au Canada, nous allons voir aussi davantage d'ONG commencer à s'aventurer dans des projets nationaux - tout en maintenant une forte présence internationale. Il y a un équilibre et nous nous employons à l'atteindre là où nous pouvons être la voix des musulmans canadiens au Canada et partout dans le monde.

 

CCCI - Islamic Relief Canada st un membre important du CCCI. Quelle contribution particulière souhaitez-vous apporter au CCCI et quelle valeur le CCCI ajoute-t-il à votre travail?

Zaid Al-Rawni Nous sommes honorés d'être membre du CCCI. Nous espérons pouvoir travailler avec ses membres et son équipe pour réaliser nos objectifs de mettre fin à la pauvreté et de promouvoir la justice sociale et la dignité humaine pour tous.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi