CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile September 2015

CoDev

 

BCCIC

From left to right: Karl Flecker, George Leach, Nelly Mbugua, Priscilla Sabbas, Karista Olson, Rita S. Karakas, and Ivan Escobar at the CWY Youth Leadership Awards in June 2015

This month, CCIC met with Canada World Youth President-CEO Rita S. Karakas, to talk about its new program EQWIP HUBs: Powering Sustainable Youth Livelihoods, why it is important for youth to play an active role in international development, what the SDGs mean for the organization, and what is behind Canada World Youth longevity which celebrates its 45th anniversary in 2016…among other things!

 

CCIC - Canada World Youth recently launched a program called EQWIP HUBs: Powering Sustainable Youth Livelihoods. Can you tell us more about this program as well as your partnership with Youth Challenge International?

Rita S. Karakas - CWY is proud of its new program EQWIP HUBs: Powering Sustainable Youth Livelihoods. The project is powered by the strategic alliance of Canada World Youth and Youth Challenge International (YCI). As two of Canada’s foremost organizations focused on youth development, we bring 70+ years of youth engagement and transformational learning. This is a critical initiative on behalf of CWY and a highly valued relationship and we look forward going global.

A five-year initiative will look at the different elements that can have a positive influence on youth livelihoods, particularly young women. Through hubs located in urban and semi urban centres, the project will offer employability and entrepreneurship training that is responsive to local realities. At the same time, it will foster collaboration among local governments, the private sector and civil society to leverage local resources and create more opportunities for youth.

 

CCIC - Youth empowerment, development and leadership is at the core of Canada World Youth's mandate. Why it is important for youth to play an active role in international development and what makes their contributions unique?

Rita S. Karakas - We have always worked to support youth leaders. We want youth to become agents of change so they can become key players in participating actively in the development of just, harmonious and sustainable societies. We believe that youth have the capacity to create positive change now. This is why we give youth the opportunity and support to step up, lead and make a difference. They gain skills such as communication, language, project management, facilitation, problem solving, critical thinking and so many more! We know that given this opportunity, youth will go on to fill important leadership positions in their own communities.

One after another, our volunteers return from their CWY programs describing their experience as unforgettable, eye-opening and life-changing. They also come to understand the challenges, opportunities and successes of international development through their community-driven projects. We believe that youth, if given the opportunity and the skills, will take on positive leadership roles in all our communities, inspiring other youth to do the same! It is a fantastic, youth-led, ripple effect!

 

CCIC - As you know the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) will be officially adopted at the UN this month. What is the meaning of the SDGs for an organization like Canada World Youth? How will it influence your work?

Rita S. Karakas - Our programs already reflect the Millennium Development Goals. Since the SDGs expand on the unfinished business of the MDGs, we are reviewing our future programming to reflect these new global goals. Unlike the MDGs, these goals are universal in nature, applying to all countries, not just developing ones. 1.7 billion global youth are aged between 15-25. Therefore it is important that we foster the right environment for our youth leaders, both Canadian and overseas, to empower them and help them develop skills, knowledge, and networks that will propel them forward. Since youth will be leading economic development in the future, let’s help them in implementing these sustainable goals and in making them happen.

 

CCIC - In 2016 Canada World Youth will celebrate its 45th anniversary. What is behind CWY's longevity?

Rita S. Karakas - CWY was created to offer young people from Canada and around the world an opportunity to open themselves to other cultures while acquiring the knowledge and skills needed to become active, engaged global citizens. We continually improved upon our innovative model based on non-formal education as well as self-evaluation to determine the impact of our programs to better position ourselves for the future. 38,000 youth from Canada and overseas have participated in our programs. That makes for a lot of people talking about its profound long-lasting impact. And let’s not forget the host families and host community members. They have also benefited and grown through their experience.

 

CCIC - Canada World Youth is a longstanding CCIC member. What are the main benefits of being part of a national coalition like CCIC?

Rita S. Karakas - We regard highly CCIC insights, communications and opportunities when looking at broad sectoral issues and value highly how CCIC has evolved.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, septembre 2015


ACC

 

Alex Neve

De gauche à droite: Karl Flecker, George Leach, Nelly Mbugua, Priscilla Sabbas, Karista Olson, Rita S. Karakas, et Ivan Escobarlors de la cérémonie des Prix jeunes leaders en juin 2015.

Ce mois-ci le CCCI s'est entretenu avec la présidente-directrice générale de Jeunesse Canada Monde, Rita S. Karakas. Nous avons discuté du programme EQWIP HUBs: assurer des moyens de subsistance durables aux jeunes, pourquoi il est important que les jeunes s'impliquent dans le développement international, ce que signifient les Objectifs mondiaux pour l'organisation et ce qui se cache derrière la longévité de JCM, qui fêtera ses 45 ans en 2016...entre autres! 

 

CCCI - Jeunesse Canada Monde a récemment lancé un programme appelé EQWIP HUBs: Assurer des moyens de subsistance durables aux jeunes. Pouvez-vous nous en dire davantage à propos de ce programme et à propos de votre partenariat avec Youth Challenge International?

Rita S. Karakas JCM est fière de son nouveau programme EQWIP HUBs: Assurer des moyens de subsistance durables aux jeunes. Le projet est alimenté par l'alliance stratégique entre Jeunesse Canada Monde et Youth Challenge International (YCI). Nous sommes deux des plus importantes organisations canadiennes travaillant sur le développement des jeunes et nous cumulons plus de 70 ans d'expérience dans l'engagement auprès des jeunes et l'apprentissage transformationnel. Il s'agit d'une importante initiative pour JCM, ainsi que d'un partenariat que nous estimons grandement. Nous nous réjouissons à l'avance de pouvoir travailler au niveau mondial. 

Une initiative qui s'étalera sur cinq ans permettra d'identifier les différents éléments qui peuvent avoir une influence positive sur les moyens de subsistance des jeunes, en particulier des jeunes femmes.  À travers des centres situés dans des zones urbaines et semi-urbaines, le projet offrira de la formation à l'emploi et en entrepreneuriat qui répondra aux réalités locales. En même temps, il favorisera la collaboration entre les gouvernements locaux, le secteur privé et la société civile pour mettre à profit les ressources locales et créer plus d'opportunités pour les jeunes.

 

CCCI - L'autonomisation, le développement et le leadership des jeunes sont au cœur du mandat de Jeunesse Canada Monde. Pourquoi est-il important pour les jeunes de jouer un rôle actif dans le développement international et qu'est-ce qui rend leur contribution unique?

Rita S. Karakas Nous avons toujours travaillé de manière à appuyer les jeunes leaders. Nous voulons que les jeunes deviennent des agents de changement et qu'ils deviennent des acteurs clés en participant activement au développement de sociétés justes, harmonieuses et durables. Nous croyons que les jeunes ont la capacité de créer des changements positifs dès maintenant. C'est pour ça que nous offrons aux jeunes l'occasion et l'appui nécessaire pour qu'ils puissent s'affirmer, démontrer du leadership et faire une différence. Ils développent des habiletés liés à la communication, à la langue, à la gestion de projet, à la résolution de problème, à la pensée critique et à tant d'autres sujets!  Nous savons que lorsqu'on leur en donne l'occasion, les jeunes peuvent occuper des positions de leadership importantes au sein de leurs communautés.

Les uns après les autres, nos volontaires reviennent de leurs programmes JCM en disant que leur expérience a été inoubliable, qu'elle leur a ouvert les yeux et qu'elle a changé leur vie. Ils parviennent aussi à comprendre les défis, les opportunités et les succès du développement international à travers leurs propres projets communautaires. Nous croyons que les jeunes, lorsqu'on leur en donne l'occasion et lorsqu'on les aide à développer leurs habiletés, peuvent jouer des rôles de leaders positifs au sein de leurs communautés, servant ainsi de sources d'inspiration pour d'autres jeunes qui seront tentés de les imiter!  Il s'agit d'un effet d'entraînement fantastique et mené par les jeunes!

 

CCCI - Comme vous le savez, les objectifs de développement durables (ODD) seront officiellement adoptés par les Nations Unies ce mois-ci. Qu'est-ce que ces ODD signifient pour une organisation comme Jeunesse Canada Monde? Comment ces objectifs influenceront-ils votre travail?

Rita S. Karakas – Nos programmes reflètent déjà les objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD). Comme les ODD se sont développés en partie sur la base des objectifs inachevés des OMD, nous sommes en train de réviser notre future programmation afin de refléter ces nouveaux objectifs mondiaux.  Contrairement aux OMD, ces objectifs sont de nature universelle, c'est-à-dire qu'ils s'appliquent à tous les pays, et pas seulement à ceux qui sont en développement. Il y a 1,7 milliard de jeunes dans le monde qui sont âgés entre 15 et 25 ans. Par conséquent, il est important d'offrir un bon environnement à nos jeunes leaders, tant au Canada qu'à l'étranger, afin de favoriser leur autonomisation et de les aider à développer les habilités, les connaissances et les réseaux qui vont les propulser en avant.  Puisque les jeunes seront les futurs leaders du développement économique, aidons-les à mettre en œuvre ces objectifs de développement durable et à les réaliser.

 

CCCI - En 2016, Jeunesse Canada Monde célébrera son 45e anniversaire. Qu'est-ce qui explique la longévité de JCM?

Rita S. Karakas – JCM a été créé pour offrir aux jeunes du Canada et de partout dans le monde une occasion de s'ouvrir à d'autres cultures tout en développant les connaissances et les habilités nécessaires pour devenir des citoyens mondiaux actifs et engagés. Nous avons continuellement amélioré notre modèle novateur, basé sur l'éducation informelle ainsi que sur les auto-évaluations afin de déterminer l'impact de nos programmes, pour mieux nous positionner dans l'avenir.  38 000 jeunes du Canada et d'ailleurs ont participé à nos programmes. Ça fait beaucoup de personnes qui peuvent parler de leur impact profond et durable. Et n'oublions pas les membres des familles et des communautés hôtes.  Ils ont aussi bénéficié de cette expérience et en sont sortis grandis.

 

CCCI - Jeunesse Canada Monde est un membre de longue date du CCCI. Quelles sont les principaux bénéfices associés au fait d'être membre d'une coalition nationale comme le CCCI?

Rita S. Karakas Nous avons une grande estime pour les observations, les communications et les occasions offertes par le CCCI en lien avec les grands enjeux du secteur. Nous apprécions aussi beaucoup la manière dont le CCCI a évolué.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi