CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile March 2016

CoDev

The Canadian Red Cross - profile

The Canadian Red Cross in Syria, March 2016.

This month CCIC met with Susan Johnson, Deputy Secretary General and Senior Vice President at Canadian Red Cross to discuss the Syrian conflict, the current Canadian Red Cross Faces of Humanity Campaign, the SDGs and the World Humanitarian Summit and much more…

CCIC - The Syrian conflict is now in its fifth year and the world is experiencing one of the greatest refugee crises in modern history. How is the Canadian Red Cross responding, and what more is needed?

Susan Johnson - Red Cross colleagues recently returned from Syria and neighboring countries where millions of people are still struggling to survive and find safety for their families. They witnessed first-hand people’s terrible desperation as they travelled through teeming refugee camps, conflict zones and destroyed neighbourhoods. Sadly, there is no end in sight for this crisis, and the need is enormous.

Since the start of the conflict, aid workers with the Red Cross and its sister societies, like the Syrian Arab Red Crescent, have been on the ground risking their own lives to help people in besieged communities, and along refugees’ treacherous journeys to Europe, Canada and elsewhere. The need for shelter, medical care, food and other support is immense and ongoing. But humanitarian aid is only a temporary solution.  Quite simply, this situation must end. Enough is enough. We must put the needs of suffering people first, so political answers can follow.

In addition to ongoing support being provided in Syria and neighbouring countries, the Red Cross has been actively providing life-saving assistance to Syrian refugees arriving here in Canada. Since early December, Red Cross staff and volunteers, working alongside all levels of government, have helped provide a warm welcome to individuals and families by offering comfort, hope and a sense of security.

 

CCIC - Can you tell us about the current Canadian Red Cross Faces of Humanity Campaign?

Susan Johnson - Each year, more than 200 million people are impacted by disasters and emergencies around the world, and Canadian humanitarians regularly help the most vulnerable people caught in these crises. The Faces of Humanity campaign is highlighting the lifesaving assistance offered by Canadian doctors, nurses, technicians, administrators and other professionals.  At numerous events across the country, Canadian Red Cross aid workers are sharing their personal stories about fighting Ebola in West Africa, responding to the devastating earthquake in Nepal, or supporting refugees fleeing war in Syria. The campaign, supported by the government of Canada, aims to engage and inform Canadians about a range of humanitarian issues.

 

CCIC - Agenda 2030 and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have the concept of universality at its core. Given the Canadian Red Cross' longstanding national and international work, what are the opportunities and challenges of realising the universal nature of the SDGs?

Susan Johnson - Canadian Red Cross volunteers respond to disasters every day of the year. For example, they offer emergency assistance to people in Canada who lose their homes to fire, and on large scale, they help communities devastated by tornados, floods, earthquakes and health emergencies. We know there are many risks that impact families in Canada and around the world. We know there is a lot to be done, at all levels, to mitigate these risks.  From this perspective, I would say the SDGs offer a significant opportunity for Canada to work across all government departments and with civil society groups to make smart investments in community resilience and preparedness for disasters, as well as in other sectors, such as water and sanitation, and community health.

 

CCIC - In May 2016, the world will come together in Istanbul for the first ever World Humanitarian Summit. In your opinion what is needed before and during the Summit to ensure its success?

Susan Johnson - The WHS process has been remarkable for its broad engagement of people from governments, the UN system, the Red Cross Movement and many aspects of civil society.  It is no surprise the final reports, which frame the WHS event, capture a wide range of issues.  A few points stand out for the Red Cross. We are pleased to see the call for respect of international humanitarian law since much of the misery experienced by people caught in conflict arises from deliberate attacks on civilians and obstruction of humanitarian assistance. As well, we appreciate increased recognition that local organizations should be supported and strengthened in a response, not replaced by international aid organizations. 

There are, on the other hand, some areas of concern for the Red Cross.  We hope Summit governments will clarify and confirm that they do understand key distinctions between armed conflict and natural disasters and the need to support neutral, independent, impartial humanitarian action, particularly in conflict settings.  We have also noted the final report is very U.N.-centric, despite the range of voices engaged in the lead-up to the Summit. We hope governments at the Summit will confirm that while they appreciate the considerable capacity of the U.N. system, they also recognize its limits, and the valuable diversity of today’s humanitarian organizations.

 

CCIC - The Canadian Red Cross has been an active member of the Canadian Council for International Co-operation (CCIC) for many years. Why is CCIC membership and engagement important to your organization? 

Susan Johnson - At the Red Cross, we recognize and appreciate that CCIC is consistently able to gather research and share information and analysis on aid trends.  Based on consultations with its members, CCIC is also able to represent common concerns to the government of Canada on issues that impact many of us, for instance, on contribution agreement contractual questions.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, mars 2016


Oxfam Québec

Oxfam Québec

La Croix-Rouge canadienne en Syrie, mars 2016.

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI rencontre Susan Johnson, vice-présidente et directrice générale, Opérations internationales et relations au sein du Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge canadienne, pour discuter du conflit en Syrie, de la campagne actuelle de la Croix-Rouge intitulée Visages de l'humanité, des ODD, du Sommet humanitaire mondial et de bien d'autres choses...

 

CCCI - Le conflit en Syrie en est à sa cinquième année et le monde assiste à l'une des plus grandes crises des réfugiés de l'histoire moderne. Comment la Croix-Rouge intervient-elle et quels sont les besoins qui subsistent?  

Susan Johnson Des collègues de la Croix-Rouge sont revenus récemment de la Syrie et des pays avoisinants où des millions de personnes luttent encore pour leur survie et pour assurer la sécurité de leurs familles. Ils ont été des témoins directs du terrible désespoir des populations dans le cadre de leurs passages dans les camps de réfugiés, les zones de conflit et les quartiers détruits. Malheureusement, il n'y a pas de conclusion en vue pour cette crise, et les besoins sont énormes.

Depuis le début du conflit, les travailleurs humanitaires de la Croix-Rouge et de ses sociétés-sœurs, comme le Croissant-Rouge arabe syrien, ont été sur le terrain, risquant leurs vies pour venir en aide aux communautés assiégées et aux personnes réfugiées tout au long de leur dangereux parcours vers l'Europe, le Canada et ailleurs. Les besoins en termes d'abris, de soins médicaux, de nourriture et autres sont immenses et persistants. Mais l'aide humanitaire n'est qu'une solution temporaire. Très simplement, il faut mettre fin à la situation. Assez, c'est assez. Nous devons prioriser les besoins des populations qui souffrent pour que les réponses politiques suivent.

En plus de l'appui constant qu'elle fournit en Syrie et dans les pays avoisinants, la Croix-Rouge a aussi été active pour offrir aux réfugiés syriens arrivant au Canada une aide essentielle. Depuis le début du mois de décembre, les employés et les bénévoles de la Croix-Rouge travaillent avec tous les paliers de gouvernement pour assurer un accueil chaleureux aux individus et aux familles réfugiées en leur offrant confort, espoir et un sentiment de sécurité. 

 

CCCI - Pouvez-vous nous parler de la campagne actuelle de la Croix-Rouge intitulée Visages de l'humanité?

Susan Johnson – Chaque année, plus de 200 millions de personnes sont affectées par des catastrophes et des situations d'urgence à travers le monde et les travailleurs humanitaires canadiens aident régulièrement les personnes les plus vulnérables qui font face à ces crises. La campagne Visages de l'humanité met en valeur l'aide vitale offerte par des médecins, des infirmières, des techniciens, des administrateurs et d'autres professionnels canadiens. Dans le cadre de nombreux événements à travers le pays, les travailleurs humanitaires de la Croix-Rouge canadienne partagent leurs histoires personnelles liées à la lutte contre de l’épidémie d’Ebola en Afrique de l'Ouest, la réponse au tremblement de terre catastrophique qui a secoué le Népal et l'appui aux réfugiés fuyant la guerre en Syrie. La campagne, appuyée par le gouvernement du Canada, vise à mobiliser et à informer les Canadiens sur plusieurs enjeux humanitaires.

 

CCCI - Le concept d'universalité est au cœur du Programme 2030 et des objectifs de développement durable (ODD). Étant donné le travail de longue date de la Croix-Rouge aux niveaux national et international, que pensez-vous des opportunités et des défis liés à la nature universelle des ODD?

Susan Johnson – Les bénévoles de la Croix-Rouge canadienne répondent à des catastrophes chaque jour de l'année. Par exemple, ils offrent de l'aide d'urgence aux personnes au Canada qui perdent leur foyer suite à un incendie et, à une échelle plus large, ils aident les communautés frappées par des tornades, des inondations, des tremblements de terre et des urgences sanitaires. Nous savons que les familles au Canada et ailleurs sont confrontées à plusieurs risques. Nous savons qu'il y a beaucoup à faire, à tous les niveaux, pour réduire ces risques. Dans cette perspective, je dirais que les ODD offrent une occasion importante au Canada de travailler avec tous les départements gouvernementaux et les acteurs de la société civile pour s'assurer de faire des investissements intelligents qui renforcent la résilience et la préparation des communautés face aux catastrophes, ainsi que dans d'autres secteurs, comme l'eau et l'assainissement, ainsi que la santé communautaire.

 

CCCI - En mai 2016, des gens du monde entier se réuniront à Istanbul pour le tout premier Sommet humanitaire mondial. Selon vous, qu'est-ce qui doit être fait, avant et pendant le Sommet, pour en assurer le succès?

Susan Johnson – Le processus du SHM a été remarquable en termes de mobilisation de gens issus des gouvernements, du système onusien, du Mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et de nombreux groupes de la société civile. Ce n'est donc pas surprenant si les rapports finaux, qui guident l'événement du SHM, incluent un grand nombre d'enjeux. Pour la Croix-Rouge, il y a quelques éléments qui ressortent. Nous sommes heureux de voir l'appel au respect du droit international humanitaire puisqu'une grande partie des souffrances vécues par les gens pris dans les situations de conflit sont le résultat d'attaques délibérées sur des civils et des entraves à l'aide humanitaire. De plus, nous saluons la reconnaissance du fait que les organisations locales devraient être appuyées et renforcées lors des réponses aux crises, et non remplacées par les organisations d'aide internationale.  

Il y a, par contre, quelques éléments qui préoccupent la Croix-Rouge. Nous espérons que les gouvernements participant au Sommet clarifieront et confirmeront qu'ils comprennent bien les différences clés entre les conflits armés et les catastrophes naturelles, ainsi que la nécessité de soutenir une action humanitaire neutre, indépendante et impartiale, surtout en situation de conflit. Nous avons remarqué également que le rapport final est très centré sur l'ONU malgré la diversité des voix engagées dans le processus en amont du Sommet. Nous espérons que les gouvernements participant au Sommet confirmeront que, bien qu'ils apprécient les capacités considérables du système onusien, ils reconnaissent aussi les limites de ce système ainsi que la valeur de la diversité qui existe aujourd'hui parmi les organisations humanitaires.

 

CCCI - La Croix-Rouge canadienne est un membre actif du Conseil canadien pour la coopération internationale (CCCI) depuis plusieurs années. Pourquoi est-ce important pour votre organisation de faire partie du CCCI et de s'y impliquer?

Susan Johnson À la Croix-Rouge, nous reconnaissons et estimons la valeur du CCCI, qui est constamment en mesure de produire des recherches et de partager de l'information et des analyses sur les tendances de l'aide. Sur la base de consultations auprès de ses membres, le CCCI est également en mesure de représenter nos préoccupations communes auprès du gouvernement du Canada sur des enjeux qui ont un impact sur plusieurs d'entre nous, comme les questions concernant les contrats et les accords de contribution.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi