CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile March 2015

Amnesty International Canada

 

BCCIC

Inter Pares Executive Director Rita Morbia (right) with Khushi Kabir, founder of Nijera Kori, an Inter Pares long-term counterpart in Bangladesh. Credit: Natalie McMullen.

This month CCIC met with Rita Morbia, Executive Director at Inter Pares. Rita talked about the 40th anniversary of Inter Pares and the changing context for international solidarity organizations, as well as some programs that are at the heart of the organization's work....among other things!

 

CCIC - What would you say distinguishes Inter Pares from other Canadian organizations working in international development?

Rita Morbia - What distinguishes us is captured in our name Inter Pares, which means among equals. We believe that social change is best achieved when we work collaboratively and as equals with groups or activists here in Canada and around the world.

We also distinguish ourselves by being a feminist organisation. Our work is predicated on the understanding that there are power imbalances between men and women and recognizes other disparities in the world based on, for example, North and South, socioeconomic class, and race. Having a feminist lens that guides our work helps us more thoughtfully address these inequalities, and influences the way we interact with counterpart organizations and colleagues.

We do not have overseas offices but collaborate with counterpart organizations that share our feminist analysis and that are deeply engaged in their own contexts, working for peaceful and just societies, often over the long term.

 

CCIC - How is that specificity and other core values reflected in your work?

Rita Morbia - We put equality into practice both internally and externally. With the 120 groups we support here in Canada and around the world, we have developed collaboration that goes well beyond a funding relationship. We help ignite reflection and develop strategies together to address the root causes of inequality. We facilitate learning exchanges to link counterpart organizations and create spaces where they can share their concerns, learn from one another, and take stronger action. Working with Canadian counterpart organizations is also crucial to our approach, as we know that many development problems encountered in other countries originate in the North. Together, we build a common understanding of these obstacles and advocate to improve unfair policies.

Internally, we operate with a non-hierarchical structure. Inter Pares currently has thirteen full-time staff members who are all co-managers. We are all paid the same base salary, share management responsibilities, and participate equally in consensus-based decision-making. This assures a high degree of transparency, cohesion and rigour, and applies internally what we advocate for externally.

 

CCIC - Can you tell us about one or two current programs that you are particularly proud of?

Rita Morbia - This is a difficult question, as we value our programs equally. The programs we support exist because of the needs clearly expressed by our counterparts. This explains also why we work on a variety of issues, such as women’s rights, food sovereignty, economic justice, migration and health. We believe these issues are all interconnected. For example, it is hard to support women’s rights without working on reproductive health rights, or to work on food sovereignty without paying attention to economic development projects that displace entire farming communities who depend on their land to live.

Nevertheless, we would highlight our Burma program for the significant impacts it has generated and because we are the only Canadian organization with such a long history of support in this country heavily affected by decades of internal conflict.

Our Burma program supports over 60 community-based organizations, some of which we have been supporting since 1991. Thanks to this program, more than half a million people from ethnic and rural areas have accessed primary health services. Issues of violence affecting ethnic women are now brought to international attention thanks to research produced by the women’s coalitions supported by Inter Pares. Community groups and state-wide farmer networks created and supported through this program now work to raise awareness of the impact of large scale development and infrastructure projects. Over 200,000 refugees in Thailand and Malaysia, and internally displaced people in southeastern Burma manage their own communities and relief supplies. Independent ethnic media groups now report on marginalized regions, in local languages and from a local perspective, which was unimaginable just a few years back. 

 

CCIC - Inter Pares is celebrating its 40th anniversary; what has changed the most in your environment in the past 40 years? What hasn't?

Rita Morbia - The international development context has changed a lot. The funding environment is more bureaucratic, and less open to longer-term program-based initiatives as opposed to short-term projects. There is a chill among groups afraid of retaliation for expressing their views. There is a trend to engage the private sector in ways that may not put community needs at the forefront. Additionally, the security agenda adds to an already-challenging global context rife with war, injustice and impoverishment.

On the other hand, what hasn’t changed is the strong commitment of inspiring activists we support who challenge injustice at great risk to their lives. What hasn’t changed is the critical support of individual donors here in Canada who make our work possible. And finally, what hasn’t changed is the relevance of feminism as a guiding principle to challenge all forms of injustice and oppression.

 

CCIC - Can you share information on special events and activities that will be taking place for your 40th anniversary?

Rita Morbia - For our 40th anniversary, we are organizing a major public event, “The Future of International Solidarity,” on April 30th at the Wabano Centre for Aboriginal Health in Ottawa. Four activists from Colombia, Burkina Faso, Burma, and Canada with decades-long commitment to social justice will be joining us to share their experience and analysis on how they envision the future. Their testimonials will be the starting point of a larger discussion we will initiate with participants. 

We look forward to having colleagues from the international development sector, government and public officials, students, academics, allies and supporters to together re-think international cooperation and solidarity. All details of the event can be found on our website.

 

CCIC - Can you say a few words on why it is valuable for Inter Pares to be part of CCIC?

Rita Morbia - Coalition work represents a strong expression of our feminist values of collaboration.  Our membership in CCIC allows us to work together towards a common goal, to address poverty and inequality around the world, which requires decisive and concerted action.

On a more practical level, CCIC helps us access knowledge and information, analysis, and networking opportunities. It provides a space for dialogue and political discourse for development and social justice. CCIC advocates on our behalf on some common objectives we want to achieve as a sector. It creates a stronger voice for the kind of international cooperation that we, as Canadians, wish to see in the world.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, mars 2015


Amnistie internationale Canada

 

Alex Neve

La directrice générale d'Inter Pares, Rita Morbia (à droite) avec Khushi Kabir, fondatrice de Nijera Kori, un partenaire de longue date d'Inter Pares au Bangladesh. Crédit photo: Natalie McMullen

Ce mois-ci le CCCI s'est entretenu avec Rita Morbia, directrice générale d'Inter Pares. Rita nous a parlé du 40e anniversaire de l'organisation et du contexte changeant pour les organisations de solidarité internationale, ainsi que de quelques programmes qui sont au cœur du travail de l'organisation...entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - Qu'est-ce qui différencie selon vous Inter Pares des autres organisations canadiennes travaillant dans le secteur du développement international ?

Rita Morbia Ce qui nous distingue se reflète dans notre nom, Inter Pares, qui veut dire entre égaux. Nous croyons que le changement social est plus facilement réalisable lorsqu'on travaille en collaboration et d'égal à égal avec des groupes et des activistes ici au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

Nous nous distinguons aussi parce que nous sommes une organisation féministe. Notre travail est fondé sur la reconnaissance du fait qu'il existe une asymétrie de pouvoir entre les hommes et les femmes, et que d'autres déséquilibres de pouvoir similaires existent de par le monde, par exemple, entre le Nord et le Sud, entre les classes socioéconomiques et entre les groupes ethniques.  D'utiliser la lentille du féminisme pour guider notre travail nous aide à aborder ces inégalités de manière plus réfléchie et influence la manière dont nous interagissons avec nos collègues et nos organisations partenaires.

Nous n'avons pas de bureau à l'étranger, mais nous collaborons avec des organisations partenaires qui partagent notre analyse féministe et qui sont profondément impliquées dans leur propre contexte local, travaillant à bâtir des sociétés justes et pacifiques, souvent sur le long terme.

 

CCCI - Comment est-ce que cette spécificité et vos autres valeurs fondamentales se reflètent-elles dans votre travail ?

Rita Morbia Nous mettons la notion d'égalité en pratique tant à l'interne qu'à l'externe. Avec les quelque 120 groupes que nous appuyons, ici au Canada et à l'étranger, nous avons développé des collaborations qui vont bien au-delà des relations de financement. Nous tentons de faire germer la réflexion et de développer des stratégies communes pour s'attaquer aux causes des inégalités.  Nous organisons des échanges d'apprentissage éducatifs pour créer des liens entre nos homologues et mettre en place des espaces où ils peuvent partager leurs préoccupations, apprendre les uns des autres et prendre des mesures plus fortes. Travailler des organisations homologues canadiennes est aussi un aspect fondamental de notre approche, car nous savons que plusieurs des problèmes de développement rencontrés dans d'autres pays sont causés par le Nord.  Ensemble, nous élaborons une compréhension commune de ces obstacles et menons des activités de plaidoyer pour améliorer les politiques injustes. 

À l'interne, nous fonctionnons sur la base d'un système non-hiérarchique. Inter Pares compte présentement 13 employés à temps plein qui sont également des co-gestionnaires. Nous recevons tous le même salaire de base, partageons les responsabilités liées à la gestion et participons de façon égale à un processus de prise de décision par consensus. Cela nous assure d'un haut niveau de transparence, de cohésion et de rigueur, et se veut l'application à l'interne des principes que nous défendons à l'externe.

 

CCCI - Pouvez-vous nous parler d'un ou deux programmes actuels dont vous êtes particulièrement fière ?

Rita Morbia – Voilà une question difficile parce que nous accordons la même valeur à tous nos programmes. Les programmes que nous appuyons existent pour répondre à des besoins identifiés clairement par nos homologues. Cela explique aussi pourquoi nous travaillons sur de multiples enjeux, comme les droits des femmes, la souveraineté alimentaire, la justice économique, la migration et la santé. Nous croyons que ces enjeux sont tous étroitement liés. Par exemple, il est difficile de soutenir les droits des femmes sans travailler aussi sur la question des droits relatifs à la santé génésique, ou encore de travailler sur la souveraineté alimentaire sans porter attention aux projets de développement économique qui déplacent des communautés agraires entières qui dépendent de leur terre pour vivre.

Quoi qu'il en soit, nous pourrions souligner notre programme sur la Birmanie en raison des impacts significatifs qu'il a générés et parce que nous sommes la seule organisation canadienne avec une si longue histoire de soutien dans ce pays affecté des décennies de conflits internes.

Notre programme sur la Birmanie appuie plus de 60 organisations communautaires, dont certaines que nous appuyons depuis 1991. Grâce à ce programme, plus de 500 000 personnes des zones rurales et ethniques ont maintenant accès à des soins de santé de base.  Des enjeux liés à la violence faite aux femmes de minorités ethniques sont maintenant portés à l'attention internationale grâce aux recherches produites par les coalitions de femmes appuyées par Inter Pares.  Des groupes communautaires et des réseaux nationaux d'agriculteurs créés et soutenus à travers ce programme travaillent maintenant à sensibiliser les gens aux impacts des grands projets de développement et d'infrastructure.  Plus de 200 000 réfugiés en Thaïlande et en Malaisie, ainsi que des personnes déplacées dans le sud-est de la Birmanie, gèrent leur propre communauté et les approvisionnements de secours. Des médias indépendants contrôlés par des groupes ethniques publient maintenant des nouvelles concernant les régions marginalisées, dans les langues locales et à partir d'une perspective locale, ce qui était inimaginable il y a quelques années seulement.

 

CCCI - Inter Pares célèbre son 40e anniversaire; qu'est-ce qui a le plus changé dans votre environnement au cours des 40 dernières années ? Et qu'est-ce qui n'a pas changé ?

Rita Morbia Le contexte du développement international a beaucoup changé. Le cadre de financement est plus bureaucratique et moins ouvert aux initiatives à long terme centrées sur des programmes, par opposition aux projets à court terme.  Il existe aussi une certaine frilosité chez les groupes qui ont craignent de subir des représailles s'ils expriment leurs opinions. Il y a une tendance à vouloir impliquer le secteur privée dans des conditions qui ne mettent peut-être pas les besoins des communautés à l'avant-plan. De plus, l'importance accordée à la sécurité s'ajoute à un contexte global miné par la guerre, l'injustice et l'appauvrissement. 

D'un autre côté, ce qui n'a pas changé, c'est l'engagement ferme d'activistes inspirés, que nous appuyons, et qui s'attaquent aux injustices au péril de leur propre vie. Ce qui n'a pas changé, c'est le soutien essentiel des donateurs individuels ici, au Canada, qui rend notre travail possible.   Et finalement, ce qui n'a pas changé, c'est la pertinence d'utiliser le féminisme comme principe de base pour lutter contre toutes les formes d'injustice et d'oppression.

 

CCCI - Pouvez-vous nous donner des renseignements sur les événements spéciaux et les activités qui auront lieu dans le cadre de votre 40e anniversaire ?

Rita Morbia Pour notre 40e anniversaire, nous organisons un grand événement public, intitulé « L'avenir de la solidarité internationale: parlons-en ! », le 30 avril au Centre de santé autochtone Wabano à Ottawa. Quatre activistes originaires de la Colombie, du Burkina Faso, de la Birmanie et du Canada, impliqués depuis plusieurs décennies dans la lutte pour la justice sociale, se joindront à nous pour partager leur expérience et leur analyse de ce que l'avenir nous réserve. Leurs témoignages constitueront le point de départ d'une discussion plus large que nous engagerons avec les participants. 

Nous nous réjouissons à l'avance de pouvoir compter sur la présence de collègues du secteur du développement international, de fonctionnaires et de bureaucrates, d'étudiants, d'universitaires, d'alliés et de partisans afin de repenser ensemble la coopération et la solidarité internationale. Tous les détails de l'événement sont disponibles sur notre site web.

 

CCCI - Pouvez-vous nous dire, en quelques mots, pourquoi il est important pour Inter Pares de faire partie du CCCI ?

Rita Morbia Le travail de coalition se veut l'expression de nos valeurs féministes de collaboration.  Être membre du CCCI nous permet de travailler ensemble vers un objectif commun, soit de lutter contre la pauvreté et les inégalités partout dans le monde, ce qui nécessite des actions décisives et concertées.

D'un côté plus pratique, le CCCI nous permet d'accéder à des connaissances et de à l'information, à des analyses, et à des occasions de réseautage.   Il offre un espace pour le dialogue et le discours politique sur le développement et la justice sociale. Le CCCI défend en notre nom des objectifs communs que nous souhaitons atteindre en tant que secteur. Il crée une voix plus forte pour le type de coopération internationale que nous, en tant que canadiens, souhaitons voir dans le monde.


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi