CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 70 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

About us What we do Working Groups Media RESSOURCES Members
Become a Member
Member Organizations
CCIC Member Profiles
Membership Renewal
Members' Space


IMPRIMER

Member Profile October 2015

CoDev

 

BCCIC

Canadian Foreign Minister Lawrence Cannon, far left, observes as U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, second from left, meets members of the Canadian CRPD delegation, including Bendina Miller (Canadian Association for Community Living), Traci Walters (Independent Living Canada), Steve Estey (CCD) on the day that Canada ratified the CRPD. (AP Photo/Bebeto Matthews)

This month CCIC met with James Hicks, the National Coordinator of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities to discuss the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, the SDGs and the need for an ODA disability policy, among other things!

 

CCIC - For our readers who are unfamiliar with the Council of Canadians with Disabilities could you briefly describe the work you do, particularly at the international level.

James Hicks - CCD has been involved internationally for many years.  One of its first international endeavors occurred at the 1980 Rehabilitation International (RI) Congress, which took place in Winnipeg.  When RI rejected the proposal of delegates with disabilities to have people with disabilities make up 50% of the board of directors, activists within CCD, along with people with disabilities from other countries, resolved to form their own international organization.  In 1981, the UN International Year of Disabled Persons, Disabled Peoples' International (DPI) was founded in Singapore and Canadians have held positions on the board and in development roles. 

CCD formed an International Committee that fostered partnerships between CCD member groups and DPI member groups.  In addition, CCD has undertaken development education with Canadians and development NGOS, sharing information about how war and conflict contribute to disablement and how people with disabilities can be overlooked in development programming, if development organizations do not take care to ensure their programming is inclusive of people with disabilities.  To address this issue the CCD International Committee encouraged the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) to develop a disability policy to guide Canada's official development assistance endeavours.

 

CCIC - The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) is at the core of your mandate and programming. We understand that 2016 is an important year for Canada. Please explain why and how the Council of Canadians with Disabilities is involved.

James Hicks - The CRPD has become a priority for CCD, because the standards elaborated in the Convention provide a blueprint for achieving a Canada that is inclusive and accessible to persons with disabilities.  Steve Estey, Chairperson of CCD's International Committee, was appointed to Canadian delegations which participated in the drafting of the CRPD at the United Nations.  During the drafting stage, CCD convened consultations where the disability community provided input to the Canadian CRPD delegations.  Since ratification of the CRPD in 2010, CCD has undertaken awareness raising activities in Canada to inform the disability community and other interested Canadians about the CRPD's provisions.  In June, Mr. Estey participated in the Conference of States Parties to the CRPD which took place at the UN. 

A priority for CCD is the implementation of the CRPD by the Government of Canada.  During this Federal election, we polled all Federal Parties about their plans with regard to CRPD implementation.  The Liberals, the NDP and the Green Parties committed to approaching disability from a human rights model.

In 2016, the CRPD Committee is scheduled to make public its list of issues for Canada's CRPD review, which is expected to take place in 2017.  Canada submitted its initial report to the CRPD Committee in 2014.  At present, CCD and the disability community in Canada are in the process of developing a civil society response, also known as a shadow report.

 

CCIC - CCIC recently came across this interesting UN infographic related to disability in the context of the recently adopted Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).  What opportunities do the SDGs provide for persons with disabilities and is it sufficient?

James Hicks - Disability is a cause of poverty, so it was bizarre that people with disabilities were invisible in the 2000 Millennium Development Goals.  The SDGs address disability directly, which is due in part to the advocacy of the international organizations of people with disabilities, such as DPI.  The SDGs address disability in the context of education, growth and employment, inequality, accessible communities, data collection and monitoring, so this is a good start.  The next phase of work is to ensure robust monitoring and implementation.  CCD has shared its perspective with the Government of Canada regarding an effective SDGs data collection strategy, inclusive of disability.

A disproportionate number of Canadians with disabilities live in poverty, which is why poverty amelioration was a priority issue that CCD raised with Canada's Federal Parties during Election 2015.

 

CCIC - What should CCIC members and other international development and humanitarian assistance civil society organizations do in order to ensure that their work includes persons with disabilities?

James Hicks - Invite people with disabilities to the table – NOTHING ABOUT US WITHOUT US.  CCD also encourages CCIC members to keep supporting the efforts of the disability community to establish a disability policy to guide Canada's official development assistance endeavours.

 

CCIC - The Council of Canadians with Disabilities has been an active CCIC member for many years. What does your organization bring to CCIC and why is this important?

James Hicks - With its in-depth of knowledge of how to achieve access and inclusion for people with disabilities, CCD and its members can be a practical resource to CCIC's partners. Through our work at the international level we have seen firsthand that all development initiatives have the potential to impact people with disabilities.  When you come up against barriers for inclusion of people with disabilities, we hope that you will call us.

 

 

TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Employment
  • 10-point agenda
  • Istanbul Principles
  • Code of Ethics
  • Become a Member
  • MEMBERS SPACE
  • CCIC Publications
  • Employment

CCCI - CCIC
ACCUEIL RECHERCHE PLAN DU SITE CONTACT ENGLISH

Members

CCIC members include approximately 100 Canadian non-profit organizations working, both in Canada and overseas, on the front lines of social justice, humanitarian aid, economic and democratic development.

À PROPOS NOS INTÉRÊTS GROUPES DE TRAVAIL MÉDIAS RESSOURCES MEMBRES
Organisations membres du CCCI
Événements du CCCI à venir
Profils des membres
Un mot sur les membres


IMPRIMER

 

Profil d'un membre, octobre 2015


CCD

Alex Neve

Le ministre canadien des Affaires étrangères, Lawrence Cannon, au bout à gauche, observe, alors que le secrétaire-général de l’ONU,  Ban Ki-moon, deuxième à partir de la gauche, rencontre des membres de la délégation canadienne de la CPDH, incluant Bendina Miller (Association canadienne pour l’intégration communautaire), Traci Walters (Vie autonome Canada), Steve Estey (CCD), le jour où le Canada a ratifié la CPDH (AP Photo/Bebeto Matthews)

Ce mois-ci, le CCCI a rencontré James Hicks, coordonnateur national du Conseil des canadiens avec déficiences (CCD), pour discuter de la Convention des Nations unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées, des ODD et de la nécessité d'une politique de l'APD en matière de handicap, entre autres choses!

 

CCCI - Pour nos lecteurs qui ne seraient pas familiers avec le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, pourriez-vous nous donner une brève description du travail que vous faites, en particulier au niveau international? 

James Hicks Le CCD s'implique à l'international depuis plusieurs années. Une de ses premières initiatives internationales a pris forme dans le cadre du Congrès mondial de Réhabilitation Internationale (RI) qui s'est tenu à Winnipeg en 1980.  Lorsque RI a rejeté la proposition des délégués handicapés demandant que 50 % des membres du conseil d'administration soit formé de personnes handicapées, les militants au sein du CCD, en collaboration avec les personnes handicapées venues d'autres pays, ont décidé de former leur propre organisation internationale. En 1981, l'Année internationale des personnes handicapées, l'Organisation mondiale des personnes handicapées (OMPH) a été fondée à Singapour et des Canadiens ont occupé des postes au sein du conseil d'administration et en lien avec le développement.  

Le CCD a créé un comité international visant à favoriser les partenariats entre les groupes membres du CCD et les groupes membres de l'OMPH. De plus, le CCD a commencé à faire de l'éducation au développement avec les Canadiens et les ONG de développement, partageant des informations sur la manière dont les guerres et les conflits contribuent à la création de handicaps et sur le fait que les personnes handicapées peuvent être oubliées dans le cadre des programmes de développement si les organisations ne font pas l'effort de s'assurer que leur programmation inclut les personnes avec des déficiences.  Pour s'attaquer à cet enjeu, le comité international du CCD a encouragé l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) à développer une politique sur les handicaps pour guider les projets de l'aide publique au développement du Canada.

 

CCCI - La Convention des Nations Unies relative aux droits des personnes handicapées (CDPH) est au cœur de votre mandat et de votre programmation. Nous savons que 2016 est une année importante pour le Canada. Pouvez-vous nous expliquer pourquoi et comment le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences est impliqué? 

James Hicks La CDPH est devenue une priorité pour le CCD parce que les normes élaborées par la Convention proposent un plan pour réaliser l'avènement d'un Canada inclusif et accessible pour les personnes handicapées. Steve Estey, président du comité international du CCD, a été impliqué au sein de délégations canadiennes qui ont participé à la rédaction de la CPDH aux Nations unies. Pendant la phase initiale de rédaction, le CCD a organisé des consultations au cours desquelles la communauté des personnes handicapées a pu offrir ses commentaires aux délégations canadiennes travaillant sur la CPDH.  Depuis la ratification de la CPDH en 2010, le CCD a organisé des activités de sensibilisation au Canada pour informer la communauté des personnes handicapées, et les autres Canadiens et Canadiennes intéressé-e-s, au sujet des dispositions de la CPDH.  En juin, M. Estey a participé à la Conférence des États parties sur la CDPH qui s'est déroulée à l'ONU. 

Un des priorités du CCD est la mise en œuvre de la CPDH par le gouvernement du Canada. Pendant l'élection fédérale, nous avons sondé tous les partis politiques fédéraux pour connaître leurs intentions par rapport à la mise en œuvre de la CPDH.  Les Libéraux, le NPD et le Parti vert se sont engagés à utiliser une approche fondée sur les droits humains pour aborder la question des handicaps.

En 2016, le comité de la CPDH doit rendre public une liste d'enjeux pour l'évaluation du Canada par rapport à la CPDH, évaluation qui doit se dérouler en 2017. Le Canada a soumis son rapport initial au comité sur la CPDH en 2014. En ce moment, le CCD et la communauté des personnes handicapées au Canada sont en train de développer une réponse de la société civile, soit un « rapport parallèle ».

 

CCCI - Le CCCI a récemment mis la main sur cette infographie produite par l'ONU sur les déficiences dans le contexte des objectifs de développement durable qui ont été adoptés dernièrement.  Quelles sont les possibilités offertes par les ODD aux personnes avec déficiences, et est-ce que c'est suffisant? 

James Hicks – La déficience est une des causes de la pauvreté, donc il est étrange que les personnes avec des déficiences aient été rendues invisibles dans le cadre des objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement de 2000.  Les ODD traitent directement des déficiences, ce qui est le résultat en partie des efforts de plaidoyer menés par les organisations internationales de personnes avec des déficiences, comme l'OMPH.  Les ODD traitent des déficiences dans le contexte de l'éducation, de la croissance et de l'emploi, des inégalités, de l'accessibilité des communautés, de la collecte et de la surveillance des données, donc c'est un bon début.  La prochaine phase du travail est de s'assurer qu'il y ait une surveillance et une mise en œuvre robuste.   Le CCD a partagé ses perspectives avec le gouvernement du Canada au sujet d'une stratégie efficace de collecte de données pour les ODD, inclusive des déficiences.

Un nombre disproportionné de Canadiens avec déficiences vivent dans la pauvreté, ce qui explique pourquoi la réduction de la pauvreté a fait partie des enjeux prioritaires soulevés par le CCD auprès des partis politiques fédéraux canadiens dans le cadre des élections de 2015.

 

CCCI - Que devraient faire les membres du CCCI et les autres organisations de la société civile travaillant dans les secteurs du développement international et de l'aide humanitaire  pour s'assurer d'inclure les personnes avec des déficiences?

James Hicks – Invitez les personnes avec des déficiences à la table - RIEN SUR NOUS SANS NOUS. Le CCD encourage aussi les membres du CCCI à continuer d'appuyer les efforts de la communauté des personnes handicapées pour établir une politique sur les handicaps afin de guider les projets de l'aide publique au développement du Canada. 

 

CCCI - Le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences est un membre actif du CCCI depuis plusieurs années. Qu'est-ce que votre organisation apporte au CCCI et pourquoi est-ce important?

James Hicks En raison de sa connaissance profonde des manières d'assurer l'accès et l'inclusion des personnes avec déficiences, le CCD et ses membres peuvent être des ressources pratiques pour les partenaires du CCCI. À travers notre travail au niveau international, nous avons pu voir par nous-mêmes que toutes les initiatives pour le développement ont le potentiel d'avoir des impacts sur les personnes avec déficiences.  Lorsque vous rencontrerez des obstacles à l'inclusion des personnes avec déficiences, nous espérons que vous nous contacterez.

 

 


TOP
 
  • FLASH
  • Emploi
  • Programme en 10 points
  • Principes d'Istanbul
  • Code d'éthique
  • Devenez membre
  • COIN DES MEMBRES
  • Publications du CCCI
  • Emploi