CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile November-December 2014

CECI

 

BCCIC

CECI: A history of giving

This month, CCIC met with CECI Executive Director Claudia Black. Claudia discussed the key to the success of CECI, the organization’s approach to capacity building, the upcoming 4th International Forum "Great Development Debates" organized jointly with WUSC, as well as its international volunteer program UNITERRA... among other things!

 

CCIC - CECI has been active in international development for more than 50 years. How do you explain the success and the longevity of the organization?

Claudia Black - CECI has always been able to adapt to evolving contexts, to be innovative and proactive.   We have been through several stages in our history that show our organization's capacity to adapt.   From a religious movement founded by the Jesuits, and where training and raising awareness on international cooperation were the main issues, CECI  was incorporated in 1968 and launched an important international volunteer program, which has grown continuously, and a large program of project management  financed by Canadian bilateral aid.  In the 1980s, CECI decentralized its operations and opened offices abroad in more than ten countries, creating a CECI network.

 

CCIC - CECI has deep roots in Quebec but is a little less known in the rest of Canada; how would you describe your organization, in a few words, for our English readers?

Claudia Black - CECI is a volunteer sending agency but it is first and foremost a dedicated team guided by a single vision: that of a more equal world with less poverty and exclusion. CECI, through its professionalism, was able to build  itself a strong reputation and credibility with Canadian and foreign governments, and even more so with the populations of the countries where CECI works.  In Africa, in Asia or in the Americas, our regional and national directors ensure that our programs and activities are properly implemented.

 

CCIC - Capacity building is at the heart of CECI's work. What is your approach ?

Claudia Black - We have always been committed to the capacity building of the teams, the partners and the networks with which we work in order to create a framework of participative development in our projects. Local development, around which our activities are based, supports the  strengthening of economic capacities, of capacities related to human rights and equality, as well as of capacities to reinforce democratic structures.   To support this capacity building, we developed training modules and tools, which are all made available to our teams on the ground.

 

CCIC - CECI and WUSC will be hosting in 2015 the 4th International Forum "Great Development Debates" in Montreal. What is the importance of this event for the sector and what can participants expect?

Claudia Black - The International Forum is a stimulating annual gathering where the best ideas and practices in international development are shared.  It offers precious knowledge and perspectives to experts, decision-makers and researchers  from various sectors.  It brings together representatives from governments, international cooperation organizations from the North, civil society organizations from the South, the private sector, as well as international development researchers and experts. The fourth edition of the International Forum will take place on 23-24 January 2015, and it will be held for the first time in Montreal

In our efforts toward sustainable international development, we are confronted with several challenges, and many of the issues  we face are raising great debates.  While there is an important and wide variety of theoretical, political and practical approaches, we know that there is no magic solution.

The 2015 International Forum will stimulate discussions around the great debates of international development.  The 400 participants of 2015 International Forum will have a chance to contribute to discussions, and to listen to some of the clearest and most convincing voices on crucial and timely issues such as the following:

  • What if fair, equitable and sustainable development were good for business?
  • Does the South need aid from the North?
  • Engaging world youth in development: breath of fresh air or financial burden?

 

CCIC - CECI and WUSC are responsible for the volunteer sending program UNITERRA, one of the most important of the kind in Canada. What are the strengths of this partnership? And what has been the impact of this program to date?

Claudia Black - The partnership between CECI and WUSC  has been a success for 12 years thanks to the vision and reciprocal engagement,  the sharing of skills and resources, the alignment of representation, the synergy between volunteer programs and other projects, without limiting the autonomy and the independence of either group.  Internally, there have been mergers of volunteer management services, and many innovations such as the diversification of the volunteering models and the creation of an online result management system.  The external impact is huge: more than 200 partners strengthened in 14 countries, 275 000 people trained, 4500 volunteers mobilized, 200 000 Canadians involved in international solidarity actions, very active networking with other international volunteer organizations in Canada, and sustained support for Canadian authorities.

 

CCIC - Why is it important for the CECI to be a member of CCIC?

Claudia Black - CCIC has been able to represent the international community, and the CECI, in the best possible way before the Canadian government and the Canadian public.   This representation is an invaluable asset for the pursuit of our work.  We know that we can count on CCIC to give the international community a common voice and a most constructive discourse. 

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, novembre-décembre 2014

CECI

 

BCCIC

Le CECI : histoire de don

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré Claudia Black, directrice générale du CECI. Claudia nous a fait part de la clé du succès du CECI, de son approche en termes de renforcement des capacités, du 4e Forum International « Les grands débats du développement international » organisé conjointement avec l’EUMC, et du programme d’envoi de volontaires UNITERRA... entre autres choses !

 

CCCI - Le CECI est actif dans le milieu du développement international depuis plus de 50 ans. Comment expliquez-vous le succès et la longévité de votre organisation?

Claudia Black Le CECI a toujours su s’adapter à la conjoncture, faire preuve d’innovation et être proactif.  Nous avons connu plusieurs phases dans notre histoire qui démontrent la capacité d’adaptation de l’organisation.  D’un mouvement religieux fondé par les Jésuites, où la formation et la sensibilisation à la coopération internationale étaient les principaux enjeux, le CECI s’est incorporé en 1968, et a mis sur pied un important programme d’envoi de volontaires, qui n’a cessé de croître, et un programme de gestion de projets d’envergure financé par l’aide bilatérale canadienne. Dans les années 1980, le CECI a décentralisé ses opérations et ouvert des bureaux outre-mer dans une dizaine de pays, créant ainsi un réseau CECI.

 

CCCI - Le reation?

Claudia Black Le CECI est solidement ancré au Québec mais un peu moins connu dans le reste du Canada; comment décririez-vous votre organisation, en quelques lignes, pour des lecteurs anglophones?

Le CECI est une agence d’envoi de volontaires, mais c'est d’abord une équipe dévouée guidée par une seule vision : celui d’un monde plus égalitaire, présentant moins de pauvreté et d’exclusion. Le CECI,  par son professionnalisme, a su se bâtir une réputation et une crédibilité auprès des gouvernements canadiens et étrangers, et surtout auprès des populations des pays où le CECI travaille. En Afrique, en Asie ou sur le continent américain, nos directrices et nos directeurs régionaux et nationaux veillent à la bonne mise en marche de nos programmes et activités.

CCCI - Le renforcement des capacités est au cœur du travail du CECI. Quelle est votre approche de ce sujet?

Claudia Black – Nous avons, depuis toujours, misé sur le renforcement des capacités des équipes, des partenaires et des réseaux avec lesquels nous travaillons afin de créer un cadre de développement participatif dans nos projets. Le développement local, à la base de nos activités, permet le renforcement des capacités économiques, des capacités en termes de droits et d’égalité, ainsi que des capacités de développement des structures démocratiques. Nous avons développé, pour appuyer le renforcement des capacités, des modules de formation et des outils, tous transmis à nos équipes terrain.

CCCI - Le CECI et l'EUMC seront les hôtes en 2015 du 4e Forum International « Les grands débats du développement international » à Montréal. Quelle est l'importance de cet événement pour le secteur, et à quoi peuvent s'attendre les participants?

Claudia Black Le Forum international se veut un rendez-vous annuel stimulant où sont partagées les meilleurs idées et pratiques du développement international. Il offre aux spécialistes, aux décideurs et aux chercheurs de divers secteurs des connaissances et des perspectives précieuses. Il rassemble des représentants de gouvernements, d’organisations de coopération internationale du Nord, de la société civile du Sud et du secteur privé, autant que des chercheurs et des spécialistes du développement international. La quatrième édition du Forum international aura lieu du 23 au 24 janvier 2015, pour la première fois à Montréal.

Dans nos efforts vers un développement international durable, nous faisons face à de nombreux défis, et plusieurs des enjeux que nous confrontons suscitent de grands débats. Quoiqu’il existe une gamme importante et variée d’approches théoriques, politiques ou pratiques, nous savons qu’il n’y a pas de solution miracle.

Le Forum international 2015 saura éveiller des discussions autour des Grands débats du développement international. Les 400 participants au Forum international 2015 auront l’occasion de contribuer aux discussions et d’entendre quelques-unes des voix les plus lucides et les plus convaincantes sur des questions opportunes et cruciales comme celles-ci :

  • Et si c’était le développement juste, équitable et durable qui était payant pour le commerce ?
  • Qui a dit que le Sud avait besoin de la coopération du Nord ?
  • Engager la jeunesse mondiale dans le développement : vent de fraîcheur ou fardeau financier ?

 

CCCI - Le CECI et l'EUMC sont responsables du programme d'envoi de volontaires UNITERRA, l'un des plus importants au Canada. Quels sont les points forts de ce partenariat? Et quel est l'impact du programme à ce jour?

Claudia Black Le partenariat du CECI et de l'EUMC est une réussite depuis 12 ans grâce à la vision et l'engagement réciproque, le partage de compétences et ressources,  l'alignement de la représentation, la synergie des programmes de volontariat et des autres projets, sans limiter l'autonomie et l'indépendance de chacun.  A l'interne, il y a eu fusion des services de gestion des volontaires, de nombreuses innovations telles que la diversification des modèles de volontariat, la mise en place d'un système de gestion des résultats en ligne. L'impact externe est majeur : plus de 200 partenaires renforcés dans 14 pays, 275 000 personnes formées, 4500 volontaires mobilisés, 200 000 Canadiens engagés dans les actions de solidarité internationale, une notoriété  en volontariat pour le développement, un réseautage très actif avec les autres organisations canadiennes de volontariat et un appui soutenu des autorités canadiennes.

 

CCCI - Pourquoi est-ce important pour le CECI d'être membre du CCCI ?

Claudia Black Le CCCI a su représenter de la meilleure manière la communauté internationale, et le CECI, auprès du gouvernement et du public canadien.  Cette représentation est un atout inestimable pour la poursuite de notre travail. Nous savons que nous pouvons compter sur le CCCI pour donner à la communauté internationale une seule voix t un discours des plus constructifs.

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi