CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile July-August 2015

CoDev

 

BCCIC

Kirsten Daub in San Salvador with ANDES Non-Sexist and Inclusive Pedagogy promoter Maria Eugenia Moreno.
Photo credit Nancy Knickerbocker.

This month, CCIC met with CoDev Acting Executive Director Kristen Daub, to talk about the importance of equitable and longstanding partnerships and the role of the new Sustainable Development Goals…among other things!

 

CCIC - You recently started your role as acting Executive Director. What are you most looking forward to in the upcoming year?

Kristen Daub - I’m really excited about working with new partners both in Canada and Latin America. CoDev has the privilege of working with organizations that are working for equality and justice, and it’s exciting to be part of that work and the changes these groups are creating. I am particularly looking forward to hosting representatives from our Latin American partners here in Vancouver, and taking delegations of Canadians to Latin America. It’s quite a feeling to see groups of people united by a common cause that transcends geographical borders, and feel you’re part of a movement that is making the world a more equitable place.

 

CCIC - Equitable partnerships are at the core of CoDev’s vision and work. Can you describe your partnership model and what makes this particular approach unique and effective?

Kristen Daub - CoDev fosters partnerships between organizations in Latin America and Canada who are working for social change on rights-based issues. Working primarily with civil society organizations in Latin America and public sector unions in Canada, we connect organizations working on common causes in the recognition that the struggle for positive social change is a global one, and that we are stronger when working together than in isolation.

CoDev has always taken the view that achieving social change is a long process, and therefore has always worked with a partnership model where we commit to working with an organization for a minimum of three years. In practise, our partnerships with organizations in Latin America have been very long-lasting; in fact, we have been working with some organizations for 30 years now! This has helped our Latin American partners tackle root causes of poverty and injustice, as they are able to count on long-term financial support. However, our model goes beyond providing financial assistance: our Latin American and Canadian partners collaborate on common causes, actively learn from one another through solidarity delegations and speaking tours, and collaborate on global campaigns for social justice. Our model is ultimately about fostering a global movement for global justice.

 

CCIC - Please tell us about one of your partners and the social justice work you are currently doing together.

Kristen Daub - CoDev works with several women’s rights organizations who seek to improve the working conditions of women in the maquila (manufacturing) sector. Our Latin American Partner CODEMUH (the Collective of Honduran Women) is a grassroots organization of women maquila workers who have long fought for better working conditions and improved legislation to protect workers’ safety and labour rights. Last year, CoDev took a delegation of union members to Honduras to learn about CODEMUH’s work on occupational health and safety in the maquila sector. Several delegation members asked CODEMUH what types of actions would be useful for them to take in solidarity with their work to improve safety standards for women working in the maquilas. CODEMUH asked that they seek ways to highlight problems workers experience in Canadian-owned maquilas, and so one member of that delegation has proposed that the Canadian Partners that support CODEMUH work together with CODEMUH to develop a strategy to influence some of the working conditions in a Canadian-owned maquila (a clothes manufacturer).

This work builds on an initial delegation in 2011 when CoDev took a group of labour lawyers who specialized in occupational health and safety to Honduras. Concerns were raised about working conditions in a Canadian-owned factory. CoDev is acting as a bridge between CODEMUH and CUPE and BCGEU to help them communicate with one another, strategize, and find effective ways to collaborate on making Canadians aware of the working conditions of women whose experiences on the job belie the company’s supposed commitment to corporate social responsibility. Public sector unions and workers in Canada share with CODEMUH a history of fighting for occupational health and safety, and collaborating on these types of issues is one of the great outcomes of our partnership model.

 

CCIC - The Sustainable Development Goals will be officially adopted in September. Do you see the SDGs having implications for your work?

Kristen Daub - The SDGs include some very ambitious and worthwhile objectives, and I think they have the potential to be used as a framework to call for meaningful change in how we as a sector approach issues of poverty, women’s rights, human rights, environmental sustainability and much more, both at a global level and here in Canada. I recently read that the UN released a report that criticizes Canada’s record on human rights here in our own home (See article above). With universality (that the SDGs apply to all countries, not just “developing” ones) being a key principle of the SDGs, we have a tool to call on our own government to address these important issues. 

 

CCIC - CoDev is a longstanding and engaged member of CCIC. Why is it important for CoDev to be a member of CCIC?

Kristen Daub - Being part of CCIC allows CoDev to have a role in shaping Canada’s approach to international cooperation; by participating in CCIC we are able to magnify our voice by joining it with those of hundreds of other organizations in Canada working on a diverse range of issues. By participating in CCIC we’re able to seek ways to have input in Canada’s international development policy, participate in Canada-wide campaigns, and collaborate with other organizations doing similar work. CCIC also offers us very high-calibre research and unique learning opportunities on issues that affect our sector.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, juillet-août 2015


ACC

 

Alex Neve

Légende : Kirsten Daub au El Salvador avec la promotrice de la Pédagogie non-sexiste et inclusive d'ANDES, Maria Eugenia Moreno. Crédit photo: Nancy Knickerbocker.

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré la directrice générale intérimaire de CoDev, Kirsten Daub, pour discuter de l'importance des partenariats équitables et à long terme, et du rôle des nouveaux Objectifs de développement durables... entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - Vous êtes récemment entrée en fonction à titre de directrice générale intérimaire. Quelles sont vos principales attentes pour la prochaine année?

Kirsten Daub Je suis très excitée à l'idée de travailler avec de nouveaux partenaires tant au Canada qu'en Amérique latine. CoDev a le privilège de travailler avec des organisations qui mettent l'accent sur l'égalité et la justice, et c'est excitant de contribuer à ce travail et aux changements créés par ces groupes.  J'ai surtout hâte d'accueillir les représentants de nos partenaires en Amérique latine ici, à Vancouver, et d'accompagner des délégations de Canadiens en Amérique latine. C'est toute une sensation que de voir des groupes de personnes unies par une cause commune qui transcende les frontières géographiques, et de sentir qu'on fait partie d'un mouvement qui contribue à rendre le monde plus équitable.

 

CCCI - Les partenariats équitables sont au cœur de la vision et du travail de CoDev. Pouvez-vous décrire votre modèle de partenariat et nous dire ce qui rend cette approche particulière aussi unique et efficace?

Kirsten Daub CoDev encourage les partenariats entre les organisations d'Amérique latine et du Canada qui travaillent pour le changement social et sur des enjeux liés aux droits de la personne. Travaillant principalement avec des organisations de la société civile en Amérique latine et des syndicats du secteur public au Canada, nous nous efforçons de faire des liens entre les organisations qui travaillent à des causes communes parce que nous reconnaissons que la lutte pour le changement social positif en est une globale, et que nous sommes plus forts lorsque nous travaillons ensemble plutôt que de manière isolée. 

CoDev a toujours cru que le changement social est un processus à long terme et, par conséquent, nous avons toujours mis de l'avant un modèle de partenariat où nous nous engageons à travailler avec une organisation pour une période minimal de trois ans. Dans la pratique, nos partenariats avec les organisations d'Amérique latine se sont étalés sur de très longues périodes. En fait, nous travaillons avec certaines organisations depuis plus de 30 ans maintenant! Ceci a permis à nos partenaires latino-américains de s'attaquer aux causes profondes de la pauvreté et de l'injustice, puisqu'ils sont en mesure de compter sur un appui financier sur le long terme. Cependant, notre modèle va au-delà de l'appui financier : nos partenaires latino-américains et canadiens collaborent à des causes communes, apprennent les uns des autres à travers l'organisation de délégations et de tournées de conférences, et collaborent à des campagnes globales pour la justice sociale. Fondamentalement, notre modèle vise à soutenir un mouvement mondial pour la justice globale.

 

CCCI - Pouvez-vous nous parler d'un de vos partenaires et du travail de justice sociale que vous accomplissez ensemble présentement?

 

Kirsten Daub – CoDev travaille avec plusieurs organisations de défense des droits des femmes qui cherchent à améliorer les conditions de travail de femmes dans les maquiladoras (secteur manufacturier). Notre partenaire latino-américain CODEMUH (le Collectif des femmes honduriennes) est une organisation communautaire de femmes travaillant dans les maquiladoras et qui se battent depuis longtemps pour de meilleures conditions de travail et l'amélioration des lois protégeant la sécurité et les droits des travailleurs. L'année dernière, CoDev a accompagné une délégation composée de membres des syndicats au Honduras pour en apprendre davantage sur le travail de CODEMUH sur la santé et la sécurité au travail dans le secteur des maquiladoras. Plusieurs membres de la délégation ont demandé à CODEMUH quels types d'actions ils pourraient prendre pour manifester leur solidarité à l'endroit de leur travail visant à améliorer les normes de sécurité pour les femmes qui travaillent dans les maquiladoras. CODEMUH a demandé aux délégués de chercher des façons de mettre de l'avant les problèmes rencontrés par les travailleuses dans les maquiladoras qui sont contrôlées par des entreprises canadiennes. Et donc un des membres de la délégation a proposé que les partenaires canadiens qui soutiennent CODEMUH travaillent avec celui-ci pour développer une stratégie visant à influencer certaines des conditions de travail dans une maquiladora appartenant à une entreprise canadienne (un fabricant de textile). 

Ce travail fait suite à la visite d'une première délégation, en 2011, alors que CoDev avait accompagné au Honduras un groupe d'avocats du travail qui se spécialisaient dans les questions de santé et sécurité au travail. Des questions avaient été soulevées par rapport aux conditions de travail dans une usine appartenant à une entreprise canadienne. CoDev fait le pont entre CODEMUH, le SCFP et le BCGEU pour les aider à communiquer entre eux, à développer des stratégies et à trouver des manières efficaces de collaborer pour sensibiliser les Canadiens aux conditions de travail des femmes dont les expériences contredisent le prétendu engagement de la compagnie envers la responsabilité sociale des entreprises.  Les syndicats et les travailleurs du secteur public au Canada partagent avec CODEMUH une histoire de lutte pour la santé et la sécurité au travail, et la collaboration sur ces types d'enjeux est un des résultats les plus probants de notre modèle de partenariat.

 

CCCI - Les Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) seront officiellement adoptés en septembre. Est-ce que vous pensez que les ODD auront une incidence sur votre travail?

Kirsten Daub – Les ODD comprennent des objectifs louables et très ambitieux, et je crois qu'ils pourront être utilisés comme cadre pour demander de véritables changements dans la manière dont nous, en tant que secteur, approchons les enjeux liés à la pauvreté, aux droits des femmes, aux droits de la personne, à la durabilité environnementale, et autres, tant au niveau mondial qu'ici au Canada. J'ai lu récemment que les Nations Unies avaient publié un rapport critiquant la performance du Canada par rapport aux droits de la personne ici même, dans notre propre pays (voir l'article plus haut). L'universalité (soit le fait que les ODD s'appliquent à tous les pays, et pas seulement à ceux qui sont « en développement ») étant un principe clé des ODD, nous avons maintenant un outil supplémentaire pour demander à notre propre gouvernement de s'attaquer à ces enjeux importants. 

 

CCCI - CoDev est un membre impliqué et de longue date du CCCI. Pourquoi est-il important pour CoDev d'être membre du CCCI?

Kirsten Daub Faire partie du CCCI permet à CoDev de jouer un rôle dans la formulation de l'approche du Canada en matière de coopération internationale; en participant au CCCI, nous sommes en mesure d'amplifier notre voix en l'ajoutant à celles de centaines d'autres organisations au Canada qui travaillent sur toute une gamme d'enjeux divers. En participant au CCCI, nous sommes en mesure de donner notre avis sur la politique de développement international du Canada, de participer à des campagnes pancanadiennes et de collaborer avec d'autres organisations qui font un travail similaire. Le CCCI nous offre aussi des recherches de grande qualité et des occasions d'apprentissage uniques sur des enjeux qui touchent notre secteur.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi